Read Fashola's take on Buhari's foreign trips | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 18 April 2016

Read Fashola's take on Buhari's foreign trips

Minister of Works, Housing and Power, Babatunde Fashola, has written an article on the advantages of Buhari's recent Foreign trips. Read below
In making this public intervention, I seek to highlight the benefit of global relationships and cooperation in a world that is changing daily as a result of globalization and transborder economics, social and even criminal activities where no one is safe, except all are safe, and to leave the dispassionate observer his opinion after deep reflection on the value, or lack of it, of the President’s foreign trips.
 This way I hope every Nigerian who cares about our country will have some information about what their President is doing about the things that concern them. First I will start with context. Barely 2 decades ago (between 1994 and 1998) we would not have quarreled with the description that we were a pariah nation. We were ostracized from global events because of bad governance. We had lost the respect accorded Nations like ours were they well-led and well-run. I recall that not a few Nigerians complained that the green passport was becoming, if it had not already become, a burden. That was at the height of the dictatorial government that broke the rules of international relations. It was from there that we started to heal. Investors entered our country. Many brands that we sought after abroad started coming to set up shop in our country. The tourist footfalls in our country increased slowly but surely, but again we began to slide.

That was when Buhari declared at a meeting in Lagos during his campaign in 2015, that if elected, he would make us proud about our country again. Proud to be Nigerian again. That is the context in which I view his foreign trips and the manifesto of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Foreign Relations which promised to: Make the Nigerian national interest the overriding factor in its foreign policy and international relations. Work to reform global governance in multilateral institutions and agencies. Work to strengthen the African Union to become a more effective organization on global affairs. Engage the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) on the basis of equality. Play a leadership role to develop a MINT (Mexico, India, Nigeria, and Turkey) as a counterforce to BRICS. I will limit my takeaways to 4 (Four) trips that I attended with the President namely: the G7 Summit in Germany, the Oil and Gas Summit in Iran, the Renewable Energy Conference in Abu Dhabi and the State visit and Business Forum in China; and 2  (Two) trips that I did not attend, but whose deliberations I followed, namely: Paris for the COP 21 and USA for the Nuclear Energy Summit. G7 in Germany This is a club of eight of the most industrialized, economic and technologically advanced nations. For the benefit of those who do not follow international politics it was originally the G8 comprising the USA, Britain, Germany, France, Canada, Japan, Italy, and Russia, who were later suspended and had sanctions imposed on them to make it G7 as a result. It was formed in 1975 as a club of 6 (Six) before Canada and Russia were admitted. They look after each other, and the rest of the world to put it simply. They have gone to war together if you remember Iraq and Libya in recent memory and they are all largely collaborating to fight terror. (Most recently the FBI was rendering assistance to Belgium in the aftermath of the terror attacks in that Country). Why G7 one might then ask?​ Answer: German Chancellor Angela Merkel, as host, invited PMB on his inauguration to be their guest along with some three or four other African countries.​

Their agenda was global security, global economy and global health in the aftermath of Ebola, which was still raging in some African countries. Apart from the personal aides of the President, Governor Shettima of Borno, General Dambazau and myself were the only ones who accompanied PMB. I recall that upon our arrival in Germany they expressed surprise that our delegation was small and asked if others were still coming. In the pre-departure briefing, in addition to highlighting how the security and economic agenda of the G7 coincided with 2 (Two) of his campaign promises, security, (corruption) economy, PMB stated the reasons 3 of us were invited. Governor Shettima was in the front line of terrorists and criminal activities in the north east; General Abdulrahman Dambazau, was a former Chief of Army Staff, and also a faculty associate of Harvard University Weatherhead Center for International Affairs; I had run the single biggest economy of a state within Nigeria for eight years and was in the frontline of Ebola. Without ministers, one week after taking office, he felt we were the ones best suited to assist, if he needed it, on the issues of security, economy and health on the G7 agenda.

In the event, he did not need us. He held his ground admirably. He was the first person called upon to speak at a Summit in which Nigeria was not a member. I was proud to be a Nigerian. At global summits we usually got to speak when others had spoken and the hall has emptied. President Obama was the first G7 member to speak after PMB and he said that Nigeria has elected a President that brings a reputation of scrupulous integrity to the table. I was proud to be a Nigerian. The opening session was robust and welcoming, we saw some of the world’s most powerful men and women take off their jackets, call each other by their first names in a club-like setting while addressing the world’s most serious problems. Problems  that affect you and I daily. I was proud that my President was in a room where decisions concerning my planet were being deliberated upon. Prime Minister Cameron, Chancellor Merkel and others also spoke in similar vein about our President’s reputation and our nation’s strategic position in Africa and the world. They pledged support for Nigeria on Terror and the Economy. Importantly, I learned that their scientists were worried about increasing resistance of strains of infections to antibiotics; and that they were committing enormous resources into finding out why and what to do. They highlighted the difficulty of time and resources that it will take to develop new antibiotics and the risk to global health. If we all appreciate how vulnerable we can be without effective antibiotics, especially our children, and if we remember how low life expectancy was and how poor global health was before the discovery of Penicillin after the World War, we will appreciate the seriousness of the platform to which Nigeria was invited. I was proud that our President was there. If the seven most powerful nations stand with you, who can stand against you? I need not say more except that I can attest that PMB has been following up on these matters, and the progress on security is visible, while results on the economic front will manifest soon enough. Iran Oil and Gas Summit For those who are not aware, one of the reasons why oil prices went up, and from which we benefited in the past, was that Iran, the world’s 7th largest producer of oil, was facing global sanctions from which she was due to emerge in 2016. Because Iran was soon to be selling oil, the likelihood of a further crash of oil prices that had drastically fallen was a threat to Nigeria’s economy if oil prices crashed further.​(Our 2016 budget proposals had just been formulated on a $38 per barrel assumption) I was witness to PMB’s persuasion to Iran to come to the market slowly instead of pushing out large volumes which will raise supply and crash prices, even though Iran also needed the cash. You can’t do that type of diplomacy by letter or by phone, in my view, not when the major players were all there in person. I witnessed the meeting with the Venezuelan prime minister, who was leading the South American producers to sell more and get cash even if the prices were lower.

