According to a report by Channels TV, in the suit which was filed before Justice Mohammed Idris, Emmanuel claims that during the couple's wedding in 2013, he took some photographs and watermarked them using his company name. Emmanuel says that some days after the wedding, Annie contacted him and asked for the photographs which he immediately sent to her. Upon receiving his photos, he said Annie complained about his watermark on the photos and asked that they be removed. He said Annie sent Antonio Anifite to negotiate with him.
He claims that he immediately released the photos to Antonio free of charge with the understanding that when it will be uploaded on Tuface's personal website, “2faceonline.com”, he will be duely credited. Emmanuel says he was surprised to find out that when the photos where uploaded, 148 out of the 355 high resolution photographs he took were uploaded with "2faceonline.com" watermark on them.
Emmanuel who claims to be a certified film maker from the prestigious London Film Academy and a holder of a Masters of Arts degree from Cardiff School of Creative and Cultural Industries, South Wales, United Kingdom, says he suffered general and exemplary damages which he is seeking 120 million Naira compensation from 2face, Annie and Anifite.
However in a counter suit filed by the Idibia's for which they are claiming N150 million in damages, they say Emmanuel was never invited by them to take photos at their wedding, that he was just one of the many uninvited photographers who came to their wedding to make some money via photography.
The Idibia's in their suit, say that after their wedding, they noticed strange copies of their wedding photos in circulation with Emmanuel's studio watermark on them and after finding out they were taken by him, they approached him, expressing their displeasure. He apologized and also forced the photos on the Idibia's, saying he wants them to use it so he can leverage on their popularity.
They however made him understand that the only way they will use the photos was for his watermarks to be completely removed. This he allegedly agreed to. The Idibia's say they were shocked when after uploading the photographs, he wrote a pre-litigation letter to them demanding that his watermarks be boldly inscribed across the photographs and a letter of apology. The Idibia's say the photos were immediately pulled down from 2face’s official website as the watermarked photos would distort the original idea of his website.
“The second plaintiff (Okolo), through his several guile, deceit, cunning gate-crashing and opportunistic posturing carefully planned and orchestrated the entire events leading to the institution of this suit with the express intention of embarrassing, harassing and blackmailing the first and third defendants (Annie and 2face) with a view to extorting money from them,” they further claimed in their counter-claim.
They accused the photographer of having a premeditated plan to blackmail them and extort money from them. They urged the judge to order Okolo and his studio to pull down all the photographs of them that the photographer had circulated. They are also praying the court to order Okolo and his studio to “render forthwith, account as well as make full and frank disclosure of all sums and profit made by them as a result of unauthorised commercial usage” of their photographs.
73 comments:
Huh!!! Orisirisi
They should settle this amicably
HAHAHAHH but on a serious note always give honour to whom is due lol at d same time wait oooo na nw the photographer notice am? ok bye
Suit and counter-suit. Why would the photographer go to their wedding illegally and take over 300 photos, and then put his watermark on them like they are his legal property when he didn't take permission from the people he was taking shots of. Let's see how this turns out.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
Wahala
Hian! Stories we read everyday
I'm sorry, but they paid you for your service,and never signed any agreement that your watermark will be on the picture, so,he has no case.the pictures are theirs legally.. Water marking should be discussed with clients before any agreement
Nawa
Greedy photographer
All this plenty hungry pple in lagos searching for victims to suck dry.
#LibBadBoy
Hahaha I Laff in Indian this Oluya think say na Yankee hin dey ? The fact that u be mogbo moya photographer u don lose the case, Poor Boy .
Damolia.DEW
Choi..
120m?dats massive oo
D photographer wants to blow.
Gbam
This guy is a learner and a criminal. He feels he is doing good to his business name but he's tanishing it.
2baba pls be careful they have come to pull u down. This young man and his family now is your target abi. Just 4 taking pictures now to filling charges of 120m chai drop that camera and go get urself a job.ok
Werin concern me. Linda observe!
Nah wa ooo
If he wants to leverage on their popularity through d photographs he took of them.. he will not agree that his water mark be removed cos if he does how then will the public knows he took those photographs?... Annie n tuface lied there.. the remaining story only God knows..
Hmmm, ok
Okolo has used the oil he planned to rub tuface and wife's mouth to stain all of his already faded white. Shame on him. He better go and render an apology be4 is too late
Hmmm ok o
Gbammest!
