Photos: Lady who got pregnant at 11, kicked out by her dad but now married shares her amazing story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 October 2016

Photos: Lady who got pregnant at 11, kicked out by her dad but now married shares her amazing story

Facebook user, Uriemu Onome shared her amazing story on Facebook. Read below... 
My story goes thus, sometime 20 years ago, I was naïve and influenced by peer pressure. My dad was and is still a strict disciplinarian,mum on the other hand was a bit soft on us and let us have our way. She practically covered for and took sides with me especially (being her only daughter amongst 3 sons).
I got out of hand and starting moving with the wrong set of friends, got pregnant at age 11 (primary 5) and then my whole world crumbled. The harsh reality of life began to unfold as I had to drop out of school, I couldn't sit for my First School Leaving Certificate Examination(FSLC).

People in my neighbourhood made mockery of me my dad couldn't bare it, so he sent me out of the house and I had to go to the village to live with my grandma. In order to survive and fend for myself (as grandma isn't working) I had to summon courage and face my own devil, I knew I was the cause of my predicaments and didn't put the blame on my mum or anyone. I started street hawking selling all sorts ranging from tapioca (kpokpo garri), roasted pork meat, roasted maggots, Madiga bread, sachet water etc.
Few months later I had my baby,saved some cash (through hawking) which I used to re-enroll for my FSLC, I passed with a "merit".
Still in the street hawking business, I saw myself through secondary school, I was determined to show my folks that I truly regretted my actions and is now a serious child. Enrolled for WAEC cleared all my papers likewise my JAMB and then gained admission into the university.
When my dad saw how focused I had become, they took my child and I back, sent me off to the university and took care of my baby.....
To cut the long story short, I'm now a M.ed holder from the University of Lagos State Akoka, a successful teacher and happily married by His grace. My son is currently a 200Level Law student. Strangers thinks he's my younger brother because the age gap between us is so close, and he's growing taller by the day.
My son is my life, he's the reason I am where I am today as his presence into this world made me a responsible individual. He's my victory story, he knows what I went through and is determined to make me a proud mum

82 comments:

Mind blowing! Thank God for u. I loved that you dint give up on urself!

Long Live LIB

Pregnant at 11? You really went out of control ooo but good to know that you made your family proud at the end

You're an encouragement Lady! Hope people get the opportunity to hear you.

Story that melts the hrt..... Real success story..... God bless us all

............ Liber maniac...........

Am hapi for her

Awesome

This is really an amazing story of hope. You are an institution for young people to learn from. I celebrate you. Congratulations Madam!

Wow at age 11. Good to know she turned out well.

Wat a lovely story
Signed
LibBadBoy

Michael Harry said...

Amazing story indeed! You are institution for the young to learn from. I celebrate you. Congratulations Madam!

Inspiring and touching

esse ovialekhe said...

Wow

Congratulations to her... #love

No giving up in life

Wow! What an interesting story... tell me more

WizzyEsq said...

That is determination at work...nice story

So what advice do you have for the young ones? Or you want them to follow your footsteps?

That's quite a history! Thank God for her

Thank God for your life

vikai said...

Amazing turnaround.

Some people don't even have shame at all. Tufiakwaa

Thank God for your life

Thank God for her

Amazing story! But you're one in over 3million girls that is able to make something of themself after childhood/teenage pregnancy! Well done! Now go inspire young girls👏👏👏👏👏👏

Shelterlovely@gmail.com said...

Am in tears.story of my life. ......God is taking me where u are now in life in Jesus name

Shelterlovely@gmail.com said...

Am in tears.story of my life. ......God is taking me where u are now in life in Jesus name

MamaNigeria said...

Determination breeds success. Welldone lady for not giving up.

Check out @mamanigeria on Instagram

Nice one... dee

Thank God for everything, a big lesson to all.

#proudmama. I'm happy for you

Good for her. Linda take note!

And u're proud of getting pregnant at 11? Big SHAME on you!! Married or not. Bad example for ur kids

Interesting! Some girl will end up being prostitude and beggers

Wooow.

You are a strong woman

I will call you Cookie from Empire Tv Show

You try but you no try.

Ilovemywife

Eyah.... That feeling when your mum is just 11 years older than you.. They'll be just like friends

What waywardness!! How could u start hvn sex by 11 years primary 5? Ur a wayward spoilt... good 4 nufn young girl.

Truth! said...

WHERE IS THE FATHER OF THE CHILD????????

Truth! said...

She made no mention of the BIOLOGICAL FATHER...excpt it was rape I don't fancy this "story"

Divy said...

Na waoh... Why can't u just read her story very well.. Did she say.. She was proud getting pregnant at 11?
And u r saying saying,'shame on her'.. Imagine! Are u better.. Why being so critical. Can't u just appreciate her courage instead of all d hate..