PMB’s logic was different. Hold your volumes, steady the price, and don’t let us hurt one another. Recorders of history will recall that the Venezuelan government suffered a major political defeat in Parliament, while PMB’s logic has at least steadied oil prices. It might interest you to know that all European nations sent their oil ministers, except Russia, where Vladimir Putin came in person, because having been suspended from the G8 and facing sanctions, this was the meeting where his country’s interests were best served. For the record, Russia pledged a $5 Billion state support to Iran, and if the purpose of this is lost on anyone, I interpret it to mean, “Take cash, don’t pump out your oil. It will hurt me.” This is the reality of international politics.​ Finally on Iran, PMB told us, how when he flew to Iran in his days as Petroleum Minister, he noticed how much gas they were flaring and now he returned as President, all the flares were gone. We found out that all the gas had been harvested and piped to every home for heating, cooking etc.​ His mandate: “If they can do it, we must do it.” I am proud to be led by a President who sees good things outside and seeks to bring them to his people. Abu Dhabi Renewable Energy This is reputed to be the richest of the Emirates in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Apart from seeking cooperation to recover Nigeria’s stolen wealth stored in the UAE [His anti-corruption commitment pursued in person], PMB addressed a renewable energy summit where we learned about initiatives to bring solar power price down to 5 (Five) US cents per kilowatt hour, (approximately N10) as against the price of 17 (seventeen) US cents (N34) per KW/h tariff in Nigeria fixed at privatization by the last Government. PMB’s mandate was for us to explore collaboration for the manufacture of solar panels in Nigeria to bring down the price and deploy it to the sunlit areas of Nigeria, especially the North that is most prolific for irradiation. We are currently working on the Energy Mix for Nigeria which is the implementation process of the energy policy that will take us there. Hopefully we will soon be signing the first set of solar deployment agreements for Nigeria. In this way, more solar and hydro will be used in the North, more coal and hydro in the Middle Belt, and more gas in the South; so that we take power generation closest to the most prolific source of fuel to bring down the cost and make it more affordable. On the trip to China (which I will comment on) we met a few Chinese solar manufacturers (who recognized us from Abu Dhabi) who want to set up business of manufacturing solar panels in Nigeria. China Investment Forum and State Visit This is the visit that provoked this write up, because I had bottled what I knew. But it was time, I believe, to share some of it. China is the second largest economy in the world with a per capita income of $8,000 which they are planning to raise to $12,000 by 2020. By her own assessment, according to President Xi Jinping, they are still a developing nation seeking to achieve what he described as “initial prosperity” by 2020. If you look at the back of your phone, your TV, your watch, your I-Pad, your Mobile Charger, many other accessories that you use, you are likely to find these three words “Made in China” printed somewhere.

For such a nation, (with trillions of dollars in reserves, that plans to spend $2 trillion on imports in the next five years and earn $100 billion annually) who still sees itself as a developing nation, such modesty in the face of success, assiduous hard work and productivity is a destination to seek cooperation in the pursuit of economic development. This is where PMB led an array of Nigerian investors including Erisco Foods, (who now makes our tomato paste at home and employs people locally including farmers who supply the tomatoes), Power operators (DisCos and GenCos), and the Dangote Group, to meet with and address their Chinese partners. During the meeting with the Chinese President, 6 (Six) collaboration agreements were signed including for agriculture and food production improvement techniques, rail and power infrastructure development,  for funding the Dangote group to continue to expand and create jobs at home and keeping some of our reserves in the currency of the richest nation in the world. This last mentioned agreement was a legitimate coup by PMB because the intelligence was that some West African countries were going to sign before us. PMB seized the moment. Of course he had to apologize for our previous failures on our agreement made to part-fund 4 airport projects in Lagos, Kano, Abuja and Port Harcourt and Abuja-Kaduna rail project. The Chinese had provided their agreed part of 85% but the remaining 15% Nigeria did not honour during the last administration. Some of the recent revelations about financial scandals estimated at $2.1 billion in the office of the National Security Adviser alone during the last administration suggest how impactful such funds would have been in delivering these critical infrastructure ; but we all know what happened.​ This is why PMB is traveling. To repair our reputation severely damaged by the last government, and to assure our partners that Nigeria has CHANGED. And from there to re-negotiate an existing funding agreement to complete critical Transport infrastructure. Because of his reputation, President Xi Jinping believed him, and to quote him, he said: “It is better late than never. ” Through him China literally opened the door to Nigeria in areas of infrastructure (power, railways and roads), agriculture, education and manufacturing especially in our Free Trade Zones. To paraphrase the Chinese President, “ask us for whatever support or partnership and we will be happy to respond.” “We wish to see you take your rightful place and we are happy that you are the first African president visiting China, after my visit to Africa last year to pledge a $60 billion support for the Development of the continent.” If this was not initiative I doubt what is?​ As for the trips to Paris, COP 21 and the USA, Nuclear Security Summit, I will only say this: a) The threat of climate change, global warming, desertification in the north of Nigeria and coastal erosion in the Atlantic (Bar beach in Lagos) and in the south, affecting Rivers, Bayelsa and other coastal states, the clear scientific evidence lays the blame at the door of the world’s most industrialized nation for their pollution. b) Since the Kyoto protocol they have paid lip service to remedying the situation, which unfortunately affects developing nations more adversely. c) COP 21 was the first serious commitment that these leaders made to ensure that global temperatures do not rise above 2°C and indeed are reduced to 1.5°C. I am proud that Nigeria was not missing at this historic moment. When the planet is saved, the next and future generations of Nigerians will recall that PMB was present, when all of the world leaders were present to save the planet. d) In the aftermath of COP 21, the commitment of these nations is to increase production and technology for renewable energy and to reduce the use of carbon fuels. One way they plan to achieve this is increased deployment of nuclear energy. e) These nations are at the cusp of sharing safe nuclear technology for peaceful uses with developing nations for power generation. This for me was reason enough and a good one at that for PMB to be in the USA because Nigeria has been pursuing a nuclear power program for about 17 years, not as an alternative to gas or Hydro, but as additions to them. The world leaders must trust you for you to partake. At that summit, in the group photograph, PMB stood on the second row along side Britain and Turkey. In the past, we used to be on the last row. This is CHANGE. As he meets with world leaders outside Africa, he has not forgotten the home front. He is regularly visiting and receiving his sister and brother presidents on the African continent. PMB has earned their trust for all of us and I am proud to carry my green passport. Yes, some results are not yet manifest, and may take a little while to do so, but a solid foundation for a sustainable, respectable and prosperous future is being laid, block  by block. This is how to build a solid “home” from whence we can project respect abroad with confidence. How many of us will do business with total strangers without a reference or a good reputation in this age of due diligence? PMB is building affiliations everywhere that if well-managed in future, will develop into a global network of friendships, trust and respect for Nigeria and Nigerians. I once heard that the role of a leader, like that of the head of a family, is that of an aggregator, opening doors and opportunities, breaking down barriers and  forging alliances. I agree. This is my Takeaway on these trips.

Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN

177 comments:

Is normal to support his trips

Where is d mb...no time to read all biko

lovely said...

Story story!!!

His thoughts #Johnny

GOD BLESS MY MENTOR, GOD BLESS FAYOSE.

seen...

Eric Uroh said...

Dis is superstory!

Nonsense!

Nice one man.
Did you expect him to see scam and evil in terrorist buhari scam trip when he is part of it and even traveling with his at times.
Clown fashola no amount of flattering and sweet English that will make us believe u because they whole thing is there breeze do blow we don see hen yash so cover ur face in shame with ur scam party.
Sodom and gomorha will be better than this present administration.

U will always support him after all u have been travelling up and down with him, collecting travelling allowance here and there......fashola where is light???? Minister of darkness....

amanda uzo said...

Story for the gods

Now we know! Linda take note!

I am a history and international relations student and I agree with him

Ok. Seen but not read...

What do u expect from a minister of the present serving government. Blow his trumpet its your job. Pls get hard on the domestic problems and leave these hypocritical praises.

OBI LoVe said...

It is only a fool that will listen to u...... at least APC should hv told us that they can't govern this country so we know the worst is yet to come ....Nonsense

We understand sir, but nigeria city are dying, no food, no fuel, no life, we are not after pride or respect from other countries, all we are after is good life,

Ok o

Ok o

lil princess said...

All I know is that when the good of this country starts surfacing; I will be a partaker

OBI LoVe said...

It's also the foreign trips that taught u how to increase NEPA tariff so that even if we buy fuel at 400 per liter and change dollar for 350.. it will be our benefit from the stupid Waka waka

Ok sir

ric said...

Please shut up Fashola. Nigeria has taken 4 steps backwards since Baba came in. I have not seen one single value of his foreign trips.
I expect u to defend your paymaster. But deep down, I'm sure u know he's weak.

Sorry i can't read everything..but i trust you because of the love i have for you. thank you

Fashola, I expected nothing less from you. You are a servant, and a servant must defend his master no matter what. But, please, you guys should stop defending the indefensible. The foreign trips are getting to many for my liking. Buhari should sit his a** down and govern. That was why he was elected in the first place. Have u asked yourselves what will happen if after getting all these 'benefits' from all the foreign trips Nigeria disintegrates? The country is sick and needs his undivided attention. By the way, why is it that we only get to know what is on your master's mind when he travels? What is that all about. Does it mean that he cannot engage Nigerians in Nigeria? Let him sit down and govern, please!!

Chyke
City: Unknown

Lol stern u didn't even read it.. Its fashola not fayose.

Na d rubbish he'd write now bcs he's always his hand bag

Rotflmao! @ minister of darkness choi! Nkea banyee!!

The damages done to the country are so huge. It will take time to clean the mess. The jury is still out. I will judge this administration within 2 years in power.

Sugar O Sugar said...

Well you have spoken and i refuse to concur.Thank you

tears of joy rolled down my eyes. thank you Fashola, thank you my dear president. long live Nigeria of my dream.

Sugar O Sugar said...

Story for mma ejima na umu ya

minister of darkness!!...can u imagine this guy?from the most performing governor to a minister of darkness!

Anon said...

Rubbish!...APC!!!...failure!!!
The most annoying part is the opportunity increase in light bill

May your lives be in the same state you have put Nigeria in!....May the lives of every Buhari supporter be run the way he is running Nigeria insha Allah!

What would you have said? Na ur oga na,u must support him. He should cut the trips down nd do his basic job

Chinedu said...

Hnmmmmmm... All these story for me to read???

Buffoon Stern, your moniker aptly named after Eminiem's song's psycho fan “Stan" that was so dumb ......

Who naked ladies epp?

La face said...

B4 nko! What did we expect from an ass licker like you to say? I don't you Mr fashola! Even when the country is going down everyday you won't see anything wrong

So long as it yields positive results

Stupid fool. GEJ increased tariff and postponed d implementation due to upcoming elections in 2015

So long as it yields positive results

Uzosafetyblog said...

You and your Generations will never see the good of the land, you pray for the downfall of the leadership of this country sorry Bro just as you are inciting hatred and evil thought so shall you perish with it. #IRepLIB

Alex Agbo said...