Nice move Tu & Annie
Heheheheeheeee
Ok! Next
Big people and their wahala
Lol, after taking unauthorised picture, u have d gull to sue? Joker, it's good they counter claimed, let's wait n see!
I am glad you said this. Can you just imagine. You are suing me for my own face. The dude is hungry and wants to be noticed.
See thief oooo
Ghen ghen.... e don happen, let's go dey.
if truly the photographer wasn't invited, the he should be charged for gate-crashing!
Oluya this is naija. Make you give yourself brain....
This is what happens to celebrities. If it was a mere commoner, he wouldn't even mind. Its not totally 2Face's fault. He just needs to be careful next time.Water marking should be discussed with clients before any agreement
www.wolexis.com
Bla bla bla,,who cares,, mtcheeeew😜😜😜😛😛😛
Mcheeeeeeeew! Oshisco! Linda take note!
2BABA DIDNOT INVITE THE PHOTO GUY AND HE WANT TO BLACKMAIL 2BABA, SOMEBODY SHOULD ADVISE THE PHOTO MAN TO APOLOGIES IN PUBLIC FAST.
ONE LOVE
Just imagine madness....u Snap me..I use my photo for my thing u come de para
Hmmmmmmm
That dude is hungry.. Case closed
gd for them
Oga photographer, you get invitation to the wedding where you took the pictures? Smh. 120 million naira? Which yeye damages? Your mouth open ooooo! See ambition
There are three sides of a story,their side,his side n the truth.
"the Idibia's counter sue"
Linda ,you dont need that apostrophe in Idibia. Correctly put,the Idibias counter sue...
see talk ohooo,u want to sue 2face for his own face,an uninvited photographer for dat matter. aunty Linda my role model
D idibias will win.it s obvious
The photographer na tif.
Does this kind of suit stand in Nigeria sef
This photographer is just wasting his time
Promo strategy. Emanuel Okolo /2faceonline.com, U don popular already.. I laugh... But My point is, did 2baba pay any amount to the photograher before using it on his OFFICIAL website? jango.com/music/abaa-2
Smiling......very stupid guy. U don't know u dey naija abi? Smiling.....
See boldness nah, who cares d film school u went to. Anumpama!!! U are even lucky dey decided to pay you after gate crashing & is it just now dat u woke up 4rm sleep. dis happened how many year ago again. Fool!!! Opportunist!!!
Cunny man die.....
TUFACE IS A LIAR IN THIS CASE, PEOPLE ARE NOT ALWAYS WHAT THEY LOOK FROM THE OUTSIDE, I KNOW THIS CASE, AND I STUDIED IN LONDON WITH THE PHOTOGRAPHER IN QUESTION, I RESIDE IN ABUJA TOO.. I WAS PERSONALLY PRESENT WHEN TU-FACE SENT HIS GUYS TO PICK THE GUY FOR THE TRADITIONAL WEDDING, THE HIRED HIM, AND IF PUSHED FURTHER, I CAN ENCOURAGE MY FRIEND TO PUBLISH THE AGREEMENT SIGNED WITH TU-FACE...THE GUY IN QUESTION IS NOT FROM A POOR FAMILY, HIS FATHER IS A MILLIONAIRE FROM NNEWI IN ANAMBRA STATE AND THEY BOTH RESIDE IN ABUJA..
TU-FACE SHOULD PLEASE SETTLE THIS OUT OF COURT AND PAY ON AGREED TERMS...WHAT RUBBISH, THESE SO CALLED CELEBRITIES ARE JUST NUISANCE TO DECENT SOCIETY, THEY THINK THEY HAVE A SECOND LIFE?WHAT MAKES THEM DIFFERENT FROM US?NDI ARA..IN AS MUCH AS I LIKE YOUR SONGS, PLEASE ALWAYS KNOW THAT YOU CANT BE HERE FOREVER..YOUR LAWYERS JUST WANA MAKE MONEY FROM YOU TUFACE..PLEASE SETTLE THE GUY BIKO!!!
