What did Lee say about Lagos again? Check out this oyibo man enjoying our food | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 November 2014

What did Lee say about Lagos again? Check out this oyibo man enjoying our food

So Yahoo Travel writer Lee Abbamonte said recently that Lagos is the worst place on earth to visit. Absolutely false! A lot of oyibo people live here, many come here to work, some are even relocating permanently to Lagos. They love this place. We have our issues no doubt but Lagos is a great city!

Above is British man, Derek Arthur, who does not only love Lagos, he loves Nigerian dishes! Check him out digging into that pounded yam and egusi soap with relish..:-). Better person! See more photos after the cut...

N.B: Never met the guy but I have his permission to share these photos...

106 comments:

loool.. no need to be defensive, everyone has there opinion.. he only saw d bad part, not everyone can see the good part.plus i'm sure he didn't make it up :)

SANDRA said...

Is he using left hand 2 eat fufu? Enjoy jare.

Cynthia Iyede said...

E le yin ti pe le ko o. Nice dish

And so? Who cares about a white man's opinion of us, and why do you need to put up a pic of another white man eating our food?... to validate what exactly? the average foreigner will tell you he loves Nigeria for its business opportunities... in regards to social life, the amount of loose women/men willing to throw themselves at them is enough to make them stay, minus the zero repercussions from the law if the get out of line. as a Nigerian lagos is messed up, no quality of life there, people in the mainland go through so much traffic wise, noise pollution etc. Lagos does not constitute the whole of Nigeria, but let the truth b told! It is my least favourite urban city!

Ms nancy

Neks said...

Lol, you go Arthur!!!

lol. man must wack

Dats so called lee is lee-stupid, I ve seen a lot of white ppl dat love Lagos even with all our issues. I love Lagos jor

Goziem Oh LORD said...

I like the way this man is handling the pounded yam lolz

Correct person. Eko onibaje!

Dave Mide said...

Hes even washing the whole thing down with STAR ...lol

Dave Mide said...

Hes even washing the whole thing down with star

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

Lol. So many of them love our country, our ways, our food.
Lee probably was offended by someone so he decided to hurt the person by spoiling our image.

Abeg na im sabi.

Really linda! Who cares! He's just eating food, the same way he's eating that is the same way he ll nack ethopian food if it's tabled before him. If he loves lagos so much, show us a pic of his whole family he relocated here! Akuko uwah!

Dave Mide said...

Hes even washing the whole thing down with star

Now I want to eat pounded yam and egusi

C as d guy dey enjoy our food..

Thought I were gonna show a pic of Mr Lee eating Nigerian meals... give it a rest linda.

Correct!
No place/ city like lagos in Nigeria
Home of smart ones & entertainment.
If you're in other state apart from lagos, you're on a loooooooong thing. Eko ni bajé oooooooo

Handlemewithcare2014 said...

Linda darlying why u dey let within Lee say abt lagos dey pain u like dis...one thg u should know every1 is entitle to his or her own opinion. Anyway thumb up to Derek Arthur for dat pounding

Oh Linda enough with your Lagos patriotic defense!!!! From the previous comments if you read them, u wud see dt 85percnt of us agree with the yahoo traveller dt Lagos is one of the worst cities in the world and we are "Nigerians".....Lagos is a horrible city!!! Come down from your Lekki/Vi sub urban environs so that you can see that.. You just don't chill on Suv with you apple laptop and type "Lagos has its issues but it is a great city"- #cheEzyjayne

gues he Is enjoying himself

Why are u feeling guilty Linda? Ur trying to justify the yesterday's message. Come on be real gal.

Kul! bukkyfakunle31@gmail.com

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Mind him not dear linda....Talk is cheap noni...Him self na Human being o. The fact still remains, lagos is fast developing than every other state in Nigeria. If you can live and survive in lagos...There is no part of the world you won't be able to live in. Rome wasn't built in day, if rome was built in day lagos state government would have hired 'em.

He uses his left hand to eat?

famonzo said...

The guy is just confused. I watched TV-programme sometime ago and I saw a part of
USA where destitutes begs for food on daily basis.

Josh Atuanya said...

If Lagos is d worst place,then, Aba is what?

Ovi said...

As a tourist you travel just to eat food, he can have that in his country
You visit places for the culture, monuments, historic landmarks (all of which happen to lacking in Lagos and Nigeria in general),
He has a very valid point (Lagos is dirty, city traffic is slow, lacks places to visit)
Pls open your eyes Nigerians and see the bigger picture

MaMa_PeaCe said...

Lindodo,dun mind dat man...he only wants unnecessary attention cox he knws dat wen u beef Nigerians,we no dey siddon look...see as this man dey enjoy himsef.

jerry said...

