Hotbed of apology! CNN boss travels to Kenya to personally apologize over 'terror hotbed' report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 August 2015

Hotbed of apology! CNN boss travels to Kenya to personally apologize over 'terror hotbed' report

Tony Maddox, CNN’s global Executive Vice President and Managing Director on Thursday Aug 13th flew from Atlanta to Nairobi to personally apologize to President Uhuru Kenyatta and Kenyans over the undermining report.

A day before President Barrack Obama's arrival in Kenya, for his first official visit, the news channel had referred to Kenya as "terror hotbed” The comment sparked public outcry and angry reactions on social media. Kenyans called out CNN over the comment, hurling abuses and sarcastic humour under the hashtag #SomeoneTellCNN.

The hashtag quickly spread and in no time became the number trending topic. The Kenyan government however went further to reprimand the station by withdrawing its advertising campaign in the station for what the country’s Tourism Board describe as the “misrepresentation of the country’s status.”

President Kenyatta expressed his deep disappointment at the report. He reiterated that the war on terror was a global threat and not unique to Kenya. He further added that CNN's report was unfortunate and ill-timed, since it came at a critical moment in Kenya's history and made a mockery of the sacrifices of Kenyan's men and women in uniform.

According to reports, Tony Maddox who oversees CNN’s global editorial policy admitted that CNN’s description of Kenya as a “hotbed of terror” was both undeserved and ill- conceived during a meeting at the Kenyan presidential villa.
“We acknowledge there is a widespread feeling that the report annoyed many, which is why we pulled down the report as soon as we noticed. It wasn’t a deliberate attempt to portray Kenya negatively, it is regrettable and we shouldn’t have done it" Maddox said. "There is a world at a war with extremists; we know what a hotbed of terror looks like, and Kenya isn’t one,” he added.

54 comments:

Good of him.

Better!

Better!

Wow!

Aiit

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Guineacar said...

Awwww.... matured move. Linda Pls post the give away winners. Thanks

Is it bcos of Obama or wht? Pls someone tell them wht d main reason he is doing dis for we all know its not just for diplomatic sake. All d same, nice one frm them.

Naija nko,they have been making some mistakes too with reference to dis country nw. No apologis for us. Lol.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Medicine after skibii

Naija nko,they have been making some mistakes too with reference to dis country nw. No apologies for us. Lol.

Tilda said...

That should end it. CNN cannot afford to make such careless statements

Isn't that impressive?? Apostle James said so in James 4:10

Nice move by CNN, they goofed seriously.
Nice damage control.

That's good

Odi mma.. Here's a govt tht works.

Them dey tell blind man say war don start?

Can u imagine nd dy ve neva apologized 2 naija for one day after all der blunder dy post abt us,ds shows dt dy regard Kenyans more Dan us.

So the fear of losing money is the beginning of wisdom?

I don't see the reason of this mere apology when what the say is true kenya is a home of terror like nigeria.
I can see because it is obama's place if its nigeria we the clowns do the same fools answer this.

I don't see the reason of this mere apology when what the say is true kenya is a home of terror like nigeria.
I can see because it is obama's place if its nigeria we the clowns do the same fools answer this.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Good.

ckjacob.blogspot.com

N
How do u just call another person's country a TERROR HOTBED?

I'll never understand some Americans.

Mind Treasures said...

That is how diplomatic warefare are fought

Take a stand and firmly defend it

Sylvonce said...

Good one

So when can we come together to do this

if Obama wasn't from Kenya, I don't think they would have gotten an apology.

Dat serious?!

Dey too dey make mistake. Dey use am do dem ni

Good one

Biased CNN...foolish racist channel...always condemning and making Africa look inhabitable before the world and praising anything western..we no Fools maddox,whn u get back to atlanta tell your Boss and ur father too that Africa understands the politics u play...#racistcnn

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Good move.

Bless a child today!

If I was president kenyatta I wld have ordered for ur arrest for national character assassination and detained u in Kenya's prison....#racistcnn

Okay seen, quite commendable of him.

Apology hotbed . Hahahaa

And this is professionalism.My dear sisi here would never do that nor admit.She'd rather blame others.

That's good of him, I hope they find a place in their heart to forgive 'em

Bahybee said...

D apology is long overdue,anyway apology taken.

Fair enough... But MUST the president be the one to receive him. He's just a head of a media outfit. Why are African leaders so inferior, they receive American Rap stars in their office like they're leaders of some country. Joe Biden won't even receive some African leaders in his office let alone the U.S. President. This in my opinion belittles the office of the Kenyan president. A minister would have would have receive apology PERIOD!

UK Tog

Power of social media,at-least the idiot apologized!

Uhuru Kenyatta the Best President in the world.

Very very good. I'm so happy to hear dis. Linda take note!

And we Nigerians especially the biafrans allowed this fools to ride over Jonathan like a bike. Am so ashamesd

Unlike Naija shameless corrupt officials Kenya's tourism department withdrew the ads to make sure CNN felt the pain. If you are going to get people's attention you need to hit their wallet hard. A Naija official would have taken bribe and allow the insult on their fatherland to keep pouring. VERY SAD

A case of medicine after death. International media houses like CNN & BBC including their newspaper outlets, have for the longest time, trampled on the rights and humanity of Africa and Africans by potraying them in the worst light whenever possible. It was a fair response to pull out the ads/contracts by the Kenyan authorities. Way to go. I don talk my own.

Social media world, Peoples should do rehearsals very well before talking

Thank God you are not.I'm sure you are one of the people that didn't vote PMB ,yet here you are saying you'll order an arrest.whats the diff between you and the dictatorial man you all assumed PMB to be.

They'll not apologize to Nigeria b'cos Nigerians are divided and don't speak with one voice. You destroy each other based on your differences.

And dey have never apologised 2 naija once 4 some of d insults n lies dey spread! Bias Faggots!!!