Can Fashola really go to jail? Etcetera writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 August 2015

Can Fashola really go to jail? Etcetera writes

This is an article written by Etcetera.
The APC is now being haunted by the saying, “When you point one finger, there are three fingers pointing back at you.” If it knew, it wouldn’t have accused Goodluck Jonathan of running a very corrupt government. Most times, we forget to listen to the voice of reason that says, “Look in the mirror, brother. You might just be talking about yourself.”
It is now clear that the APC focused on the speck in Jonathan’s eye and ignored the log in their own eyes.” Who would have thought that just few weeks into a new regime in Lagos State, Fashola would be engulfed with the following accusations – Drilling of just two bore holes with N139m, remodelling and equipping of the official residence of the state’s Chief Judge at N510m, reconstructing of a car park with N640m, spending N300m to relocate cables, N175m to replace the railings of a pedestrian bridge, N220m on the facility management of the Lagos State University College of Medicine, N619m on surface repair of a road, N1.2bn on the construction of an unidentified multi-storey building, N1.6bn on the construction of a 48-bedroom hotel.

These things don’t seem like what a person as intelligent as the former governor would do; especially for those of us who regard him as one of the very few bright spots of our democracy. In fact, I am still of the belief that in the annals of corrupt governors in Nigeria, his place remains to be seen. But the question here is, can the Lagos State government come out with such weighty accusations without having evidence to back them up?
It was in the papers that “some in the former governor’s circle” are worried he might face charges. If that happens and if he is found guilty and if it results in conviction and if he ends up in prison-yes, four ifs-then considering his achievements in Lagos State, all other former governors from other states (especially the eastern states) should have long since been in jail awaiting his company. But yet again, does any governor go to jail in Nigeria?
ADVERTISEMENT
Over drinks at a bar around Omole Estate, Ikeja last Monday, a friend who works in one of the ministries at Alausa laughed as he finished off his beer.
“Everything’s messed up, and nobody goes to jail,” he said. “Etcetera, that’s your whole article right there. Hell, you don’t even have to write anything more. Just write that.”
I put down my phone. “Just that?”
“That’s right,” he said, signalling to the waitress for the cheque. “Everything’s messed up, and nobody goes to jail. You can end the piece right there.”
Sounds funny but sincerely, “Nobody goes to jail” should be the mantra of our democracy, one that has seen virtually almost every public office holder embroiled in obscene criminal scandals — and nobody went to jail. Nobody, that is, except Alamieyeseigha, and that was probably because of the attention he brought on the nation as a result of his dress sense from the UK. And the Federal Government has apologised for the mistake by granting him full pardon.
If Fashola is found guilty of these allegations, he should face the music. That’s the way the system is supposed to work. But a veritable mountain of evidence indicates that when it comes to government officials, the justice system not only buckles at punishing criminals, it has actually evolved into a highly effective mechanism for protecting them.

This institutional reality has absolutely nothing to do with politics or ideology — it takes place no matter who’s in office or which party is in power.

To understand how the machinery functions, you have to look back, at least, at Obasanjo’s time in Aso Rock, as case after case of financial malfeasance was pursued too slowly or not at all. Indeed, the shocking pattern of no enforcement with regard to corrupt public officials is so deeply ingrained in our democracy that it raises a profound and difficult question about the very nature of our society: whether we have created a class of people whose misdeeds are no longer perceived as crimes, almost no matter what those misdeeds are.

The Justice Department has evolved into a bizarre species of social surgeon serving this untouchable class.

62 comments:

Nah he won't go 2 jail jare dy will cover it up,oh BTW I didn't read d long epistle smb plsss summarize.

NMaa said...

What goes around comes around.

APC is a party of deceit... They do not excite me..😏

Your digging your own grave man

If sterling Fashola has these baggages of corrupt practices, I greatly wonder what other governors' baggages will look like.
If aĺl these is true, its realy a shame on the man who many look up to as a beacon of light in our democracy today.

This idiot etc just talk any how.I am not surprise now,he is an Igbo man.They talk any how.

Hehehe, ok nah

sky said...