Lagos is a good place to be oooo...... Most of those white pple are relocating down to lagos nah..

Linda explaining to us, why you share the picture!

See his bottle of Star beer!!!

Linda don't mind that yeye that guy called him self Lee. Lagos to dabi New York.

What point are you trying to make? The travel writer is entitled to his opinion the same way that this Niaja loving guy is entitled to his. This is the problem with Nigerians we get sooo defensive instead of taking it as a challenge to do better and demand better from our leaders. Even as a Nigerian who did not grow up in Lagos or Nigeria i find it a nightmare place the noise, dirt, overcrowded. Doesn't mean I don't love my country id jus prefere to be somewhere else I've been to other African countries and western countries so I know some of the issues are peculiar to lagos. Let's aim for better because we can do better.

Lolzzzzz....He sure loves Naija food...even tho he doesnt love one state in it

Na we dey run am...... Na only him waka come

bii said...

Linda, pls RT #lagosisbeautiful on. Twitter, instagram and wherever else it pleases u, I want to make sure the world knows that MY lagos, OUR lagos is a beautiful city, even though we av rough. Areas like any other boisterous city does! Lagos is still home to many beautiful people and lovely places!! Thank you

Lol........linda leave dis man alone naa.......haba! If ur in love with him, pls let him know ka anyi nuru gi. Nti, dat he doesntlike lagos doeant mean he shouldn't eat ourfood. Hian! Ur own don de too much sef!

MOKU said...

BASTARD!!!

Nice one, correct dude

Linda...this guy is obviously an expatriate of some sort living in ikoyi or somewhere and getting maid service that he would never get in his own country. A luxury MOST Nigerians aren't exposed to. Please stop talking like a bush girl and let's face facts.

jommie babe said...

Linda, the oyibos that come here to work are the oyibos that are really making alot of money here, oyibo cannot just come to Lagos just like that without having a beneficial purpose of coming. The fact is the Truth is bitter.We need to do something about Lagos as a city. It is truly about the worst city in the world
So now can we say "Lagos is working" the regular Lagos slogan and eko o ni baje when Lagos has spoilt beyond repair.

Dis 1 na mad man now him dey even sip star join, him come say GIDI na d worst place...olubukola daniels aka blackmamba...

kikkypinky said...

Omo oyibo abeg enjoy ur meal cos u can't enjoy dis yummy meal in ya country. Omo see d wakis

phinny said...

I know this guy.....This is hardley apartments V.I.

nenyemena said...

Nigeria with all our probs still remains a great nation. But this oyibo man sabi our food n is enjoying it.

Linda Ur so pained..live lying dogs to sleep nawah o

Lagos is a great city but it is not living up to it's potential. I am sure many of us would agree that there is still a lot of work to be done in lagos, but make no mistake Lagos can be a horrible city at times especially for those who are not well off.

Posting a pic of one wretched white man eating a Nigerian meal doesn't overrule the truth about Nigerian/Lagos been one of the worst places on earth! Get a grip and deal with it! Lee didn't even mention the epileptic power supply which alone is enough to justify his claim. I'm a Nigerian, I agree with Lee 110%! Your denial is not patronic but pathetic and one of the issues with most Nigerians! If it was a pastor that said this, I'm very sure the receipt of the messenger will be different! The Nigerians going on Twitter to cuss Lee out further shows how intellectually bankrupt and hypocritical Nigerians are because even an unborn baby (not to talk of the World) knows that Nigeria in general not only Lagos is one of the worst places on earth! Nigeria is not only unredeemably corrupt but a failed nation! Most of you are pained because all the hype of Lagos been the best city in Nigeria has been rubbished. Why not channel all your insults on your corrupt politicians or don't you have their Twitter handles? A foreigner points out the ills of your society and you label him "ode". All the amenities you see as big are basic in most places...you have light for 5hours in a day and you celebrate. Since 1960 till now no change but even getting worst.....smh

BrendaN

Rubbish! How is this news? Guilty conscience dey worry you linda ikeji!

So he uses his left hand to eat....that's so not right
@hardarm

Nice though

I don't mind yahoo travel maybe he have opinion

E is just a coward....lagos worst place on earth but sat like queen of england enjoyin our local food wif a chilled bottle of star...lol d guy likes faji... He shud ave gone to chinese restaurant or KFC to ave his food..

