Senate panel wants fuel price increased to N150 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 June 2017

Senate panel wants fuel price increased to N150

The Senate Committee on works has proposed an increase in the pump price of petrol from N145 to N150. The committee made the recommendation in a report on the National Roads Fund NRF (Est. Etc) Bill (SB.218) bill that is currently before the house.

The NRF bill is designed to address the issue of poor funding of roads in the country.

According to the chairman of the committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya , the fund when established would "serve as a repository of revenues from road user related charges and other sources for financing, which shall be managed and administered for routine and periodic maintenance works on roads in the country". Part of recommendations the committee put forward is a fuel levy of N5 chargeable per litre on any volume of petrol and diesel products imported into the country and locally refined Petroleum products.

The committee also recommended toll fees; a percentage not exceeding 10 percent, of any revenue paid as user charge per vehicle on any Federal road designated as toll road. It further recommended international vehicle transit charges, inter-state mass transit user charge of 0.5 percent deductible from the fare paid by passengers to commercial mass transit operators and axle load control charges.

Out of the 15 members of the committee, the senators who endorsed the report are Senators Gaya, Clifford Ordia, Barnabas Gemade, Mao Ohuabunwa , Bukar Abba Ibrahim, Ben Bruce, Gilbert Nnaji, Abubakar Kyari, Ibrahim Danbaba, Mustapha Bukar, Sani Mustapha and Buruji Kashamu. Senators Olusola Adeyeye, Biodun Olujimi and Ahmad Ogembe who were members of the committee refused to endorse it. The report has been distributed to senators and would be up for deliberation soon.

53 comments:

What are my even reading;their father!!!

Even the nonsense Ben Bruce endorsed it.

hrm paul said...

Thunder fire every individual on that panel

Edward said...

they keep making things harder for the common man. this is another increase in the price of fuel even after the dollar price has reduced a bit which should mean lesser price.

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

Awon weere... dee

What kind of country is this...

The extra 5 naira is for there pot belly. They will choke on that extra 5naira. The money will disappear from their account without them realising it. Nigerians are suffering and they don't care.

i'm an undergraduate and i'm the one fending for myself due to the fact that i'm an orphan, during the holidays, which lasted a month I couldn't raise enough funds that will last me for the coming semester.  I'm due to resume school on Monday and I need assistance of people on here. Please I need help. I can be reached on nuelleye@gmail.com‎

Bhet why? 145 is still a struggle

i cant believe we nigerians sit down and swallow the shit these bastard politicians give us instead of throwing it to their faces, i think its high time we stand up to these bastards and take back what is ours ah ah, what sort of rubbish are they spewing gosh, upon all we have they just sit there and guzzle all our money while we suffer and feed their generations... where do all the taxes we pay go to, no accountability nothing of sorts and they want to increase the pump price, i have had enough

A VERY ANGRY NIGERIAN

IT SEEMS WHAT THEY WANT IS EXTREME PAIN ON THEM AND THEIR FAMILY I SWEAR THEY WILL ALL CHOKE AND DIE

Joyous babe, Linda Ikeji FIrst Cousin said...

Hehehehehe!!! This change nawa.@150. Issokey.

Joyous babe, Linda Ikeji FIrst Cousin said...

Hehehehehe!!! This change nawa.@150. Issokey.

Una dey Mad?

For whaat!!!

These jokers had better not start. These guys have no idea what the common man is facing. All they do is sit down with their potbellies, come up with outrageous ideas and keep parading their ill gotten wealth before the hungry and toiling masses

make them kuku kill all of us for this country so that na only them go remain

Ñuriababy said...

God imagine the kind of hardship, suffering Nigerians are going through and this heartless criminals still wants to add more pains and penury. May thunder strike every individual that supported that committee. Military should pls take over this government and imprisoned every politician. Thieves

THUNDER FIRE BUHARI AND HIS EVI APC. THIS IDIOTS INCREASED IT FROM 87-145, NOW THEY WANT TO INCREASE IT AGAIN. IT WILL NOT BE WELL WITH BUHARI AND THE APC FOR THEIR UNENDING WICKEDNESS

please.... senators, can you discuss the issue of hunger and poverty in the country. People are suffering, the prices of goods in the market is on the high side. increasing fuel price is not a good idea.Don't push us to the wall.

miss e said...

Are dey mad or sometin....ain't we suffering enof already?????

The stolen loot is enough to build roads and any other thing the lame duck government want to build..give Nigerians a break.

LOL
CHANGE IS HERE!

The beginning of change.....