Lolzzzzz, you are so funny.

Alex Agbo said...

O ti mu dogonyaro..... Monkey tail... Story for the gods.... O

Uzosafetyblog said...

I voted for this team because I believed in them. Nigeria is in a safe hand but they still need our prayers inciting hatred will never take us to the higher place. #IRepLIB

Eric Uroh said...

Stern is always quick to fire. No time to read. Lol

segun said...

I am very surprised at the level of shallow mindedness and intentional ignorance displayed by Nigerians as I read the feedback of readers on this blog. Thank you Mr. Fashola of this deep insight. God bless you.

God bless you sir, we are strongly behind you sir.

Well we are in trouble as a nation. Our youths can't read volumes again. Our youths can't analyse critically again. Its all about quick money, quick fixes, sleaze, showbiz, abuse and anything that's suggestive. Do young folks bother to check dictionary for meanings again? Na wah o! May God deliver us from this Babangida inflicted national ailment

Well, I am surprised when some Nigerians react negatively to the information shared by Fashola. My prayer is that this country will be great again. We are just like Israelites from Egypt, we need to be patient and pray for better tomorrow.

So true...

Of cos progressive pple knw that progress is not achieved in a jiffy. Besides insulting pple what is ur contribution

Thank you sir. You nailed it. Fayose was just trying his luck to sabotage this present administration but his plans have failed in Jesus name

@Wilheminna Moses dont mind Stern. Na so him brain reach. Ewu

Maybe if Raji Fashola had not taken time out of his busy schedule to enlighten us(nigerians) about the trips PMB has made in the past couple of months,then I might have been part of the countless number of Nigerians who have refused to believe in this administration. Truth is when PMB decided to rule Nigeria, he didn't feed us with cock and bull stories, he knew this country needed fixing and has been working tirelessly day and night to sort out the damage 16years of non- transparent and corrupt governance did to us as a nation. Rome wasn't built in a day, he promised change and he has taken positive steps to ensure that change. Yes the wait might be long and tiresome, but if we as a people could wait for 16years and watch our great nation devoured by wolves in sheep clothing who call themselves leaders then we should give the PMB led administration the benefit of doubt and not lose faith in the good its trying to achieve. I rest my case...

You are right. I don't know the kind of money or policy that will repair this damage. It is colossal. Fuel all time low.. No light tariff high businesses completely damaged. No importation nothing absolutely nothing is working OMG I feel like crying.

Oga Fashola why do you waste your precious time to explain to wailing wailers? The wailers are full of illiterates and touts including Fayose. Pls ignore them and continue your beautiful projects. The wailing hoodlums are not important joor.

What a sound and intelligent write-up! Thumbs up Mr Fashola and continue the good work

Nice piece!

Sam said...

Well said

secondly, a large number of you will not understand what he has written. Not because you have no brains, but simply because a lot of people choose not to apply themselves these days. You are all only interested in the Linda vs wizzy fight. The baby mamas and papas story, lib giveaways and who is sleeping with someone's husband.

Sad!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

It's quite interesting but got tired jawe. Well said man, all the best.

i'm so glad after taking my time to go through this. it's indeed a sign of better things are on the way for our nation Nigeria. All we need now is nothing but to support this government in anyway we know we can. Good job @Mr PRESIDENT. My minister, you are @it again, the Lord be with you all!

OBI LoVe said...

Amen and amen

Dear Fashola, i completely agree with you on these clarifications and explanations about the President's trips. However, why is it that you the minister of power, housing etc is the one explaining to Nigerians. Why is the president quite about his trips. He rules over 160 million people and he doesn't feel he owes people explanations. There some critical issues that will decide APC's future in the next elections; 1. power 2. Infrastructure (Road, rail), 3 economy (jobs,value of the naira to dollar) etc. The poor man on the street do not need to understand what it means to have a good stand before the eyes of the international community. He needs to be able to feed himself and his family, have a dignified job and is able to have the basic needs of life. If the trips and the management of the country do not translate to these, he will definitely not vote APC again. Patience is running out. Let the President give us a road map, then we can begin to follow and know whether we are on the road to the promise land. I am not seeing the change yet.

Yes to u cos u r a brainless monkey, Dats y u fools come here to comment on things u know nothing abt including Linda. Aunty Linda Toni Payne dey wait for u o

Imam_Bamgbopa said...

In the wake of a world of prejudice, I don't feel too amazed reading a few comments but as a worker in the health region, I would liken our situation to a self limiting disease of which even the most powerful antibiotic can not cure. It runs its course and leaves our body. Regardless of all the hate speeches, the pessimism and all, Nigeria would emerge! That for sure, I believe.....and by chance, it could be now...

well said anon 14.33, ignorance is a disease.

The thruth Shall prevail said...

Humm, Fashola has just aired his views based on the information at his disposal. But it is evidently clear from the comments I have read so far that the primary concern of many Nigerians is to promote their primordial sentiments as opposed to genuine analysis of the subject of discuss. To Nigerians, it has been reaction without deep reflection and every attempts must be made to throw the baby away with water. To many, “who cares”

ebere said...

No one understands what baba is doing for this country,yes I agree things are difficult now but is just the starting point of the good things to come in no time.the damages done to this country by our previous leaders is not what to be cleaned in a day.it requires time and trust me our president is achieving them gradually.but it need time to manifest.all what we are passing through now won't last forever.is it not better that we pass through it now once and for all and enjoy the rest of our years in nigeria?even for our unborn children?i agree with fashola.if u don't understand politics you will never understand the point he is making.im well travelled and I know the impression they have about we Nigerians out there.no atom of respect for Nigerians in the international world.all that is due to bad leaders too from nigeria.whites are scared to invest in nigeria all because of the bad names we have out there.i seek for this great change mr president.i support you my president.

