Photos: President Buhari arrives Abuja, declares his UNGA71 outing, a success | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 September 2016

Photos: President Buhari arrives Abuja, declares his UNGA71 outing, a success

President Buhari arrived Abuja today, September 25, after his participation at the United Nations General Assembly UNGA71 in New York.

At the conclusion of his five-day activities during the 71st Session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA71), President Muhammadu Buhari declared that he had a very successful outing.

Addressing the media to round off his visit to New York, the President reviewed all his major and side events during the visit and highlighted the issues on which he sent a clear and direct message to world leaders.

"I highlighted the need for the international community to work together to liberate humanity from poverty, save our planet from the devastation of climate change and rid the world of terrorism for a more peaceful and prosperous future," he said.

President Buhari also stressed that, “I mentioned that the plight of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) arising from Boko Haram terrorism is of particular concern to us. For this reason, we have taken concrete steps to address their humanitarian needs and to ensure that necessary conditions are established to enable the voluntary return of the displaced persons to their homes in safety and dignity.”

While acknowledging that "Nigeria as a developing country has been adversely affected by the global economic downturn,” he however, stressed that “we are undeterred and have embarked on a wide range of reforms in our efforts to diversify our economy and shift emphasis to mining, agriculture, industrialization, infrastructure development and the creation of the enabling environment for Foreign Direct Investment."

He also noted that “fighting corruption remains of prime importance to our administration,” adding that the campaign is already yielding positive gains including significant stolen assets recoveries.

The President stated clearly Nigeria’s position on Climate Change, development in developing countries, youth development, statehood for the Palestinians, and reform of the UN Security Council with Nigeria ready to serve on a reformed Council to “advance international peace and security.”

President Buhari listed his meetings with world leaders and the benefits from some of the side events such as the US-Africa Business Forum during which discussions focused on how top American business executives “can collaborate with us to diversify our economy, which will in turn drive development, job creation and general business development in Nigeria.”

He mentioned his meeting with top Nigerian professionals in the United States and the urgent need to reclaim the shrinking Lake Chad, even as he expressed delight that “some countries notably the United Kingdom and United States pledged additional support in the tune of US $391 million humanitarian aid for the Lake Chad region.”

President Buhari used the occasion of the media event to thank relevant United States authorities for efficient security and administrative arrangements and officials of the Nigerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs for demonstrating “that we still have capable officers in our Foreign and Civil Services.”
He commended the Nigerian officers for the “tireless effects in projecting a positive image to our country, even in difficult times.”

President Buhari did not forget members of the Nigerian media, as he thanked them for “going through elaborate security checks and clearance procedures to follow my activities and hectic schedule in order to keep all our people at home well informed of my meetings and engagements.”

34 comments:

He's welcome

Okooo.... Let us watch

My able president! Welcome

You wanted this office desperately to get a chance to travel,while at UNGA71,u did not for once state any economic reform plans just blowing written gramma on terrorism and corruption.Ok tell us what you have done with the recovered loots,NO WAY.Mr President sir I humbly suggest that you step down from office and become the chairman of EFCC cuz that is where u truly belong.

Agbaya the clown don land.
SUCCESS MY FAT and FATTEST ASS.
the same scam and lies again.
Mr man when are you resigning because ur body structure is tired oooo you better resign before u fall one day.
You just went there to squander Nigeria money and loot the remaining ones,noting more because u are already a badluck can a good thing come out of apc huh?

Agbaya the clown don land.
SUCCESS MY FAT and FATTEST ASS.
the same scam and lies again.
Mr man when are you resigning because ur body structure is tired oooo you better resign before u fall one day.
You just went there to squander Nigeria money and loot the remaining ones,noting more because u are already a badluck can a good thing come out of apc huh?

He has finally returned, the daughters n wife would have joined him on same plane, Since is same function they went to.so angry with this man and his family, I just wish some miraculous will just happen n his family will leave government n we all will not hear from them again.

Baba is back

It's good to know boss. Hit millions in this recession! Get your expert soccer prediction tips for Sunday & Monday 25th & 26th September 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

welcome back my president and God bless your effort and hardwork

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Hmm.

Another jamboree has come to an end, when and where is next,we are waiting. Clueless president heading a clueless administration.

We hope to see the positive effect on the economy and not just a word of mouth.
Signed
LibBadBoy

Sai baba., God bless Nigeria🙌🏾

Lol. These old men dey surprise me. Outing was which success? Una pot dey fire!

This buhari man looks so sick and worn out but he still has the strength to intimidate people up and down.. #smh

Only him? Wife n kids nko?

God bless you for us daddy.

Ebere Omeje said...

success comes when you accept it,....but that's by the way!

HI LINDA, I HAVE GOT A LOT ABOUT YOU GOING ON IN MY BLOGSITE.

NOT JUST NEWS ABOUT YOU BUT ALSO ADVERTS TO MAKE SURE YOU BRING HOME THE COVETED PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR AWARD.

MY BLOG VISITORS CAN NOW NAVIGATE FROM MY BLOG TO YOURS WITH THE HELP OF BANNER ADVERT I PLACED.

I THOUGHT I SHOULD JUST LET YOU KNOW AM A BIG FAN OF YOU AND I CARE FOR

"MORE OF YOU"!

SEE to know more

YOUR'S SINCERELY, EBERE OMEJE.

Thank God for him

WHATEVER

Arsenalfirstlady said...

Jegede you don come back? As if your coming back will make any difference with the suffering and hardship in the country. Nonsense

welcome

Iam here

You shuda stayed dia Sir...nobody missed you...

Incredible India

Good to know! Linda take note!

Ajala, welcome. Hope your horizon is broadened? #TyrantBuhariaonodu

We should just give PMB time to deliver on his promises. We voted him to paddle the canoe of governance for 4yrs pls be patient with his administration. Agreed nigerians are suffering but no gains without pains.

A waste of time, Buhari can not remember the last discussion in United nations metting, God help us

Jonny Walker + Ajala the traveller.

What are you angry about. Tell us and we can help dispel the half truth you have been told by your Igbo brothers.

The genesis of the killing of Igbos in the north was started by your Igbo brothers who carried out the 1st coup killing all leaders from other regions except their fellow Igbo leaders. Ironsi as Igbo man was seen as benefiting from that coup and did not court mas hall the coup plotters.

Ironsi also abolished the regional resource control system of government we had then.

So please tell me the root cause of your anger as well as that of most Igbos agains having a Hausa man as president.

Mind you I am from the SS and my people fought the civil war as Biafrans. Unlike the coward Ojukwu who ran away my brother Philip stayed back to negotiate peace irrespective of the danger to his life.

What are you angry about. Tell us and we can help dispel the half truth you have been told by your Igbo brothers.

The genesis of the killing of Igbos in the North was started by your Igbo brothers who carried out the 1st coup killing all leaders from other regions except their fellow Igbo leaders. Ironsi an Igbo man was seen as benefiting from that coup and did not court marshal the coup plotters.

Ironsi also abolished the regional resource control system of government we had then.

So please tell me the root cause of your anger as well as that of most Igbos agains having a Hausa man as president.

Mind you I am from the SS and my people fought the civil war as Biafrans. Unlike the coward Ojukwu who ran away my brother Philip stayed back to negotiate peace irrespective of the danger to his life.