Lol. For once I actually agree with you

For the first time m reading dis guy's article n deeris a lot of sense in it...

Gabby said...

Funny but true article..

7 LIES NIGERIAN WOMEN TELL

anonymous said...

As long as buhari can't jail fashola, he can't jail anyone. I bet you, in all the four years he is going to be in power, nobody will go to jail. APC will just be barking like the TOOTH- LESS dog they are. By now, if buhari was serious about fighting Corruption, thousands of the political thieves should have been rounded up and face justice. He is only concerned about his Northern agenda and Nothing more.

Karlsson said...

APC isn't better than PDP, all of em re d same. Thieves they're

Ubanagum

For wat offense?

Gbam...e ku go hammer na isi ntu....u've hit the nail on the head.

Etc Tread your path with caution, dis ocean you are swimming in will swallow you trust me! Stop feeling like Dele Momodu

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Clumsy article.

This etcetera guy should pls shut up! No wonder his music does not sell

Its obvious that Ambode is on a vindictive mission. Since Fashola sacked him. he has been nursing grudges and bitterness.We all expected this. But Fasholas brilliant achievements can never be covered in the corridors of history

Indeed "It is now clear that the APC focused on the speck in Jonathan’s eye and ignored the log in their own eyes.”

D level of corruption in Nigeria is so alarming dat if we scream of d one we hear and read abt, wht abt d one's dat r not yet revealed. Dis same governor's wil b screaming there is no money to pay staff salaries.

No wonder d rich keep on getting richer mostly d corrupt one's while d poor getting poorer in Nigeria. Wht a shame!

Mr etc as you call yourself, you dont reason before you right and even before you talk, do you think is N1 they are developing apps ask private companies they will tell you. sio looking for whom to drag down with you

U have a log of wood in ur eye , how do u wanna see αи∂ remove d speck In another person's eye???
Well done Etc....well said

#it Will OnLy GeT beTTer
#It mUsT eND in PrAiSE

He is right!
Nobody goes to jail, so many politicians that the Efcc has probe and found guilty are still walking free, highest they're told to pay the exact amount Efcc thought they looted or less, but all these yahoo boys that did not even steal quater of what those politicians took of which is not nigeria's money, are in jail, see the likes of chimaroke, ohakim, etc. Still walking free.

Etcetera my man keep on speaking truth.
Fashola we not go to prison,because the terrorist as one of the sponsor of the terrorist who is the president?how do you think that the looter,criminal fashola we go to prison lie.
Nigeria is in trouble.
Fashola and tinubu needs to be stone to death.

Etcetera my man keep on speaking truth.
Fashola we not go to prison,because the terrorist as one of the sponsor of the terrorist who is the president?how do you think that the looter,criminal fashola we go to prison lie.
Nigeria is in trouble.
Fashola and tinubu needs to be stone to death.

Poor fashola, he did well but if buhari is really interested in fighting corruption, fashola should be jailed.

Spot on.!!!!!nice piece

Thomas Emmanuel said...

Change indeed.
Where is Adam Oshi......mo.....ogini?

Am still waiting for his comment on this issue.

Hmmm this guy said it all. He say the truth, I am waiting to see what will happen nest. Becos Fmer gov Fashola can not go freely just like that #EFCC should get Fashola arrested now to answer how he spend all that money#

Everything is messed up and nobody goes to jail indeed

Great intellectual said...

Etc u are absolutely right our justice system is the epitome of corruption itself. Even if he is found guilty I doubt if he will be jailed. Ironically our laws are meant to safeguard the strong ones that loot our commonwealth.

Can't you peole just leave this man alone? Is he the only governor in nigeria?.. you like it or not hes loved by most of us, home and abroad.

We shall see how things unfold. Linda take note!

The day the youths of this country (I mean the sane ones who arent already bought by greed) come together and form an alliance against these bunch of corrupt shameless demons called elders this country is bound for doom.

All the judiciary does is make noise. House of assembly same... President is not even with his balls... forget all the shows.... hes a Muppet controlled by the powers that be.

