Senate defends confirmation of Musiliu Obanikoro as Minister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 March 2015

Senate defends confirmation of Musiliu Obanikoro as Minister

The Senate has defended its action of confirming Sen. Musiliu Obanikoro as Minister today despite protest by APC Senators over alleged election rigging. Speaking with the press after Obanikoro's confirmation, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Media and Publicity, Enyinnaya Abaribe said all the reasons for not wanting to get him confirmed by APC Senators were still allegations and until it is proven otherwise by a competent law court, Obanikoro stands innocent..

"There are allegations against Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, but in our law and the constitution of Nigeria, anything that is a mere allegation that is not a court decision is nothing but a mere allegation. The laws of Nigeria is very clear; you are innocent until proven guilty, so that is what played out on the floor of the Senate. The Senators who addressed the press conference and spoke otherwise of Senator Obanikoro are enjoying a privilege. This is because some of them have EFCC cases, and they are still in the senate because of this privilege of being innocent until proven guilty. So they cannot go to a press conference, and try to convict somebody when the person has not been convicted by a court of law. The Senate is not a court of law and even when the Senate conducts its own investigation, it passes it to the appropriate body for prosecution" he said.

76 comments:

MAMA ENERGY💋💋 said...

Congrats sir... Am so happy for u

It's high tym some of this politicians start featuring in Nollywood movies o*sigh*

Their headache abeg, the deed has already been done. Linda take note!

MAMA ENERGY💋💋 said...

Congrats sir... Gej till 2019

Tony said...

what a useless country!!!! even when the facts are clear they have a way of defending their miserable decisions. i weep for naija

Tony said...

but if na yahooboy na sharp sharp e go go jail bastards

They should take back seats....olden days liars.

bluemagic said...

Hmmmm,hmmmmm...

crystal,as simple as ABC
aittyfinest xyz

Na them sabi

So it's not even true?

What an excuse........well...anything goes in Naija....

perfect mood apparel said...

dis useless senators should park well joor

VERULE Says -gud to kn

Well said

Hmm

The APC is a collection of desperate hypocrites

Good for him

Ok,like Farouk lawan the cap bribery receiver (oops!he's pdp).

Birds of the same feather. Shut up fools. If you think you can use Koro to rig by taking him back to ministry of defense, better think again

This super story only happens in Nigeria.there will never be any way we can deal with corruption.

Yes, they are allegations, nevertheless, the nomination has to be put on hold until he is declared innocent by a court of law.
Not the other way round! March4Change!

Obanikoro congrats o! Am happy for u

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Ok. That's their business

Nigerians u & I know that PDP Government. are bad & they re not suppose to be voted in again to rule this country Nigeria. U can see the way Ekiti. State. Governorship election was rigged by Obanikoro, who listen to the record tape we know what am talking about. Please let us make a #change so that we will be free from this evil we are seen almost everyday in Nigeria, & for how long are we going to be swimming inside corruption, insecurity, darkness & poverty? U can see the way they recycle themselves? So wake-up & vote for #change #ihavedecided to vote for #change#

I weep 4 Nigeria.
Let all with Genuine concern CRY for the Beloved Country.
The Nigerian Senate in confirming Obanikoro has just exhibited the worst case of Shameless display of Childishness. The Whole World is watching this mockery of Law, Moral and Common Sense.This Dude among others was caught on tape excreting on our Constitution n the Nigerian Senate told him to take a Bow as a Prelude to his confirmation as a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
I think Folks need to rise above Party lines to jointly Condemn this Affront on our Reasoning or we will also be complicit in this Malefaction.
Let us Denounce this Precedence so that posterity will Judge us Kindly because what happened is a Chronic Systemic Disequilibrium that will have a lasting Negative infectious impact on the Superstructure of the Polity.
Dude Koro has already stained himself n has no binnez being on the Holy Ground of the National Assembly, except when call upon to account 4 his Misdeeds during the infamous Ekitigate Scandal. Imagine Obama or Lee Kwan Yu or Mandela (late) being the President of Nigeria and nominating Obanikoro for a Ministerial Position despite the public scandal. THINK DEEP FOLKS. THINK DEEP.

I weep 4 Nigeria.
Let all with Genuine concern CRY for the Beloved Country.
The Nigerian Senate in confirming Obanikoro has just exhibited the worst case of Shameless display of Childishness. The Whole World is watching this mockery of Law, Moral and Common Sense.This Dude among others was caught on tape excreting on our Constitution n the Nigerian Senate told him to take a Bow as a Prelude to his confirmation as a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
I think Folks need to rise above Party lines to jointly Condemn this Affront on our Reasoning or we will also be complicit in this Malefaction.
Let us Denounce this Precedence so that posterity will Judge us Kindly because what happened is a Chronic Systemic Disequilibrium that will have a lasting Negative infectious impact on the Superstructure of the Polity.
Dude Koro has already stained himself n has no binnez being on the Holy Ground of the National Assembly, except when call upon to account 4 his Misdeeds during the infamous Ekitigate Scandal. Imagine Obama or Lee Kwan Yu or Mandela (late) being the President of Nigeria and nominating Obanikoro for a Ministerial Position despite the public scandal. THINK DEEP FOLKS. THINK DEEP.

