Lagos state govt trace recent outbreak of cholera to consumption of African salad aka "Abacha" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 September 2016

Lagos state govt trace recent outbreak of cholera to consumption of African salad aka "Abacha"

6 people have been confirmed dead in a recent outbreak of Cholera disease in the Isolo area of Lagos state. Commissioner for Health in Lagos state, Jide Idris, at a press conference, disclosed that investigations so far showed that the main source of the outbreak is from the consumption of the African salad popularly called Abacha.

“Some domestic wells within the communities are also suspected. Sample of Abacha salad and well water have been collected and sent to the Lagos State Drug Quality Control Laboratory for analysis. Samples were collected from 15 cases and taken to the central public health laboratory, Yaba. There were no growths, however continuous culture yielded Vibro cholerae from 7 out of 15 samples. The Vibro cholera was later confirmed to be Ogawa strain.The report of the analysis revealed the presence of vibro cholerae, Salmonella species and E. Coli in abacha and one of the two well water samples.” Jimoh disclosed that out of the six cases, two were brought in dead. He stated that a total of 36 cases have been successfully managed in various hospitals across the state while four people are currently responding to treatment. Symptoms of Cholera disease includes nausea, profuse diarrhoea, vomiting, fever, leg cramps, and in severe cases leads to dehydration, coma or death. Speaking further, Jimoh said “The risk of contracting the disease is mainly by poor water and environmental sanitation, including open defecation. Lagosians should endeavour to wash their hands with soap and water frequently and thoroughly, especially after using the rest room. Boil water before drinking, especially if you are not sure of the source of water".

45 comments:

Nawa

So people shuld stop eating abacha den

International Student said...

I just got my Vissaaa! Wow! Its been such a long journey. Im looking forward to starting my Masters education in Germany. Click on my name or visit my blog www.lifeofanfricanstudentabroad.blogspot.com to read about my experience.

Ah, they've failed woefully oh, cos I so love this dish, oh my... 😪

That's wonderful! Cholera or no cholera, i will still take my African salad this afternoon

Nothing we wont hear

YORUBA PEOPLE DON START ABI...
LOOKING FOR A WAY TO STOP PEOPLE FROM SELLING AFRICAN SALAD ABI...
YORUBA HUNGER NA IM GO KILL UNA

If the abacha on that pics will cause cholera, I'll eat it, Because it just made my mouth watery.

hahah

NONSENSE

Choi! We won't take this, they want to spoil the reputation of our darling Abacha.

God help us all. Linda take note!

I'm hungry for abacha like dis sef
Signed
LibBadBoy

Na wetin go kill u b dat nah... dee

Abeg take like five plates... dee

Igbo people take note... dee

U ar a retard

Alakada Online said...

I hate that disgusting food

It's not a lie pls be careful where you buy. I know of two sisters who eat one died and the other is still in hospital battling.

Lube-section said...

Madness

No one is spoiling the reputation of your abacha;simply adopt hygienic standard in preparing it, that is the message.

Goldmine said...

This is a lazy man's report. You can condemn the hygienic condition of a particular vendor, but an outright blanket condemnation of a staple food of a region of this country is lame and mischievous. How will it sound if a governor in the east claims that Typhoid fever is as a result of Amala or Tuwo consumption? That will be termed tribalistic, wouldn't it?

See temptation

YINXS said...

Do u mean bcos of the consumption of iranu

Always commenting Frist linda have stop dashing out money don't u have something doing nawaoooooo

Bia this scammer respect yourself oooooo no one will fall a victim so back off

Abacha is not the problem here..the problem is the way it was prepared..

Lindodo y u go put a sumptuous 1 like ds na.....nuttin can separate me and ds food....lai lai

MissVee

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

i don,t believe this, abaka my favorite i will eat it anytime any day.

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

i don,t believe this, abaka my favorite i will eat it anytime any day.

What about the remaining samples that tested negative, were they eaten?

Don't be gullible! A family in my church last week bought Abacha, they started vomiting after eating it, as I'm typing this, the man is dead only the son suffered it. The potash in it is usually too much and it's dangerous for the kidney. Be wise!!!

ABACHA HAS BEEN A DELICACY IN IGBO LAND FOR HUNDREDS OF YEARS AND NOT ONCE DID THEY COMPLAIN OF CHOLERA, YORUBA PEOPLE, YORUBA PEOPLE, YORUBA PEOPLE, HOW MANY TIMES DID I CALL U PEOPLE. IF ALL THE EXCRETE YOU DO INSIDE YOUR HOUSE DIDN'T GIVE YOU CHOLERA ITS ABACHA THAT WILL GIVE YOU CHOLERA.YORUBA PEOPLE STOP EATING ABACHA PERIOD.

4 your info women that sell Abacha at Cele Express were arrested by Lagos council on Wednesday. My friend is among them I will check her on my way home.
Godwin Alex

Don't mind them. Eat abacha here in London

The cholera came from the kpomo not the abacha

Mumu, it's cos u are too eager to be the first to comment dat's why you don't get to read the content.

D Thunda dat will fire dem is on 3mnths I.t.....nonsense...mk dem check well..na dia dirty environment dy cause am! No b my abacha
Yes na me talk am

Nonesense!!!!!

Enter your reply...its true. I lost a friend who ate d abacha. She and her two sisters ate it two wks ago at okota. She died bt her sisters miraculously survived it.

bukky said...

Buh some pple are retarded sha..whatever does bin yoruba has to do with this biko..let's be coherent in our comments na...Am sure y'all don't even love dis abacha like I do..I took it last week and I had severe diarrhoea..Am still romancing d ciprotab and dats bcos I dint even believe it was d same dat caused food poisoning last month o..I cldnt even tell d doc it was d same abacha I had again..well am sharing my experience cos it was a very wicked and dreadful 1..to hearken isn't by force tho

Buh some pple can act like retards sha...whatever does bin yoruba has to do with this biko..Am sure y'all don't even love dis abacha like I do..I took it last week and I almost died..still romancing d ciprotab after plenty injections o..I never believed abacha cld cause food poisoning cos I took it last month and I had severe diarrhoea..dats like 2ce in 2 months o..I cldnt even tell my doc it was wat I ate d 1st time i had again..pls don't even be a victim..dat painsss I went tru was wicked / dreadful..just tot to share..to hearken isn't by force tho

Abacha is one of my favourite delicacies but I must confess dis news is so true. My inlaw almost lost his life bcos of d last Abacha he ate, and I think d potash in dat their sauce is too much. that doesn't mean all Abacha are bad, u can prepare it urself n be sure of wat u re eating. Also my sis who is nurse, complains about dis Abacha cos so many patients in their hospital suffering cholera is as a result of Abacha consumption. May God help us all, let's just be careful n know Wat we eat.