Dasukigate: Leadership Newspaper returns its share of N9 million | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 January 2016

Dasukigate: Leadership Newspaper returns its share of N9 million

The management of Leadership Holdings Limited, publishers of Leadership newspapers, has returned the N9m it received from the office of former National Security Adviser through the Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria as compensation for the seizure of its publications in June 2014.

In a letter dated January 29 and addressed to the General Secretary of NPAN, the Publishing company owned by former APC Presidential aspirant, Sam Nda-Isaiah, said it decided to return the money following the controversy it has generated.

The company however noted that they did no wrong by collecting the money since the decision to collect the money was reached after former President Goodluck Jonathan reached for an out of court settlement with the affected newspapers.

Leadership will be the second publishing house after The Sun to return the said compensation.

The letter titled "Compensation for illegal seizure of newspapers", was signed by the Group Managing Director of Leadership Newspapers Group Limited, Mike Okpere. The letter reads
“We refer to the above subject matter and enclose herewith a Zenith Bank draft no 08549695 for the sum of N9,000,000.00 (Nine million Naira only) being refund of the compensation paid by the Goodluck Jonathan government for the crude and illegal seizure of our newspapers over a period of 5 days by soldiers from the 6th of June to the 10th of June 2014 through the Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN). It will be recalled that this was the sum paid to all newspapers which incurred losses as a result of the act which was arrived at when President Jonathan pleaded for an out of court settlement. It has come to our notice that the chairman of Daily Trust, Malam Kabiru Yusuf who was acting president of NPAN/chairman of the meeting held at Mr. Sam Amuka’s guest house in Lagos in December 2015 where it was agreed, after a detailed analysis of the situation that NPAN and the newspapers committed no offence by the out of court settlement and therefore had no reason to refund the compensation, has gone behind the association’s back and directed the Daily Trust to refund money.‎ After such a dishonourable act by the one person under whose direction members of the association all agreed that there would be no need to refund the money, it is our view that it is no longer tenable not to refund. This is particularly more discomforting when it is recalled that the decision to agree to the out of court settlement and compensation was taken at the Abuja office of Daily Trust with Kabiru Yusuf in attendance. It is for this reason that we are refunding the N9 million. But we will like to maintain the general position that neither the NPAN nor newspaper committed any offence. Our chairman has also made it clear that he does not see any situation where LEADERSHIP will be part of any group that will take the current government to court. Therefore we should be counted out of any future decision to seek redress in court on this same matter. After all it is not the government that asked us to refund, it is the treachery of some of our members. Kindly be advised accordingly.”

59 comments:

Hehe, everybody should follow suit now b4 it turn out like mesut case, team fight corruption in naija, sai buhari

Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog

baba said...

Enter your comment...make da give me small na

Gud

That's y dey carry one sided news

Money! * it's well*

Money when we no dey see. Nonsense

Noted

OMIDAN ABBY said...

One by one...
The rest of u nko? We dey wait oo
The nation needs money biko

flexfelix said...

They should publish the Accounts and Banks where all this returned money is been paid into .

Which one is 9 million naira naa? Mtcheeeew.

Lmao and they actually believed it was compensation? Such an outrageous amount? Well, good for em they've returned their share of the corruption.
That chairman of one mundane party,NDP or warefa that's singing a song of compensation as well will soon get cleared of the Apollo in his eyes. That's indirect corruption

better.All must be returned!

#XENO-FABIAN.

Mufliat said...

Okayy

#Hajia Mufliat

Good good..!!

Cherry girl said...

yes this is wat we want

That's cool!

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Linda....Na u remain oh.,,lol. Nor let Buhari come for u oh...u remember say d daughter not Happy when u published her picture d other time,,,, Abeg oh return your money asap.

tosisochukwu said...

Noted

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Only 9m?that's too small now,I beg he should return everything for.

Lol. I wish I had a share to return

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

All these money am hearing sef. Ha

I wish I had a share to return

Good.metuh take note....nuel

Dem try well well.

#GeneralFortune

femmedy said...

To those who thinks "dasukigate" is all propaganda, May you receive sense through this development IJN

Sky Host Pakistan said...

Unlimited Web hosting is available at Sky Host. Unlimited dedicated web hosting server plans for business and personal use of web hosting in pakistan

Very good.

whosoever collected our yams should returned it and be set free.

We need proof

Dem dey fear....lolzzzz

Mr 47 said...

...and someone will still say the arms deal was lie

Mr 47 said...

...and someone will still say the arms deal was lie

Esther Dangana said...

They should just give me the tithes of all these monies. Shikenan. Linda facilitate that

Genesis said...

All these recovered loots should have a traceable accounts...

Genesis said...

What exactly is the problem of some libers making a waste of space and time? After your comments, does it make any sense leaving a wide gap?

Genesis said...

Please stop wasting peoples time, talking to libers in the habit of leaving a wide gap after their comments. Its senseless, if you ask me. Desist from it please.

May they gud use of all d money being refunded

jasmine said...

They should give me 1/8 of this money na. Somebody is unemployed

Good

jasmine said...

The ppl that leave so much space after their comment(s) are the reason for corruption and unemployment in Nigeria

Mhmm ok o

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Direct from Delsu

Haaa! Na almost everybody get dis money oo

Lol good for them

Noted!

Noted!

nwa mazi said...

Enter your comment... Odi Oº°ÃšÃš°Âºokay

Gud for dem

This is a welcomed development

That is so little compared to the looted funds, I hope more will follow suit

good for them. Hoping to see more names that will be released.

Want to learn how to improve you egg health in 90 days to get pregnant
Click Here To Read More

Fine girl said...

Yes o.return more o

Good for them....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Is a good one...

Who has not seen change???? One by one our yams ll be returned to us God bless our President for his Integrity... Every corrupt person knows that if Buhari is given time they ll be fish out...God bless every right thinking Nigerian..

<<100%Nigerian>>

Chai

Luciana Chinda said...

Oya make una d return all the money.