Student to die by hanging for stealing mobile phone & recharge cards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 November 2013

Student to die by hanging for stealing mobile phone & recharge cards

According to a report by Thisday, a High Court in Effurun, Delta State, has sentenced a 24-year-old secondary school student, Moses Akatugba, to death by hanging for stealing mobile phones and  recharge cards. Read the report below and tell us if you think the sentence is appropriate or too harsh
"Akatugba was convicted on a two-count charge of conspiracy and armed robbery in contravention of Section 6 (b) and punishable under section 1 (2) (a) of the Robbery and Firearms  (Special Provisions) Act Cap R11 Volume 14 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.
The prosecution told the court that the convict with others now at large “robbed one Mrs. Akpor Mazino of the sum of N113,930, three phone handsets, 54 various denominations of MTN recharge vouchers, 28 Airtel vouchers and 25 Glo vouchers valued at over N100,000 at No. 30 NNPC Housing Complex Road,รข€¨ Ekpan.”
The victim in her evidence gave a vivid account of how she was robbed of the items at her shop at gunpoint.

An Asaba High Court also yesterday sentenced a 30-year-old commercial motorcyclist, Paul Nwanegbo to 15 years imprisonment with hard labour for robbing a female passenger of her telephone handset. The incident, according to prosecution took place along Direct Labour Agency Road, Asaba, on October 5, 2011 before the ban on operation of commercial motorcyclists in Asaba metropolis and other designated cities.

The female passenger, Amaka Okafor told the court that on “realising the gun was a toy, I resisted him but he overpowered me after biting me with his teeth and snatched my phone from me.”

155 comments:

Haba!....dis one is too much oga lawyer.....ppl steal millions n nt even a word is said.......dat purnishment is nt necessary

Rough Diamond said...

To me dis is funny! Death by hanging for????? Wat he did was wrong n he shld be punished but death? Nah! Datz way to much! Y Stella no face firing squad? Naija wc way?

Dis is crios, y will dey giv dem such punishment wen our leaders r der looting mny n ntn is done 2 dem...pls d punishment is too much 4 such crime...*first 2 comment*

Death by hanging is totally uncalled for, few years imprisonment would have been very fair. But come to think of it those politicians stealing hugely gets fairer justice that is if they were even arrested. Injustice @ d highest order

Nigeria's law enforcers have gone mad..all the politicians who have been stealing and killing are walking free..how can you sentence someone who stole phones and recharge cards to death and another one to hard labour for 15 years...

Meanwhile d leaders of our beloved country do more and get away wit it

Stupid country

Rubbish..... Those stealing our billions what are u doing to them?

daisy said...

Its 2 much a punishment 4 such crime

Mich said...

If these guys are gonna use capital punishment as a deterrent can they as well do same to corrupt politicians who steal millions?
Coming from a state where the thieving ex-governor was celebrated by his people in absentia.
While other countries are trying to abolish death penalty(except for very serious offences as pre-meditated murder,rape,etc),my dear country is sentencing a secondary school student to the gallows for stealing mobile phones.

This is crazy!!to death by hanging for stealing what?how about the politicians who steal millions of taxpayers money?this aint justice!!!

samuel said...

this is ridiculous, Mrs C. Ibru with all that she stole is out of jail after 6months... same judicial system prescribes death for another who stole cell phone and recharge cards?

Mich said...

If these guys are gonna use capital punishment as a deterrent can they as well do same to corrupt politicians who steal millions?
Coming from a state where the thieving ex-governor was celebrated by his people in absentia.
While other countries are trying to abolish death penalty(except for very serious offences as pre-meditated murder,rape,etc),my dear country is sentencing a secondary school student to the gallows for stealing mobile phones.

This is Barbaric nd insensitivity.Then all d politicians looting our hard earned resources shd be sentenced to firing squad.*hiss*.Aversion of Justice.

What the fuck? Omg what kind of country is this and stella is still out there? Mehn

Watch Video: Nightmare Road as 18 Man Passenger Bus Catches Fire with People Still Inside in Ogun state[so sad]

This is goddamn too fucking harsh stupid judge and all of em i don tire o hmmm see
Na*ked Woman Boards Chicago Train, Slaps Passengers & Announces She’s A Goddess

Aymii said...

