LIB reader writes touching tribute to his late girlfriend who died at 24 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 March 2016

LIB reader writes touching tribute to his late girlfriend who died at 24

This is a tribute from a LIB reader to his late girlfriend who was also an ardent LIB reader. Wasilah died at age 24 in January. RIP, Wasilah. Read below..
"One of my favourite new age Nigerian writer recently said "we are all living to die, to know this is to live well"; such was the life of Wasilah Abdulrahman Akibu. The first time I saw Wasilah was at a “jambite welcome party”; she was elegant in a white skirt;
i remember and in my head; i wished i could ask her for a dance, but she was way above my League: i knew this or so I liked to assume; She was a big boys chick a friend whispered seeing how i admired her, we would rather avoid Senior Azoume’s wrath he added. The next six years of our lives after that night, is something story tellers would struggle to put into words. Things ultimately changed; for the first four, our relationship transformed from been just the usual hello-hi class mates to becoming friends, thereon confidants to each other and above all soul mates.
Before reaching quietus, Wasilah was a graduate student at Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, studying Archaeology, she was also a Deputy Program officer for the Population and Reproductive Health Initiative (PRHI) in Zaria, Kaduna state; where she advocated girl child education, participating in community outreach with the initiative; she interacted with numerous adolescent girls during their Adolescent Girls Leadership Program (AGLP) and several other projects, she encouraged them to continue their education against the odds they were faced with; all in a bid to reduce maternal mortality and child bearing health related diseases especially amongst young girls. She was passionate about her job and always used to say “one day I am hopeful I would have a school and I would be able to mentor girls around the world to pursue their dreams”.
Wasilah was compassionate, dedicated and committed to causes beneficial to other people, she was a self-forgetter. Be it at work or at school, she was audacious and courageous. Wasilah Abdulrahman Akibu meant different things to those who knew her; to most she was nice, to some; dutiful, charismatic, sometimes seeming naive, but kindness was something no one could ever take away from her.
She supported her family and many friends in ways beyond comprehension; she sacrificed daily for many to have a better lives! She was a true reflection of the popular saying: “if you educate a man you educate an individual, but if you educate a woman you educate a nation” It was her dream to become a professor, to teach archaeology and magnify the beauty of Africa’s Heritage to the world, In pursuit of that; plans of her obtaining a scholarship to study conservation for a doctorate degree was in the works… Alas those plans would never see the light.
Her academic and professional life were incomparable to the radiance her aura assumed and her adversaries to date cannot comprehend how she was serene, intelligent, stylish, compassionate, and yet so elegant. It was in this serenity that made many to nick name her Waceecul. We were optimistic of a future together, we would argued about the number of kids we would have, and I remember habbibi alby (as I called her) saying “I will not let you spoil my children, they would grow up to be respectful, diligent and God fearing, if they mess up I will flog them, I will not allow you to carry oyinboness to spoil my children.”
The beauty of this tragedy remains the very fact that Wasilah appreciated the tranquility of death, agreeing that death was easier than living. She had an unshakable belief in a blissful afterlife; and how any, could reach quietus at any given moment. She was a firm believer, free spirited, a lover of life, a go-getter and in the words of her boss" a rose amid thorns".
We love her enough not to question the creator as to why now? We love her enough to know that the goal isn’t to live forever but to live a live worthy of emulation and commemoration like hers. Wasilah was God’s Angel in human schema, a rare gem literature and history books would never fully grasp; and the words to describe her magnificence would always remain insufficient.
At twenty four, Wasilah meet eventual fate on the 6th of January 2016, after a brief illness, she was buried the next day according to Islamic rites. As numbness follow and numerous questions arise; despondence have become brethren as anguish, despair and grief are now companions. I continue to hear the phrase “good people don’t last” it leaves doubt in my mind as to whether all living beings are full of evil? That is a hoax I choose not to believe. All I can now do is to pray she finds peace with her creator, until we are reunited in the lush gardens of paradise. Everyone of us would eventually die, wasilah’s death and the death of many daily is a constant reminder of that reality, to comfort ourselves is to find solace in the words of Socrates when he said; “Death may be the greatest of all human blessings’’. I pray she finds eternal rest, wherever she is.

97 comments:

Eyah cute.

Too long for me To Read ; May her Soul Continue to Rest in Peace !!!

Damolia.DEW

Awwww what a world.
She is from that cursed tribe call hausa well sha may her soul rest in peace only if she is not a Muslim.

RIP. * it's well*

#deepbreath!!! Hmmmmm. So saddening

This is so deep,RIP Wasilla, may Allah grant you Aljannah-Fidaus.

Wasilah may ur soul rest in peace

Demmy said...

May her soul rest in peace.

Awww! May God grant you the fortitude to bear this great loss my brother Musty.
Could remember how you showered encomiums on her the day I visited you during the last Sallah celebration, I couldn't find words to console you the day you broke the news to me.
May her soul continue to rest in peace.
Cry no more my brother.

. ~BONARIO~ says so via NOKIA LUMIA

Touching...Today also happens to be my mother's death anniversary. Its never easy but with God , everything is going on fine.RIP mama

NICE BUT TO LONG TO READ

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

May she find peace in the after life.

Huh huh! Smilin....RIP dear!

Hmmmmm Rip

Olayemi said...

#sad#rip to her

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

So touching, RIP

Aww.. RIP Dear. I once lost a girlfriend some years ago too,and it was quite painful. Continue to RIP Chibaby,xo

I cried reading this. This touched me, my dear I am so sorry but God knws the best. Be strong.