Chai, oro buruku lenu eiye, even wen obanikoro himsf v confirmed it dat he ws d 1 dat spoke in d tape recording, o ga o. Dis country is indeed a lawless country

nawa for diz pple

I'm really crying out loud at Nigerians... Too bad; where Black is white & where stealing is not corruption.... ^.^

Simply put APC didn't want to make PDP another minister.

Smh!! Hope they are paying you well for this senseless talk coming out of your gutter filthy mouth... you definitely must be brainless to say such or u shallow thinking animalistic bigot!! I pity your family, that's why theyvare not successful when you re generations av sold their birth Right for a token of money,u dis Hell Mo-fuckin irritant who belongs to a deepest part of zoo caged until u meet ur Death!! Hoeloshi hoeloribu

God Bless you for this comment

Chyke said...

Congrats Obanikoro. If the senate disqualifies nominees based on allegations, no body will be confirmed a minister!

Zero % No Brain from you...your sense of reasoning has melted!! Moron asswipe

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Oh na wipe u still dey wat happens to die ooooh I kw u will die wen gej get reelected.

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Bia nwa conductor keep your change or better still buy gala with it.

Good fr him...

Bastard queen...I know you can't understand, u dis skank Asshole who's conscience has bn donated to Satan. Well I can't Blame you from what u said, it shows u r not different from na Only u Waka come, Illiterates!!!

Get a life Queen!! Useless Allen whore

Half of you haven't gone past the state you reside so you have no clue of how this government has brought the nation low. This just further drags us behind. It is not about party, it is about what you are teaching the future to do. OPC is welcomed, Millitants are welcomed with open arms. This nation is going the way of Libya and you all are shouting congrats to this people. It is said that the leaders rejected by the people are rejected by God. A rejected leader will only make things worse for himself by perpetuating himself in power. They had better leave or terrible things will happen to them

Will u keep quite? Ok continue #infirstladyvoice

With the endorsement of Musliu Obanikoro , the Senate president had anchored the mockery of democracy. Democracy as a matter of fact serves as a catalyst for enthrenchment of corruption and malpractices in a system with indisciplined majority. Obanikoro is not a minister, he is a sinister..

What do you expect from a PDP senator club. This regime is the most corrupt in the history of this nation. They believe they can do anything and go scot- free. Impunity without limit. They will meet their Nemesis after 29 May. God is greater than this useless PDP criminal government.

Guy Plz I didn't do anything to u o!! No be me be d winch in your family affecting your progress...Biko stop!!!

This guys would confirm even the devil at the right price,

Vote no fight

From your name it's obvious u are a product of a failed society.

Vote no fight

There goes another myopic fellow

Vote no fight

I think this politicians feel free to do what ever they like knowing fully well that most Nigerians judgment is clouded with our ethnic n religious beliefs, as if that will do u any good. All with no exception of any religion or ethnicity with suffer d stings of bad leadership. Some don't even know what is expected of a leader, very fast to say he tried now. What a shame.

Vote no fight

Mumu anonymous

And you mr or mrs anonymous you are so stupid nd actually the brainless person here. Like ur apc is done cleansing itself of loads of kworupted people that are surounding it. Bunch of hypocrites.

this nigeria is a very fucked up country. a ntion that allows criminal to thrive at the expense of the oppressed. in a civilised society, koro wond his cohorts would be in detention now

Otuonye Chidera said...

APC always cry when they felt that the situation on ground is not favouring them, LOL

3 Things That Make People Cry

3 Things Christian Churches Can Do to Fight Ebola

7 steps to reciprocate the love of Christ

GET THAT INFORMATION YOU HAVE BEING LOOKING FOR HERE

princess said...

Congrats Koro! Oju tiwon.

Mumu what fact are you talking about? Is it the apc forged tape?

So dumb comments from u christie
Always dumb

birds of a feather confirming their own kind. nothing new.

Nothing more to add! It was a sound decision.congratulations Koro.......

Linda Fashion Blog said...

#OnlyInNigeria

Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

And 16 is greater than 19

True talk..."The laws of Nigeria is very clear; you are innocent until proven guilty, so that is what played out on the floor of the Senate."

So end of discussion.

Didi Stonz' said...

"..until it is proven otherwise by a competent law court, Obanikoro stands innocent.."

Really? But his president says he isn't investigating the matter? So matter is dead on arrival.

What impunity! What disregard for the electorate! What a shame. Well perhaps 'our economy can not support' uprightness

congrats minister Obanikoro...APC Senators should go fetch water from the lagoon and drink ojaree!

FNP said...

I have a dream, "it will come to pass that those who think they are immune to being trialed and facing the consequences of their actions, will not only be punished but will lose all they have stolen to the less privileged".

Y is it that APC has not taken Obanikoro to court and want the Senate to act as both Prosecutor n the Judge?

THEY ARE RIGHT, LINDA IF GOOGLE KEPT YOUR BLOG DOWN WITHOUT BOTHERING TO INVESTIGATE WOULD YOU THINK IT WAS FAIR? EVERYONE IS INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY! THAT'S RESPECTING THE RULE OF LAW

Lmao.... Well said Queen... Let them use it for kunu, we want transformation, not 2k change like APCriminals has been given them biko.. Lol...

Shut up u cowards... An innocent man should be deprived of his right cos if some selfish lot? Never... I still stand to be corrected that not a mention of eltion rigging was mentioned on d@ ekitit gate tape..

I guess our senator do not understand the wording "Men of questionable character"

I guess our senators do not understand the wording "Men of questionable character"

kay said...

How true