24 years and still in secondary school????? No wonder he took to armed Robbery........prolly wanted to meet up financially with his other 24 year old mates who have started working.....Since his gun was real.....I don't pity him that much....Armed Robbers are human species that don't deserve an iota of sympathy whatsoever! ...........For the other niccur with the water pistol..lmao.........He should cool of in Gaol........he needs time to reflect on the negative benefits of using a water pistol in a real life robbery.......hehehehe....ibw our leaders are still thieving billions with "INK PEN".......and no death by hanging?????? or 15 years in prison.......Britain still had to jail Ordinary ibori for us! smh

Blood of God thay shus better free the boiy oo. R u kidding? Pls lets protest a stay on his execution

Dis is so unfair,hw can u sentence him to death by hanging instead of jailing him? For UK wey person kill 2 or more ppl na life in prisonment..haba!

God punish ฮค̲̅ั’e judge D̶̲̥̅̊ฮฑ̲̅ฯ„̲̅ took D̶̲̥̅̊ฮฑ̲̅ฯ„̲̅ decision n aviation minister Odua is been given 3yrs jail term..SMH for dis country

Is inappropriate, hang somebody bcos of phones n recharge cards haba is too harsh why our politician that is stealing #billions(public money) are staying alive. God will definitely deal with all this men that termed their self #ogas at our government and law firms.

So people steal stuffs less than the amount these politicians give to their mistresses and get death by hanging and 15yrs imprisonment but these same set of people get house arrest in their mansions for rubbing this country of billions. Smh. There is no hope for Nigeria.

Lolz...so its now big punishment for the poor masses and little punishment for the rich and influencial people? Lolz...God will be watching you all.

moniqUE said...

It is unfair ooo!just dat??how about our government officails who steal more dan dat?? Dat judge wicked.there is somtin behind dat judgement.

Then aviation minister and others looting in government should face firing squad...

ebimor said...

D sentence is rubbish hw many politician steals millions,billions hv dy hang dem plss dy shld gv him a lesser sentence,d case of ds lady dt lied she bought armored cars recently nutin happened 2 her and dy want 2 hang smb 4 stealing fones And voucher naija wat a sick country.

Haba, wetin hapen na,shuuuuu...d punishment is just 2 much.wat abt dem leaders dat steal far more dan dat?do dey eva get anytin dat's even close 2 sentence

Emeka Ihebie said...

Lindodo the crime was not stealing but armed robbery. Armed robbery attracts death sentence while stealing does not. As Oga Comrade eyes dey red now, it is safe to conclude that unless he appeals, his death warrant will soon be signed.

moniqUE said...

The judge is wicked!ders smtin behind dat judgement.how about our politicians dat steal more???

Its kinda harsh, but he did carry a gun. Was it loaded? I don't know sha but the gun makes me think he would have killed for the phones or he might have already with no one being the wiser.

moniqUE said...

It is unfair ooo!just dat??how about our government officails who steal more dan dat?? Dat judge wicked.there is somtin behind dat judgement.

This is inhumane! Pple are siphoning millions of dollars into consolidated aaounts.wat punishment v dy gotten?

Y not reduce d penalty?
God is watching!!!

HMmmm! Speechless.. 24yrs old still in secondary sch??

May God punish all our leaders in this country and all this foolish judges. Where is the thief oduah, where is omisore, wher is bode judge, even ibori sef wasn't sentence to death, so why this one. Thunder fire una. Hw I wish I gt those peoplez nos and curse the hell out of dem

That kind of judgement is completely outrageous. In as much as the suspect did not killed any body other than robberies, he ougt to have some clemency from the judge. May be by giving him 10-15 years in prison with hard labour. Just like what the asaba judge did.

I av been robbed b4, n was threatened wt rape if nt 4 d timely intervention of d head who said dey wld b caught if dey wasted tym. A girl I know is not married now,because she was robbed,and because she didn't have much to offer,she was ganged rape.I don't like going out after 6 kos of dis occurence. I really don't know if 2 feel pity,kos if dey feel like,dey kan rape d person and leave. So I really don't know what to say.

The sentence is fucking 2 harsh,pple make mistakes nd if we kip getting rid of petty thieves wat of our government dey shud hang all of dem or probably kill dem by firing squad,they still millions nd billions nd we keep quiet but he stole a fone nd dey shud just kill him like dat#sobs#

Stay outta troubles that is all i can say,some does it and get free while some regret for life

Dats d type of punishment nigerians needs, if not steAling will be encouraged
I commend emma uduaghan

Really ? So wats d sentence given to dimeji bankole, patrica etteh and stella oduah who stole hundreds of millions. Arrant nonsense. Hisss and walks away

This is inappropriate. The sentence is too harsh for d young guy.

