I challenge my readers to take the time to do a Google search and collate the number of reported casualties from unprovoked Fulani attacks on innocent, unarmed Nigerians in 2016 alone. The results will shock you! I will not throw out a number in order not to give my political foes fodder to use against me in a case of incitement, but please carry out even a cursory research on the matter.
And what has been the response of the Nigerian Government? I was shocked to read the reaction of Nigeria's minister of Internal Affairs, retired Lt. General Abdulrahman Dambazau, who blamed Social Media users for exacerbating these attacks!
I mean really? So what are we to do when we become aware that Fulani herdsmen are accused of killing, raping and maiming Nigerians? Are we to keep quiet in the national interest? Excuse me, but I thought the national interest was the interests of human beings rather than the interest of cattle!
And then President Muhammadu Buhari from faraway China, rightly goes ahead to issue a lethal warning to pipeline vandals: desist from your actions or else be dealt with as I dealt with Boko Haram!
Yet this same tough talking President does not have similar words for Fulani herdsmen? Mr. President, how many Nigerians have to die before you give Fulani herdsmen the 'Boko Haram' treatment?
President Muhammadu Buhari must be willing to suspend the fact that he is himself a Fulani by ethnicity and remember what he has been preaching to us since he first forced his way into our national consciousness after his coup against President Shagari in 1983.
I can never forget when the then military head of state, Major General Muhammad Buhari said "This generation of Nigerians and indeed the future generation have no country other than Nigeria, we shall stay and salvage it together."
Indeed, the President must remember that he wanted us to stay and salvage Nigeria together and not stay and be savaged in Nigeria by Fulani herdsmen!
And the absolute worst part of this story is the attempt by some Legislators to add salt to injury and injustice by floating a so called National Grazing Commission Bill to compulsorily acquire large swathes of Nigerian land and give them to the Commission for the benefit of Fulani herdsmen!
In fact, it makes better sense to establish a Victim Support Commission for the many thousands of victims of Fulani herdsmen than it does to set up a National Grazing Commission!
Honestly, I do not understand the idea behind this Bill. The legislators sponsoring this Bill are asking Nigeria to change her land tenure system to fit nomads who may or may not be Nigerian citizens. Has the world gone mad???
Nigeria should not change to fit Fulani herdsmen, instead it is Fulani herdsmen that should change to fit Nigeria!
The Grazing Commission Bill is an insult to all the victims of the herdsmen. Peace can only be achieved if those who want to herd cattle set up ranches as is done everywhere else in the world!
The cattle herding business is a private enterprise. It should not be the business of the government to use public land and public funds to promote the group interest of Fulani herdsmen.
Let me assure any federal legislator that is foolhardy enough to support this Bill that Senators and Representatives from states where Fulani herdsmen have killed innocent Nigerians should forget their reelection if they support the Grazing Commission Bill!
In fact, they should be ashamed of themselves that they sat in a National Assembly where the Lagos-Calabar rail was not provided for and watched as the #GrazingCommissionBill got to second reading!
Instead of passing laws to protect victims of genocide they want to pass laws to protect those who commit genocide! Talk about Stockholm syndrome!
I am tempted to ask if this the Federal Republic of Nigeria or the Federal Republic of Fulani Herdsmen with Nigerians as second class citizens? Hardworking, tax paying Nigerian citizens do not have land to build houses yet the backers of this repugnant Bill want to give free land to Fulani herdsmen?
But should I or anybody reading this really blame the sponsors of this Bill? Shouldn't the blame rightly be on all of us collectively when we keep silent while our brothers die because of political ambition and fear of persecution!
What did Jesus say again in Matthew 10:28 "And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear Him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell."
My name is Reno Omokri, if anybody likes let them come and arrest me for saying the truth. I would rather live the rest of my life in a dungeon than fold my hands and do nothing while my fellow Nigerians are being killed so that cattle may live!
Reno Omokri is the host of Transformation With Reno Omokri, founder of the Mind of Christ Christian Center in California and author of Shunpiking: No Shortcuts to God and Why Jesus Wept.
90 comments:
.decitoN
The best article I have read in a long while, well done reno, well said: Really have we all gone mad, I do think is time we start voting people with brain as legislators not the rich and famous that is only hungry for power and pocket.
Thank you for saying the truth Reno.
Gbam! Buhari fall my on this one
WELCOME TO THE REPUBLIC OF FULANI HERDSMEN!!!!!! WELCOME TO THE EXTINCTION OF NIGERIA REPUBLIC ---CIVIL WAR 2 LOADING...... ALL HAIL THE REPUBLIC OF BIAFRA.... ALL HAIL THE REPUBLIC OF BIAFRA....
