Popular 90s musician Father U Turn dies at 36 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 November 2013

Popular 90s musician Father U Turn dies at 36

Sad news! One of Nigeria's most popular 90s musicians Olufemi Mayomi, aka Father U Turn, is dead

The dancehall artiste who rose from poverty as an orphan, to build a successful and inspiring career as a songwriter, recording artiste, TV presenter and performer, passed on in Lagos today, following a brief illness. He was 36 years old. May his soul rest in peace...Amen. Read more about him after the cut...

The late U Turn was from Kabba-Bunu in Kogi State where he first tried his hands on entertainment, working as a radio and TV presenter.

He had a brief stint at NTA in Lagos, after relocating here, before signing a deal with Ultima Records which released his early albums.

He was a little boy, with braids and a charming personality. And his signature intro 'Apoola Berekete' was far beyond his stature. But he got the industry's attention and got a leg in the door before long.  After years of club tours and free gigs, he got his first break when he was signed to one of the biggest record labels of the time, Ultima Records.

Ultima engaged Nelson Brown to work on his first album which proved to be a huge success.

The hits 'African Culture' and 'Shakara' threw him into national limelight, instantly putting him in the league of bonafide ghetto stars like Daddy Showkey and Daddy Fresh.

He espoused Okokomaiko where he resided, with many songs dedicated to the Lagos outskirt.

His second album 'Padlock Ur Mouth' produced the smash hit 'Yetunde' a collaboration with Pasuma Wonder.

With dozens of awards confirming his exploits, including multiple decoration by Awards for Musical Excellence in Nigeria (AMEN), Youths Awards for Excellence in Music (YAFEM), amongst many others, U Turn lead a generation of alternative dancehall cats by the hands. And in Okokomaiko where he spent the last two decades of his life, he was like a king. His success encouraged many children in the area to embrace music, and he supported many of them.

Although his later years were troubled by label issues with Bayowa Music, and career challenges that came with unsuccessful albums, Father U Turn remained dedicated to his art - recording endlessly and refusing to let go of his passion and dedication to reggae/dancehall. He also vehemently refused to relocate from Okokomaiko, despite constant pleas from friends and family.

He died in a hospital around Okokomaiko today, after suffering a liver related illness. A family member confirmed he had been in and out of hospital for many weeks. He had been on admission at the last hospital for 10 days before he passed on.

He is survived by his siblings, wife Ajimoh and five children.

131 comments:

R I P...that's all I can say

Chizzy said...

Wow. Am shocked beyond words! He really was very popular then. May his soul rest in peace.

That's sad 36years is still young. Well I'm a small girl so I don't really know musicians in the 90"s. May God grant his family the fortitude to bear this loss. It is well

Famous Amos said...

Oh noooo

What????!!! I can't believe this, goodness, how sad. My he RIP.

tee girl said...

Rip father U turn

SO SAD RIP

May he rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace

Sad.....may his soul rest in peace

OMG!!!

*sobbing* may his soul rest in perfect peace...that's so sad o

NMA said...

May his soul rest I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace...

May his soul rest in peace... *sad*

May his Soul RIP, he was a good entertainer

estee said...

Na wa oh! 5 children @ 36? RIP all d same

Awwwwww father U turn... Teary eyed* I remember as a Kid i danced to ur tracks.. U left vacuum in d entertainment industry.. U'll be forever remebered... RIP Father U turn... Oh Death where is thy sting!!!!! @PweetymissLilly

RIP fada u turn

RIP bros

So sad, May his soul rest in peace,Amen!

So sad. R.I.P. May God console the bereaved.

Mr Dalvin said...

So sad to miss a pioneer and legend @ a very young age. May God give the family strength to bear this loss. RIP Boss

Linda this is sad news Ooº°Ãš ڰº.Ajimoh My God be with you n the children.# crying#

May his soul rest in peace.

Five children? Wooow..!may his soul rest in peace and may his wife, children and siblings draw strength from d word of God!#doctorbobby

truly it's a sad news,may his soul fyn rest n d bossom of Abraham if nly he deserves it

May his soul find rest.

May is gentle soul rest in perfect peace

Tgirl Missp said...

R.I.p may God strenghten ur family,don't know him sha

tee baby said...

Rip father U turn

Rip

So sad. RIP Father U turn.

Very sad,may his soul rest in peace...Amen

Too Bad, may his soul RIP

Never heard of him before now..RIP man,God rest your soul

PRETTY GIRL

may his soul rest in perfect peace ijn, amen.

Ronkky said...

Yetunde Yetunde o Yetunde mi da Yetunde...Na you i go marry o Yetunde..Riip...Yetunde is a classic

Eyaaaaaa

Rip

So sad..Rip

Jesus Christ ... Sad

This is really sad

So Sad... May his gentle soul R.I.P and May God grant his family the fortitude 2 bear d irreplaceable loss... AMEN!!!

jaybeenet.blogspot.com said...

Rest in peace bro though I didn't know u..www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com

chichi Blossom said...

Awwww,so so so sad,cud remember d lyrics of his song,yetunde oo,yetunde mi da.....yetunde,woah hw tym flies# so sad#..may his soul rest in perfect peace...AMEN,linlin post oooo

R I P

Funmexy said...

