Rivers state violent rerun election: UK envoy asks very interesting question
Ben Llewellyn-Jones who is the Political Counsellor at British High Commission Abuja, asked this very interesting question following the high rate of violence & thuggery that characterized the Rivers state National And State Assembly rerun elections which held over the weekend. Your thoughts?
It's not really about the salary,its the benefits that comes with having a political position in Nigeria, let's not forget most people running are not poor.
It's not only the salary that's the issue here. The government of Mr Buhari is bent on bringing all of Nigeria's 36 States under APC control. That's the real problem.
It would not only collapse, violence will disappear. Leadership in Africa is a do or die affair because our leaders run for selfish reasons. They care about themselves, families and generations unborn. Thank God long life, air and health cannot be bought with money, those blood-sucking, greedy demons will have acquired all for themselves alone.
The answer is, YES. And it should be all round, not just Rivers state...Salaries and bonuses these Government officials make is too much compared to what their contemporaries in other countries make. It needs to be revisited and slashed to like 20% or even 10% sef.
I never knew I will live to see the day that Rivers State will be more violent and rugged than Delta state. Youths growing up in that environment with all the commonplace violence will surely turn out to be the next generation of national (and international) armed robbers and kidnappers.
I weep for "Garden City" and I put the blame squarely at the feet of past Governors Odilli and Amaechi.
The prob is that this nonsense Change government want every1 to be under their control, they don't just want another political party to have any position @ all. They want everything to be APC. Mad idiots#Lindangwanu#
Who said it was about salaries? This envoy is ill informed! He doesn't even know what he's talking about. The election was about freedom from the grip of the north. In Sokoto, Kano, etc..APC always "sweeps" the polls and no one has ever raised an eye-brow. Why should it be different when PDP does same in the S/South and S/East?
Now i see why festus keyamo said Nigerian youths are waisting away onsocial networks... Some people are so dumb. This is a serious question that should be taken seriously...some people here are stilk firing back at him.. I pity all of them
Ehhhya thank God you don wakeup.I wept for you when I didn't see your name in the APC list recruitment for CBN after your gutter mouth during election nothing for you.your back to struggling entreprenuer.don't worry ehhh linda go soon increase your annual pay to 150k.as dollar don go up.mumu boy
Why are British Diplomats commenting on matters of Nigerian politics when we Diplomats in England know that it goes AGAINST all protocols and conventions?!
"It's very unfortunate that we lost all the oil producing states to opposition". These were the words of APC national chairman when Wike won the Supreme Court judgement What happens in Rivers is beyond salaries there is more to it. It's more of power and supremacy tussle APC desperately need a control of one of the oil state and Rivers is their last resort. To them it's a do or die and Amaechi is the right tool On the other hand Amaechi desperately wanna institutionalize himself a godfather in Rivers state. (Like the Tinubu"s and the Lagos state). So he is being used as evil tool to unleash mayhem to his fathers land. He has given dead hear to history that his plans are impossible; instead he is bent on achieving this at all cost; at the expense of innocent blood but let me remind him that their is always a vegeance against his children and his generations on any innocent blood shared on his ambition. He is sowing a dangerous seed for his children and generations. The institutionalize godfatherism may be working in Lagos/ south west but will never work in Rivers/south south. Let me further remind him that democracy means different thing to different regions in Nigeria. I will further advice him to focus and serve Nigeria in his capacity as a minister of transport build legacy for himself for international recognition and future endevour. Get over your lost to Wike and stay away from Rivers politics / move on like other ex governors did. Rivers people are very proud people will never sell their soul to other region. I'm not a PDP member and I will never be; this is without sentiment. God bless Nigeria
52 comments:
Not his business!
It depends sha..
He should ask Google lol
River state has been tagged most violent state that how they roll..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY
Uhmmmmmmm True Talk ...
Damolia.DEW
Thought provoking!
It's not really about the salary,its the benefits that comes with having a political position in Nigeria, let's not forget most people running are not poor.
True talk
True talk
It's not only the salary that's the issue here. The government of Mr Buhari is bent on bringing all of Nigeria's 36 States under APC control. That's the real problem.
Exactly, these are the issues. Make public offices unattractive, that is when Nigeria will truly experience positive change.
Idiots everywhere
It would not only collapse, violence will disappear. Leadership in Africa is a do or die affair because our leaders run for selfish reasons. They care about themselves, families and generations unborn. Thank God long life, air and health cannot be bought with money, those blood-sucking, greedy demons will have acquired all for themselves alone.