The President is a cow, you don't expect him to fight his masters.
Nice one reno
Fulani herdsmen ll not kill us for dis country. Buhari s not trying at all
And to think that there are senators from the south/affected areas who sat mute in the senate while this bill is even being given attention,makes it most saddening.Am only going to tell them what Mordecai told Esther when it seemed like she wasn't going to do anything about the impending annihilation of the Jews,"do not think that being in the palace will save you from this because help will arise from someplace else for the Jews while you and your father's house will perish." Help will surely arise for innocent Nigerians.
This is the best post I have gotten or seen on Linda... My brother u just spoke my mind. God bless you. Our leaders are going crazy. Its a fact
Hmm😓
This Fulani Herdmen palava is really sickening
Personally, am not too surprised cos most of them act like they are mobile pockets of disintergrated Bokorists
Anyway, we are waiting patiently 4 d appropriate punishment/ compensation d Buhari-led govt will melt out....
Mr Reno much respect to you. You just said all the things needed to be said. PMB has always been a trap which some Nigerian Citizens stupidly made us all fall into. What can we do? We can't fight him. They are all deadly. Most of our senators and Ministers were the ones that sold us all out. It's only God that can see us through.
Am a computer science graduate (2:1) who just concluded his NYSC. Can anyone please help me with a job. dothjiz@gmail.com
Mcheeeeeeeew! Make sense if you want to and don't be biased in your reasoning. Linda take note!
Well said sir.!!!! I seriously wonder about this country, giving priority to less important issues.
First time reading any of his write ups and am happy I read this one. He made common sense. Truth is we will have to suffer until Nigerians wake up and stop voting in buffoon to govern us. We need to awaken that social conscious in us. In my life time I have only seen that in occupy Naija.
No mind him, he won't say anything abt his fulani brodas, it's in der blood, hrtless people. Linda observe!
Hypocrites are now 'world class' writers.Just imagine! This Reno Omokri needs proper beating.How many Fulani murders did he write on while he worked at Aso villa? I do not blame him.it is Linda Ikeji that brings them to us to read.You would have moral justification on this matter only,if you bring evidence that you complained about itpublicly under GEJ & calling to question his response.Otherwise, Park well & allow real people continue to bring this evil before the government of the day & hold them to account.As for you,Reno Omokri. You are a hypocrite & a snake.
Thunder fire Buhari and his Fulani Herdsmen!!! They will all drink their own blood.
Very well said Reno!
These Fulani herdsmen need to be stopped..... with all due respect, what is with Muslims sef?
#sigh
Aptly written! I totally agree with Reno.
God bless you Reno.
May God deliver us from our legislators.
That was a beautiful piece.
I am crying while reading this message, oh my Nation! oh my home! oh my life!. I have a thousand and one reason not to answer a Nigerian, a country where evil doers are being honoured. Why shouldn't i be allowed to answer my father's name. Buhari and his fulani brothers are on mission to wipe out other tribe. When cattle is more valuable than human life, Nigeria will cease to exist under president buhari, buhari is gradually preparing his ppl for war. Original comment from C. E. O.
Reno u have spoken the mind of the gods. Nigeria is a useless country with useless and senseless leaders. I curse the day they made this country one.
Signed
#LibBadBoy
So on point. I wonder why Nigeria is like this. Selfish legislators.
God bless u sir, I weep for my country nigeria
Grazing Commision Bill qua!!!! hian!!!! Wetin I no go hear for this country.
Preach Reno. The cattle have more sense than the ass licking politicians who want to be in the fulani president's good books.
