Dear LIB readers; I stopped using soap and now my V smells bad | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 October 2012

Dear LIB readers; I stopped using soap and now my V smells bad

A few weeks back, I shared a post from a gynecologist who advised women not to wash their vagina with soap. (Find it HERE). Well, we have feedback from a LIBer who tried the method...and she's not very pleased...:-). See it below...
OMG! I'm really hurting. Ladies remember what Linda taught us on this blog about not washing our vaginal with soap! A new guy I'm seeing and really crazy about called me some days ago that I should see a doctor because my vagina really smells bad. Never been this embarrassed in my whole life. So I'm going back to my soap scrubbing. Please ladies, soap scrub your V.
Haha! In all sincerity, though a lot of comments supported the idea of washing the vagina with just clean hands and warm water, I have never tried it. I just don't use as much soap as I used to...but not use soap at all? Hmm, hmmm, hmmmm! Anyone else with an unhappy lover? :-)

284 comments:

1 – 200 of 284   Newer›   Newest»

DO NOT USE SOAP! GO TO GOODIES OR A GOOD SUPERMARKET AND BUY FEMININE WASH AND FEMININE DEODORANT... SOAP IS TOO HARSH... FEM WASH DOESN'T HAVE THE HARSHNESS OF REGULAR SOAP AND IT IS FOR ONLY THE VAGINA. SIMPLE!

Even with soap scrubbing it smells,without soap?..... Never mind.

i dont use soap, have'nt for over 5 years now my boyfriend has no complain whatsoever....and he should know he spend time there than i do....so its not the method, its the person.

IVORY CHI said...

LOOL , NO IM ALL GOOD.

BUT LADIES, THE BEST SOAP TO USE DOWN THERE IS 'SIMPLE'

WHICH IS ALSO GRAT FOR THE WHOLE BODY

And also femme fresh xx

Gbabe said...

Don't mind the guy. Some guys r like dat, no matter how clean you are. Better still, avoid him releasing inside you becos sperm smells too. Im talking from experience, at age 24 have had more than 20 boyfriends.

D.E said...

Lmao, ewwwwwww, better add Jik, Dettol and izal if possible!!! Hehehe and Aunty linlin that pic is hilarious! Anyways the ladies will talk on this one. *cant stop lafing*

LOL...I laugh in pidgin...sorry dear..

U can just use clean, warm water and femfresh or any mild soap that is designed for cleaning sensitive spots.

Ladies, you have to be very careful what type of soap you use. Understand feminine washes are ok because they are made for the sensitive area. As well as Dove bar soap because its so gentle. Otherwise, don't put Irish springs etc down there or else
you are asking for trouble.

Linda, do you wash your own Vagina with soap or not? The reader is an idiot, simples!!!

Nonya said...

Too much info????? Ewwwwww

yuck,spits out. Women and issues.

DamocheDxb said...

A lady i've been dating since last year used to use vaginal wash, mean while, i have this habit of fingering a lady and then secretly smelling my finger to see if it has an odour or not. With this lady, she always smelled fresh and all.. Even after sex, i rub my hands on my dick and smell the fluids, still smells fresh. But few weeks ago, just before our session, we were laying on the bed and i did my finger thing, i smelt my finger and behold, it stunk. I lost my sexual appetite instantly.. Played kissy kissy and smoochy smoochy with her and then stylishly asked her, what was the name of that her vaginal wash again, and if it came in different flavours,i then asked her what flavour she's using now. There and then, she told me she has stopped using it cos some of her friends complained that it was giving them irritation and she was scared it might give her an irritation too.. Said she's been using just water for some time now. I advised her to go back to using the Vaginal wash or to go see a Gynecologist to prescribe a non irritating vaginal wash. Verdict - ladies, wash your vaginal with mild something. Your vaginal is not just an ordinary skin, the stuff goes inside and its located in an air tight region. Do u brush your teeth with just water? Biko ladies, use soap.

ewwwwwww! lmao

from Correctbabe

Dear, this depends on individual, I will advise you wash your vaginal with clean water NOT TISSUE after each toilet use :urinating etc, I do this and I don't have vaginal smell.

you can as well use "beta dine vaginal solution" its medicinal not a soap, in a liquid, u will have to mix it with worm water to watch your vaginal with a pipe(mild), you will see direction on the cartoon of the solution, I tried this twice and its very lovely. but, i will advise you, use it once a month a week after menstruation, for moderate.

always wash your private part from the vaginal to the anus with clean water after each toilet use, NOT TISSUE, you can then use tissue to make the place dry after using the clean water, this help me a lot, i don't smell at all.

