Ama Annan and Poju Adedeji Wed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 November 2011

Ama Annan and Poju Adedeji Wed

Ama Annan, 42, the first daughter of former UN Secretary General, Kofi Annan, a few weeks back married Adepoju Adedeji, 40, in a 3-day event that started on Thursday 29th of Sept till Saturday 1st of October in Ghana. Heard they are currently enjoying their honeymoon. Happy married life to them.

32 comments:

Linda has Amara heard this? Pls let her know about it.

sakara said...

make una leave Amara alone o, she dey for own world and blind people wey dey follow her preachings na dem know o

congrats guys..u look good and awesome togeda

haters e #lojabosikonga#

Amara said (in her column) she had blood in her nose and still had to perform in bed with a wife beater.

Amara must have gone through hell but she had no right to advise single girls the way she did.

He seems to like showing his tongue. He should learn to hide his tongue in public. Joke: No 'jara' is for nothing. Ha ha ha!

Anyway, they fit each other and I wish them many years together with twins too. "Ape koto jeun ki i je ibaje". Their enemies must bow...

Yvonne said...

Why is the groom sticking out his tongue? Thought he's based in France as the French show good public manners. There also seem to be no emotional connection between them, the groom seems to want to pose to the outside world while the bride seems quite nervous. My opinion oh!

Aproko said...

@Anon 4.09pm, who're their enemies????? A lady decides to have high taste in men till she reaches 42 and ends up with a divorcee with kids, and on salary too. If she had ended up with a senator or that category, then she will begin to have enemies. Enemy for what sef???

They truly fit each other. They dont even have that 'fresh couple's look', they look more like a couple celebrating birthday!

Ama looks great for 42 sha. wow! lmao at the likes of Amara. the irony of this is that Ama Annan will get pregnant, have a baby and kabooom...it wouldn't matter that she married late as some people think. she will now be a mom and wife just like all her friends who married at 26yrs old. only thing would be that all her friends who married at 26 yrs old would be soooooo bitter and jealous that ama, caught up with them cos deep down, they were already thinking they have somethign she will never have just by being married with kids.

My point being, at the end of the day, it's not that hard to become married with kids. anybody can catch up in that game. however, not every body can play catch up when it comes to career success and accomplishment.

Hey Ama, i am on your side girl and i pray that all works out for your and Poju.

Segisonline said...

It's interesting how Linda specified the age so we know the girl is older or...the woman I mean.

CLF said...

Congrats. The vitriol i read about these two all over the internet is something else.

Barrister said...

@CLF, aside the harshness on the internet it's also in real world. More painful cos it's spread by Ama's so-called friends. I met two of Ama's close friends who really gave her a low down, infact if she hears that'll be the end of their fake friendship. More unfortunately is she remembers them on all her family events. We might think they envy her fame but I think it's more of they never like her but are friends with her for what they'll gain. Same for Ama's now solo mother Aunty Titi.

Violet said...

Was either Bill Clinton, Obasanjo, Jerry Rawlings or Kuffour on guest list??? If not, Kofi Annan 'ko lenu niyen'!

aproko at 4:49pm, you are a fool.

People will always say negative things because deep down they envy her.

I am happy for Ama Annan. I met her 15 years ago and she was a very quiet decent person. Her mother is Nigerian so she has returned to her roots so to speak.

Aproko said...

@anon 4.49pm, silence is the best answer for people like you. If you think we envy her, may God make you have her life experiences so we envy you too.
Alatenuje, olojukokoro, ole!

OMG, age is telling on Ama! Ten/fifteen years back, she dated Laolu saraki seriously before finding faults in him e.g his father's fame is local. Thought she'll end up with an ambassador. Lolll. Just hope she'll be nice to Poju's kids because she's a touchy person.

Deacon said...

Ha! The gists i read all over the internet about Ama's mother especially is something else. Walahi if Poju heard those sordid tales, he wouldnt have married Ama even for all the wealth in the world.
Infact, am beginning to write a Nollywood story based on that story. It'll be a blockbuster!

Shakara said...

