80 abducted Chibok girls were found by US, UK surveillance & then left in captivity- Former UK ambassador to Nigeria says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 March 2016

80 abducted Chibok girls were found by US, UK surveillance & then left in captivity- Former UK ambassador to Nigeria says

In a recent interview with The Sunday Times, a UK Newspaper, former British High Commissioner to Nigeria, Andrew Pocock, says that 80 of the Government Girls College Students who were abducted by Boko Haram members in April 2014, were spotted in Sambisa forest by a team of British and American surveillance but they could not rescue them as the Nigerian government made no request for help.

“A couple of months after the kidnapping, fly-bys and an American ‘eye in the sky’ spotted a group of up to 80 girls in a particular spot in the Sambisa forest, around a very large tree — called locally the Tree of Life — along with evidence of vehicular movement and a large encampment. They were there for perhaps up to four weeks, and the question was what to do about them. Answer came there none.”
He said despite all the BBOG campaigns in London and the White House, the British and American troops could not immediately go in to rescue the girls because the Nigerians never asked for that
“What’s more,” Pocock says, “the Nigerians never asked for that.”
He however pointed out that if the Nigerian government had even asked for help, he said the safety of the girls would have been of utmost priority as it would have been very risky to go in and carryout any rescue operation
“A land-based attack would have been seen coming miles away and the girls killed. An air-based rescue would have required large numbers and meant a significant risk to the rescuers and even more to the girls. You might have rescued a few, but many would have been killed. My personal fear was always about the girls not in that encampment. 80 were there, but 250 were taken, so the bulk were not there. What would have happened to them? It’s perfectly conceivable that Shekau, the leader of Boko Haram, would have appeared on one of his videos a week later, saying, ‘Who told you that you could try and free these girls? Let me show you what I’ve done to them…’ So you were damned if you did, damned if you didn’t. They were beyond rescue, in practical terms."he said

61 comments:

That's at the behest of GEJ oh.

biggyray said...

hmmmmmmmmm

Fan Emmanuel said...

Ana akogheri! Chibok girls ko,boko haram ni

*Linda's best friend*

Choi. Dy are not beyond rescue biko

Alright#Lindangwanu#

How contradictory. He's saying they saw the girls and didn't help them,but if they tried helping, the girls would have been killed. What really is he trying to say? Political smartness and correctness. I see through u!he doesn't want to offend d US govt but also wants d world to know what they did

"He said despite all the BBOG campaigns in London and the White House, the British and American troops could not immediately go in to rescue the girls because the Nigerians never asked for that"

Please where next is GEJ going to collect another award.
The Jonathan led administration above all things will be remembered for how he handled the Chibok issue.
#BringBackOuraGirls Now and Alive.

Hallalujah to this sweetEaster lie.
Please which chick girls are they talking about is it the ones they turn to terrorist or they ones that have 5 or 3 children's inside the forest now please?
This British are playing with Nigeria because they see them as foolish peoples because of hausas.
Another idiot will come up an say he saw shekau one day and a..p...c fools will be praising them.

How true is this claims

Pity... Not surprised the least at this rubbish statement

If only our government had reacted fast. Linda take note!

Why breaking another sad news since u aint useful enough to be of help. Rubbish

I blame Bros Jona also....

Damolia.DEW

beauty said...

Buhari with his tricks, but u can't fool God..God is watching u all.

They were beyond rescuing because they are only poor Nigerians girls.

Just imagine talk

Kayode Odusanya said...

Hmm! And it is funny that some people still believe the whole thing was a scam, that no girls were actually abducted. I am still wondering why the last Government didn't ask for help soon enough.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Hmmmm chibok again

Pearlie said...

Okkkk

Demmy said...

"Beyond rescue in practical terms". Very unfortunate situation.

hrm paul ojeih said...

It's a hopeless case like obasanjo said we mignt nevr get to c those girls again

Bongo said...

And this news is relevant to us now as in wetin we suppose do no?if u had rescued some of d 80 fire 4 enter shekaur's camp!!wen has asking 4 help ever stop d U.S!!did iraq ask 4 help b4 una overthrow sadam??did Afghanistan ask! B4 they deployed troops and bombed everywhere!!!the american govt is as biased as our corrupt country!!!only helpin countries they v vested interest in

They cldnt rescue them cos of bla bla...why are they blabbing now? This blabs is so inconsequential biko!

moss said...

Sounds like a fluke

Excuse me ?There is nothing like missing Chibok girls, these ones are trying to get favour from Buhari by constituting lies now , how come they never said this all the while, storyy

chommy said...

So naija never asked for help? So y r dey disturbing us with all dis chibok issues wen dey don't want to save d girls. Linda observe!