And even if he stole a million bucks, really, death by hanging??? Nigeria!

WELL-DONE GIRL, KEEP IT UP . ALWAYS ON POINT. YOUR MY INSPIRATION.

Na WA oooo , make this judge do the needful now,Linda if u lyk no post.

Wetin happen na? Why hanging the boy? All because he stole. Pls when did our nigerian court start to dey hang thieves. But this boy na small thief na. Why dem no start with the big big thieves in the country. i just wonder!!!

That's jude must be insane! The pple who steal billions are not even sentence to prison not to talk of death. Useless judicial sys that we run in dis country.SMH

By hangin imagine just bcos of fone,recharge card,who's fault?its our leaders,all in d name of Asuu....#sad#

R thy stupid?! Whn governors r stealing millions everyday.......WAKa thr FADA! God is watching all ds evil ppl. D final judgement is fr God!

Ahh ds isn't fair, thy should face d governors dat r also stealing

Omg!! It's wrong, I am just a first year student and I know that one is only given a death penalty in Nigeria if the crime committed is murder. Its either the story is incomplete or ...

#smog said...

oga oo....what about #oduah???

akudo nnaji said...

They have no right to take anoda mans like whether good or bad.if God who created us all has not condemed all our corrupt leaders who steal billions and get away with it then why should mere mortals. Putting him in prison would have been better off.

I am a lawyer and the sentence is appropriate,armed robbery is a capital offence in nigeria which is punishable with death by hanging.

Rosie Said........ The punishment seems too harsh for the crime,but if the fine print says the punishment "armed robbery" is death,then he has to pay the price,then let his accomplices also be brought to justice.

most people may say now people are stealing billions and going scot free but the truth is the way these petty robbers (compared to our politicians they are petty) traumatise their victims is really bad. see that guy who bite the girl over a phone PHONE....anyway it's the level of poverty we are faced with.

Last week at a function at the so called 5 star hotel (intercontinental in Lagos) while we lined up for food 4 phones got raptured. into thin air, the bad thing isthe management refused to help.....Mtcheeeeew

Is this a movie or something? Die by hanging for stealing JUST a mobile phone? Then they should start lining up all the ex & current president and governors and start hanging them too. Confusion as come over this country called Nigeria.

Destiny said...

Improvement in effurun tnk God

Penalty for armed robbery is death by hanging.

This country na wash, politicians stealing billions of nairas and buying private jets going free... Its nw the poor ones.. omo I don tire I no comment again.

Fikayo said...

What he did was bad no doubt...but DEATH!!! Nmaka y nah...STELLA ODUAH nko! Mtcheew...jx bcos hez nobodyz son...GoD iS deY

if them hang him, them go hang all politicians too. Make dem free the guy jor. Toy gun again?

Wich kin mumu lawyer, were u dey wen al dis governors dey steal billions,go sleep o.abeg dat offence is too much,jail tyme wud av bin much better

Robbery is a big offense, abstain from it.

Guys read the charge before shouting. He was convicted for "armed robbery" with fire arms, and multiple counts of theft. Yes the punishment is severe but he is a serious threat to society and I think it's about time our justice system came down hard on crime. So I say hang him. Let this be an example for others.

notime2checktime said...

D law is d law. The politicians u guys are referrn to dont rob us carrying arms and as such they cant b sentenced to death. The law states dat if u rob and u carry any form of arm, even if its maggi, the penalty is death if found guilty.it now depends on the type of arm used that ll determine whether it ll b death by hanging ir firing squad.

Sharap! Just for small phones and recharge cards. Does the law say it must be death sentence? Is it explicit? Does the law not provide other forms of punishment for small scale robbery?

Lady Stelusy said...

It is unfair to sentence him to death, what of all those thief dat calls themselves leaders, don't they do worse things than that, if the government want to bring sanity to the country they should also lead by example. I rest my case.

What an irony...

If want to eat a frog go for d big one

Oh really??...then what about our so called leaders too..or u want to tell me that u don't know they are thieves too...face d fact this verdict is harsh!! This is exactly the result of being idle...all because of asuu...plz shut up and give that hole in ur face a chance to heal..mmtteewww

chattup said...

Must it always be harsh for a petty thief in naijiria?

