Football star quits Belgium with family after Brussels terror attack, says 'it made him fear for his life' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 March 2016

Football star quits Belgium with family after Brussels terror attack, says 'it made him fear for his life'

Top football star Matias Suarez who plays for Belgium's biggest club Anderlecht has decided to call it quits with football in Belgium after yesterday's terrorists attack at one of the country's airports.

Suarez, from Argentina, whose club is based in Brussels, says he has informed his agent and is determined to leave the club and country as soon as possible saying he fears for the safety of his family.
The Argentine forward has revealed that Belgium is a different place since the attacks on Paris in November.
“It’s nothing to do with the country, which is incredible," he said. "I love Belgium and the people here. But I’ve talked to my agent and my wife already and for the safety of the family we’ve decided to leave in June. After everything that happened in Paris, people have changed completely here. In the streets and shopping centres you don’t see many people. People basically don’t leave their homes because of this fear. In Brussels we have a neighbourhood where lots of jihadists live and lots of people who are involved in these awful things and, unfortunately, talking to my wife and my friends we knew something like this was going to happen. I wasn’t at home, I was on the way to training in the morning and listening to the radio when I found out. I was very scared. I tried ringing to find out if my daughter was okay and if I had to go and get her. It’s scary, more than anything for the family. That is why we will leave."

47 comments:

OMG! Click To See How Nigeria will Loose 300, 000 Children in 2016 – UNICEF Report

PrettyChi said...

Eyaah

Wise decision for him

Quitting won't solve d issue. No place or country is safe mehn,we just have to keep praying for our safety

Good for him

Learn how to browse free on MTN BB10 midi with psiphon setting

Babylawyer. said...

As if there is any where in the world where it's safer. It's God who guards the city.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Ehya, sorry Bro.

Hmm, threesome sex inside a Uniben hostel. photo&video

ISLAM ISLAM..wetin una want make i do abeg? make i roll for floor beg una? DEVILISH RELIGION. GOD does not accept a religion that kills and destroys. .that is why I will say this anywhere that your religion is not from GOD. It was created by a MAN, Muhammad or what do u idiots call him again

Kayode Odusanya said...

Lightening don't strike in the same place twice bro. What if terrorists hit where you are relocating to? Anyway, it is his decision. And since he said he already suspected something like this would happen cos of the way Jihadists work the streets, then maybe it is a good idea for him to move out of Brussels/Belgium.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Bros calm down,it could hapn anywhere jst pray it's not going to be ur portion.

Awwwwwwww its a pity,My dear i support u oo life no get part 2.
No place is safe again unless Muslims dont leave there but ones they have Muslims there must be terrorist and killing.
I am seeing world war between Muslims and Christians make un mark my world.
May God save u my brother this life sweet ooooo.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Hmmmmmmmm. Just one bomb! Well, Hw's he sure they're not coming to where he's relocating to. We wey still dey Naija despite Boko palava try o.

And wherever Hes going to is safe enough? Please....

And does he know whats going to happen where he's heading to.? No place in the world is 100%safe everybody is living in fear of their lives .

Safe trip

Eyahhhhh! Is so sad when u leave in fear always!

Nna vum ka statement mma

Na just one bomb...oo nigerian wey boko boy dey bomb every we never run na just ordinary one bomb

*****************Ocheje mgbafu si na aroro ya anya ,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Oga jux dis once u dey run *********** U need to Visit Borno State Oga********* n pipo still dey dia *********** this Oyibo dem sef

Mumu.how many times has there been terrorist attack in Belgium that you are running away.what of if terrorist attack happen again where you are goin;you run again abii.diz one Na mumu oh.lolz

Marie said...

Where in the world is safe? It is only God who can guaranty our safety. So help us God.

Is Argentina the safest place on earth? Street crime, violent gangs... This is just an excuse, he must have been wanting to leave

Unless ur going back to Argentina cos there are jihadist in virtually all Europe!

#saynototribalismandyestoonenigeria

My dear u did the right thing..weldone

Yetty k said...

Funny.who won die

No place is safe in dis world. Na only God dey save person. Linda take note!

Whatz d assurance that where hez relocating to is safe... dee

He's a coward

chyyy said...

I will do the same if is me. And this Accursed terrorists ll gv on attaching them as much as they can. Beligum shd be in alert.

My brother it can happen anywhere in as much as u live on the surface of the earth... Let's just pray for God's protection

Death can meet you anywhere....

Eeya. I can understand

‭OKORO UPGRADED

Nna I no blame u

bhilysblog said...

If na u nko, u go stay? Pls run for ur life jare! Family first. Visit www.bhilysblog.com

Demmy said...

God av mercy o, no more safe place in d world.

Guess he's doing what's best for his fam.....

We now live in a world of fear and no safety

Coward, dey go farm den. Mtchewww

#reeshahr

And where will he run to that he thinks terrorists will not strike? God forbid but the very place he runs to may be their next target.

R u jst bunch of idiot for you to post DEVILISH RELIGION .try to consult a doctor for Check up

LWKMH

Yet u ar still in naija

We ar jst living by d grace of God

Shame on you Richard.. if had no decent contribution to make, you could have simply kept mute. How do you read such n this is the first thing you can offer? Blatant Stupidity..shame on the man you are.

Daval8 said...

Why not go to Borno if you have mind