Photos: Deteriorating state of OAU Halls of Residence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 August 2015

Photos: Deteriorating state of OAU Halls of Residence

This is the deteriorating state of Adekunle Fajuyi Halls of residence in Obafemi Awolowo University Ile - Ife, Osun State. Fajuyi Hall is one of the most popular male hostels in the school and it's in a terrible state. See more photos after the cut...

71 comments:

Quiny said...

Really bad...

Chai,an eyesore n to think that human beings r living there jst makes it more disgusting!

We don't know how to maintain things in dis coun3!

Salem Jimfender said...

Damn!! The so called Best university in Nigeria.

Cheapest Tariff Plans In Nigeria - Make Calls Almost Free Of Charge Click here for more ingo

Faj has been in a terrible state for long now. Hope renovation is done soon

OAU of all places.....

The students are dirty.

Exclusive123 said...

okkkk naaaaaaaa

that doesnt look good

This mess was made by students. They shud fix d nonsense.

Ps- I went to oau. Faj used to b very clean.

Lots of animals av bn admitted- clearly.

Hmmmmm may God save his people there from infection.

This mess was made by students. They shud fix d nonsense.

Ps- I went to oau. Faj used to b very clean.

Lots of animals av bn admitted- clearly.

For u to know dt d sch authorities r trying, look at d grass level.

Lets nt throw stupid blows over sm nasty students.

Quite pathetic.
I hope the appropriate authority sees this and do something urgent about it.

Nawa oooo which kind buildin be dis one,nigeria sef..

...Am gettin dere...

Ewwwwww, dis is disgusting to look at & I was eating, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

so devastating....

Ewwwwww, dis is disgusting to look at & I was eating, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

I hope the appropriate authority takes note of this n act accordingly

This is just block one na

naija university

Mozambique hall is worse... formally 4 in a room now 12 or more in a room depending on those with squatters...dats why its called poultry.

Like Nelson Mandela hostel in Uniport. The place is like that because the student residents are bunch of pigs. Don't they have sanitation week. Can't they prohibit littering of any kind. Can't they pay SUG levy to buy paint.

#LionAmbition

GREAT IFE ALUMNI, GREAT FAJUYITES: Supreeeeme Comradium ! Oya, we can do Something. All the great men that have passed through this hall and have eaten it's food of knowledge should rise up and be counted. How can the Greatest Campus in the world be allowed to descend so low!

The building no fit fall.
Those kids are dirty, if bins are used and they don't drop dirt @ there backyard the place gonna be clean.By the way compare it to there Postgraduate hall which is of the same structure.It boils down to cleanliness.

The VC shud take note of dis.....

So dey are calling on who now? Rubbish! Dey a so dirty dey can't clean their surroundings. By d time mosquitoes finish dem blood dey will do sumthing

I pray sth urgent should b done abt dis bcos dis sight is not good@all. Aha! I feel for those living in dis environs.

You should see awolowo hall

How can these buildings and the surrounding environment be in this state and there is a vice chancellor and even other admin staff.
Well may be it is normal in their eyes and they do not know anything better than this, But come to think of it, some of these Nigerian officials travel abroad and see how human beings live in clean environment. I read some people call Nigeria zoo, I think these OAU pictures aptly catches the word zoo.
Sorry for my country people (though they have chosen to live like animals) but what I promise is that I will never encourage my children to come back finally to settle in Nigeria not even in Banana Island or VGC or Lekki. It is sentencing them to HELL

Seun Ajet said...

Chai! And Faj hall has been the neatest boys hostel in oau, so what happened? Negligence!

Biko y re guys so dirty? Can't deal abeg. They contributed to this sorry sights on display.

SMURF said...

everyone wants to blame the school authorities but what about the damages students do too, eg judging from the picture, throwing thrash over the balcony, or brushing, showing outside. yes the school authorities have their own faults, but try as much to do ur best n keeping ur surrounding clean

Best school in Nigeria indeed

Ladun Liadi said...

Na so e dey evriwia oooo.

How can they maintain hostel when students don't want to stop paying #2590 per session?

It's a lie, needs painting only... I just hate the way people lie.

Ewwwwww....we lack maintenance culture in this country. Please let the necessary authorities do something to address this.