Shut up u dat call urself lawyer how many of our birorobber politician has bein sentenced by hanging. Our judiciary is very very poor. A poor man's case will be decided within 1week &2weeks max but cases invoving Bamaga Tukur son & Ahamadu Ali son that also has to do will looting wil take dem till thy kingdom come. Is only God dat can deliver us from all dis bloody Learned colleague(lawyer & Bar) as dey call demselves

Of cus js bc d system doesn't punish d government officials stealin in billions doesn't mean dd boi shouldn't be punishd. Big tins start small weda it's good or bad. D tin is d sentence is js 2 mch n unheard of. Bsides Wat do we xpct in dis country wen all d masses do is to sing abt d injustice n dats all? I rilly Dnt knw if 2 call Nigerian cowards or js peace luvin peps bc it's obvious our so called leaders are aware of our non-challant attitude and empty barrel noises on their injustice which I believe is why dey raise d bar on looting as dey please.

The answer? Simple! 4 me I believe it's 2 start a revolutn. Heaven help those who help themselves. Yes, dey hv d soldiers n police forces. Bt we hv GOD almighty by our side n we shall surely overcome dem. D reality is dere surely will be casualties. Bt at least it's beta 2 die 4 a just n gud course dan 2 die of hunger.

Very silly, we need to do something.

Edwin Akwudolu said...

As I just read the heading, I know it is in Nigeria that this kind of thing will be happening
High Technologies, bringing you the best in tech infor

Madness...!hang for what?phone n recharge card,it shuld be d other round.the jugde shuld be hanh..if so they shuld start hang the oga's at the top cos there our stealn no be here.RUBISH

God bless u,na only oduah?wat of d oda oga's at d top.make d punishment be d oda way round,make dem hang d judge..

Please ppl stop saying the punishement is harsh!it is ARMED ROBERRY!have u ever been robbed at Gun point?I do not wish it on any body,so pls the punishment fits the crime

nikky said...

Linda its nt too harsh at all, if it had bin dis way all along, d rate of armed robbery, kidnappin n theft wld hav bin vry minimal. Wen ppl choose behave inhumanly dey shld b treated lyk d animals dat dey r! N dats justice!

The punishment for armed Robbery is Death according To the Criminal Code. So the punishment followed the letter of the law.

This is really unfair, Linda please if there is anyway you can use this media and protest against it until our govt intervene pls do so. Na someone's child be that ooo. Linda please help and use ur media and protest against this. God bless u

Its onli in ma fuckin country dat fellow thieves discriminate against each oda 2d extent of killing dem....I hop d Judge can slep witout nightmares

Nigeria is a country where the rich are pardoned and the poor executed for "almost" the same crime. If the son of a politician committed this same offence, he wouldn't be prosecuted.

this is why nigeria will never move forward. millions of people are doing worse things everyday, politicians are stealing billions and we just bat our eyes. but when someone does something as petty as stealing credit, you decide to hang them. no, no no. that's so unreasonable. the penalty for murder is death by hanging so how can these 2 things have the same penalty. They're no way on the same level !

The law is meant for the poor. The rich supersedes it. Stealing millions and you will get away with but still 2000 naira you go to jail. A nation indeed!

People kill all d time, yet dey are granted bail... the aluu4 murderers were granted bell now dis poor kid is to die by hanging cuz of mobile phones and recharge cards... the complainant must be a poor bitch for taking such to court! nonsense!!!

This is rubbish! She should come to me to get phones and money it's obvious she's a broke ass bitch, taking a boy to court cuz of phone and recharge card! And people who commit murders are granted bail!

People kill all d time, yet dey are granted bail... the aluu4 murderers were granted bell now dis poor kid is to die by hanging cuz of mobile phones and recharge cards... the complainant must be a poor bitch for taking such to court! nonsense!!!

If this guy hangs, then Lamido, Oduah, the former pension boss, the former NPA boss, Goje and many more should hang too. Because law must have equality.

Then stell oduah will be sentence to wat..........can someone fill in the gap

dis is totally unbelievable nd un-heard of if they sentence sum1 who stole phones nd recharge cards to death by hangin wat will they do to government officials who do steal billions of naira on daily basis.my broda na wa ooo.GOD IS WATCHIN

Abeg the judgement is fair as long as they are not convicting an innocent man. 24 year old and already robbing people, by the time he is 30 only God knows what he will do.

The Judge must be mad! He can be imprisoned! Afterall he didn't kill anyone!