Put a stop to d killings of fulani herds men
Reno. This is a well written article that addresses what's been on everyone's mind. But you like everyone else is still not asking the right questions and greatly missing the point. Let me enlighten you. During the GEJ regime, there were probably more Fulani herdsmen killings than ever before..I just thought the government had their hands full with the ongoing Boko Harram menace that they didn't have enough time or resources to deal with what was perceived to be a smaller problem. But then I recalled that from way back in the day...these herdsmen were equally as lethal and had equally the same non existent value for human life but guess what..sit in GOVERNMENT of this nation has ever addressed this menace, not one single arrest made...EVER!!!!!! So I began to ask more pertinent questions like...why was this the case? Is it becos their atrocities were considered to be on a small scale? Surely these murderous clansmen have displayed enough barbarity to be considered a major risk to national security..why hasn't any government done anything to curtail their activities? Then I started to wonder, who is funding these people? They aren't just getting these sophisticated weapons by themselves and they seem to be coordinated in their attack strategies to a point where non of the people they attack ever see them coming. No single government has checked these guys and I start to wonder what the source is for their immunity and that more than everything else bothers me more. Now the more troubling question is...if all these past government did nothing about fulani herdsmen terrorist activities to a point where they now feel it is their duty to kill innocent people and graze their lands.....what makes anyone think the present president who is their clans man and a cattle rearer himself will do anything? I put it to you my fellow Nigerians that Buhari will do absolutely nothing about these killings. We need to get weapons and enter these fucking bastards porously and slaughter them like the worthless pigs that they are. Maybe after a considerable number of his people have been killed he will be forced to say something. Fulani herdsmen do not read blogs and I doubt if they have Instagram or even use the Internet for that matter..so to them it's business as usual and they don't even realize that there has been an outcry against them. And since it's always been business without repercussion I'm afraid they will continue killing till we start fighting back. My name is Musiliu and I just want to make common sense
D situation is gradually gettin out of hand, n d govt is quiet abt it. Wat a waste
Good talk
Reno may God bless you!! biased Nigerians are d problems we re facing today in this country. people who see someone who is so wicked yet say he is best solution for a President. This continuous support Buhari get from the yorubas re more reasons all ds rubbbish keep up. Now herdsmen kill both d yorubas n all that come their way. Boko-haram re using this herdsmen to spread around nigeria, yet Buhari is aware of this fact but kept quiet becos those things he thinks he is doing underground n believe no one is aware of. he wants to fight pipe-line vandals and spare fulani herdsmen who strike directly at unarmed Nigerians even on their own lands. the earlier people realize buhari mean no good for nigerians except u re hausa or fulani, not even d ignorant yorubas that support him with their lives. even their father Tinubu is regretting his errors of not taking d interim presidency position offered to him by GEJ till date, close source would tell u. they pdp ruled for 16yrs, yet Obasanjo used half of it and he is fully part of this govt, yet blind supporters cry out loud of past govt. they all dsame. I speak for none but welfare of Nigeria as a nation. Buhari is Nigeria's biggest mistake and USA have seen all these and re happy cos they will archive so much from his stupidity. Some govt officials now loose their loved ones to herdsmen, it will sure go round for them since everyone is keeping mute. I bet the Easterners are 100% prepared for them cos hausas re using d herdsmen to penetrate and locate positions they can easily target when their ill-ambition for nigeria is set to materialize. Hausas re selfish-minded people especially the islamic section of them. they believe they own Nigeria yet its so obvious they have nothing to offer. People make people develop hate, cos wat all fulani herdsmen have done so far keep growing hate for them from every other part of this country and it will soon escalate if not contained by d so-called self-centered bigotry n hate-filled President. since his rule there has been no good news. traveled to over 50 countries just in a year. MY HEART GOES OUT for NIGERIANS especially the stupid ignorant and blindfolded ones who refuse to admit d truth and spill it out. You call Fayose stupid, Yet he is the bravest while others(cowards) hide. true all hausas may not be dsame. may God bless all the Voices speaking out for the Voiceless. Buhari should beware pushing nigerians to d wall. people are going through hell already. my utmost worry is about our so-called Human right activities as well as d judiciary they all playing safe n keeping mute cos they re scared of a dictator as President. This country is sinking yet we ain't knowing it. I pray for Nigeria!!
Is true sha!
The herdsmen's brazen actions started in dribs and drabs long before Jonathan's emergence and became intensified under his leadership. What we're witnessing is a spillover from the past administration of which Reno was a co-pilot. Instead of nipping this menace in the bud, they were busy amassing wealth and turning a blind eye to issues of national interest. Don't blame u -- sitting on ur ivory perch and spewing trash as if u care about ur country.
What do you expect!! When your president is also a herd man!! Wondering around the world!!
Zuhari must go!!
#Linda i de Abroad!!
Mr REno you have spoken well. Are we surprised that the Senate is thinking this way? Until this generation passes away, I dont think Nigeria will ever know what its like to think openly, truthfully and objectively and devoid of hypocrisy. That is the generation that has bled us dry and exhaulted corruption.
They travel to other countries and they see how developed countries run with values but they come back home to steal from innocent citizens and amass wealth just so they can go back to this same countries and spend naija's wealth.
