Don’t wish us dead, you still need our mentoring- Obasanjo tells Nigerian youths | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 29 May 2017

Don’t wish us dead, you still need our mentoring- Obasanjo tells Nigerian youths

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo, on Sunday, appealed to Nigerian youths to desist from wishing their past leaders, including him dead, as the youths still need their mentoring and advise‎. Obasanjo made the appeal when he spoke during the Youth Governance Dialogue organized by the Youth Development Centre arm of the Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library(OOPL), Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital‎.

"Don’t wish us dead, don’t wish us to disappear because you will need us. You need us mentors and advisers to mentor and prepare you for the future. You need our experience and assistance of some of us to guide you through life. You should not lose hope, you should not feel frustrated. Whenever I go, they always ask me what is my fear about Nigeria and Africa. And I said my greatest fear is youth anger, frustrations and youth explosion which have no bound. 
We have the Boko haram in the north, the MASSOB and IPOB in the South East, the militants in the Niger Delta and the Oodua Peoples Congress in the Southwest. All of these are expression of anger and frustrations. We have what it takes to be great as a nation and we can’t transform this country without the youths. My greatest hope in this country is also the youth. You the youth should work to help yourselves. You must be ready to pay the price for what you stand for,”he said.

55 comments:

Okorie Rowland said...

Story for the Gods who u epp

"Prepare you for the future" you said? When will this future come please?

Is it when all the youths are dead that is when all you stupid both present and past leaders will work towards the betterment of Our great nation Nigeria. Because of all your selfish interest youths are selling properties to make money to flee Abroad. Bad leaders all of you deserve more than death.

Mentor who?

Please anyone with spare food stuff or money to give out please assist me as I keep praying to God for a job. Gracegracey45@gmail.com

God forbid ur mentoring!! I don see where e de don lead us to so far.

From his words and the mention of the tribal factions, he has stated the Nigeria problem which is tribalism. And how did tribalism came on board? It was the civil war. Our generation will be better if only their generation could tell us the truth behind the war and help to resolve it. Truth will help us heal. If anyone check comments online for the past ten years, one will notice bile-full tribalism hatred. Truth is non of our generation witnessed the war but we all are casualties of it. We heard stories and this post war trauma if not resolved in a way might instigate xenophobia attack in future. Our generation needs to heal from pains caused by your generation. Pains of money laundering, pains of unjust killings, pains of seeing corrupt politicians strutting around like lord as they spend stolen money.
We will work hard but how can a youth work hard when the future is on a plate of greedy politician as he gulps it? How can a student concentrate on his studies when three of his siblings with Masters degree gat no job. Such will take to cyber fraud because any youth that comes of age and with the innate need to be a man will do anything to make it happen. If your generation has established a system for us to thrive in, crime would have subsidise. Take for example, the same IQ level it will take to engage in cyber fraud is the same it will take to be inventive but when the system keeps killing creative and inventive minds by not encouraging them how do u expect them not to divert the positive IQ to negative use?
If only your generation could save for our generation by building and establishing good health care, education, infrastructure then our level of frustration could have gotten to this level.

May God bless Nigeria

Nnaife said...

Go and die already. We dont need your advice or mentoring. All of you contributed in making this country a miserable place.

You're the father of corruption in Nigeria. I guess no youth will ask for your advise. Bring back our stolen money, sir.

fuck off wit ur mentoring

Chinedu said...

Nope... We don't... If you dying will make Nigeria better, please make it fast

Yeye

Hahahahaha

@Baba I don't need you

I even prayed this morning that GoD should wipe all of you away

You people are the cause of all these RadaRada

No be only mentoring. Oloshi

We should be calm so u and ur cohorts can steal more?? Amadioha in thunder form fire u there

This man is Nigeria's highest ranking Joker... Mentoring kor... Is he high???

Mentoring the youths to be as greedy and as corrupt? I don't get it.

Bree said...

As if u know that all ye old politicians with corrupt brain needs to clear from the surface of earth..

Eguavoen Osamwonyi said...

Every Nigeria youth seem 2 hate u, judging by d comments here... Make una do leave us, so we can build what you n your coholts have destroyed... It has long been official.. We hv no leaders, what we hv are old lutters. God Bless n help the youth in building our Lovely Country, Nigeria.

U must die,bastard selfish leaders,Naija is rich in every aspect,but u criminals won't allow us enjoy our country,oloshi ex president

hrm paul said...

Obasanjo dey fear to die.he joined in messing up dis nation wat did he do who did he help.obasanjo is worth Over 5 billion dollars who has his wealth helped.how many poverty alleviating programs has he championed.how many bore hole hole has he sunk in loc community how many orphans has he fed

When he is dead lol

prince samuel said...