Liars... why didnt you guys rescue them?

This is serious oo

Na waoo

Martins said...

" Beyond rescue in practical terms" Nollywood hurry up!

Liars from the pit of hell...If truly dey wanted to help, they would have gone ahead...I'm certain that they wanted more in exchange....Wicked people...The US can never help you without a selfish exchange...that is why Russia and most Asia countries hate them a lot.

I don't understand this man.

Wats d meaning of dsss

U dey understand English at all,yeye.

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

They saw the girls, Nigerian government did not ask for help, some of the girls could have been killed if rescue attempts were made, etc..... British and American government SHAME ON YOU GUYS. Who asked the British and American people to help carry placards for the BBOGC? Did they use their initiative? Must everything be politicized? Nonsense!

Absolute bull S. Why are you just coming up with this rubbish and y didn't you save them? Chibok girls is a myth. With all the women and children released from captivity recently by our gallant troops (which is over 3000), not a single girl from chibok has been found. It was a propaganda to remove Goodluck and they succeeded. Even Bring Back our Girls group have quietened down since PMB came into office. yeye de smell

Shut up and read again.. especially at the end.. you this boy! Behave your self oh!

HE WANTED TO MAKE A POINT BT HE KEEP PREACHING.

Did ur myopic eyes fail to see where healso said 'we were damned if we did(attempted a rescue) and damned if we didnt'... learn to stop bin a blind critic..

Sweet rubbish. If the Nigerian government did not ask for their help, then, why exactly did they hover around Sambisa forest? The Nigerian government must have only asked them to fly around their space in Samisa forest for tourism attraction. The statement is a travesty to the global US message in safe guarding human rights!

U can't even spell correctly but yet you want write. Well I admire ur courage to type rubbish with confidence. Are u a he or she?

They were not rescued because African lives don't matter to the western world!!!

at last the hard truth has been told, so what is the situation now that the forest is almost all covered by the troops, where are the girls now?

Shut up fool. Did you read the rest of the article where rescuing them would Hv been difficult even if the government asked. All you were interested in was picking up the paragraph you could use to attack GEJ. Ewu Hausa. What has your buhari done for us except make the country worse since he took over? Dumb ass. Sycophant with no brains. Suffering and smiling zombie. Brainless dunce.

Vela said...

because their children are not among the missing girls

thanks too God almight

GEJ HAS NO CLUE ABOUT LEADERSHIP. HE HANDLED THE CHIBOK ISSUE WITH KIDGLOVES.THAT IS WHY HE NEVER WON A SECOND TIME. ONLY GOD WILL JUDGE, EVERY SUNDAY WE PRAY FOR RELEASE OF CHIBOK GIRLS IN MY CHURCH

Dear God, no offense but this matter is entirely yours to handle. More Instagram followers for you

Oga bonario did u not also read that even if they were told to go it would have been risky. They were beyoung rescue he said. U no read that part Abi. U want GEJ head by all means

This is the greatest height of insensitivity! couldn't you have acted to save those innocent girls in any possible way? am sure if they were Americans or British, you would have done otherwise. TRASH!

Stories

@bongo sense boku for ur head jare. well said.

All these people will just come and be posting lies up and down when we Nigerians too no wan gather sense.. Abeg who this story help now? Bullshit!!!!

Marie said...

And the lesson is that.......??? Bc I don't understand your point mr.

FAVOURINA said...

1. We did not ask for help but the BBOGC was even carried out by the USA is lady n other celebrities on CNN.

2. we did not ask for help but sum experts were brought in then that accused even the den Ihejirika of sponsoring Boko haram.

3.We did not ask for help but u were allowed to cum into our air space for tour abi and hovering abt wit like sheeps witout a shepherd.

4. We did not ask 4 help and the human conscience n duty to humanity did nt prick u to free innocent girls just bcox kids of prominent pple where nt involved.

5. We did not ask 4 help to cum out now n to say rubbish to us.

SO ALL U USA N UK PPLE SHUD GO F..K THEMSELVES.

This is what the English call mumbo jumbo.

I personally don't believe a word from this writeup. Y is he just saying this? It's all a setup by the British and America

So their parents should forget about them... Hmmm

#reeshahr

Some people like you just read without understand. Read it again! Giving order to recue 80 girls out of 250 means death to most ppl going inside Bolo Haram camp to rescue, death to some of the 80 then Boko Har'am wld ha killed the remaining over 100 girls.
The parents wld start saying who sent them? Jonathan is foolish blabla. .this is a case of between the devil and d deep blue sea. If mosquito lands on your scrotum, wld you slap it?