Photos: See how Corp members slept after the violence-ridden re-run election in Rivers State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 March 2016

Photos: See how Corp members slept after the violence-ridden re-run election in Rivers State

Corps members were pictured sleeping both on the floor and benches at a secure location after the violence-ridden re-run election in Rivers State. 

Uluocha Ifeanyi Abraham who shared the photos on Facebook wrote: "This is what corp members went through in yesterday 's rivers rerun. After all this CBN go give work to Amaechi, Dakuku and Wike daughters..."
 Meanwhile, a young man undergoing his National Youth Service Corps program has shared his near-death experience during the March 19 rerun election in Rivers State. Read his experience below. 

My experience as Apo 1 in Unit 6, Ward 4, of Emuoha Local Government Area, in Rivers state re-run election on the 19th of March, 2016.

I have been hearing that hoodlums do snatch election materials from INEC officials during voting process until 19th March, 2016 when election materials were snatched in my polling unit where am acting as the Assistant Presiding Officer 1 (APO 1).

When we first arrived our RAC (Registration Area Center) on 18/03/2016, many people who are not Independent National Electoral Commission adhoc staffs were seen hovering around the RAC. After collecting election material from our SPOs (Supervising Presiding Officers) at around 6:00AM, we set out to our various polling units after much delay. The buses that were conveying us to our various polling units were just crawling. People that are to work at different polling units were to move together accompanied by soldiers, Special Anti Robbery Squad and other police officers.

The crawling way of movement made us (my team-PO, APO 1, APO 11 and three police officers) to arrive our polling unit at around 3:20PM. We were the last people to reach their polling unit in our ward. The card reader failed after trying all the 10 fingers of the first person that came to vote. As the second person showed up for accreditation, a group of hoodlums entered our polling unit from unknown where and made away with some of our election materials except our card reader (with me), ballot paper and election result (with the APO 11) . We all ran away including the 3 police men that were working with us. There was a pandemonium in the unit.

After the noises subsided, we re-converged at one place to discuss on how to move back to the LGA, since all the people that we called to come for our rescue who actually picked the call did not give us quick attention and there is only one road leading to the place except through water. One of the party agents among the two main parties in Nigeria, who told us that the election materials were snatched by the other party member, offered to help us move out of the village. After much contemplation on whether we are save to move out of the village at that time or not, we agreed to move since we believed that the hoodlums might come back to harm us or carry the remaining election materials. One of the villagers offered his vehicle too. So, the police men entered the bus that conveyed us to the place and the rest of us with 2 of the villagers (the party agent and one other village boy) and the owner of the car left for the LGA.

On our way to the LGA, the party agent that were with us said that we have to pass through his party senatorial candidate to reveal that it is other party member that snatched the materials from us. That was when we began to fill uncomfortable with them. Then, the APO 11 insisted to board a car to Choba against the wish of the party agent and ours too. By then, we have lost the police men on the way from the community. The driver called me separately and asked me whether we and the party agent did not discuss anything? Which I sincerely replied that we did not discuss anything. On my own, I have decided not to meet or talk with the politician because some of them are heartless. After seeing how the guy was serious about taking us especially the woman(APO 11 who was with the result sheets and ballot paper) to the politician, the PO knelt down and begged the woman to give them the ballot paper and the election result sheets that she was carrying.

I left the scene with my phone on my ear as if i was making call. After I have given them about 300m gap to the LGA, I saw my PO running towards my direction. I asked him " what happened?" And he told me that the APO 11 has been tied and thrown into a Honda accord. Then, we ran together to the LGA. We saw many other corpers too who were complaining of the same snatch experience in their polling unit too. This is just the summary of what happened.

Please, thank God with me for this is my true life story. I am a serving corp member in Emohua LGA of Rivers state"

89 comments:

RIP. * it's well*

#state of leadership in our country..

click to see more

www.micostarmall.com

Na wa. Nigeria we hait thee.

Some guys go use opportunity tap current o..lol...which way?!?

Smilin......i wonda d importance of this nysc, rilly wnt d FG to stop it already!

Oh my gosh what ris this?imaging a corp sleeping like this why incompetent children of mallam amech,looted fashola terrorist atiku,arasa,el rufai terrorist buhar,pedophile sanusi and all th useless so called leaders children are working in central bank why a well intelligent competent corps are sleeping like this even sacrificing there life in rivers state upon the way amech and his thugs are king people every were.
Which way Nigeria an some body is saying one Nigeria may thunder fire yoruba and hausas for this bondage slogan call one Nigeria.
Its well with u guys.

