Nigeria's Best Movie of 2010 is...? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 February 2011

Nigeria's Best Movie of 2010 is...?

Silverbird Cinemas says it's Anchor Baby. A lot of people think it's Ije.
I haven't seen Anchor Baby so it's hard for me to have an opinion here...
But which movie do you feel was the best of last year? Maybe it's neither..?
Let's know what you think...

19 comments:

omo ghetto was the best movie...lol i avnt watched ije and anchor baby

I wonder if it counts that though Anchor baby was produced by a Nigerian, but it's actually not a Nigerian movie, in the sense that the producers, writers and actors/actresses don't even reside in Nigeria; that it should still be considered a Nigeria movie?

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

which have u seen linda cuz i haven't seen any. u shud also tell us what u think. either way both movies are based on similar plots and i don't like the whole immigrant movies type so i dunno if i'll ever see both movies even if they have good actors in them.

Surprise said...

Neither of them. Sunday Dagboru is the best. I have not watched any of the films o. But from wetin I hear inside MOLUE one day like that, me think Sunday Dagboru na da best.

Linda, Please get your facts rights.. silverbird cinemas cannot say anchore baby.. did you research befiore putting up this post....

call the cinemas and get your facts rights...

anchor baby has nothing on IJE

And this is important because......?

Lol @ definition of Nigerian movie... So movies shot entirely on location in other nations, with the bulk of the cast and crew being from other nations, but made for a US audience i.e Tears in the Sun (the naija bruce willis flick) should be considered foreign films?

@ Surprise...

I genuinely love how you put your comments across......there is some thing raw about it....

Myne said...

I didn't get to see Ije but Anchor Baby was really good.

Anchor Baby - Better Story.
Ije - Better Acting.
Both very good movies. (I have watched them both).

I saw them both...They were both good, very difficult to actually say which was better.But i'll have to settle wit IJE.

I haven't seen any but from the reviews of the storyline IJE seems to be an over recycled story in Nollywood while ANCHOR BABY seems new to Nollywood but to be put on the best list, that i don't know

Bebe said...

I wouldnt say these are Nigeria's best movies but I will say they are Nigeria's overhyped movies. Are you saying in terms of sales they were the best? Maybe but not to diss the films.... in reality< i didnt really like IJE cos it portrayed Nigeria and women in a bad light... Nigeria a land of savages and rapists and women objects to be raped> it didnt celebrate anythg about Nigeria or Africa. i think it was just becoz Genevieve and Omotola were inside that on the big screen that people liked it so much. sure lighting was good< picture quality great but that was it really> But it was a good effort. As for Anchor Baby it was shot entirely in America... what makes it a Nigerian movie? Becoz Omoni and the producer where Nigerian? Like I said. I think they were the most overhyped movies of 2010. The Figurine still remains the best truly African movie for me. They spoke in Yoruba, all the cast and esp crew were all Nigerians... but then maybe it shot in 2009, right? I would still bring it forward and say The Figurine.heh heh!

these movies were over-hyped. point of correction though, Anchor Baby was filmed in Canada but the storyline was based in the US.
just because the quality was good and it was shot in oyinbo-land with majority of th cast being non-Nigerian does IN NO WAY make these movies the best of anything. Ije is as good movie, but got most of its buzz because Genny and Omo (true talk). Anchor baby was cool....
but i've seen a lot of our regular nollywood movies (filmed in nigeria, on location, possibly low budget, filmed in 10 days etc...) that have better stories and good acting as well. those few could give ije and anchor baby a run for their money.
anyway sha, ive talked too much on this one. lol ON TO THE NEXT.

tayo said...

Best movies so far...

Omo Ghetto

Sunday Dagboru

If i can watch IJE & Anchor Baby on youtube then i can decide...

but b4 then... lets see what the others think...

Anon 5.30 You are very correct! If the truth be told, IJE and Anchor Baby were over hyped! I prefer Nollywood-shot-in-7days-released-the next-week' kinda movies anyday! LMAO!

Now we know! Hype sells movies! Not because they are necessarily the best films! I still prefer Idumota and Asaba made films... this New cinema needs getting used to!

okezie Kingsley said...

Is definitely IJE

hater said...

haven't seen any.

if silver bird says so, then it is, since they her in entertainment.

omo-ghetto????..puhlease!!!!