Fucking a girl in primary though....

Lols

You are so judgemental. May God have mercy on you. If your small sized brain can think of the message of hope she brings to the hopeless. You are a very very wicked person. God forgive you!

You are an idiot! How many abortions have you had or sponsored. Murderer!

You are a crazy fellow...looooool

missy doris said...

Hmmm thank god u retraced ur step happy for u

heya

olorifaps said...

Whaooo... Onome, we did our masters degree together in Unilag and u were ever smiling. Not knowing u passed through these. Determination was d key.... Love ur spirit ma'am... Although we weren't close.... God bless ur home dear.

Story that melt d heart

I wonder why some low life idoitt will sit in front of computer to type rubbish and judge people. She made mistake and turn her life around. You are there saying she got pregnant at 11. Tufiakwaa and that idiott saying shame on her. Senseless bitchesssss

Anonymous 7:57,u are an idiot to judge her. Your type are those who don't aborting 100 babies in their life time.

SPOTLIGHT said...

I'm glad she made it. Mums need to learn from this story. Don't take sides! it ruins your daughters future. Nurture them well!

The support network you have like your grandma and your loving parents who came to give you the second chance save your butt. Better to learn from instructions than through experience, anyway kudos to your parents and granny

Anonymous Goat, no need to be hide under anonymous and be insulting people that did not commend ur waywardness, so u want me to clap for u for getting pregnant at 11? Chukwu ajuu!! I spite on ur Whore face. What a bad omen to the young girls out there. 11??? Tufiakwa gii

coco said...

Lol,funny comments...... I no go say much o,but never stop thanking God. U owe Him everything.

Whoever impregnated her at 11 commited a crime..she was too young n naive.sum girls r being exposed to sex even at younger ages...rape znt only wen its by force but also wen its with an underage.

What's the deal with some people?? Like as if she said "wowza I was so proud to be pregnant at 11". Take the positive of the story and stop being so judgemental. Gosh I can't deal

Diamond said...

Do u wnt to hve a meeting wit hi

Because your own childhood sex didn't end up in pregnancy abi. Or you think we don't know ur own story. Anu

I know this girl very,@ 11 we were in secondary school not primary & she wasn't pregnant then this obviously is not true,wrote jss3 exams together & she had no child then,in fact I know am reach house then

Real happy 4 u lady!

That is how you fail exams ..fish brain. She never said she was proud .

Shut up!

The village ur dad sent you to really helped you. Believe that

This lady made a mistake early in life which she accepted she did, but didn't let that mistake define her entire life, this is highly encouraging for people who have made grievous mistakes and wanting to overcome... You are a star dear and God bless your courage.

Ndyoly said...

What a story! Very motivational. It means i can be what God proposed for me, only if i believe without doubt.

Naj said...

My gosh! You story is amazing but i just cant wrap my head around the fact that someone pregnanted an 11 year old child! I hope it was your primary school mate that did same oo or else na rape oo! And i weep for our people. The girl had to suffer and people on this blog Are still judging her till today as wayward? She was just a naive little girl what of the one who pregnanted her? He obviously had a normal life because he was the 'special and untouchable gender called a man' mtchhhhheeeew. Backward country

See all this stupid judge judys, am proud of u girl!!! Pls inspire oda pregnant girls nd teens nd let dem know a mistake shld not end thier lives! But 11 yrs tho! Wow u were a pregnant baby

Na ur fault na

Bitch please.

Much respect... nobody is above mistake...what about your son's dad? Anyway some men easily deny pregnancy but above all you u were a strong woman... am happy for you.... remain strong.

Really amazing...so much to learn from dis

God is good!

thank God for your life. Linda see to that case

She probably already had the baby then and you didn't know. Didn't she say she went back to secondary school? Abeg haters park well.

I suspect rape. Someone must have abused this child at some stage which led to her discovering the sweet world of sex. Good thing you retraced your steps. God. Less your son.

Amazing OK,,!!! Nothing encouraging about this unless you was raped. What should you be thinking at age 11 if not to play with toys afterwards. Pls keep this story for only you and family.

sholetoga said...

It takes the grace of God for someone who passed through such situation to come out better and strong. People should stop judging her. It's her past and its not like she's proud of it. She is sharing her story so people can learn to keep hope alive in whatever situation we find ourselves

I wonder why this anonymous couldn't show his/her useless face in all his/her comments.I know is just one particular fool hinding his face in other to talk rubbish.I suspect the victim or someone close to her. Any how you like take it, this story is not whorth telling my children period. You re free to abuse yourself again under anonymous.

Mugu