If you must wash you vajay jay with soap use unscented soap or just use vagasil ( its soap for that area) but it is well recommended not to use soap around that area because of chemicals also because it might kill useful bacterial in there. Research it on Google, this common knowledge!!!! (heath 101). also pay regular visits to your gynaecologist.

rather than using soap which is kinda harsh for that sensitive area, try using feminine was like Vagisil, summers eve.......... those are better and are made for your vajayjay....

Sam Oracle said...

How exactly did this your boyfriend tell you? We need details please.

I never use soap on my vagina except occasionally a soap-free, unscented pH-balanced wash (not available in Naija) and that, very occasionally and I've NEVER EVER been told that I smell down there.

My tips.

1. Go to the doctor. If there is a bad smell, you might have bacterial vaginosis probably caused by your soap or an STI. That can be dealt with with just antibiotics but go to the doctor first. I've had yeast infections but they don't usually smell.

2. After getting your all-clear, eliminate soap from your regimen and wash wash thoroughly with JUST water. Your vagina needs an acidic environment to thrive and most body soaps are alkaline but if you MUST use something to wash, try to find something ph-BALANCED, not the same soap you used for your body, thus from an acidic to neutral range. Unscented is best, your vagina does not need to smell like perfume. Some people rinse with water after every pee, I'm not that extreme but sometimes, if I don't feel so fresh, I rinse with water mid-day.

3. Wash before and after sex with water. If you know, you're getting lucky, give your vagina a quick rinse and wear cotton panties to allow it to breathe. Another big problem is when women wear polyester, lycra or nylon panties, which causes sweat to accumulate with its attendant smell. Cotton is more absorbent. Not that sexy but who cares.

4. Accept that it's normal for your vagina to have a scent and anyone who says it's bad is an asshole. My bf can inhale me all day long. There is a noticeable scent but it should NOT be repulsive, if you smell like fish, go to the doctor. If you know your hygiene is impeccable, you can tell your guy that his oporoko smells too and he should go to the doctor. Also, drink cranberry juice now and then. My bf can tell the difference.

Hope this helps. I'm pretty interested in hygiene and sex ed and a non-judgmental safe space for Nigerian women is sorely needed.

it could be as a result from your vjay jay cleaning itself......... OR if you didn't notice it or smelt anything before he said it then THE GUY WAS JUST BEING A RUDE JACKASS JUST TO MAKE YOU UNHAPPY OR FEEL LESS CONFIDENT..

You wash your vulva (external genitals) with soap and water. In the event that u want to wash inside your vagina(which is un advisable) you should use only water.

You people got it wrong. It's the vagina (inside) that is self cleansing. The external parts are not self cleansing.

It's like rinsing your face with only water, am
Nd wondering why you have eczema or pimples.
You wash all areas covered by skin with soap and water, which includes your external genitalia.

Don't put soap on your finger and insert into your vagina.

Honestly my Vj use to smell till I read ur blog weeks ago when I realized that it was due to the amount of soap I used in washing it, I never dated because I did not want any embarrassment do I decided to try the no soap method and God in heaven knows that it works 100% no single smell for hours, and now u started dating and my Bf just enjoys eating me down there, it could be a case of different stoked for different folks, cos of I meet a lady who has a sell problem down there I'll definitely tell her to try the no soap method

Lol...never had about clean hand n water only come on ladies you should have known that dat place is hiden area n it will fucking stink if it is not taken good care of it's common sense my doctor told me fragrance free soap or any baby soap like aveeno or johnson's baby soap etc.Good luck with ladies using ur hand n water.

You can use really mild soap but even without soap if you use clean warm water and do a sitz bath every now and then you should be just fine. I've come across so many smelly vaginas. Some you even smell when they change their clothes or use your bathroom. Your V is NOT supposed to smell. That fishy smell is NOT normal. Go see a doctor because you probably have a bacteria infection which is most commonly gotten by sharing toilets, bad hygiene, unprotected sex...etc....