No good leaders in Nigeria

Jesus nothing somebody will not hear in this country, ugly obasanjo please do I hear u say mentor?may God forgive u all,ndi ara

Bydoh machado said...

Alaye, go die Jare.. U can mentor them dead suicide bombers when y'all meet. They need fatherly advice

Obasanjo and his Co looters should return back to the society what they have all taken illegally. They enriched themselves with what belong to nigerian and we still consider them as political God-fathers....

WE DONT FUCKING NEED YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Look at Canada and France, young men are running those governments.So tell me why Nigeria needs you old farts sleeping in meetings and hanging on to power and enjoying money stolen from decades ago & counting? WE DONT FUCKING NEED YOU!!!!!!

chinny said...

No one wishes anybody dead, all we need is better change in our blessed country. Our youths are found in every part of the world in search of greener pasture. on the process, doing al sorts of criminal acts in order to survive n take care of his family. no job, no money how can the youths b happy with d leaders
who hide our money for their hundreds generation to come. so unfair sir. The masses are dying very unknown to u leaders. U people should do some thing to change d bad administration of buhari.

you want to live, when u have succeeded in sending people to their early grave with your political mentoring.

See this SAP money stealer ooooo all the money you took and enrich your family and your Otta farm when are you returning it? Youth ke do you believe in the youth? Only God will judge you because you are the very essence of our problems. Vanity men whose interest is on what to grab advicing me? God forbids. Shame on you old leaders who refused to put this nation in the map of its glory posterity will judge you all.Rubbish advice

Obj is afraid of death. D past leader should die so that the country will move forward they are the disaster of this great nation

Good question? For how many decades will he be preparing /mentoring the so called youths????youths that are now grand parents??#wehdone Sir

Who ur mentoring epp?.

stupid old man ...

.... . . . with the present state of the Nation, you mentor ? Will take with a pinch of salt !

Mike said...

Did you say mentoring? Baba you are the most useless leader Nigeria ever had, you caused all the corruption we are fighting in this our democratic era even our unborn children will not forgive you

firstlady blessing said...

Agbomen said...

😂😂😂😂😂Funny comments. Choi!! Baba shd know better than to begin to solicit for understanding from the youths. That time don pass nah.

Die oooooo

Baba disappear abeg

Enter your comment...Indeed!

JUS NEGODU THIS MUMU,
Mentoring nshiko!

We will continue to curs Nigerian leaders who mortgaged Nigeria youths future for their own enrichment, we don't need your advice, all we need is a functioning Nigeria where basic amenities works for the common man.Good road, good schools, good health care system that functions for the common man, security of lives and property.Any political leader serving or retired, that have looted Nigeria in any way, their children will never have peace. If they send their kids to live or school abroad with that stolen loot from Nigeria, without paying teacher or professors in Nigerian schools, their children's degrees will be worthless until they fix Nigerian schools. Any Nigerian politician serving or retired who go abroad for medical treatment, without functioning hospital in Nigeria for the common man, may they never be healed until they fix healthcare in Nigeria for the common man.Any Nigerian Political leader serving or retired, who looted money to fix federal, state or Local roads, because they won't use the roads because they have private jets, may their private jets crash until they won't be able to fly but to fix the roads in a solid way.God Almighty will never give any Nigerian politician and their family peace for looting Nigeria dry. They will continue to see problems in their lives pain and sorrows until Nigeria is fixed like what they and their family enjoy overseas.Amen

obasanjo or whatever you call your self. It will do us good if people like you are dead and buried because your generation represent evil, poverty, stealing, looting and you don't have any meaningful advise to give the present generation that represent hard work determination, resilient, fast thinking, very upward and mobile. You and your generation are expired drugs you are not good around children and adult. just tell death to take you and your greedy generation away.

See this man o ,,petroleum minister for 8years no account ,talking about mentor ko ni da fun e sir

This man dey forget say ppl know him profile sha,Eze ndi oshi

Mentoring ki, mentoring ni. Abeggi, will these old cargoes swerve make person see road. Naija youths know say wisdom does not reside in many of their elders given the reality of their existence. Time for new mindsets and dynamic visionaries to lead.NMTA

akpa-ose said...

I wish the so called death could hear the prayers of Nigeria youth. Evil people

Shey u are still buying data and no food...continu
Hunger never hol u

Many of them in this country.

Basic amenities,No
Election will come now,w'll still be hearing 'I will give you good road,light'
In this time and age????
Ghana gets light from us and we can't even give ourselves light.Just cos generator manufactures have made deals with our very foolish leaders.Our mumu really never do? I want to actively participate.I really wish I could be recruited by Charlie Boy.I would be a perfect addition to his team. We,the YOUTH need to wake up.