So true, they're fighting for their pockets, not desire to represent their people.
The answer is, YES. And it should be all round, not just Rivers state...Salaries and bonuses these Government officials make is too much compared to what their contemporaries in other countries make. It needs to be revisited and slashed to like 20% or even 10% sef.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
I never knew I will live to see the day that Rivers State will be more violent and rugged than Delta state. Youths growing up in that environment with all the commonplace violence will surely turn out to be the next generation of national (and international) armed robbers and kidnappers.
I weep for "Garden City" and I put the blame squarely at the feet of past Governors Odilli and Amaechi.
God help us all.
My thoughts..
Buhari has failed democracy and free fair election. I pray for Nigeria.
Fool. Life is all about the money
As in eehh.......the huge amount these guys take home is the major reason for this lust for power
Speechless! Linda take note!
It's not just salary,its d stloenmoney.y
I support him actually... I'm from Rivers, and it's sad how 60% of our youths don not value Education
I wonder
The prob is that this nonsense Change government want every1 to be under their control, they don't just want another political party to have any position @ all. They want everything to be APC. Mad idiots#Lindangwanu#
Hmmmmmmmm God help us
Really? Check out those who leave office without access to contracts and government money. See how they end up looking impoverished.
Nail on the head question.
Lol.
amechi has no sense
If the likes of Amaechi will stop been desperate to hold power, the lives lost in the re-run would have been saved.
True talk. Linda observe!
amechi has no sense
Who said it was about salaries? This envoy is ill informed!
He doesn't even know what he's talking about. The election was about freedom from the grip of the north. In Sokoto, Kano, etc..APC always "sweeps" the polls and no one has ever raised an eye-brow. Why should it be different when PDP does same in the S/South and S/East?
amechi has no sense
It is not the salary. APC wants to take control of the house of assembly so they can easily impeach Wike.
Y won't it be his biz daft anonymous ode!!is it not d big salaries they re hopin to eat is dat not what is makin them kill each other
Now i see why festus keyamo said Nigerian youths are waisting away onsocial networks... Some people are so dumb. This is a serious question that should be taken seriously...some people here are stilk firing back at him.. I pity all of them
His on point.
Why are some ppl asking him to mind his business?. Obviously if their salary where A million, violence and the craze for these positions would reduce.
Ehhhya thank God you don wakeup.I wept for you when I didn't see your name in the APC list recruitment for CBN after your gutter mouth during election nothing for you.your back to struggling entreprenuer.don't worry ehhh linda go soon increase your annual pay to 150k.as dollar don go up.mumu boy
Ask WAP
Not his business? You're stupid!
I bet u don't understand the question
Why are British Diplomats commenting on matters of Nigerian politics when we Diplomats in England know that it goes AGAINST all protocols and conventions?!
"It's very unfortunate that we lost all the oil producing states to opposition". These were the words of APC national chairman when Wike won the Supreme Court judgement
What happens in Rivers is beyond salaries there is more to it. It's more of power and supremacy tussle
APC desperately need a control of one of the oil state and Rivers is their last resort. To them it's a do or die and Amaechi is the right tool
On the other hand Amaechi desperately wanna institutionalize himself a godfather in Rivers state. (Like the Tinubu"s and the Lagos state). So he is being used as evil tool to unleash mayhem to his fathers land. He has given dead hear to history that his plans are impossible; instead he is bent on achieving this at all cost; at the expense of innocent blood but let me remind him that their is always a vegeance against his children and his generations on any innocent blood shared on his ambition. He is sowing a dangerous seed for his children and generations.
The institutionalize godfatherism may be working in Lagos/ south west but will never work in Rivers/south south. Let me further remind him that democracy means different thing to different regions in Nigeria.
I will further advice him to focus and serve Nigeria in his capacity as a minister of transport build legacy for himself for international recognition and future endevour. Get over your lost to Wike and stay away from Rivers politics / move on like other ex governors did. Rivers people are very proud people will never sell their soul to other region. I'm not a PDP member and I will never be; this is without sentiment. God bless Nigeria
Whatever. More Instagram followers for you
Hmm
Another is: had the Supreme not okayed violence would this have happened?
Very true! Trust me there wouldn't be this violence!
Not his business? are you insane? but it is your business to drop ignorant comments on what's happening abroad or the about the Kardashians? Fool!
He has point
#reeshahr