Food and beverages sector set to sack 3m workers due to Forex crisis | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Food and beverages sector set to sack 3m workers due to Forex crisis

Leaders of the Food, Beverage and Tobacco Senior Staff Association, FOBTOB, have alleged that employers of Labor in their sector are planning to sack 3 million workers as most of the companies are finding it hard to get foreign exchange to use in purchasing raw materials for production.

According to Vanguard, President of the association, Quadri Olaleye, spoke at a press briefing in Lagos yesterday March 23rd, where he said that between 2012 and the first half of 2015, over 3,000 workers were sacked in the guise of re-engineering, restructuring, right sizing, downsizing, redundancy and re-organisation.

He said many of the companies gave the same reasons of difficult business terrain, dwindling profit, irregular and insufficient power supply
“The current situation has reached a pathetic level, because it seems all the employers in our sector are in competition with each other on who can lay off the most workers. Every company is now calling for a downsizing of the workforce, and this time under the guise of lack of foreign exchange due to the Federal Government’s recent policy on foreign exchange. We are aware that not all the raw materials used in our industry can be sourced locally. Where they can be found, they are mostly not available in commercial quantity. That is why it is imperative that the government, through the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, takes a second look at the policy on foreign exchange to avoid shutting down the companies in our industry.”he said

32 comments:

Awwwwwww too bad for them

It's wa!

That's serious...

With the level of current unemployment in the country.

Yoruba people una dey hear?
Then you guyz where is just for a while.
I dey laugh oooo

This forex wahala no be here oo

Hard times are here

*********************shedding tears for my dear country ************ Fulani cattle rearer ooo !!!!!!! Abokiwarridriver ************ advice ur criminal

Wowo

adetomiwa said...

GOD have mercy on US.

Haaaaa 3million Workers joining the 70% unemployed youth ??????

In Asa's Voice there is fire on the mountain Top.....

Damolia.DEW

Oh God send help to my nation Nigeria for it is at the verge of total economic collapse 3 million workers to be laid off that's real anarchy

Nigeria will surely get better. In the long run, this dollar rise will make all Nigerians wake up and invest internally.

Nawaooo that's a lot

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Haa! Oluwa o, when they're people unemployed.

This people want to triple the problems of this country oh! We are watching to see how they will do it.

such a frightening period but we would pass through all these........

And the numbr of unemployment keep rising.....

Demmy said...

Hmmm dat won't be nice.dey shud be considerate n FG shud intervene asap.

These layoffs suck... Abeg follow me enjoy sports news here

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

Image that. This government promised to create massive employment when it gets power, but ends up creating massive unemployment because of its policies. They are aware that these policies are killing the economy so fast yet the government remain adamant to the voices of its people because at the end of the month, their big salaries is waiting for them. No one cares about the common man. This is a BIG SHAME, NOT CHANGE.

No.1 Nigeria must not in anyway devalue Naira again, 2. these companies areb lying because they dont buy their forign exchange in black market they buy at CBN rate and finally Nigerians should STOP buying packaged foods buy and eat Local your body will thank you for it.

Hmmmmmmmm God help us

chommy said...

Nawa o, naija which way nw. Linda observe!

Sai Baba... Sai Buhari... Change indeed... Apc don do us all 419...

If raw materials are not available in commercial quantities instead of implementing production practices they're asking for forex???

Exactly. You can be sure that no one crying here over the forex rate actually understands how forex works and why it has risen recently.

Na waoo

You have a very poor understanding of the situation! Very poor indeed! KOLAQ

Change! All of us should be patient. E go better. However, you need to pray that by the time e better, you never expire!!!

Gud for dem.

Who is this stupid transformer abi transgender
Get free tutelage to Make money legal online. Sign up for free @ https://trafficmonsoon.com/?ref=id4christ