Eeeeeeeeeeeyah! Linda take note!

Eayaaah rip

Eya

RIP so sad......................

Rotimi segun said...

What's d title of d movie??...Loll Rip doh

Amin... Rip to her

May her soul rest in peace

RIP TO HER. SO TOUCHING

SO TOUCHING A TRIBUTE. I JOIN YOU TO SAY THAT MAY HER BEAUTIFUL SOUL FIND REST.

One Naira Advice Blog said...

R. I. P

Please Kindly visit my blog Www.onenairaadvice.blogspot.com

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

So sad and touching! RIP to her.

SAMEUEL TAR ADAMS ADOM said...

May her soul rest in peace. A beauty piece. Take heart "brother" for God knows best.

*****************Eyhaaaaaa**********May she RIP*********@ 24 ??????? Kai ,,,,,,,,, nawa oo

bally said...

May Allah grant her fridous and continue to gv u the fortitude to bear d loss.

Awww! May her soul continue to rest in peace

hmmmm, RIP to the lost soul.

SIR_ACES said...

Awwwwwnnnn... R.i.p to d dead

pele

Rest in peace dear. More Instagram followers for you

Awww may her soul rip

Rip

Tears filled my eyes wen I heard bout wasila's death.waceecul was a frnd to evryone at d dept of arcy ABU zaria.we will miss her.rip

r.i.p

R.I.P

R.I.P

R.I.P

Fabian_Lee said...

I feel the pain Guy.... Please take Heart.... (Maka Gini Maka Why)

May Almighty Allah forgive all his sins, prevent him from the torment of the grave & grant him Aljana Firdaus- Ameen

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

May her soul rest in peace...ProudlyDeltan

Rasheed Dfirst said...

InnaLililah Wahinailahi Rajeeun, May Her Soul find Solace has she rest in the blossom on thy Creator!!!

Albert said...

Jeez wasilah is dead....there's nothing much in this life..she was so kind and down to earth.even as a graduate student she was friends with my self and our course mate during our final field school.Rest on dear

Rasheed Dfirst said...

InnaLililah Wahinailahi Rajeeun, May Her Soul find Solace has she rest in the blossom of thy Creator!!!

RIP to d dead

chommy said...

Fyn gal, may her soul rest in peace. Linda observe!

Take heart bro

Amin...insha allah

RIP... dee

Vickynita Peters said...

Its so painful to loose a loved one. May God heal the wound in his hrt and grant d deceased eternal rest in his bossom •

It breaks my heart when a young person dies. Rip dear, may you find peace where ever you are.

Okbye.

Yetty k said...

Amen

cutestlove said...

Oh so touching..May her soul rest in peace.

Amen, l pray that the Almighty Lord bestow His mercy on Wasila and grand her peace and comfort.

Touching!!! Continue to rest in peace.

R.I.P

Vela said...

rip

That reminds me let me check on this my Friend its been long i heard from her.RIP beautiful.

stephnny said...

Rest in peace

May God grant her eternal rest

Very touching rip

RIP Waceecul.

#Linda'spal

Innalillahi wa'inna ilaihi raj'un, Allah ya jikan ki da rahama amin

Eyahhhh....RIP with her

Rip

RIP...

May her beautiful soul rest in peace..

Eyah. I consoled bro,may her soul RiP

Iam Fabulous said...

May her soul rest in peace.

Jude Akinwole said...

This is so touching! Wasilah may you find peace & rest wherever you are! #Pensive

OMIDAN ABBY said...

...and u don't feel it's better to STFU since u don't ve something sensible to say than senseless trash on someone's demise?
I'm happy to tell u that death is something we all owe and we got to pay. Just incase u forgot..Shameless fool!
@ Sam beast!

Rip

'Athena' said...

I continue to say it, you Freeborn are an embarrassment to the human specie. Na ur type dem suppose spill during sex.IDIOT!

SIR_ACES said...

Did you read your pile of arse dumping before you clicked publish. I pray no one cries for you when you die as well.

NnekaOchu Blog said...

sorry abt her death,linda she was one of ur libers i used to read her comments back then

Really sad, may her soul rest in peace

Esther Dangana said...

Rest in peace

This is the first time i will post a comment on any story here,though i av been reading LIB for some months now,but permit me to say this,in as much as pple see death as an eventual fate or a wicked being,i quite agree with d first but not d second. Death is not wicked,it is a bringer of peace in this time of chaos and disorderliness, but the only way death can achieve that feat is to take that person to another world,a world beyond our reasoning,a calm world void of evil and betrayal... I pray that may wasilah find much joy and peace in that world she has gone to and also wait for those of us that are yet to be of that world.. R.I.P

Beautiful piece. So captivating. Accept my condolences.

meeeeeeeeeeee said...

For those saying that the article is too long, so you mean that when you die, nothing this long can be found to write about you? RIP Wasilah, you at least made impact in your very short time on earth.

You are a big fool and you really are senseless to a fault.

So sad, may her soul rest in peace

You're such a big monkey!! Fool!! I feel sorry for you. Mtscheeww

Idiot na up tribe b caused

May GOD grant her soul eternal rest,AMEN.

May her gentle soul rest on in peace

Scholarship Base said...

My Her Gentle Soul Rest In Perfect Peace.........Amen

USA New Visa Rules To Study and Work In USA

bally said...

Ur really pathetic. Do u have to be sentimental when it comes to wishing someone R.i.p?nawa o