Until we all collectively get up and make our voices heard we would not achieve much. What are we individually doing to create change cos the people there seem to be confused as to what change ought to be. WE assumed it would be positive afterall we're the giant of Africa. We did not know their change would be confusing and hypocritical.
Hmm...truth all the way. But unfortunately some human goats will still insult you for it. So It's best evry one keeps quiet, let buhari as he deems fit.
Nigeria
Nigeria is a zoo. We have said time without number. This country cannot be salvaged. Stop living on false dreams. Yorubas will not like this comment. They and their slave masters are the most patriot. One Nigeria gbakwa oku.
Useless northerners and foolish yoruba people siding them!
Okay...
Senseless indeed .
Truth be said bro. God bless you
We who did not support Buhari sounded the alarm last year that Buhari should never become the president of the country but it fell on deaf ears because of majority of Nigerians that are ill-informed and less educated. We said at that time that Buhari is amongst the chief sponsor of terrorism in Nigeria going by the number of times he sided with the boko haram sect. Now, a new group that is worse than boko haram is ravaging and pillaging the country and what does Buhari do, keep quiet but rather in foreign land call pipeline vandals Terrorists. The emergence of Buhari has emboldened his fulani tribesmen to believe they are above the nigeria law and Superior to other tribes. Instead of the legislative arm being sympathetic to the thousands of people massacred and displaced from their own land, they are busy preparing a bill that will take land that belong to Nigerians for the benefit of cattle rearers. They have made it crystal clear that their cattle are worth more than human lives. Lastly on this piece, other countries have people that engage in cattle rearing like the United States and we don't see any problem between them and the locale where they graze their animals. Can't Buhari go and ask them are they do it? This is just the beginning of the unraveling of the Terrorist called Buhari.
It is so sad that in this 21st century. Things like this is still happening in Nigeria and nobody cares or do a damn thing about it. Can any farmer or hunters carry AK47 and is not arrested by the police?
This so called herdsmen are now "supposedly" license to maim, kill in every geopolitical zone of the country and the authorities turn a blind eyes. Too bad
The issue of fulani herdsmen can never be over emphasised. How can the government be looking for ways of protecting the people that has been killing innocent souls in their land and not prosecuting then. The government has turned a deaf ear to the atrocities of these fulani herdsmen to the detriments of ordinary citizens. We're watching
It is so sad that in this 21st century. Things like this is still happening in Nigeria and nobody cares or do a damn thing about it. Can any farmer or hunters carry AK47 and is not arrested by the police?
This so called herdsmen are now "supposedly" license to maim, kill in every geopolitical zone of the country and the authorities turn a blind eyes. Too bad
Next pls
True talk!!! Buhari is just a tribal President and this whole herdsmen issue and the support they get from the top is so unfair
I liked and supported a larger portion of the write up till you foolishly wrote that "My name is Reno Omokri, if anybody likes let them come and arrest me for saying the truth. I would rather live the rest of my life in a dungeon than fold my hands and do nothing while my fellow Nigerians are being killed so that cattle may live!"
Come home and stop fighting from another country. You are a lily livered man. You were then and you are still one now. You and I know that darling.
Buhari is a tribalistic human being and he is outdated. Nothing he can do can make the ignorant millions of Fulani men become better than anyone. Never!!
Nice 1
I quite agree with him
Totally agree
That's our beloved country where terrorist are given amnesty and murders are given lands and those who speak out must be stopped. Then again our president only speaks in foreign land.
True
Gbam!
Well said,they. Blame the jonathan administration for nt acting immediately wen d chibok girls wia kidnapped yet dey make similar mistake with d fulani herddsmen
Wow
The Grazing Commission Bill if passed into law will conflict with the constitution ans so not stand. The Constitution vests control of land in the State Governors and not Federal Government who can not enter any state to create grazing reserves.
It is all deliberate. The presidency has not issued a comment
I love this, but Nigerians may not see the truth in this article, instead they will start criticizing Reno for us the simple truth
Indeed, cattle rearing is a private enterprise by Fulani herdsmen whose citizenship status is highly suspect. So, why should public land be rezoned and appropriated just for them? Talk about adding salt to injury. Could it be Boko Haram has morphed into the Fulani herdsmen, in order, to continue with their wanton destruction and killing of innocent lives? By the way, how did these herdsmen become heavily harmed with modern-day ammunitions while most of the farming communities are left unprotected? What is the machinery that supports their war readiness & sophistication? What is their stated and unstated motive in a 21st century Nija? It behooves these traumatived groups to get together and form a united front with clear evidencies/data to show the world (eg the Hague, UN, Amnesty Intern) the monstrous attrocities by the Fulani herdsmen bcos the Nigerian govt will likely cover it up as in the past. #goodcausetospeakup
Will the APC apologists see any sense in this write up? I doubt.