Seriously we should stage a protest over this cause this judge don old. Na old age d worry him. What of our politician? This is barbaric honestly.

The law is the law, armed robbery (stealing with the use of arms ) is punishable by death and it is necessarily death by hanging.

That the gun was a toy gun is immaterial because the law considers the elements of the offence. If all elements are present , armed robbery has been committed. For a person to surrender their belongings to an armed robber it is sufficient proof that such a person must have suffered apprehension over his/her life.

As hard as this may seem,politicians who loot are not armed robbers. They can either be stealing or committing economic and financial crimes. None of this crimes is punishable by death.

Pple u guys need to study the laws of the land. Once u commit armed robbery, stealing with a gun, na death be that. Its not about what u steal. Cos u probably might have killed the person. Its a capital offence

Armed robbery is a capital Offence and carries maximum sentence

With Asuu strike now dy should be ready to sentence more ppl...am sure dz guy is in d uni dy just don't want ppl to blame it on d strike,,idiots,how can a 24yrsold be in second skul

#didi

Which poor masses? If the woman resisted him he would have shot her and walked away unflinchingly. I don't pity him one bit. What is a secondary school student doing with a gun? Its not about what he stole but about the gun. These gun trotting kids are the worse kinda robbers.

People saying that this is barbaric have no right to say so. I grew up in Effurun. Its terrible there. A thirteen year old can pick up a gun and rob. So they should kill him to pass a message. When I went home for the summer I was really scared to even walk on the streets. So they can do what they want with him.

Don't tell me he's had it bad. People have had it worse and they survived. What he did was a choice not a necessity. So the LAW has made its choice.

@ Linda, all the political bigots in 9ija should be rots in their graves by now if this man is been crucified for an offence he can be jailed for!!! #AnimalFarm...

that is just unjust and insensitive

if it were to be his child how will he feel?or rather if other judges passed their judgement that way then there will be no future for Nigeria.

The Armed Robbery and Firearms Act is clear. The punishment is death. The value of what was stolen is immaterial so long as the thief was armed. Good riddance to bad rubbish........

God is a spirit. Doesn't have blood. Address HIM well. Considering His lofty position.

Y'all missin da f*ckin point... da law is an ass. He's gonna die because of da fone and cards but for committing da robbery with a gun. Its called armed robber. Duhhh

Na wa o,if he say na so dat means anybdy wey steal sumtin dem go sentence am by hanging.nigga its nt fair atall make una no kill dat guy o cos na condition make crayfish bend o.make una Jฦฑฺชฯ„̲̅ jail am o cos ♏ฮณ̲̣̣̥ hand no d̶̲̥̅̊ฮต̲̣̣̣̥ฮณ̲̣̣̥.judge ur pinckin fit b d next person wey go stil and na so God go punish am self

If truly the penal code states death by hanging for armed robbery then so be it...law is law..i however think the same penalty should be extended to any fraud/misappropriation/embezzlement case involving public funds cos by comparison armed robbers at best cause loss of life and property to few individuals, the human and material loses caused when public funds custodians steal tax payers monies on the other hand is unquantifiable with detrimental effects spanning generations...
Adopting a death penalty for this kind of crimes may just be the cure to the cancer of corruption that plagues our country.
pshewwwww.....even the corrupt police pensions board chairman who carted away 13billion naira didnt get hanged...and pensioners are passing away on identity validation queues daily.....wht a country

d rule now is d higher u stel,d lower ur punishment become.

Public funds looting should also be considered a capital offence. besides i thought the lady said he wasnt even carryn a real gun

Sin is sin but then this judge must be high on something very cheap cos this ain't justice. He never killed anyone and besides it was a toy gun which means he had no intetion whatsoever to kill but to rob. I'm no lawyer but I sure know this ain't justice.

I say hang, shoot, behead the corrupt politicians for a brighter,secure future for the unemployed youths who are victims of the corrupt system. Warri is an oil rich city, but see the level of poverty. We should realy be looking into the system that has created thieves out of our youth. We have all being fucked over big time. I just hate being a nigerian when I hear shit like this. And yes what do we do about Odua. Abi law is just for poor man. Fucking double standards . Democrazy

Orji A. Uka said...

Dear Linda

There is a big difference between stealing and armed robbery!!!