Haaaaaaaaa not again now they just want to make life harder for the lesser people while they will sit down and enjoy ...may God deliver us from this yeye people called change ohhh

It can never be well and it shall never be well with these people...their unborn n present generation will not know peace. They just want to finish this country totally.

They should donate the money for the road maintenance from their you salary and leave the masses alone afterall de dont buy fuel

Scontituz said...

Our Senate is full of foolish, stupid and brainless men and women who think only about their pockets. If you investigate properly I'm sure there's something they stand to benefit from this whole exercise and that's why they've endorsed it. My Fellow Nigerians you are on your own, your destiny is in your hands and no government will everlook at your face even if you're dying. The government is useless to us, we generate our own water through boreholes, we generate our own power through generator, Inverter, Solar etc, our roads are bad that we have to sand fill them ourselves. The uselessness of the Nigeria government to the citizenry is my book that is coming out soon. Please watch out for it. Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Scontituz said...

This foolishness is the reason more and more people are supporting brafra even though I have my reservations.

PRESIDENT JONATHAN was helping to pay Subsidy on Petroleum products and they all said it was a scam that there was nothing like fuel subsidy and it was a medium of stealing. Now they want to spend billions of Naira on School Stomach infrastructure and National Stomach Infrastructure that will never get into the hands of those that really nids them and for the school that might get to the students how long can they sustain it. If they will only pay the subsidy and revamp all the refineries in the country and go on proper price check/monitoring on goods/products in our markets they will not need to spend billions on stomach infrastructure. There will be massive price reduction and with the little we earn we can infrastructure our stomach ourselves. They attempt to stop what they call WASTE by putting the resources on a worst waste.

150 is too small,dem for make am 500 a litre..rubbish

Stupid politicians. Why can't they reduce their fat allowances to meet up with the so called yeye Road Funds. This is why Nigeria is still not moving forward.

Government of no proper agenda just propaganda

This people no go kill us

What exactly am I still doing in this country ?

chy said...

I don't think these old men are alright,they should better go for check up

May they choke on their words. 150 my foot. Ndi Ekpenta senators

Bad clueless govt. Apc must go.linda nor post am if I like

ndi oshi

this is an evil plot by these thieves to further trample of the poor. a country where thr is no form of accountability. they think we are stupid.... well the painful thing is that if indeed they succeed, we would fold our hands and look on whilst the suffering continues. the thought disgusts me.

WTF!!
I drive a V8 n know how much it cost 2 Gassed it.
Silence is no More Golden. "All I ever Heard, R(r)e(volu)demp(tion) Song" (in Bob Marley's voice).
I'm sick n tired of this fuckery that Gruesomely affects the common folks. My blessings will never stand in the way of speaking against the oppression of the Masses by any fuckin power.

WTF!!
I drive a V8 n know how much it cost 2 Gassed it.
Silence is no More Golden. "All I ever Heard, R(r)e(volu)demp(tion) Song" (in Bob Marley's voice).
I'm sick n tired of this fuckery that Gruesomely affects the common folks. My blessings will never stand in the way of speaking against the oppression of the Masses by any fuckin power. DAMN!!

This old fools are heartless

May GodAllmighty punish all of them in dat panel dat wants to increase d fuel prices,it shall never be well with them and there families,so dis suffering is not enough abi,dey want to add more

Useless stupid Nigerians. U sit in your home and post useless coment. I pitty Nigeria. These old greedy foolish old politicians will Soon sell you for slavery. All you know how to do is sit and look like fools. Everyone is scard. No body want to rise against government. No body want to go jail. That is why I respect namdi KANU.

Fmr presd GEJ increased fuel pump price to a N100 n d opp APC mobilized ignorant youths to mass protest in 2012. FF, APC led govt made it 145 which is one of d factor dat to high cost of things. Not a single Nigerian protested. Our MUMU DON DO.

Evil Administration!!! That's Why God is Dealing with Bokohari!! When I Warned u people of this scam Change u all were busy Raining insult on me. Oya na, Here comes the Chain Change and the ingredients...

When I was Warning u People of this Scam Chain Change nobody listed. Ntorrr unu...

These guys are heartless with all the hardship in the land these thieves don't care if the decision is right with all their pen robberies they still want to make life difficult for us for God's sake what do we need the Senate for may God deliver us from these evil men

Mandymice said...

But you commented as an anon. You are mot brave enough to say what you just said, yet you call nigerian youths to rise?

It's high time we give this corrupt bastards called senators the beating of their lives. Nothing stops us from invading the senate. Sad our Senate is full of rogues and criminals

Ocultic men in power doing the work of their grand master send them to do,to put pains in individual, everything has expire date.