Racism row: Samuel Eto'o dropped by Club over his Instagram post about not being respected 'because he's black' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 September 2016

Racism row: Samuel Eto'o dropped by Club over his Instagram post about not being respected 'because he's black'

Cameroon football star and former Chelsea striker Samuel Eto'o has been dropped by his club, Antalyaspor, after he claimed on social media that people didn't respect him because of his skin colour. According to AFP, the Turkish top flight said that Eto’o would be left out of the squad until further notice in a bitter row over comments on social media.
Two days ago, the football star, who moved to Antalyaspor in June 2015 posted a screenshot image of his achievement, all the cups he has won, along with a caption written in Turkish:
"Reminder – perhaps some people do not feel respect for me because I am black. But I am not going to come down from the level I have reached. I have been in this game for 18 years,"
 The 35-year-old did not specify to whom he was targeting his criticism but later posted another message insisting it was not directed at Antalyaspor Chairman Ali Safak Öztürk. But Antalyaspor said in a terse statement on its website that a meeting of its board had decided to leave Eto’o out of the squad until further notice.

Turkish commentators had interpreted the remarks of Eto’o as a response to apparent criticism by Öztürk of his performance in the early season. The three-time Champions League winner has failed to lead his side to any kind of success with just one point from four matches
"No player is above the interests of Antalyaspor. Everyone must know their place," the chairman was quoted as saying." said Ozturk.
Source: AFP

24 comments:

For me d punishment is harsh

Lie lie lie from the pit of helL
DUDE STOP FOOLING UR SELF AN TELL UR SELF THE TRUTH.
Why always racism huh?
Samuel have u see ur life huh?
SO BECAUSE U ARE BLACK THE WHITE SHOULD BOW DOWN AN WORSHIP U HUH? lets tell our self the truth na.
Blacks are the ones that destroye the white with their lies and pride.
Racism my ass.

Lie lie lie from the pit of helL
DUDE STOP FOOLING UR SELF AN TELL UR SELF THE TRUTH.
Why always racism huh?
Samuel have u see ur life huh?
SO BECAUSE U ARE BLACK THE WHITE SHOULD BOW DOWN AN WORSHIP U HUH? lets tell our self the truth na.
Blacks are the ones that destroye the white with their lies and pride.
Racism my ass.

Hmmmmmmmm Eto living in past glory..... Oga u need to deliver, ur club dnt care who you are or what u won, all they needed from you is result... Forget racist chant, after all they knew u ar black before signing you... Results pls...1point in 4 games is too shitty

........... Liber maniac...........

Imagine!

That is some big embarassment though....

Eyahhhh!

He should leave that club . He can still get good club somewhere

Dat's unfair,

Na wao!!! People need to be mindful of their utterances in public..

NAWA O

Be should move on he's a big boy

Ilovemywife

a quick advise to you Etoo. arabs are not whites o. you try any racism complain there them go destroy you. always take note

Na waoo

Eto'o is a football icon, period!

Too bad for him. Linda take note!

Hmmmmmmmm na wa ooo

nawao

Dr. Laris said...

Black is taking over whether the white likes it or not, they feel insecure around us cause they know we've got what they don't have.... #Proudly African.

Exynos Brain said...

really bad for him...

Eto, you should have made enough money by now. Tell then fuckin Arabs tto go to hell.

IF YOU ARE BIG, YOU ARE BIG JARE! THE WHITES SHOULD GO AND SIT DOWN, NO BE THEM DEY DO RACISM PASS?

Well... Im sure he has enough money already and he doesnt give two fks, he can say whatever he likes. I respect his statement. Blacks are beginning og actualize their identity. White Supremacy is a farce

Nwaikemikeben said...

I am a big fan of Samuel eto. All his achievements or accomplishments are world class. He is one of the best strikers ever to have played for narcs.Until Suarez, he was the only striker who was able to overshadow Messi in barcas attack. He is my idol as a pure striker after Ronaldo DE Lima, Gabriel batistuta Raul Gonzalez and few other wonderful strikers in football history. U need to check out the quality of his goals at barca to fully understand his quality. But all that is history now. He is carried away by past glories. I thought he would have learnt from the downfall of Ronaldinho and try to retrace his steps. I cry so much when I remember Ronaldinho a wasted talent that allowed obesity, women and partying to ruin his career. In terms of skills creativity and raw talent, I have never seen any player like Ronaldinho.In this aspect,Ronaldinho at his peak, was better than Lionel Messi. Everybody acknowledges that. If Ronaldinho had kept his cool and maintained his peak form for eight years, we would have by talking about the best footballer of all time. But sadly, he didn't. Back to the issue of Samuel eto. U cannot accuse a club of racism when they signed you in the first place. Did they not know that he was black before signing him? I am not too happy with him.