Deacon, that jist about Titi Alakija is not new. So just forget about it. Trace it to the Adeyemo Alakija family.
All I can say is every man has a woman for him and vice-versa. That they have found each other may just be that.
Prof. Adedeji is a Career Diplomat and was well known before Kofi Annan.

Teni said...

@Shakara, so Ama is not a product of Adeyemo Alakija? Or Prof Adedeji ranks higher in the int'l scene?
Let's call a spade a spade and stop looking for defenses. If the story isn't new, would you like the same rep associated with you?
Uncle Alaba Alakija is also an Alakija and doesnt have bad rep like Ama's mum!
Abeg, fame and wealth has levels just as evil and wickedness has grades!!!

Shakara said...

Teni, she is and also remember children cannot choose their parents.
Re-Adedeji I was responding to someone who said he’s nothing (it may not even be on this thread because this story is on MM too.) I read Prof’s books while in UNI and he’s a fantastic product of Naija. He was well known before Kofi Annan but after KA became SG of the UN, of course that catapulted his career.
LOL at your last sentence.

Teni said...

@Shakara, my point is we all did not choose our grandfathers like Ama has Adeyemo Alakija as hers. We all know the delibrate evil our parents dabbled into, e.g adultery, hypocrisy, just on a milder note. Don't let me wash their dirty linen in public.
Prof Adedeji in whatever way is not above Kofi Annan, not even Wole Soyinka is above Kofi.
You get me???

Ama's college friend said...

Oga oh! And i envisaged all these criticisms when i heard about Ama's wedding. The mistake she made was announcing it 4months to the date, and getting married in Africa. She could've done a quiet civil wedding in her father's switzerland home. Funny, her so called friends who told her to marry the 'normal' way are the ones criticizing her marriage. May God save us all from friendly enemies.

A friend of the family said...

I see! So normal way of marrying to Ama's friends is announcing wedding date four months earlier and having an elaborate wedding! I laugh in Fante...
Private, intimate weddings most times reduce negative talks, and doesn't distract a new marriage.
Just hope Kojo will learn from all these negativity that followed his sister's nuptials, and opt for an intimate wedding, better still in Europe to make it more intimate.
Hope also his bride and her family will be the quiet posh set, not lousy posh set and agree to it. Honestly, the Annans do not need more negative gists.

Trendy said...

A friend of the family... Now i get it, there are two sets of rich people. Ha..ha...ha... And thank you for truly liking the Annans, you're a good friend and should've used your real name.

I see a tiny building in the picture... Could that be Kofi Annan's boysquarters? Lolllll

Guest said...

@Shakara, i notice you seem to know the stories of all celebrities in Nigeria. Na wa oh!
Was at Ama's white wedding and was disappointed. Was expecting to see white diplomats and African ex presidents but 75% of guests were Nigerian socialites. The wedding was an evening affair, with garden cocktail reception before the main reception. Nigerians didnt get the idea behind the cocktail reception, instead they were just roaming about the hotel lobby. Children on bridal train and most adults looked tired and sleepy, mc was too formal and boring, groom was not lively and at a point wanted to cry (what sort of groom cries?), someone represented the bride's mother and kofi snobbed the woman, Kofi's white wife wore a chiffon kaftan... IV and programme quality is regular. They were also ghana traditional dancers like masqurades!
OMG! Thought the ambience would make it the wedding of the decade. Infact, Shagaya, Adenuga, Akande weddings beat it 100times.

@Guest, what sort of groom cries truly??? Probably a gigolo pretending to be emotional. No jara for nothing...
Secondly, cocktail receptions and night weddings aren't African. They just wanted to sho western exposure sha. They should have used London or France if they wanted oyinbo wedding. Mchew...

Shakara said...

Guest, i just keep my ears to the ground that's all. Don't most Lagosians know celeb stories? LOL.

Guest said...

@Shakara, lol... Their stories are mor interesting than African magic movies.

shakara is a very dangerous gossip. keep your ears to the ground indeed.

ITK said...

Shakara isn't only a gossip, she's also a stalker. Reminds me of some lady who sells fabrics.