Australia bans travel flight from West Africa over fear of Ebola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 October 2014

Australia bans travel flight from West Africa over fear of Ebola

The Australian government today announced a travel ban on all flights from West African countries, including Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia. Thankfully, Nigeria is not included.

Making the announcement, the Australia's Minister of Immigration, Scott Morrison said under the new travel ban, no new visas would be issued to intending travelers from these countries and that all temporary visas would be cancelled, this is all i a bid to stop the spread of the deadly Ebola virus.

He also said all passengers with permanent visas that have to travel to Australia from these countries will be subjected to 21 days of isolation in their countries of departure and upon arrival in Australia will be subjected to all kinds of test. He also announced the suspension of all its West African and Humanitarian programmes.

50 comments:

To be forewarned is to be forearmed.
Don't know why we've not banned flights from US.

Nice move and am happy Nigeria is not included......

Gist Arena said...

IF AMERICA CAN EXPERIENCE EBOLA, WHO IS AUSTRALIA. GOD FORBID BUT NA LAUGH I GO LAUGH IF EBOLA ENTER THERE

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Ebola is like chicken pox, the more you get scared of it the more your chances of catching it... but I wanted to visit Australia tomorrow o chai... #wanna study in US/Canada? let me help u out!

Nsogbu dikwa

Uche Emma said...

Not good at all

Well understood! God bless the world..we shall all testify after all these trials. Isaiah 54:17. BishopDammy#

Good for Nigeria...but instead of banning flights they should do something about this Ebola epidemic..

First to comment on lib

Eugenia said...

Hmmm. It is well with our nation.

Hmmm, EBOLA!!!!!!!!!

God bless America

Which kind yeye people be this Nigeria is free from ebola but dunno about others..so why is all this embarrassment

See what Tiwa Savage did to a popular Comedian

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

K

Neks said...

What a sad sad announcement, when will this end? Ebola you stink.

They have to protect their own.

Uncomfortable but prevention is better than cure!

THIS EBOLA IS A TRAVELLER o. ****QUEENMAYA*****

eeerrrmm how about US? They should ban flights from there too cos they have a few cases of Ebola

Lol. Who fit?

Gud for them

Angie Cape said...

Who is Australia you asked?.. Normally, you'll sweat profusely to get their visa, so it won't be much of a problem. Ebola is a respecter of nobody; almost like saying "You can run but can't hide".
Lord have mercy on us all!

*My R1.50c comment*

Good day ma/sir,

Am a Nigerian and reside in Nigeria,what happen is that i got a visa to one of the countries in south America,and i bought my ticket , which i left my country for a vacation there on getting to the point of entry ,i was refuse entry ,I noticed that the immigrations was running from me they saw that i was not happy and moved close to me and gave me one flyer ,indicating Ebola ,immediately i told them that Nigeria is Ebola free country announced by world health organization , but i was sent back to where i got my connecting flight from which is Brazil,there in Brazil i saw so many Africans being stopped and they were all refuse and stop in there connecting flight, theyleft us all in a big room ,waiting for each day for the flight that brought us to Brazil to come back and send back in the plane,

There i met a guy in Brazil ,he told me of a story that a man from guinea came to Brazil 2 weeks ago and on getting to the airport he started vomiting ,and shouting that he has Ebola virus which he got quarantine immediately and was taking to rio je neiro for test but the test result showed that he is Ebola free,so ever since then the south American and the Caribbeans made a meeting that any body coming from Africa should be sent back from Brazil.

But they didnt make this news public because they dont want the world to know what they are doing,

My point is that they are scamming all africans out of their money,if they dont want us in their countries,they should stop giving out the visas and also made it public for all airlines not to bring Africans from their countries,and not make us pay for a ticket and get a visa , all to be returned from Brazil ,Mexico,Cuba, ....Trinidad and Tobago

and not let us enjoy our money .....cos i was suppose to be on vacation and i know of one other guy that i met in brazil ,he lost his admission cos of this issue ,the medical school he had already paid for .....

Pls ma /sir

I will love you to help all africans look into this and not make us loose more money ,they are scam and stealing our money to enrich their countries and not make our vacations possible, and so on...

If they dont want us in their countries for any reasons ,they should make it public and not make people waste money ,knowingly that they will send them back .....

thanks

Brown suga said...

God is in Nigeria, let d Western world use their science & fight Ebola. God show mercy on d World.

