Graphic: Teen suffers burns when an E-Cigarette explodes in his face | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 January 2016

Graphic: Teen suffers burns when an E-Cigarette explodes in his face

16-year-old Ty Greer, a teen in Alberta, Canada, suffered second degree burns and broken teeth after his e-cigarette spontaneously exploded just inches from his mouth while he was using it in his car.
“It lit my kid’s face on fire, busted two teeth out,” Perry Greer, Ty’s father, told the Canadian Press.

“It burned the back of his throat, burned his tongue very badly. If he wasn’t wearing glasses, he possibly could have lost his eyes. … He wanted to die. That is how much pain he was in.”
The defective vape was a Wotofo Phantom, which is produced in China. Online reviews of the product on the marketplace Eciggity were mostly positive with no indication of such defects.
In a statement to Mic by the Smoke-Free Alternatives Trade Association, the industry shot back at the implication that e-cigarettes are dangerous.
“Electronic cigarettes and vapor products are electronic devices and do not combust. They should be thought the same as other rechargeable electrical equipment such as laptops and cell phones, in terms of being battery powered,” the statement read.
“We cannot speak to user error or on behalf of a manufacturer for their device. If there is truly an issue with a specific device, similar to a laptop or cell phone manufacturer, inquiries should be directed toward the individual company.
Yet Ty Greer is not the first to fall victim to such a disaster. In November, a Colorado Springs man suffered a broken neck when an e-cigarette exploded in his face. And earlier this month, an Orange County, California, teen also suffered burns after an e-cigarette exploded in his pocket. In October 2014, the Federal Emergency Management Agency officially acknowledged the phenomenon, publishing a study investigating the matter.

51 comments:

Sorry oo

moss said...

Serves him right. Asap

Strange!

Learn to control your habits.

Donjazzycrush said...

kinda funny. thank God for his life

Don~ jazzycrush

Use ur hand buy problem..

Omo make I dey smoke my Benson Jeje dey go..

AJ MAIN BOY...

Sorry sha but next time try buy Benson or Marlboro smoke

AJ MAIN BOY...

This is very cool

IMAGE HOW I MEET HIM

Otuonye Chidera said...

This is very good for him

Chomsy said...

OK now.
CHOMSY is a female
CHOMSY is a Lib freak since 1900
CHOMSY comments on anything that interests her on Lib.
CHOMSY also made this comment via my phone.
Meanwhile, Lin Lin u rock more than a Rocket

Na waoo! Thank God he is alive

OMIDAN ABBY said...

@ 16. E for burn ur whole body sef

Anything made in China is crap...

everything that has advantages also have disadvantages

JAYZSBOSS said...

Nooooo this is so wrong

michael George (the Fulani Prince) said...

Lol. Who send. That's a lesson. Somkers are liable to die young. Be it the Manual cigarette or E -cigarette

Sorry een

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Ok,,sorry

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

Villager said...

E-cigarette. Wonders shall never end.

Linda how far that money.. You can save a soul

Noted

kronikle artz said...

Wonderfully scary...
Hey I think it'd be cool tho to post a pic here of what those e-cigarettes look like.. For proper sensitization of LIB readers and the public at large. Gracias!

wisdomer said...

Lucky

Golda Awosika said...

Serves him ryt, y shud a teen be smoking! Smoking is bad for ur health

owk.ndo oo

#XENO-FABIAN.

Another person will still use it and fall a victim

This boy is too young to be smoking . Well, what age is best for smoking?

Nawaooo

Nothing we no go hear...E-ciggar kwa...
#sips Orijin#

Lol...He's a learner. Dats wht happens whn u take wetin big pass u.

this is serious o, hmmm this China ppl self always.want to be d first to manufacturing sth without knowing d intoto of it..na wa . thy shd aware them..

Him go smoke again?

jasmine said...

End time things...E-cigarette

Kikikikikikiiki...sori

pretty face said...

Hahaha, smokers not only liable to die young but capable of having a burnt nose. Lols

Lesson now learnt

Pele
-D great anonymous as Vivian Reginalds now

Hope he has learnt his lessons....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Luciana Chinda said...

Sorry

Good for him what's a 16year old doing with cigarette

That's why it was produced
To help people control their smoking habit

I tell u. 16???

At least he wont smoke long enough to have throat and brain cancer. IT was a gift from God.

Which one be e- cigarette again... BTW if he had adhered to the warning of smoking is bad for his health, his face would have been safe

If it lits your kid face up, maybe you shouldn't be smoking it in the first place. It might be that the E-cigarette realised he is a child and decided to warn him :)

WHO U HELP? said...

#Wetin-B-e-CigaretteSef?
#Why-e-NoBe-b-Cigarette?
#e4b-1stClassDegreeBurns...
#WhoHeHelp?

Lolz. Sorry o.

#Linda'spal

Linda, I think u should post an article abt wat an e-cigarette is. I keep seeing people write "smokers are liable to die young". That slogan was written cos of the nicotine in cigarettes. For LIBs writing dis slogan, pls use ur phone productively next time by consulting Google before commenting

Jim Marven said...

Smoke resin with a cigarette ?
vaporiser