ECHOMAN said...

Stren open your eyes wella,watin carry fayose enter dis matter.

Minister of darkness why won't u support Mr. Johnny walker..... since u love darkness, may u live in darkness both ur family and ur supporters

The thruth Shall prevail said...

Humm, Fashola has just aired his views based on the information at his disposal. But it is evidently clear from the comments I have read so far that the primary concern of many Nigerians is to promote their primordial sentiments as opposed to genuine analysis of the subject of discuss. To Nigerians, it has been reaction without deep reflection and every attempts must be made to throw the baby away with water. To many, “who cares”

You fucking assholes are just plain stupid. I'm sure your father's coudnt even handle their families. Just shut the fuck up and die

Illuminate them sir.

We are yet to see the change

This clown should explain to Nigerian why we are still in darkness,rather than writing in defense of a president love for needless travels.

this Fashola with his Tinkolokolo head with gallop!please keep quiet!your rating is at an alltime low!

Ibos with their silly comments. It is well.

Same way we are impatient to read the long article, is the same way we are impatient for Nigeria to rise up again.
If a man comes in and all of a sudden ask us to go queue for free money, please know it is not real, hence there is the saying, all that glitters is not Gold.
A seed planted is not expected to germinate overnight and even when it germinates, is not expected to produce fruits at once. There is a process to everything.
If all said by BRF is true, then there is great hope for Nigeria. Yes, PMB is not communicating, i look forward to when he would start doing that. But nonetheless, i see goodness in what he is doing.
I used to buy everything i use abroad, but now, i am looking for Naija tailors to sew my shirts. Instead of shopping from Amazon, i do it on Konga, jumia, efritin, etc. Nowadays, before i buy a product like rice, i want to see made in Nigeria on the bag/packet.
I believe there are at least a thousand Nigerians like me who can afford foreign products, but are now want to patronize our Local products. If we have 10 multiples of such, the local industry would grow and our dear country would flourish. Wealth would be evenly distributed and we would all be happy.
Please fellow Nigerians, let us hold our hands together and build this nation.
Rather than be a mediocre destroying the government, let us contribute by doing what we can do in our own little way to make this country great again. Dedication and consistency is all we need. The fuel attendant selling fuel for the right price, the police man not looking for errors on car particulars, the artisan completing the job given to him with all his might, the lecturers teaching well, vandals protecting govt installation, rather than breaking them, etc. everything we do in our own way is interconnected with one another and reflects in the economy one way or the other.

I am a Nigerian, not a politician, or a civil servant, i am based here and work in a diplomatic mission. if i want to live above Nigeria, i can, but now, i see Nigeria as a good place we can all build together. You, me, Linda, and the present government. Lets work together to build a ONE GREAT NIGERIA

Mind blowing revelation from Fashola. Keep up the good work. Like they say Rome was not built in a day...Nigerians like some of them that read LIB want a quick fix, unfortunately they would have to wait patiently to begin to experience the real CHANGE. It will take time but I know you will get there. Come rain come shine by then most people who do not trust and believe in this present government would all be jubilating and celebrating.

For me I understand this write-up though am expectant like every Nigeria... But for the masses we really want to feel the change ... let PMB good reputation translate to good road,low phcn tarrif,available fuel and the likes...#wenowantfineboynomoneyforpocket#...#onMYway..

Ceribral Observer said...

its has become very apparent that 80% of the traffic on this blog are either from the east, Festac and supporters of the previous administration.. Of-which majority of them did not even vote at the last general elections nor do they even contribute to the economy (under grads). If Jesus him self manifested on earth again and declared his support to the present administration in Nigeria, i bet you that supporters of the previous administration will denounce Christ.
I have never seen a clear case of myopic and blind support. like a dog who has tasted blood, they want more, they want to see a member of their community back in power regardless of the fact that many will not benefit from it.

Collectively contributing to our dear lindas'success by generating analytic traffic for her when she goes to sign huge deals. instead of doing something useful for your selves and the nation.

Reno said...

Mtchew dictionary

its has become very apparent that 80% of the traffic on this blog are either from the east, Festac and supporters of the previous administration.. Of-which majority of them did not even vote at the last general elections nor do they even contribute to the economy (under grads). If Jesus him self manifested on earth again and declared his support to the present administration in Nigeria, i bet you that supporters of the previous administration will denounce Christ.
I have never seen a clear case of myopic and blind support. like a dog who has tasted blood, they want more, they want to see a member of their community back in power regardless of the fact that many will not benefit from it.

Collectively contributing to our dear lindas'success by generating analytic traffic for her when she goes to sign huge deals. instead of doing something useful for your selves and the nation.

Anonymous @2:33pm THANK YOU very much for that statement. You've said it all.

Okkk

they shld sha give somebody light ere.
the sufferment is jst to much. and the weather has no chill. my head done fry finish for ere.

SCARFACE

they shld sha give somebody light ere.
the sufferment is jst to much. and the weather has no chill. my head done fry finish for ere.

SCARFACE

Thank you my honorable minister....

Abeg fcuk off!

Imam_Bamgbopa said...

In the wake of a world of prejudice, I don't feel too amazed reading a few comments but as a worker in the health region, I would liken our situation to a self limiting disease of which even the most powerful antibiotic can not cure. It runs its course and leaves our body. Regardless of all the hate speeches, the pessimism and all, Nigeria would emerge! That for sure, I believe.....and by chance, it could be now...

chommy said...

Who ask u? Linda observe!

chommy said...

Y won't u support him, u wan make dem commot u for office ni? Linda observe!