Definitely not as bad as the police pics. Please fix the police situation. This looks like it needs a fresh coat of paint at most. Please paint the hostel o!

Ewwwwww....we lack maintenance culture in this country. Please let the necessary authorities do something to address this.

Students too r not helping matters

This halls of residence have always being like dat..

This is the handiwork of the students now

ColdFlame said...

Guess we're expected to sympathize with the students, right, Linda?
But then again why should we? A cursory look around the buildings truly reveals the extent of the deterioration - lawns teeming with wild shrubs and weeds, open drain with a generous litter of plastics and other household waste plus a general state of chaotic unkemptness in the midst of all of which we see a pair of the perpetrators: human beings! (see pic 6)
If people, young people, our forever trumpeted 'leaders of tomorrow' can be this careless and irresponsible with their place of residence and its environment what justification is there to demand a refurbishment of the facilities?
I would rather we deal first with the real challenge confronting us - the present state of deterioration of the minds of our young ones, the students who live in these hostels.

sammy said...

Are you troubled about your state of Health, obesed or obsessed with your present look or you desire to stay slim or keep just fit, It has been tailored to provide you with a tailored rapid weight loss plan in just 3 weeks. It incorporates 3 modules which includes the workout manual, the diet manual and the mindset and motivational manual with proven results. This has been proven with several testimonies to its efficacy. 100% money back guarantee.

http://myhealthandbeauty.tk/

Until it collapse, that's when they would do something!

So sad!!! A federal govt school

So irritating.

All the halls of residence in federal universities should be LEASED to private companies for some years & d quality of their service, renovations & cleanliness reviewed by a university board who has d power to revoke d contract.

More halls of residence shld be built & leased out this way as well so as to have more room, as these halls are overpopulated.

Federal school fees are cheap, pple shld be willing to pay more for skool accomodation. We cant kp comparing our skools to skools abroad when we are not paying d type of fees they pay abroad.

The students should step out on sanitation days and get their hostels cleaned! They can't be waiting on school authority for everything! Cleaning once in a month won't kill but will make the hostel a better place...charity begins from "HOME"!

This sends the wrong message about the management of the school.

nunulicious said...

And yet the HoRep and senator representing the region and senatorial district where this University takes home what monthly? average of 20 million naira per month!

When will our student union and young people wake up to demand what is rightfully theirs ehn? It shows that we value politics more than education in this country. omo naija, wake up abeg. those senators allowances should be put to better use than they currently are.

If I start an online petition to demand that lawmakers earn the same as professors and teachers I wonder how many of the students will sign. The matter tire me sef.

Ewwwwww

POKO said...

We use dem get hope for uniport ni.

Nigeria is a dirty country. Nigeria landmass is a public toilet.

You cannot blame govt.for everything.Yes the buildings look old and could do better with some painting but you can also observe where motherfucking knuckle dragging niggers trash the place with pure water nylon,water bottles and other pieces of shit they cannot properly dispose of. Just sayin the truth

Change back the name of the University to University of Ife. Nothing that has been named after Awo or any former politician ever attracts sympathy and loyalty. The UNIFE ALUMNI feel disconnected from OAU. I am an Alumnus and I have never felt connected to that change of name. Much as I loved my Ife I feel OAU is beneath my prestige. It is possible that most people feel the same way and therefore do not really care what standard the university has fallen to.

Buhari should embark on tour of Federal Universities to reset the minimum standard of performance.

Did Jonathan ever set his foot in a University Campus?

This hostel is a clean hostel. Cleaners clean it everyday nd i wldnt deny d cleaners are trying. Buh diz pictures re just showing d back of a single block whr people av dumped tinz b4 twas cleaned.

D hostels are being maintained and y z it dah only 5% of faj hall z being shown
Diz z just stupid propaganda.
If t was dat am nt living dere presently i wld av kept quiet

Ghana 7, Nigeria Zero.
Time to reexamine our Conscience.
Please invite the Senate President to inspect the Campus.

Zoo !!! I feel like crying.

Thank you to whoever sent in those photographs. You care and you are a hero.

Dumb guy

Dumb but

Dumb guy

Absolutely disgusting.

sce said...

dont they pay sch fees ? whats the management doing with the funds

OAU said...

Lol...Even till now sef the OAU HALL OF RESIDENCE still like that o, even worse!