Nigeria and the problem of adaptation by Frederick Lawrence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 April 2017

Nigeria and the problem of adaptation by Frederick Lawrence

The term 'suffering and smiling' has been often used to describe Nigerians as a people but is this a compliment or a damning indictment? Let's examine this from another perspective. Average life expectancy is 54, human development index is way below average, 67% or about 112 million of us live below the poverty line, basic amenities and civil rights remain a mirage so what do we have to smile about? Our attitude is not one of resilience in the face of adversity, we have rather resigned ourselves to the sorry state of things, we adapt.
As conditions worsen, we don't ask questions of our leaders, we don't demand more from our overpaid government, we rather pay the price for their ineptitude and adapt to their avarice. Like lambs resigned to an inevitable fate, we find something to smile about on our way to the slaughter.

Like frogs in a kettle that's being heated by degrees, we keep adapting to the water as it gets hotter and die a slow death. It appears we are not uncomfortable enough with the squalor in which we live to aspire to a higher standard. We are addicted to suffering, that's why we can smile about it.

10 comments:

Teslim Omipidan said...

As innnn! Adaptation is our calling!
If South Africans are shown this, the xenophobic attacks could be stopped. But you need to see if first!
~ Choose an identity

Ladun Liadi said...

Fatal maladaptation

It has even become worse now.
Its no longer suffering and smiling
Its now suffering and laughing.
Suffering and Joking about it on social media.
A fatal surrender to mediocrity and stagnation.
Sadly our youths who supposedly own the future are the chief jokers.
Its baffling to contemplate.

GOOD TO SEE

UJE said...

As sad as this is, it appears to be true. I believe what has constituted such smile and adaptation in the face of adversity is the lack of belief in oneself to influence the choices and policies of the government. However, adaptation in some respect just as this is a choice and can be unchosen, if only Nigerians understood their rights and are ready to frown at unacceptable policies, and are ready to stand for something in unison for the betterment of all, then and only then will we have a Nigeria that has been reborn. The day we all understand the notion of the social contract, the day we all see ourselves as equals under one Nigerian roof, the day we understand that we are the ones who bring such squalor upon ourselves by virtue of whom we select as our leaders in all ramifications; forgetting that sentiments and gifts mean nothing if they can impoverish and cannot guarantee us a better future

Oladimeji said...

I love this write up so much, the youths of today are deluded majority of them jobless after good four years in college:) can't think so they just go up on social medias and display stupidity, lame jokes that ain't funny anymore they fail to acknowledge reality and realise that time is ticking fast and pretty soon you will be 60y/o Time is really no friend of man. It makes me sad Nigeria is heading this way. Let's make it a better place I'm 23 now and I really wanna see Nigeria flourish while I'm still alive, may God help us put this evil people down that rob us and our generations

Ekerete said...

Okay... we have heard... what is the way forward for the average Nigerian now? want to increase your penis size?

UJE said...

Bonario and d dumb Aboki are living even way below d power line....Aboki is even yet to taste anything called good life...this is why even tho they r surfering,they will Sai Baba till their last breath.

well...