We are waiting

Cicicicicicici I laugh in China.this is the kind of people we have on here contributing to issues of discuss. No they won't read the article and most will complain of the data to do so.they are only after criticism according to their brains default settings.Linda wrote even a longer article about her beef with whiz and they read it all. But can't read this critical article about why we all are crying for the impending hardship.please do your self a favour and not comment when you claim not to have enough data to read. And save yourselves the show of shame

Because you stupidly did not read it. If it was Linda and whiz beef you will read all.nonsense

mr. fashola...pls be truthful oooh.

When I read this piece by Fashola, my heart lightened up in gladness and rays of hope for our unborn generation. But when I read your comments it just reflects the kind of ignorant and short sighted people we have everywhere. This explains that the kind of leaders we have in a country are a reflection of its kind of people. Its really sad

Oga change your brain setting to suit the present reality. The default settings is not suitable ok? All he said are verifiable. If you are observant about important issues of discuss and not only on whiz and Linda beef you would have seen these things in the news.wake up for the betterment of our country and quit the non constructive criticism the electioneering period are long over

That is the problem .you should read ok? Not only reading Linda and whiz beef story no matter how long it is

Though I studied accounting, I fully understand what Mr President is now doing. Even if this story may turn out to be cocktail and bull story, it has answered a lot of Nigerians questions on why Mr president was constantly traveling. My problem though is why we are hearing this from the minister of works, power and steel and not the minister of information. I'm guessing he, the minister of information does not know why Mr president was traveling. All he knows is how to blame the previous government.

Linda take note.

You are very "un-engageable" good English but no common sense.U need Ben Murray Bruce in ur life

That I why you are stupid and unreasonable. Can you recall his first two years was filled with complaints as in the case now.but by the time he was rounding up his first tenure he was already emerging the best performing governor.you guys know this stories but just refuses to show understanding. Due to your brain default settings

Some Nigerians sha, if you read all what fashola said and you still think its crap, you really are not educated. Oil prices fell drastically, so what do you think will happen to an economy that gains most of its income from oil. Even a whole Putin go Iran go beg. It is simple if your small company is broke, you go to other bigger and more prosperous company to look for support/contracts especially when these big companies are looking for where to invest. You don't seat in your office and wait for solutions you go out and find solutions. That’s why most Nigerians suffer from poverty we sit in our house waiting for manna to fall, it’s called foolishness. President Muhammadu Buhari, there is no solution in Nigeria so please you have the permission from me to tour the whole world, but please sir be quick. You only have three years before they try kicking you out. #GodblessNigeria

Linda post my comment ooohhhhh

LOOK AT THEM THIEF .THIEF ARE BETTER THAT THEM THIEF WT DEY KNOW IS DEY FAMILY FORGET ABOUT US ARM ROBBER PEOPLE GOD WILL SURE PUNISH UNA

My dear we expect you to support him.
So forget all these story

I need power supply!!!!!!!!!

God bless u Salau

For you ignorant dumbasses who dont even have half a brain to comprehend this write up, i cant blame you. You cant see past your own selfish desires. Nigeria finally has a few men of integrity representing us and trying to save us from our sorry state. Yet, some of you uneducated imbeciles who didnt even take time to read it open your traps to talk shit. You all are the reason why this country is in this state. Imagine one fool thought it was fayose and supported. I believe in PMB and i knw you all will shut traps when their hard work start to pay off. GOD BLESS PMB AND GOD BLESS NIGERIA

This shows u r d most ignorantly brain washed Nigerian ever liveth, if u can't distinguished between an ignorant governor and a brilliant minister. May God cure ur disease.

all APC life na narrative ,stupid party. all they bloody do is talk and write essays, akpamu party,these is the same reason why Nigerian public universities churn out half baked graduates every year.do the practical and make things better, stop talking and start working, make petroleum products available and affordable,think of ways to make light stable,work on the bloody economy and make life better for Nigerian citizens,stop taking us to the past, the past is past,u are now the present.

Stern is a developing moron, he is alwys losing tracks. Very derailed LIB retard!

Travelling up and down can only do so much. Even if he remains in the air for four years, if the country doesn't progress with the amount of aids he has received, we will still be a laughing stock. Sitting down in naija to fix the economy and concentrate on creating a wealthy nation will bring much more recognition and prestige to the green passport. That's my own take.

Who else will agree with him If you dnt.

By the way, I can understand and even support his personal trips to china,US and very few others. It was very obvious we were going to benefit from those trips. But for the remaining 20+ countries he has visited since his tenure, I saw no use for them. If the visits were so important, he should have sent someone else. With the state nigera was in with constant bombings then and still is in with fuel scarcity, he was supposed to sit down here and find solutions not to be gallivanting around the globe for nuclear summit , military decorations, islamic hullabbo and all what not.

Most of the comments on this story is a reflection of the calibre of people that read this blog and the level of rot in our education system. Nobody wants to read and when they read, they find it too hard to engage their brains. One solid question the writer asked is who in his right senses will transact business with a total stranger? I won't. And that is why PMB needs to seal these deals in person. He also mentioned how GEJ refused to honour the counterpart funding agreement with China yet allowed so much looting under him. Irrespective of who is in power folks, please always read, cross check the facts and engage your brains before responding to anything.

Mrs. Tolu Ajibade said...

LETTER TO FASHIOLA

Shame on you Fashola, you have lost your sense of reasoning. May be you have a Brain Fatigue. How many states in Nigeria has Buhari paid Familiarization Tour to? Is he the President of "External Affairs" of Nigeria or the President of Nigeria? How else would you have tilted the Pendulum if not to your boss's favour. The Man (Buhari) has gone to the East Africa not Eastern Nigeria, the Man (Buhari) has visited the Middle East and North Africa not Northern Nigeria. The Man (Buhari) has Visited South Africa not Southern Nigeria. He does this with Tax Payers Money. The Man is clueless. He made you the Minister of 3 Big Ministries because you came out with a First Class Degree (Combined Honours in Building, Civil, Construction and Electrical/Electronic Engineering. It would have been more honourable if you had told him that no body will perform under this 3 Ministries turned 1. Late Bola Ige as Versatile as he was couldn't handle Power alone, let alone you who is half baked compared to Late Bola. Just mind your Business, you can not change the Colour of the Card no matter which way you would want to present it.