Oge Nsimah said...

she has an infection.. she should go see run medical test abeg

Hahahaah......use toilet soap. Nor be only clean hand n water. Dohhhh

You don't need to use soap dear, just use feminine wash like femfresh or vagisil these are designed to clean and freshen ur v without causing irritation and they r both soap free. I will personally recommend vagisil i have used it for years and it does what it says

The LIB reader obviously has an infection and her past soap scrubbing was masking it. She should go and see the appropriate physician for testing to determine what is going on with her down there. She should also do it quickly because untreated STI/STD can cause infertility, if it has not done so already.

Mma said...

I need 2 ask her if she had more dan one sex patner b4 she met her new boyfriend. Havin unprotected sex with many guys can give u dat smell. Using soap 2 wash ur VJ is totally wrong.......

Use feminine wash. What type of undies do you wear too? Invest in cotton undies.

All student forum said...

Talking from medical point of view, i will say that she was already infected and she had not treated it properly. that is the reason why even when she applied the washing without soup method you thought on your blog did not work for her. the Virgina has it natural way of cleansing it self and using just only clean water to wash is ok, but using soup only cause the bacterias in the Virgina break down the soup and cause it to smell especially if she was already infected. she should treat herself first and she will be ok.

http://lotusfemme.tumblr.com/ check it out. #femininehealth

Ant said...

I was going to comment on that post but never got around to it. Ladies, there is no reason on this earth why you should be washing your vagina!!! (if i understand correctly, by vagina you mean vagina, the hole in your body that leads to your cervix and uterus). What is the rationale behind introducing soap into it and washing it out? Wash your vulva, o pari. If you feel a strong need to wash your vagina, and I can't imagine why, then you need to get yourself a vaginal wash which is specifically made for that purpose.
To the madam who says she stopped washing and was told it smells bad, you need to go see a gynaecologist or your GP. Vaginas were not made to be washed and when you have a foul odour coming from your nethers, check it out, infection is the most common cause. I have never washed by vagina, never will and nothing dey do me.

Pls what is the cure for oke inyu aru? to much mess mess my bobo nyash dey lick i need help the boy mess smells like ogiri and akpu mix together cure o cure for oke inyu aruuuuuuuuuuuu i tell him he says is natural saint ihe nka kariliamooo oke inyu aru.

I think Jonathan should set up a committee to address this very pertinent issue. I was giving this very fine girl head a few weeks back but passed out while at it coz of the stench. I barely survived the ordeal

hehehe
I laff in german!

Hahahahahaha...rotfl
Seriously lol.
But how did d. Guy even knw it waz yur vagina dat wz oozing,,,tell us d whole story joor.did he still have sex wif u or not,mayb covering hiz nose while d whole thing*dunno*

U go fear even linda dey use soap...4 me it depends on ur system som gurls av odour naturally

chywe said...

Well as for me, i triied washing witout soap but i wasn't comfortable. But like u said i still use my soap, but on a minimal level oh. I no fit shout abeg oh. I no wan de perceive wetin i no no oh. Lol.

was the Dr who prescribed that remedy a male or female?
Pls ladies,even tho its presumed that the down region is its own natural cleanser,it still needs cleansing. Feminine washes like Sabi-Med,Summers Eve etc are tested,trusted and recommended (they have balanced ph-values)
So,pls keep that area as clean and fresh as necessary...SB!

And i also hear some men also have smelly,over-hairy,choky regions.(pls do the needful too)

you should not use soap, what you need to do is to see you doctor. You might have a vagina infection and would be given treatment for it.

You should not use soap as it kills the good bacteria in your vagina and also no use any perfume or scent as it irritates it ans causes it to smell. i would advice you listen to your boyfriend and see your doctor as you might have some infection that needs to be corrected.

I have been using warm water and clean hands for years & never had the slightest embarassment. I strongly believe that a healthy kitty doesn't smell bad. It simply doesn't. If there is a smell then something is wrong and needs to be addressed. All the same if a little soap worked 4 u,pls go back to it.

