Hidden devil spotted in famous artwork | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 November 2011

Hidden devil spotted in famous artwork

Art restorers have discovered the figure of a devil hidden in the clouds of one of the most famous frescos by Giotto in the Basilica of St Francis in Assisi, church officials said on Saturday Nov 5, 2011. 

The devil was hidden in the details of clouds at the top of fresco number 20 in the cycle of the scenes in the life and death of St Francis painted by Giotto in the 13th century.

The discovery was made by Italian art historian Chiara Frugone. It shows a profile of a figure with a hooked nose, a sly smile, and dark horns hidden among the clouds in the panel of the scene depicting the death of St Francis.

Can you guys see the devil?

The figure is difficult to see from the floor of the basilica but emerges clearly in close-up photography.
Sergio Fusetti, the chief restorer of the basilica, said Giotto probably never wanted the image of the devil to be a main part of the fresco and may have painted it in among the clouds "to have a bit of fun."
The master may have painted it to spite someone he knew by portraying him as a devil in the painting, Fusetti said on the convent's website.

The artwork in the basilica in the convent where St Francis is buried was last restored after it was severely damaged by an earthquake in 1997. - Yahoo News

20 comments:

Dee dee said...

I can't see it, and I don't really want to in case I can't get the image out of my head afterwards.

Engr Don Chris said...

i cant see anything linda. could it be because of my eyes?? pls show us with arrows.(only if u see it urself)

Priestess said...

Saw d horn, so is dat d devil? Wel done 2 d restorer.

Yep I see it. Spotted it immediately to the right in the close up of the photo. #shudders# Creepy!!

this is all about illuminati ideas and beliefs.guys get ready for the NEW WORLD ORDER!!!.

IMT Enugu Fixes Students' Week Plans on 2011/2012 Post UTME Schedule said...

Can't see naughting. But then am not planning to.

BimentalCo said...

I guess if we look closer, we might just be able to see the devil painting, it is in white just under the floating angel on the right..the so called devil has darker horn compared to the face colour!!!
Well, if you like this, you'll love these:
Gay vicar @65 to marry young Nigerian model later this year

Ode oshi. Dem no get better work. Na to dey degrade person hard work dem sabi. Ole. Devil ko..satan ni.*yimu*

GWB said...

i am tired jare. Almost 45mins and still can't find it and how can it have "dark horns" when it is imbedded into the cloud. I beg someone circle it or point an arrow to it. i really do want to see it

I personally do Not think that this image was placed within the clouds by the Artist upon Purpose! My reasoning is due to a similar image that appeared within the clouds of one of my paintings titled "The Last Prayer For Mankind" By: Tammi Vaughan. This image was pointed out to me from a Gallery Owner and I did not paint it intentionally among othr images that "Just Appeared such as Christ". I know that these are messages and do not take for granted that they were placed within the artwork on purpose! Tammi vaughan dot com Christian Art "The Last Prayer For Mankind".

i can't see anything o

ibo boy said...

I see the devil. for those who can see it, this will help you see it

- the image is smaller than you think
- it's the side view of the devil complete with 2 horns
- one of the horn is the darkest part of the pic the second horn is slightly behind
- once you find the horn, the devil will appear.

CLF said...

They also said that the original Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci has a lot of subliminals hidden in it.

Yes, the head of whatever it is, is on the right below the angel as if it's looking at the angel's crotch area.

u cant see it in linda's picture but you can see it here http://www.csmonitor.com/var/ezflow_site/storage/images/media/images/1107-giotto/10944514-1-eng-US/1107-giotto_full_380.jpg

Oh my God! I see it now.... Oh no, now i can't sleep, why did i have to discover it now... *crying*

Wow!

What is the "bear-head-like" shape behind the saint's figure? One can imagine the black dots as the two nostrils of the "bear" which is shown as facing towards the "bear's" left [that is the "right side of the painting as we look at it]?

I don't tink D̶̲̥̅̊ devil rili has horns and forked tail carrying a pitch fork...too typical an impression