You (Fashola) as the latest failure in the Nigerian Polity, I do not expect you to talk all. I thought you should be apologizing to Nigerians for breaking a 70 year record of having the National Grid generate Zero Mega Watt of Electricity. Mind your Business and Leave Nigerians alone.

Fashola mind though......

My inner being became proud and elated knowing that the journey to greatness has just begun. Thomases are abound and the least is to be shaken in my spirit by those who have not been able to lead their lives to a point of purpose but quick to jump the gun in the fashion of writing rubbish. Change! like they say is a process and i can well interpret that, that is the process we are going through now and i am certain that the gains afterwards will be enormous. To those who believe that this sorts of clarity by our noble minister is super story i wonder why you have not be able to change the story of your family if you are so crafty with all the know how.
Keep up the good work PMB, posterity will judge you right.

Good bless 1010

ddk said...

@Anonymous 2.33pm. I think u just wrote d best comment eva. They wont understand n they choose not to...

I respect u Minister and thanks for the info...I am dead sure Nigerians will very soon, consciously and unconsciously begin to thank our dear President...God bless 9ja.

Blessed Soul said...

Stern, If am in ur shoes, I won't come to the site again. Na U olamide dey call "Emalowao"

@gentle, what exactly did his predecessor achieve by sitting down here? Nigerians and their impatience.

Anonymous 4:06 I BELIEVED U ARE THE SAME PERSON ATTACKING EVERYONE... IT SHOPS HOW AUTOCRATIC THE APC IDEOLOGY IS, YOU CAN'T EXPECT EVERYONE TO BUY I TO LAME AND WEAK ANALYSIS PRESENTED BY FASHOLA. WHY DIDN'T FASHOLA DEFEND GEJ, Y WEREN'T US PATIENT WITH GEJ AND Y DID MONEY OF US BATHE HIM WITH INSULT? AND TODAY WE ARE QUICK TO DEFEND PMB... CRITICISM IS PART OF GOVERNANCE, WITH OUT IT THE LEADER WILL DERAIL. WE ELECTED THEM AND THE SHOULD LISTEN TO US. FASHOLA ARGUE THURSDAY DOESN'T HOLD WATER BECAUSE THE SAME FASHOLA WON'T HAVE ACCEPTED THIS SAME EXCUSE IF IT WAS ANOTHER PART IN GOVERNMENT

Listen them and give a detailed analysis how it's hindering this present administration to perform. If people they talk you go open your mouth dey talk

So accepting this lame excuses make us wise and intelligent people abi?now you see you are the one to check yourself and weigh your intelligent.

Noah Oyedeji said...

Olajumoke is 27 years old, she cannot speak English. Now, she is in a school and you expect her to speak Fluent English overnight. Ofcourse, She has to start from the ground up

Its amazes me how some Nigerians want this Government to perform magic within one year in office. We have been held to bad leadership for 55 years, and you want one government to fix it overnight.

Listen, don't expect anything great for the next 4 years. If you cannot bear this, leave this country now. It's not going to get better for now, especially with the global oil challenges that contributes heavily to our bottom line. We are in deep shit. We can only hope for the future and pray collectively that some gambles and experiments of this present administration works out good.

Correct sai baba we r getting ola nbo wa dara

What did you read that translate hope? Or you lack understanding. We need action not letters of hope.

Pascal said...

Are his trips to chad, Cameroun and Niger Republic not paying Nigerians now? We can see that boko haram is being dealt with by Cameroun, Chad and Niger Republic collaboration. This was as a result of Buhari's trip

Who's this very bitter, ignorant,illiterate person? Did Fashola refuse to give your father a contract? Buhari should visit parts of Nigeria, for what? Is that the most pressing of our problems? Shows how very dumb you are.

Sam said...

@gentle the remaining 20+ countries as you call it was for relationship building. He went there to rebuild the relationship that past administration destroyed. If you read the post properly you would have seen where Fasola stated it. Ode

Stern is a wasted sperm that should have been flushed down the toilet

Honestly...I just need to see some future plans buhari has in hand, and maybe i might have some faith in him. His anticorruption fight is a basic joke to me when he praises obasanjo on one hand, and shakes amaechi with the other hand. If i remember his refusal to attend the presidential debate then, i'm even more convinced that he is as clueless now as he was then. Why was he so scared then? Was he expecting jamb questions? If he had attended against the odds, and dropped some concrete and believable plans, maybe people wil be more patient with him.

Instead he campaigned on the premise of ending bokoharam in 2 months, making 1 naira equal to 1 dollar, providing 5000 naira monthly for every youth in nigeria..and a host of other baseless promises. Now he comes around and doesn't want to be a magician. Only a magician could fulfil those campaign promises so he had better get started with some tricks.

Ur biased. It's buhari supporters who seem so hypnotised to me. I will not lie. I like jonAthan, and I dnt like buhari. My dislike for buhari started after he instigated the 2011 post elections violence after he lost. I like Jonathan cos he convinced me that not all african leaders are power hungry...but I will admit he was not canny enough to rule nigeria. This country is plagued by tribal hatred so enormous that if Ur not favoured by the majority tribe in nigerian govt, the country will be made ungovernable for you.

I never wanted Jonathan back, but I definitely did not want a 74 year old former dictator looking for his WAEC results.

We need an intelligent leader to propel this country forward, if ur honest, u'l admit that Buhari is not just it. He doesn't have the intelligence or Wisdom. Tinubu only brought him in to garner the votes of the Hausas, not cos of his ruling prowess. I would have voted for even this fashola guy (cos of lagos) or okonjo iweala.