When soup turns soap,keyboard is the culprit

First to comment
Kdos to Oyibo
XD

Is he a lefty man, why is he using left hand to eat our local food, no respect and by the look at his face he is not enjoying the food, he just want to have a taste of Nigerian food,

Correct oyibo guy.. That Lee guy is more or less an Abino. Gbam! Linda please tell him to visit us at Mubi tomorrow..
:
:
:
:
:
Currently chilling in Mubi, God pass Boko haram

Lmao @ linda's "N.B.. I have permission bla bla bla" Linda taking no chances anymore. Smart stuff sugarfoot. Once bitten, Bite back. *wink* anyways ladies sup. Holla. Pin:2BB00AEE (Hot male)

We don't need his love or the love of any other white skinned guy to validate us.
But
If there is anything he said in his write-up that is true and worth working on, we can take the clue and improve instead of being on the defensive

**Bonaparte NN

Lol @ N.B
Mr Ayedeee u re the causer of this o

ChincoBee said...

Lindodo you are still tryna prove a point as to what that guy said...Ofcaus am sure he ate when he came to lagos.or maybe he ate can food all through or he ate in the neat areas of lagos

The slums are someone's reality. Until you're more bothered that your nice car is rolling on bad roads or that most Nigerians can't afford your most outdated designer purse, the politicians will continue to disappoint Nigerians. They know you get more upset at the people that talk about how they've failed you instead of pushing them for failing to do their job. You don't hold them accountable but unleash people on the likes of Lee for reporting about the rampant corruption and very horrible conditions that are some Nigerian's daily life.

One man's meat is another man's poison Linda...everyone's entitled to his/her opinion.

Tee said...

EGUNSI S.O.A.P???? ABI SOUP!!!! LOL OYA BLAME IT ON AUTO CORRECT.

that yahoo guy was high on cough syrup when he wrote that article

Everyone's experience and perception of a place is different. I don't understand why you are being so defensive about this. If you'd done your research right, you'd have learned why he tagged Lagos the worst place he has visited and i can see why - he had a terrible experience there and is fully entitled to his own opinion.
You are a professional, please act like one. It is your duty as a media personnel to write objective articles and let your readers decide for themselves what opinions to form. Writing about the man and referring to him as an "ode" because he wrote about his own experiences is just childish and unprofessional smh.

And so? :/
You're pathetic really.

True talk....she can only say all that because she's living comfortably....no relativity or sense of belonging in her actions...

It is his opinion of Lagos.

Can't say I like lagos, lived there, left there & probably not going back. Except to visit friends & family or transit stops!

Lagos may not be the best but definitely is not the worst in the WORLD.

dilinger said...

Your inferiority complex speaks volumes. Surprised you don't refer to the millions of loose oyibo men and women that throw themselves at black people? Surprised you don't talk about the lack of respect and morality in the western world? Surprised u don't mentioned the institutional racism against black people in the western world, rather what you are good at doing is agreeing with other people that belittle your kind. 9ja has issues, yes, but so does other nations. Start promoting your positives and stop airing your dirty laundry in public and expect sympathy

Dave Mide said...

@BrenDan ...you are so on point!

hype9ja said...

Thumbs up to Linda for defending all of you who not only sound silly, but also ill informed. I read the comments on the earlier post and I just feel that Nigerians here are just being stupid. Image is everything, an outsider shouldn't paint you the they feel. And talking about opinions, you all have been condemning Linda's.... You can condemn mine too.

Kindly visit my blog http://www.hype9ja.com

Crack head! U cant even read and understand anymore. Alaye baje!

If this pic had been taken in an overcrowded MAMA PUT with no AC or fan, then I would have taken it a little more seriously! This picture is another issue with the Nigerian mentality! A white guy eating your food is now a big deal!SMH...Why won't he eat it? Don't you eat pizza or spaghetti? Most Whites 'tend to like' Nigeria because:
-they are 'worshiped' here, the kind of preferential treatment given to them here is unbelievable! In their Country they don't get such. An uneducated White gets employed here and supervises a graduate, lives in luxury and even oppresses Nigerians. Ask the pilots here!
-ladies/men literally throw themselves at them. The way and manner the men get women cheaply here is disgraceful! In their Country they can't even approach women anyhow!
-Nigeria is a lawless Country, as a white, you can get away with anything! They can't afford to break any law in their land.
The only White that can objectively give a verdict about Nigeria/Lagos is the one who has no ties or nothing to gain. And he just did!

BrendaN

Chidimma said...

@ lindaikeji that's my boss. He is British. He loves Lagos. I wonder how u got the picture tho. Hmmm u are powerful oo

Neso said...

Foolish man

Don't waste your breath on Linda and her blind followers. Their area of expertise is who slept with who.

Some of you on this blog are brain dead.

Honestly.