So sad...such is the state of our ecomnomy that a kid goes to steal...but why hang him instead of rehabilitating him? Did You see this?...You just have to...
The beat twerk dance ever....Jeez I still can't put my pants together...Watch 2 Nigerian Girls twerking to Flavour's Shake ukwu and Timaya's bumbum,,,Boys don't watch this at night pls...Click to watch......Watch the video HERE

@24 still in secondary sch?...dis story is too gud to b true em plz wats d name of d secondary sch?

Babe said...

Abi oh. Maina, the pention thief should be dead by now for stealing billions. Haba. Selective justice. That judge surely has mental problem.

Fagray said...

This toooo harsh. Even the judge most have stolen what is far more than Handset and airtime talk more of Nigerian politicians. Beside how comes a recharge card seller have such amount of money? She needs to b questioned

Hummmm na wa wth all this judging bt come to think of it the lady said she realise the gun was a toy God why death penalty?

@anon 7:28 can't you read before you jump to conclusion even if u wanna criticize she said it Toy GUN 1: I don't blame him evil is not good but at the same time if there is opportunity for him I know he won't go and. Steal recharge card and phone than una leader that loot billions

The man robbed at gun point. The value of what he and his gang stole is inconsequential and as far as I can remember, armed robbery is a capital offence. Crimes like these must not be condoned and criminals like this need to be wiped off the land

God Bless you!

Tafa balogun was not killed ,neither was wabara sentenced .I haven't heard that James Ibori will be killed ,nor have I heard that any Nigerian governor will die by hanging so why kill this boy tori Olorun because of handset and recharge card. This is more than a jungle justice, pls someone examine the judge's mental status and give us a feed back

24yrs? Still in secondary school?

It's not the size of what was stolen, it's because he was armed when he stole. He deserves to die even for a smaller amount and may he rot in Hell fire

Anon 9.13 u r talkin dis way cos u hav neva experienced armed robbery b4 n pray u dnt eva cos u wldnt b sayin dis trash. Our leaders dnt rob brutally or physically so pls shut ur trap!

Well...giving death sentences for robbery is what encourages people to always take laws into their own hands and perform jungle justice. We should always try to reform people while punishing(jail sentence) them before finally giving-up(life imprisonment or other), we really dont have to resolve to death sentences in a hurry.

Phatymarh said...

It is too harsh abeg. It is not a murder case. In that case Nigerian politicians should be killed for stealing the country's money. They should reconsider abeg!

Moses was not up to 20 wen he committed d crime he was in ss1 wen he did and I was abt writing my first certificate exam in Uniport nw am a graduate..........he jst completed 24 in prison he has been suffering alll dis yrs in prison y sentence him nw to death by hanging, *sobs* if d family of moses were to b very wealthy d judge wuld ve collected bribe.......i know wot he did was bad but d judge shld ve tempered justice with mercy and 4 crying out loud d judge is an old woman...............d family of dis boy has been spending moni on dis case 4 like 10yrs nw I guess d case shld b up to dat if am nt mistaken. moses has really suffered and I kno he has learnt his lessons da shld ve jst given him more 10yrs dat wuld ve been fair enof considering d fact dat he has spent almost 10yrs in prison b4 nw.....am so heart broken can't say much plz linda post my coment tnx

How did the rape stop her marriage

What kind of judgment is this?!!!that should be removed...we are talking of a two count charge of conspiracy and robbery not of murder..the punishment does fit the crime....whoever that judge is better pray that God's wrath doesn't descend on you for wrong judgment

Oluwadamilola said...

Ahhaaaa! Ki lo le toh yi mhen?someone should do something about this oo..hian! Whn it's not sharia law.. Kilode?

Serious question from someone who does not live in Nigeria and concerned; it there anything like a protest being carried out for such case?

WEREYA said...

this is serious na wa ooh

iTemzblog.com said...

One day the poor will sit in judgment against the rich. And its not far frm now. My name is Lucky de'Allen I no dey hide.

iTemzblog.com said...