As long as Buhari's hiding agenda is to favour Fulani's/ northerns, his attention on herdsmen (book haram) killings may not be seen as a serious issue because his kinds are sadist. The suffering and killings does not mean anything to him and his team ( Rufai/Sanusi ). may God help our father land Nigeria.
The herdsmen's brazen actions started in dribs and drabs long before Jonathan's emergence and became intensified under his govt. What we're witnessing is a spillover from the past administration of which Reno was a co-pilot. Instead of nipping this menace in the bud, they were busy amassing wealth and turning a blind eye to issues of national interest. Don't blame u -- sitting on ur ivory perch and spewing trash as if u care about ur country.
Buhari has no interest outside the North and he makes no bones about it. Vociferous Reno and Abati should keep up the heat on this shambles of a govt. We thought Jonathan was clueless until this mug came along.
The GEJ that you cockroach ibos were siding with almost robbed the country blind with his cabinet. But of course since you brainless tribalist bastards think with your throats you won't see anything wrong with that. Even if all Buhari does is recover the money stolen by you lot it's enough..but rest assured you will never rule this country that's a guarantee you guys are just a bunch of thieves. Bastard ibos low lives
It's not your fault it's beacons we allowed you lot to stop cleaning our toilets and cooking for us you start getting mouth.
True talk Reno
Seriously sometin needs to be done about this. We won't know the effect of this bill till it is passed and maybe then it will be late cos by then they would have taken over our lands of cultivation to rear cattles. They are slowly creeping into our villages and nothing is being done about it. When problems arise we won't have anywhere to run to. God help us for our generation has been mortgaged by our fathers out of greed. Nigeria is not "one nigeria".
Am a computer science graduate (2:1) who just concluded his NYSC. Can anyone please help me with a job. dothjiz@gmail.com
The social media is our power. Let's voice this out on Twitter, Facebook, whatsapp, instagram etc and say no to this bill and what ever plan they have to protect them. The fulani herds me perpetuating these crimes must be punished for their crimes
Reno thank u so much for being honest
True
Foolish girl, olodo of the highest order. Did u even read the article? How is he bias? Simple article that is not up to 1000 words you could not read. Annoying brat.
Dumbass Ibo fool. By the time they kill you people again like the roaches that you are again people will start feeling sorry. No be only Biafra. I actually don't know why naija is hanging on to you idiots. It would be a pleasure to get rid of you
May God help u out my brother,surely there will be a way for u as u believe. Send ur CV to adewale.korede@sc.com.
Dude why must you ibos continue to make everything tribal???????? Ok if the "Yorubas" didn't support Buhari as you stated here....who should we have supported in the last election? A president who's cabinet was left to steal billions of dollars? A president who ran the most corrupt government in the history of Nigeria? A president who allowed a small militant Islamic sect to grow into the most feared terrorist group in the world? A president who couldnt account for how national wealth was being distributed and spent? A president who had no foreign goodwill? A president who could not article himself adequately? A president who pardoned corrupt politicians? A president who never convicted corrupt officials and allowed them to steal with impunity? A president who did not put anything into the national reserve but just bled it dry? A president who basically DESTROYED NIGERIA? Or u retards don't realize that what we suffer today is directly resultant of what he has done to that country? Why don't you guys start using your brains for something better than 419 for once? Out of the two candidates Buhari was the better option even if all he achieved is bringing corrupt officials to book, that is enough. I am Yoruba but Buhari would never have been my choice based on his past performance record....but I would have voted a rabid dog than vote good luck Jonathan in a another 4 years, Nigeria would not have survived it. So you idiots need to remove tribalistic sentiments from your mindset and use whatever brain you have to actually do some critical thinking.
God bless you!
U are one of the most annoying fools on this blog, followed by bonario and aboki. Did u read two sentences? She goat! Fat lips! Read it and stop being an ignorant fool, until these Fulani guys visit ur side then you go know. Mumu jobless girl
@fresh seriously you an idiot and should relocated to Niger republic
If it'll make you type proper English,I'll gladly go.I will make this HUGE sacrifice for you.
WELL DONE
Something is really fundamentally wrong with how these Fulani attacks have been handled over the years by all governments and it seems it is now getting out of hands. One wonders weather they are more Nigerians than the rest of us.