Assistant District Attorney Chris Thomas said that Marie Holmes paid for the bond that set Lamarr McDow free in March just weeks after she won a $188 million Powerball jackpot.
It was widely rumored at the time that Holmes, who Thomas referred to as McDow’s fiancee, had put up the money, but court records showed only information on payment of the bond from 3 bail bondsmen, who do not have to disclose who paid them to post the bond.
Brunswick County Sheriff’s deputies arrested McDow, 31, again on Friday afternoon for allegedly violating the curfew requirements of his pre-trial release on GPS monitoring, BCSO spokeswoman Emily Flax said.
She said when deputies got to the home McDow shares with Holmes on Boverie Street in the Rutledge neighborhood in Shallotte, there was a strong odor of marijuana inside, so they got a search warrant.
During that search around 10 p.m. Flax says deputies found a gun and charged McDow with possession of a firearm by a felon. In court today the state said the gun is registered to Holmes, but that McDow had handled it, which led to the charge.
McDow, who investigators have said is a validated gang member who goes by the street name “Hot Sauce,” is back in jail under more than $6 million bond.
Officers say they also found marijuana in the home, which led to charges for Holmes and two other people in the house. Another person was charged with resisting an officer.
Holmes, 26, walked away with nearly $88 million out of the $188 million, after taking the lump sum and paying taxes on her mid-February Powerball win.
It didn’t take long for Marie’s decision to catch up with her. Both she and Lamarr were arrested just days later for allegedly violating the terms of Lamarr’s release on bail. But money can apparently solve a lot of problems, as the woman reportedly bailed her man out again, this time for $6 million to allow him to be free while awaiting trial on new charges.
Marie defended herself vehemently on Facebook against those who criticized her decision to bail Lamarr out of jail:
“What Y’all need to be worried about is Y’all money and not how I spend mine this is benefitting Y’all how? And no he’s no drug dealer or user but who are Y’all to judge anybody? I will definitely pray for Y’all because it’s much need…they talked about Jesus so I’m not surprised Y’all are talking about me but be blessed though,” she said after bailing out her boyfriend.McDow’s criminal history includes convictions for assault on a female, assault and several counts of drug possession dating back to 2000.
ABC News
52 comments:
Boo of life
Ridiculous! She need a brain surgeon cos shes deluded mhen! Thug love
OK, it's a sign of love
That guy must be one lucky being to be bailed by the girl friend.
That guy will erected her girlfriend if she's not careful.
Their want to rep that woman if this guy is a white they will not continue charging him or going after him I think the woman have to stop give her money to government and let the guy face it once they see the woman is not bring her money they leave him alone
Gawd i want this type of babe abeg....
She tried, but hope he changes
Na God !
na waooooooooooooooooo. linda, take note
Is she stupid?
Foolish woman, tomorrow he will beat you up .
Poor her! Wasting her money!
She doesn't have things to do with money???? Cos †ђξ foolish bf will still do drugs again αи∂ get caught αи∂ †ђξ stupid gal will keep bailing his black-ass out till †ђξ money finishes.... Common sense!!!!
#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise
O girl, better clear your head. Linda take note!
She's looking for a husband so what do you expect. Desperation at its peak. After now she will file for divorce when they are finally married
Hope that's not wat she will spend all her money on
Okay o. Be there saying y'all ! He will soon be under the influence of something...kill you and run with your jackpot.
...Mama J...
What a romantic story but baby girl may go broke in few years at the rate at which this guy is going to jail!
Yeye girl.
Well is her money.
I always kind of feel relieved anytime i get reminded that women are genetically foolish :)
I love all ya'll...Kissesss!!
woow that's love, powerful
Hmmmmmm. Dis is wht my people call going back to ur old vomit in d name dat u wil alwaz get out of it. Biko old habits wil definitely keep him there as long as possible.
she looks like laila
#GODWIN™
She's wise, a heart of Gold make the guy no break her heart o Lol nice one
That vuvuzela P guy
HPE HE WNT MIS BHAVE AFTA DS KNDA HLP....TOMJERRYSWIT
That dude needs to tell me where he does his jazz
Looool.... black Americans are quite known for their characteristic stupidity and financial recklessness .... as a side note I wonder why Nigeria doesn't have a mega lottery as in above 100 million naira. I will play it everyweek if they do it for over 120 mill at 150 naira per game
She will be killed by her drug infested boyfriend sooner or later. That cash should have been used for the less privilege and other charities of her choice, rather than constantly bailing a drug maniac. Am very certain his next drug offence bond will cost $million, then it will dawn on her that she's been a fool all along. Foolishness of the highest level.
She doesn't deserve this money.
I cannot imagine how I will transform the lives of the fatherless, orphans and widows around me if I even get to win half of that money. Smh
If this is the romeo and juliet love then I don't want it again.....this is foolishness and not love!!
hmmmmmmmmmmmm. She needs serious deliverance from her predicament.
Devil " love"(lust) is completely different from God LOVE...one is a waster... The Other, A Builder. CLEAR DIFFERENCE dats not easily seen...spiritual blindness be dis.
That guy will wreck her if she's not careful.
That guy is a deadbeat!
I'd import loads of African boos with that kinda money. Savages with XXL eggplants that can water me and quench my thirsty trap for weeks.
Oyinbo mumu sha. Mtscheeew Magicblackxxl@gmail.com
JEHOVAH GoD, see who you allow win the lottery, and satan will devour all of it in no time, she has spent 9 mill on bail outta 88mill, it will be done soon and no Contribution to charity or the kingdom of God's work..na wa oh baba G!!
when the devil sets up camp in your home he blinds you, Messes withn your mind, sends your Jesus relatives and friends away, and justifies foolishness in astounding ways. He will waste all the money and when she decides not to give anymore, he will eliminate her.
I think she needs to be mentored on how to invest the money, before she blows it all out
HMMM...
The lesson in judas is not only a lesson of betrayal. It is a lesson to show the DEVIL rewards Evil people with money too. Also that rewards of riches from EVIL to EVIL people shall always end in sin. Don't let the fact someone won the lotto , or a massive amount of money, persuade you to think it was gift from GOD. Clearly how it is being used, shows it was a gift from satin.
Once a fool, always a fool.
She's soon go broke and he'd still go back to jail.
That's all we need more fucking niggers to fuck up this world
They both need lobotomies. Was this women nurtured by morons. Money can't change garbage, it will always be garbage.
Stupis Blac Bitch..Take care of your kids not a an ass thats a gang banger
This is w
This is what happens when money enters the hands of an idiot.
That money is going straight up to the nose to eventually be sneezed out and converted into bruises.
Why was she paying to bail him, is just a waste of money to me ooo
Unfortunately this is going to be another example of the notorious lottery winner who had fleshed the cash in several years and returned to his previous life. There are numerous instances of the similar behavior thelotter review