TUFACE IS A LIAR IN THIS CASE, PEOPLE ARE NOT ALWAYS WHAT THEY LOOK FROM THE OUTSIDE, I KNOW THIS CASE, AND I STUDIED IN LONDON WITH THE PHOTOGRAPHER IN QUESTION, I RESIDE IN ABUJA TOO.. I WAS PERSONALLY PRESENT WHEN TU-FACE SENT HIS GUYS TO PICK THE GUY FOR THE TRADITIONAL WEDDING, THE HIRED HIM, AND IF PUSHED FURTHER, I CAN ENCOURAGE MY FRIEND TO PUBLISH THE AGREEMENT SIGNED WITH TU-FACE...THE GUY IN QUESTION IS NOT FROM A POOR FAMILY, HIS FATHER IS A MILLIONAIRE FROM NNEWI IN ANAMBRA STATE AND THEY BOTH RESIDE IN ABUJA..
TU-FACE SHOULD PLEASE SETTLE THIS OUT OF COURT AND PAY ON AGREED TERMS...WHAT RUBBISH, THESE SO CALLED CELEBRITIES ARE JUST NUISANCE TO DECENT SOCIETY, THEY THINK THEY HAVE A SECOND LIFE?WHAT MAKES THEM DIFFERENT FROM US?NDI ARA..IN AS MUCH AS I LIKE YOUR SONGS, PLEASE ALWAYS KNOW THAT YOU CANT BE HERE FOREVER..YOUR LAWYERS JUST WANA MAKE MONEY FROM YOU TUFACE..PLEASE SETTLE THE GUY BIKO!!!
U no gt work,mr photographer....hope u re able to fight to end
Truth shall prevail..... at the end.
Mr Photographer, do you have a written and signed contract with the Idibia's or their representative to come cover their wedding? How come you released the "unwatermarked" version to them if there wasn't some sort of agreement between you and them? You have 100% rights to your intellectual property agreed but you have to provide valid evidence of your claims in BLACK AND WHITE, if not its your word against theirs and naturally you know whose is stronger here...or even you being hacked for taking unauthorised photos of them!
@James Emmanuel...talk is cheap. If your "friend" provides evidence by virtue of a signed contract with his claims in details, then he has a case...if not I'm sorry
His case is bound to fail, tuface even had the right to use the photograph for fair use, even if there was an agreement as the photographer claims for him not to.
Problem with his suit is that tuface and Annie will have to give evidence personally. This is why most celebrities settle.
Every day different drama and issues
Anonymous fool dts hw u jump in2 conclusion...
James Emmanuel u the Onye ara!his father is rich and feom nnewi and he is stooping so low when was the traditional wedding? And he suing them now.u guys better advise that una brainless friend to settle matter outside court and stop using Tuface and wife for cheep popularity.if u know Tuface u know he is down to earth,u won't abuse him for nothing.ok bye
Mr James Emmanuel or woteva u call urself if he has the agreement he wud ave attached it to his claim to give his case more weight. he has come out publicly already so y d secrecy? he studied in london, lives in abuja, his father is a millionaire does not stop ur friend from being an opportunist. and wot makes him diff from the rest of u is his talent which has brought him immeasurable success which y'all are trying to get a part of. and by the way he is gonna be around for as long as God says he wud be. u n ur broke ass friend shud go get a job!
Dear LIBers, while we were yet winners Jesus died for us. He paid the ultimate price, He who knew no sin became sin for us that we may be redeemed from eternal damnation.
The only way we can say thank you is by dedicating our entire existence to Him. Confess Jesus as ur Lord and personal saviour today and be saved.
they shlld pay him if he is saying the truth and avoid court whala.
All you so called celebrity always rely on photographers for pictures to make you look good and glamorous and you think you can get away with anything, YOU ALL NEED TO UNDERSTAND THE PHOTOGRAPHY BUSINESS BEFORE YOU COMMENT, the photographer remain the copyright owner of any image produce except the agreement with the client state otherwise, the mistake 2face made was not bargaining to have the copyright to all his wedding pictures, he should just try to settle out of court with the photographer and if he thinks he can win the case lets meet in court, We PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHERS will stand by our own throughout this case. please anybody have the photographer's contact kindly send it to me @ oluwaseunraphaellens@gmail.com thank you.
D guy is sick
It was agreed that when questions are directed to them as to who took the shots, they'll be referred to him. That is still leveraging
They're are public figures and the photographer did not need their permission to take their pics, just like the paparazzis go about chasing celebrities to take their pics.
Liar. Didn't you read where your so called friend said he just took the pictures? They knew themselves after the wedding so why are you fooling yourself? He's your boyfriend abi and he'said not giving you money, mtcheeew
Mtchewww
#reeshahr
Bad belle is allowed.
Ridiculous.
#Linda'spal