Linda One the poor shall also sit in jugment against the rich.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

The didinrin of a reporter that wrote this story could face prosecution for being contemptuous of the court by misleading the public, especially with the caption given to the report...
A court of law is a temple of justice; and people must be circumspect in impugning the decisions of the court, especially if you are not learned, as to know how the courts and the justice system works...
The felon in this report wasn't convicted for stealing, but for conspiracy to commit armed robbery and for armed robbery itself...
Get it folks, the law makes a clear distinction between STEALING, ROBBERY, AND ARMED ROBBERY...
I am constrained by time and space to leave out the details, but just to say that whereas the maximum sentence for stealing is 3 years; that for robbery is 21 years; and for armed robbery DEATH...
In other words, he who uses menacing weapons like firearms, dangerous substances like acid, club or cudgel to seize what belongs to another, and/or inflicts injury on his victim in the course of operation has committed armed robbery...
The nature of the target object of the armed robber is irrelevant...be it N1, or a pencil or a car...
Thus in so far as the ingredients that make for armed robbery is present in the operation of the felon, he stands to face death if convicted...
This is the position of the law, the Criminal Code, which is domesticated by the southern states pursuant to section 402 CC ...
But I wouldn't begrudge you if you have problem with the institution of capital punishment. I do too with certain limitations...
You could also canvass for stiffer punishment for stealers of public funds...
That means your appeal should be directed to the legislative arm of government that enacts the law; not the judiciary or the courts, whose only duty is to give life to the law by way of adjudication, interpretation and awards...
Desist from fighting a court of justice for delivering justice according to how the legislators of the law intends it....
Besides, the decision of a High Court is subject to review if upon appeal, the appellate court decides otherwise...
FREE LEGAL ADVICE FOR YOUR FUCKING ASSES!

i jus pity the person gonna hang him; cos hez own death would be sooo miserable...*sigh* "only if we could channel the right judgement to the real culprits"

The judgment was based on ARMED ROBBERY, not on the value of the items stolen. People should not misinterpret issues. It was a well deserved sentence!

my question, Did that lawyer really go to school?... how would he pass that kind of judgement...Fucking bastard.

First of all my Darling Linda, stealing is different from Armed Robbery. So your caption is misleading. The law is the law. When you use a fire arm that can kill to rob, it becomes armed robbery and therefore a capital offence. the second scenario is quite different. The fire arm turned out to be a toy, hence the lesser sentence. I support the sentence because in the mind of the armed robber, the gun was to shoot and possible kill if his victim resisted. We would not be telling the same story if he shot and killed his victim. We would all be saying sad story...until the victim is a close family friend. So...please let us let the law take it's full course.

FATHER GOD HELP.WHAT WILL DEN HAPPEN TO STELLA ODUAH.....NIGER SHAII******

If you have ever experienced armed robbery attack, or your family member has ever been killed by armed robbers or you or your sister have been raped during an armed robbery operation, I'm sure you would be singing a different song. The death sentence is very good imo. This will serve as a deterrent to others.

We need to decongest the prison and serve as deterrent for other offenders.......Research has shown recently that armed robbers will rob over & over again if pardoned...........Good for them.....

All these our lawyers that are coming here to quote law and all,pls note that the law is made for man not man for d law. So if the law does not reflect the minds of majority it shd b changed. That is why americans have the jury system,that considers what the common man thinks. I think this law is too harsh and the judge needs psychiatric evaluation...................and yes i have been robbed about twice. I was pissed and angry both tymes,but at no tyme wud i have supported thier death. So pls temper 'justice' with reasoning.

AND BANKOLE, BODE GEORGE AND THE REST OF THEM ARE BUSY ENJOYING THEIR LOOT...

L Y N N P O P E S said...

When you go robbing people wIith a gun, what do you expect? It's the fact that anything could happen and someone gets shot, that's what you pay for.

You people should not just try it o! Which death? Its all this innocent killings that's making this country worst day by day!

I always say dat d problem we ve in this country since d independence is d Judicial system. If u ar sending someone to death by hanging for stealing GSM phones n Recharge cards,what punishment ve u awarded to those in d corridors of power stealing billion of naira on d daily basis OR ar they saying dat constitutions make provisions 4 for people vis-a-vis d common man?.Its nt clear(justice) my JUDGE!

Fiyinfoluwa.omotola said...

The punishment is damn too much

haaha oga d law abegi he 2 much oo

Esther Ulebor said...

this is arrant nonsense, my goodness, if they can sentences someone to death for steeling phones and recharge cards, then i think all this incautious and scatterbrained politicians should be killed spontaneously. one of the feature of democracy is equity, which is not exercised in this country. i pray this does not go beyond the geographical boundaries of Nigeria, because this is a shame and a dirty slap at the face of the leaders in Nigeria.....*SMH*

ola said...

this is all i have to say "the judge who sentenced this guy to death by hanging by the power today carries he will use his hands to bury all his children #chickena"......

This is not armed robbery, since she realized it was not a real gun... The apprehension disappears at that point... Wonder who his lawyer was...