Not every one who is not an asslicker of buhari us dumb please. If LIB readers dnt conform to your intelligent tastes, then get lost. Sycophantic hypocrites like you disgust me more. Just air your views, state ur opinion and move on. What has the blog or its readers done to you.

FRESH said...

Umu nnem ndi Igbo, kam jugodu unu,unu Ji ike unu, eche echiche? Apart from a few brilliant ones here,the rest of my igbo folks have again displayed their stupidity & prejudice.What is it self? Do you guys prefer the lootings going on before? Or you so hate the Yoruba & Hausa so much your thinking faculties have turned to sour sop?If this country is left to drift,hunger go finish us oh!

Fashola my man at least better dan my Gov. LINDA TAKE NOTE II

The great Fashola can no longer make his pointson straight.
Why not just go and write a story book and send to our primary schools. Rubbish.

Hahahahaha... Guy you got me laughing so hard. "Sodom and gomorha will be better than this present administration".🙉🙉🙉🙉🙉🙉

That is why ministers were appointed for diff responsibilities. If d president sits on d chair and not move,will d bombings auto stop? Or will we get fuel d next day? Make una dey think well

adeoye shina said...

Thanks for dat,ds people cant even control their mouth not to talk of a nation useless freeborn omo ale boko haram

adeoye shina said...

Because most of u are419 u dont need pride bingos

adeoye shina said...

Gbam and me

Stern carry ur stupidity to sdk.. u wld fit in there

Olami7 said...

And I like Fashola b4 o, with d situation we are now in dis country,d President is busy going up and down, u saying dats cool ..Cos u have everything u want abi...Ppl are suffering if u don't know Sir...

So myopic, baseless nd pointless epistle, dickhead!

Anoda thru-d-anus thinker. Keep wallowing in lost world @ gentle.

U think everbody will be like u? Alatenuje. Gluttonous buffon!

I can't believe that a person who was former governor of lagos state n a current minister of Nigeria could write something like this "At that summit, in the group photograph, PMB stood on the second row along side Britain and Turkey. In the past, we used to be on the last row. This is CHANGE" Oh LORD!!! Dis country is finished, n if u believed dis well constructed lies then you're doomed for life APC is fake full of deceit

Annoy 1:46 They r still swallow their bitter pill of defeat from PDPians, anyways I don't expect u to think straight. Continue living in ur darkness.

Who needs ur opinion?

@anon 1:55pm you're more foolish n stupid idiotic entity what do u know anumanu like you, I bet u live in Venus or Pluto cos u r not living in dis country

Buhri is just a Fulani man, he has no gud agenda for Nigerians..it is out rite to benefit from this so called government. Since I was born into this world. I can't tell the benefit of been a Nigerian..the hardship is just too much..these people don't care how we survive at all..do u kw how many pple die every single day for hunger..is just so unbearable...Buhari d Fulani man has no good agenda for us. His change is for bad...weak old man...

We don't give a fuck a ur comment

I believe in NIGERIA, I belive in PMB's administration. Sorrow may last for the night but am confident that JOY will surely come in the morning, I see better days ahead.

My people perish because of lack of knowledge... Until people start to thirst for knowledge, empowerment and think long term benefits..Nigeria will remain what it is...

People here are quick to condemn Fashola..did you even try to read his piece ?...oh my...we have a long way to go..

@ddk @anonymous it's the best comment ever. But it's really worrisome that we no longer have critical & reasonable thinkers

Someone looked at us in the face and told us Nigeria is not America, so we cant have good trains, and development.
Another person does not look at us but says, i was here about 25 yrs ago, there was a lot of gas flaring, now, all the gas flaring are gone because its being converted to LPG for other useful things. Why cant we have this in our country

Which of these two make sense?
Abeg, use your church mind to look at it.

Your honest remark, that only you know, is the future of this country

Robert Truth said...

And may you and yours be treated and impoverished and have all your wealth plundered, the same way the previous govt did to Nigeria

Sum pple won't just understand b4 dey start typing rubbish as comment on dere cheap Android phones nd free Mb. Nd sum are confused since its not written in pigin.......Fools.

Actually, it is only a fool that will read this and not listen. Fixing Nigeria is a VERY BIG problem and can't be achieved in one year. All he is doing is part of the fix and Nigerians should be patient!!! Gosh!!

You go don die of hunger before then. Fool. I wait 2019 for real transformation.

lioness said...

Stern stern stern.my guy u fall my hand dis time...too much kush ehn...easy o.....well said Oga Fash bt al we nid now is light n fuel plzzzzzx....d weather is boiling,bizness is slow cos of d exchange rate n al....God ve mercy on my fada land!

lioness said...

Al 9ja nids is light...

lioness said...

Tel Dem o...i don talk tire...God Bless 9ja

lioness said...

U guys chill out...heat too much here abeg...my pple r not jus hapi...

You have to be educated and knowledgeable to give a feedback. Wisdom is #1. I belief in the present regime--give them a chance and support (if the least we can do is Prayer.Do it) and stop complaining.

LINDA THE PICTURE THAT SHOW FASHOLA AND BUHARI IS NOT ARESENT PICTURE. AT THE BACKGROUND I CAN SEE JONATHAN PICTURE AS THE HEAD OF STATE. YOU NEED TO IMPROVE AND TAKE YOUR BUSINESS SERIOUS

Many Nigerias are like Linda. Live by the minute to justify their ignorance. I'm not surprised at silly comments still justifying 16 years of backwardness and the miracle seekers called Nigerians.

good one anonymous

emeka4rl said...

I respect Fashola always have! Couldnt the minister of information inform us of these kind of things he uses grandiose overtunes to say we should shut up and let the big daddies work. Truth is we are educated we have a right to know not only he is working but how he is working. Thank you!