May His soul rest in peace n may God comfort his family

RIP.....FATHER U TURN

*sigh* so sad. May his soul r.i.p.. Sounds like hiv/aids to me.. Play safe guys. Over 3 million nigerians are living with the virus unknowingly

So sad! May his soul rest in perfect peace. May God console his wife and children.

*sigh* so sad. May his soul r.i.p.. Sounds like hiv/aids to me.. Play safe guys. Over 3 million nigerians are living with the virus unknowingly

Eyahh,RIP fad U turn

May his soul rest in perfect peace

May his soul RIP

Chichi said...

Eyaa, what a pity. May his soul RIP n I pray God strenghtens his loved ones.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

RIP....

May his gentle soul rest in peace. Amen!!!

May his soul rest in perfect peace!

May his soul ret in perfect peace

Rip

May his soul rest in peace!!!!!!

May he soul rest in peace ijn.amen

R.I.P fada U-turn...bur y r dey reiterating d okokomaiko? nawa ooo...alibaba,akpororo e.t.c stay okoko too ooo

sad. RIP Sir

So sad.... RIP

PAVOUR said...

Rip

Matt said...

OMG, I cant believe this. Father U'Turn is one musician i grew up listening to. This is really sad, but thank God he made his mark on this earth. May God grant him eternal rest, and his family the fortitude to bear this sad loss. And may God help us that are still alive find our place on this earth. Amen

Very pathetic...RIP

kazeem said...

may his soul rest in peace .....i remember wen i use to wait for his videos to come up on ait dose days

Really sad! Who's gonna take care of his FIVE kids!i pray God comforts them.

Deborah Areh said...

My Bro,My friend R.I.P......Fada U Turn.

RIP!

Sad so young rip

Rushel

Awwww

tharnar said...

R.I.P so sad

R.I.P baba I remember d last time I wrk with u @ badagry nd d money u gave bought me my 4th mobile fone, I wll so much luv nd miss u baba. Ur boi g-tevi

Oboh's lens said...

Rest in peace brother. U didn't log out without a mark.

'mehn!! Dis is so sad! 'well, God knws d best. 'RIP' father U turn..
##willykampmanjoe##

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

rip father u turn

Rip dude

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

rip

Methinks said...

So sad. May the Lord comfort and provide for his family, and may his soul rest in peace

chizzy said...

Okokomaiko mourns for u,we will miss u bro rip

Charles said...

RIP My personal person.

Can't still bliv dis. RIP my broda my frnd.

MU keke mu keke !We mourn you!with tears....FADA U TURN...Good Night!!!Sun re oooo!Femi Mayomi!
All Okun and Kogi artiste Mourn You!!! Shakara Delight.

Daddy's Girl said...

RIP, I don't knw him tho

Daddy's Girl said...

RIP, I don't knw him tho

Daddy's Girl said...

RIP, I don't knw him tho

I remember him "yetunde mi daa" I miss him!

EbonyAma said...

May he RIP. Hope he planned 4 his family well and did insurance 4 his children, don't want dem to plead to Nigerians 4 help like Fatai rolling dollars ooooo. RIP father U turn.

rest in peace

May his gentle soul rest in peace

divine said...

May your soul rest in peace Amen

Hmmmn,RIP

Rip

concerned citizen said...

May his soul RIP, amen.

May God 4gv him and grant him eternal rest.

May God grant him eternal rest.

God rest his so soul..

May his soul RIP...... Amen!!!

May his soul rest in peace,we love u a lot

First to comment, may his Soul Rest in Peace

Rest in the perfect of peace Father U turn...

MAY HIS SOUL RIP

Kunskles said...

R.I.P Father U-Turn.

the melody and beautiful symphony of Yetunde yetunde oo. oo yetunde mi da. will not leave our heads.

Father U-turn might have sang in the 90's but he's got lovier jams and hit bangers than most celebrated fools called artist today.
You know your names, no need for mentions.

R.I.P Father U-turn

Rip

Rip! Tho 5chr too much sha oooo 4 dis kind century wey we dey so

May his soul RIP

Rest in paradise bro.
Wish there was this much money in the industry back then.
You would have been able to take care of yourself and your family.
:(

Remembered those days in secondary school use to dance to his songs,what painful exit,may his soul rest in the bossom of the lord sad indeed.

Oluwabobby said...

Ghetto child,oh where ar u?I was barely 13,a teen when u released 'shakara' around 2001.+Mafoluku felt ur street impact....
+ooh bro. iz gone

Sad News RIP father u turn.

Rip

Mocherry said...

I grew up listening to Apoola Brekete.. Hehehe. I loved ur songs "yetunde". May God comfort ur family.. A Legend is gone. R.I.P Fada U-turn. Okun pple will miss u. Omo Kabba

Oluwadamilola said...

Singing "Yetunde Yetunde o Yetunde mi da Yetunde, baba to ri re o o le mi si ta o Yetunde"
This life though..RIP FadaUturn..

Dende said...

Did he live @ a roundabout hence d name?

May his soul RIP

Rip

God console him family

nasara godiya k rimi said...

y gud pple no dey last? O God.may hs soul r.i.p

nasara godiya k rimi said...

y gud pple no dey last? O God.may hs soul r.i.p

Lol, thunder fire u. lmfao