Una never see anything. The highlight is in billions for now right? In the next 2 yrs it will be in trillions and we aint gonna be able to do shit about it...

So true

Ade said...

Hmmm...deep

Etcetera is quite thought provoking as a political columnist. So Fashola was yet another dirty bird? What do you have to say about this, Linda? To hear you tell it, he was the best thing to happen to Lagos though he was running game just like the rest. His team must have written really great press releases if he fooled the media savvy like you.

Why should anyone kill we practice democracy so why do Nigerian's always threaten death or think they can kill look here If God does not approve no one will die instead of cowards called Nigerian's fight for there right look at d hausa's they fight for everything they made sure johnathan came out check other countries d Islamic people fight and take over a bad government but Igbo and Yoruba will hide under unnecessary tribalism and d northerners do as they like claiming they own nigeria see d appointment from buhari disgusting how can people sit back and watch nonsense d fear of death so you live and suffer what about breaking d chains for our children in future.I regret the Biaffra War not been planned well and can't wait for another opportunity now that the world is exposed not when the Igbo's were called rebels and killed a lot of countries will back them this time but who is brave enough to lead Ojukwu is gone cos we can't keep watching corrupt government eating the country dead Igbo,Yoruba or Hausa if separation will make things easier then let it be because I dont like Buhari's ways they are not pure his hatred can not heal Nigeria or bring an iota of change.

Fashola is a spineless cunt. Your cunt has more chutzpah than that nigga

Pls go back to school. There's a blunder in every comment u make on lib

manniosem said...

My fellow Yoruba man,its a pity dat pipo like u still exist. It's dummies like u dat make the average Yoruba man luks stupid in d eyes of the word. Kindly explain to me wat brought about the ethnic sentiment dat u r cuppin. Plz go true dis article again,so as to see the true behind wat dis man is saying. Stop disgracing my rich ethnic group. Thank u

manniosem said...

Clumsy??? Hw??

manniosem said...

Gud article man... God bless ur fingers n wisdom

Buhari the tribalistic Hausa Goat

What is wrong with what he wrote? He merely repeated an info already in public domain. You're merely carrying your tribalistic myopia too far. We loved Fashola and must condemn these indiscretions associated with his regime.We're aware that it's same powers that brought him to limelight that are tryn to undo him bt we cant ignore the truth bc of dt.

See this mumu mutula talking. Re u not regretting your ofe mmanu origin.pack well abeg

Frankarh said...

@ AnonymousAugust 29, 2015 at 9:55 AM
He shut down d press that spoke bad about him as in he really dealt with them.
That's hw 2 make sure u look good. Control d press n in 2day's tym where anything goes n we hv no true journalist, it's kind of the order of d day 4 pple in power 2 control d press.
Fashola must b probed too!!!!!

Let him that never sinned cast the stone "Jesus"

Let him that never sinned cast the first stone "Jesus"

What can i say? Im stil in shock!!! All these allegation are they true?

Learn how to spell NEXT before you meddle in to things that you know not. Nest belongs to birds.

You are so barbaric no wonder Nigeria has not really made progress with people like you around. Go back to your state of origin. You are not Lagosian. We Lagosians love Fashola. GO BACK TO YOUR STATE. because Lagos is tolerant that does not give you the right yo spew rubbish.

AjE oku ta ma mu omi. Yanmirin. Stop calling people ofe nmanu. Racist bigot. And if you live in Lagos. Please leave ofe nmanu's Land. Go back to your bush. Ode oshi ewu goat.

You will always find that the ibo's are always the first to refer to people in racist derogatory terms I wonder why this particular race is filled with do much hatred. Yet they will bldim uk be Christians WHY.

This shows how much home training you have. You son of a nobody conceived by 7 fathers. You would know exactly what a spineless c--- looks like since you are one and you come from one.

I cry for my country. I'm not surprised at all; those that screamed hosanna to the son of David were the ones that screamed nail him to the cross to Caesar on the third day.

Lmao, dude u r funny

U love him? Dude, u r a faud. Wat have u done to support him against tunubu who is bent on destroying him?

Lol why is this dude ^ taking it so personal