Stampede Deaths At President Goodluck Jonathan's Campaign Rally in PH | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 February 2011

Stampede Deaths At President Goodluck Jonathan's Campaign Rally in PH

Several people were feared to have been killed today Saturday Feb 12th in a stampede at an election campaign rally for Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan in the oil city of Port Harcourt, witnesses said. - Reuters

A press statement issued by the office of The President regarding Port Harcourt stampede deaths when you continue...

President Goodluck Jonathan has received with shock and sadness, news of the unfortunate loss of some lives due to a stampede at the Port Harcourt Liberation Stadium, during the Flag off of the South South Presidential campaign.

The president mourns with the families of the deceased, and prays the almighty to grant repose to their souls. President Jonathan notes with a heavy heart, that these are persons who came to celebrate his success at the primaries of the PDP, and wish him well in the coming elections.

"I am sad, and heavily weighed down by this incident. It is sad, unfortunate and regrettable. I mourn with those who mourn tonight. May God grant us all the fortitude to bear this irreparable loss," he said.

The president has directed a full scale investigation into the cause of the stampede that led to the unfortunate loss of some lives.

Ima Niboro,
Special Adviser to the President,
Media and Publicity

More details coming...

7 comments:

Surprise said...

May the souls of the departed rest in the bossom of the Lord.

Surprise said...

The campaing rally caused a lot of traffic gridlock yeaterday.

R.I.P to those who lost their lives.

I heard today that one of my aunt was among those stampeded to death.

Chilling said...

Anon February 13, 2011 5:12 PM; so sad. May her soul rest in peace and please be strong.

yemroc said...

it is a pity. may the soul of the departed rest in peace. gej should take clue, to become president is not by force.

hater said...

dem no get work o jare!

hater said...

@anonymous..am sorry about your loss, may her soul rest in peace.