Good for them,,cuz they have choice,, my life is more important than money..

I can imagine, just because some elements decided to make the election a do or die affair.

I really feel for them

Such is life.

Eyaaa I feel for them

Lara said...

thank God for your life... that how dey do.

Visit my page for latest tori http://laraoladele.blogspot.com.ng

Eyaaa. Thank God they are safe.

beauty said...

This one pass under d sun and rain.chaii!

Leaders of tomorrow.... corpers re really suffering. Corruption everywhere. The will win n still won't provide jobs for the graduates. Govt things just tire me.

And after serving My So Called Father's Land ; This is the Best they could Offer the Youth , Risking their lives and not providing good shelter for them . And after the service a lot will still be home anticipating for Job ...!!!

When will the Real Change Show up !!!

Damolia.DEW

Nawa o

Too bad! Linda take note!

I sincerely thank God for ur life

Rubylicious said...

So much for serving one's country.

C002DA07F join on BBM channel for top quality European Human hair. Free nationwide delivery.

They tried, if I were serving there, i wldnt even enrolled as a presiding officer at all, life doesn't have a duliplicate jor! Anyways na money matterrr!

Ur matter never finish until you name that political party that is involved and pls , for heaven sake tell the truth.meanwhile congrate on ur recharged life.

Thank Go for ur life

TO GOD BE THE GLORY, UP NAIJA

Chomsy said...

This is scary and serious at the same time.
Are we safe here in Nigeria?
ohh... to think that I will be serving next month? unto your hands Lord I commit myself to.
*** it's Chomsy Again***

THERE IS NO SINGLE POLITICIAN'S CHILD IN THAT CROWDED ROOM O!NOT 1!

Demmy said...

Hmmmm,,, serious gbege! Tank God for safety of these Corp members.

Okowright Balaxy said...

FG should stop using corps members as adhoc staff for elections. The process is exposing this corps members to danger. The memory of the killing of several corps members in the north after Buhari lost the 2011 presidential elections is still very fresh.

RichyGame said...

In as much as I feel his pain, I'm pained by his English knowing he's a graduate. I can't even begin dissecting...

*************************Who send una go ???? Na by force to chop election money ne ????????????? U had the option of staying back in ur lodges n making due with ur lil alawee ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, can't believe amidst all d uproar**************** some corp members still went out dia to conduct this election @ d expense of their lives**************** wen u n I knw dat our Govt. Doesn't give a damn about ur well fare ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Next time think again ********** If there will be next time newai

my eyes filled with tears going thru dis article, this is exactly what corpers are going thru, in d course of serving, may God protection continue to be upon us life h families.

APC at work! but Failure is their Name.

Na waoo

cutestlove said...

You thank your God that you are not killed at the process...my fellow corps members stop involving yourself on politics matters, as for me they won't see me.

chai

This Clarion call sef...

munachimso said...

Naija which way????

Pearlie said...

Rivers state which way to go?

Nawa wat is going on in rivers God

Na wa ooo. FG should come in on this matter#Lindangwanu#

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Ehya...some of them got paid some good money to spend....ProudlyDeltan

Yinx said...

My dear, yours is a little bit small to waht I experienced during last year election at Ebonyi while serving. I was practically kidnapped by some party miscreant, they told me to give them the result sheet but fortunately it was with my APO1. I never knew they were on a mission to disrupt every polling unit they notice d opposition party will have a higher vote, while in their car I saw some ballot boxes n papers and on getting to another PU with d intent of disrupt, thankfully the locals were vigilant, on sighting of them, they started shooting their dane guns and burning tires in all the route that leads to the polling unit. OMG! I was scared for life as what I witnessed in my polling unit was a childs play by d locals matcheting themselves. On our way back to RAC they offered me 100k just to write d result in their favour but I pretend to take their offer as my life was in danger. Thank God they took me my SPO and we later proceeded to the electoral office. As soon as we got there I knew I was a bit safe buh to make d matter worse my EO wasn't that interested in what has happened, guess he has been bought over as some of the inec officials I explained what happened to even asked me to collect the money and write the result in d party favour, I also got calls from other party asking me to name my prize. "My dear reader" I was in a dilemma, the only thing in my head was to do the right thing. And guess what right was?

I wrote a report given step by step account of what has happened and submitted a blank result sheet.
And there was no result from my polling unit.