Dis is d best comment from Bon orion in 15 years.lmfao

Ds ur study in canada,ow can u help? R u now an agent or based dre?

Good day ma/sir,

Am a Nigerian and reside in Nigeria,what happen is that i got a visa to one of the countries in south America,and i bought my ticket , which i left my country for a vacation there on getting to the point of entry ,i was refuse entry ,I noticed that the immigrations was running from me they saw that i was not happy and moved close to me and gave me one flyer ,indicating Ebola ,immediately i told them that Nigeria is Ebola free country announced by world health organization , but i was sent back to where i got my connecting flight from which is Brazil,there in Brazil i saw so many Africans being stopped and they were all refuse and stop in there connecting flight, we all are left in a big room ,waiting for each day for the flight that brought us to Brazil comes back ,we will be forced in the plane and send back in the plane,

There i met a guy in Brazil ,he told me of a story that a man came to Brazil 2 weeks ago and on getting to the airport he started vomiting ,and shouting that he has Ebola virus which he got quarantine immediately and was taking to rio je neiro for test but the test result showed that he was Ebola free,so ever since then the south American and the Caribbeans made a meeting that any body coming from Africa should be sent back from Brazil.

But they didnt make this news public because they dont want the world to know what they are doing,

My point is that they are scamming all africans out of their money,if they dont want us in their countries respectively,they should stop giving out the visas and also made it public for all airlines not to bring Africans from their countries,and not make us pay for a ticket and get a visa ,and be returned from Brazil ,south Americans ,Mexico,Cuba,Caribbean ....Trinidad and Tobago

and not let us enjoy our money .....cos i was suppose to be on vacation and i know of one other guy ,he lost his admission now cos of this issue ,the medical school he has paid for .....

Pls ma /sir

I will love you to help all africans look into this and not make us loose more money ,they are scam and stealing our money to enrich their countries and not make our vacations possible, and so on...

If they dont want us in their countries for any reasons ,they should make it public and not make people waste money ,knowingly that they will send them back .....

thanks

That is what we Nigeria should be doing, una to much jare.

Is dat d best way of ending ebola

My comment is not always publish

kelvin said...

AUSTRALIAN ARE RACIST. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TAKES PEOPLE TO AUSTRALIA. WHY DON'T THEY INCLUDE AMERICA, UK, NEW YORK etc. OR ARE THEY NOT AWARE THAT EBOLA HAS ENTERED THOSE COUNTRIES? THERE IS NOTHING THERE FOR ANY ONE TO DASH THERE. THIS TIME LAST YEAR, I WAS IN AUSTRALIA 4 AN OFFICIAL REASON - I WAS IN FREMANTLE, JARVIS BAY, SYDNEY, ALBANY... FRIENDS, SINCERELY NOTHING THERE! DON'T EVER WASTE YOUR MONEY TO THAT PLACE.

This is getting serious day by day..

God intervention

Am residing in Australia and have not read the news about the banning what I learnt is that Australia refuse to send health workers to the Ebola countries which I think is not fair enough as they consider it as risking of health workers life. Australia is a beautiful and blessed country.

TJ said...

We can't blame them now. Better safe, than sorry.

The fear of Ebola is the beginning of wisdom

I hope they all know we r Ebola free..hmconcept2000@gmail.con

Amarachi said...

Was listening when he said that and happy because Nigeria was not included and mostly because my hubby came to Sydney last week .My hubby said they were asking him at the airport how Nigeria was able to contain Ebola ,said they really praise Nigeria for doing that .

Active blog reader from Australia... I equally learnt that Australia refuse to send health workers to the Ebola hit countries as they believe it's risking of lifes which I think it's not good enough. God bless this beautiful country Australia, God bless my fathers land Nigeria.

If America ban , na una go first complain, but don't blame Australia biko..

Jesus Reigns said...

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm calls for concern

Blessed Child said...

Wish nigeria had done that. Can u imagine! What nonsense. As if wen we look deeper ,the whites re not the cause of this whole mess. Smtcheeeeeew

Eeeyah

We should take precautions immediately and ban flights from US.

WHO GOES THERE ANYWAY?

Slick bee said...

But really, we should move to. Ban flights from US maybe by so doing the value of the Naira will come up. Abeg make naija manage form boss small na.

Kelvin...I wonder if you truly came to Australia... because if you did words like that won't come out from your mouth... seriously you're just babbling.. I am an Australia and the people and regions are fantastic...