Nigerians do not have good food. My opinion.... especially Yoruba people.. I think Cameroonians have better food...

Shine Shine bobo

He has got no option otherwise he ll starve to death, just as we dont av too in their lands.

Na me said...

Lagos is not the best and its very close to the worst if not the worst.Evaluators looks at infrastructures,roads,electricity and many other basics to evaluate a city,am sure y'all low we score very low in that aspect.But I am positive,if the youths rising into politics this days have a good intention,it can get better.FYI lagos is the only mega city where you sleep without electricity!

"What did Lee say about Lagos again?"......Oh I guess it's best for Oyibo men to enjoy Nigerian dishes than a Nigerian getting the Emergency help he fully deserves

Kanu's razz hotel

Linda, I would like you toy grow up. I don't know why you are so embittered by the Lee person's comment. I know he did not show your range rover driving kind when he referenced Lagos but you are an anomaly in the tens of millions of people who reside in Lagos. This Derek buddy of a guy you are showing here does not live in Ajegunle or all those "fringe beware" places that you and I would never dream of visiting in Lagos. That is reality for the 90% of people who call Lagos their home. So what I would like you to do is grow up and take a positive approach to criticism, which is to ask Lagosians "What do you think needs to be fixed for everyone who visits Lagos to give it an A". That is what true journalism should be about. You should spur honest discourse, not become the villain or the vilified. You should take a neutral stand and drive conversation that is meaningful and informative. Let me tell you about some of the white men I worked with in my days on the rig. Quite a few of them are Brits, Dutch, Italian, etc. Among the Brits especially, there is a tendency for most of them to have not been to England in decades. Where do they live? Thailand and the Southeast. You know what happens in those places honey? Pedophilia and sex crimes against women. That is why they love Nigeria - money buys you as many small girls and lose women as you care to have. It also ensures you never see with the authorities. In fact, it buys you their protection. You know whats more about these men? Many do not have families. Some have committed murder; there was one who did so with a hammer on his oyibo wife in Nigeria and nothing happened to him because he was bloody white in our eyes and therefore of a godly status. Quite a few of these people we worship who are trying to make Nigeria home have been REJECTED by their kit and kin for horrendous crimes. Many love Nigeria because identity can be purchased in Nigeria. Let us stop being ...I don't know... perhaps shamefully ill exposed? I love you for being young and industrious but I hate it when you start losing track of your destiny and mission on earth, which is to uncover truth from the mouths of citizens. Yes, go on, don't pay me, use it as your mission statement. Post my comment if you are a real change maker and journalist!

Buhahahahhaa. Ermm Nd, take one bottle of beer there on my behalf. Smh for Aba.

...Ezinwa...

exactly linda why are you being so defensive about this, you are well travelled i suppose stop making this news ,

Jonpinjeff said...

Brenda...honestly I love your candour. Wish I could drop in a diamond ring if the finger is vacant. Love ya

Lucasbalo said...

Nigerians love mediocrity

Linda, what is wrong with you? This is not news!

Watz the big deal

Talentgift said...

Linda I dae feel you like mad

No be only inferiority complex. Suffering n smiling... the typical Nigerian mentality. if u like speak English 4rm now till d 2nd coming of christ, truth remains d country is fucked up. Not jst lagos. And nobody will shoot me 4 saying it

Tell Linda jare. Making a big deal out of smbd eating food.

And wats wrong wit dt? U think say na we wey customs n traditions don blind finish? Will God deny him heaven if he eats with left hand? Mtcheeeew

And my best comment goes to u Brenda. Well said. In my own small way, i'll jst label 9ja d joke of d world.

Something is wrong, Linda. I have noticed one too many typographical errors in this issue. 'Egusi soap' and 'celebration Halloween' about Stella etc. please look into these. Best wishes

This is not necessarily important thing.""thirty world through have been in existence for long periods of time, however some oyiboman good idea stands out but they have china sugars good alot.Hereby I have confirm many oyiboman eat lots of Etiopian restaurants and other African foods they're like everyone else nothing more about it thank you.

D guy is crazy

Nigerians are quick to talk about immorality in the west, and ironically Nigeria despite always claiming the moral high ground is one of the most corrupt places on earth. What immorality is not committed in Nigeria? The difference between them and us is that we are hypocrites and pretenders. When you say the reality of Nigeria some will call you unpatriotic. Patriotism doesn't mean lying to yourself

What makes it great?

Linda im suprise at u.lagos is a den of criminals with Tinubu as their lord. How can u have a glorified SAN as governor that is not aware of peoples right. Been loved by fools. Thank God the world is not ruled or judged by this people. We all know the truth. Lagos is highly overrated except for criminals