Conscience Cleared.

The police men ran too? Lol..what a joke.

FRESH said...

Yet some people would be questioning why soldiers were deployed to the Rivers Rerun election? Linda,did you read the part "We all ran away, including the 3 policemen working with us?" There is a serious problem in Rivers State.While we are all busy calling Amaechi or the President's name,militants are staging a comeback through their regular political godfathers.Some of us will castigate INEC, but how would they conduct a free & fair election when Rivers people prefer to kill themselves than vote? The jobs of the electorate is to get together polling unit,cast your vote & go home,or in our own case,wait to defend your votes.but when the electorate starts discrediting election materials,then there is a problem.Those who seek to promote anarchy,put them up to this.Yet theorbo children are overseas.

chommy said...

Experienced such during d last election, I was d p.o den. Linda observe!

Linda I think by now you should have reporter verify some of your stories before you post them,i voted in Agip area of Port Harcourt and there was no violence.

What brought about violence in some areas is either because the INEC officials want to be funny by not computing the right results or security agencies wanting to manipulate the result in favour of a particular candidate.

If not that security agencies were taking sides am not sure there would have been violence.

Terrible.

Jude Akinwole said...

When will all these madness stop??? The main sponsors of these evils are in their house relaxing while the stupid & gullible ones sacrifice their life over a a paltry sum of money that will be wasted on women & booze! Once gain I ask, do they think of eternity? Thank God for your life o & the life of these ones too subjected to this inhumane treatment, albeit choice-less! Too bad!

Omo WA se o rise na e bi diz.

stephnny said...

Dats exactly wah happened 2 me in rivers ooh,during presidential election last yr....dey almost shot me,corps members dey try ooh shaa

Vela said...

so sad.

Ezigbo nmadu!

Okbye.

Very bad it's well clarion call

You are an idiot, did you listen to his voice. If no, how then did you get to a conclusion the fault is not from the media or linda???

Africa my Africa, Nigeria my home! Lord have Mercy on us!

You are an idiot, did you listen to his voice. If no, how then did you get to a conclusion the fault is not from the media or linda???

HMMMMM, NIGERIA WE HAIL THEE

Eyahhhh

RiP? Did u read well before commenting?

LIB ADDICT#just passingq

Ladybird banks.birdlover said...

Did u read dis...rip to u dear lol

Stan said...

Zombie o! Zombie!! Nigerians are been turned to Zombies by Themselves!

Correct. God bless u. We are still plenty! .the good ones!

This is really bad

chyyy said...

Not new jare during ours we slept outside a day to election waiting 4 materials. Our country s not organize so s affecting everybody.

Janice said...

THIS IS VERY BAD FOR NAIJA

You didn't mention your father who gave birth to an imbecile like you.

How come so many igbo youths can't write or type the English language correctly?

FRESH said...

Proud of you! God will remember you for standing by your conscience & being true to self.Our country needs your kind.Someday, we'll be free from all these greedy politicians. Especially the one's with itchy bank accounts.

All in the name to win something from linda ... pple don't even read stories but just comment to be popular

sanrock said...

Are you sick or something?...wat do u mean RIP?

As in ehh.. This girl was all busy rushing to be the first to comment, she ended up typing rubbish!

With all this troubles some people would still be telling me I have things to gain by serving..things like what oo...anyway its what they like that is suffering them..as for me, the government isn't assisting me with paying my fees so have got no time to waste and no life to endager in the name of serving...they r enjoying it if not they won't be there.

DeeD25 said...

Chioma jacinta really? are fucking serious now? blind bat!!

U shouldn't have begged them to give you the result sheet, ,,,, ur life is far more important than the sheet! The best thing to do is to hand over everything to them and secure ur life my dear.

Linda stop this your monthly give away na... Comments and responses on your blog are above accepted stupidity level now.

Oh God deliver Nigeria from the evil and wicked leaders in Jesus Name. Amen

😂 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂

#reeshahr

Pathetic English. Speaks volume of the quality of education in Nigeria. A graduate writing this gibberish?

Ak100

Its not must to be among those that will conduct the election. as a youth Corper, your life is more important than any money they will pay you

Muonago Samuel said...

The Fedral Gov should stop using corps members as adhoc staff for elections. The process is exposing this corps members to danger. The memory of the killing of several corps members in the north after Buhari lost the 2011 presidential elections is still very fresh.

Fusionrunway