LOOOOL! I tried this same nonsense back when you posted it. Within few days my fresh cat wasn't as fresh as it used to be. Nobody told me before I went back to the good old way my mama taught me to wash myself. All those women that are washing their vaginas with just water are the same women that will be spraying perfume on it when they finish bathing!! Yeye people!! Abeg my fellow women, WASH YOUR VAGINA WITH SOAP AND RINSE IT WITH WATER.

~ Menakaya's Baby.

Dlapikin said...

Linda your reader is a fool. The smell of your vagina is an indicator of your health as a woman. if her vagina smells bad she should drink more water and potentially visit a doctor. putting soap in there must have caused damage already as it destroys the live cultures down there and makes it prone to all kind of diseases mainly to yeast and urinary infections which when not properly cared for can affect your fertility or make you frigid. Women should not play with their bottom like that. This is a very serious matter.

leerato said...

Its very possible that the smelly V is as a result of using soap but started manifesting becos u stopped. I learnt from my secondary school days, b4 I even disV that the use of soap is dangerous. I don't use soap and my Boo has not complained, infact he conpliments it wen heading me.... Pls go see ur doctor, don't just decide on ur own what to do.#justsaying

I think her vgina has always been smelly and the soap sort of helped to mask the smell and further ruin her ph balance. What she needs is to go and see her gynecologist.

Moi said...

U are supposed to not use soap to wash ur vagina hole(d main hole) gan gan,not that u should not wash your pussy with soap at all..Na wa for u o,so u stoped washing ur vigina? Are u for real? How come u don't have an infection by now? U must be very lucky..smh

before all dese talks about washing ur vagina with only clean water,I have bin washing mine with clean water mixed with little drop of detol in it and my vagina does nt smell.Ladies try dat and urs will never hav any offensive odour washing ur vagina with soap is a big NO for me

My dear mayb u stopd washin ur vulva.Wash ur vulva wit soap of course n nt ur vagina. Dat's wot I'v bin doin 4m time immemorial n my v doesn't smell. My hubby dat is a Dr has neva complaind abt it.

Linda please I found out two months ago that my mensuration smells badly, really bad!am ashamed to go out during my period cos I fear someone beside me might perceive it.I don't know what couldve been the cause?Am 29yrs old,havnt had kids yet.does it have anything to do with my age?any doc here pls? Help!

JUST CAN'T DO WITHOUT MY FEMFRESH. IT FEELS GOOD KNOWING THERE'S NO FORM OF SMELL COMING FROM MY FOOF! AND I HAVE NEVER SUFFERED ANY FORM OF DISEASE USING IT. SO TO EACH THEIR OWN.

Boooh

Warri Girl said...

Hahahahahah, who send you stop. Na u knw, lwkmd. Abeg please continue using soap just don't use 2much.

Emmanuel said...

Oº°˚˚°Âº girl, ur toto d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ smell no be becos say U̶̲̥̅̊ stop to wash am wit soap, but becos say U̶̲̥̅̊ don get disease. Go n c a doctor instead of blaming it on soap.

Lmaoooooooooo

Did i not say it that day? how can you not wash ur vagina with at least a little bit of soap? of course you will smell! As ladies, once in a while we discharge e.g during ovulation ... we also bleed during menstruation!are you telling me that all that sticky discharge and blood should be washed away with only water? oh pls!!!!
ladies, pls continue to use a bit of mild soap and make sure you shave regularly!also focus more on the vulva, clit area and dont put soap deep inside your vagina!

tonia said...

Na wa oh, babes I read d same thg here oh nd since then I use only water nd my vagina smells beta Dan when I was using soap , u probably had an infection b4 bt d soap made u nt 2 notice your stench go treat ursef and try again and always smell ursef while u take ur bath .

Maybe her Vagina stinks naturally cos i use jus water and it stays fresh #My guy jus finish eating d pussy#

Try femfresh instead :)

Using soap to wash ur vagina is not good but u can use some feminine wash like femfresh.It works real good.

Try femfresh and then use pantyliners that works perfectly well

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER....... said...

Wow Linda, I am happy that your blog provides information. However, I am a bit disappointed at your comment as I thought you were a 'well educated girl.' Could it be that she has contracted a STI from her lover? or perhaps just a normal infection from heat or moist down there? Or perhaps from the type of undies she is wearing? The vagina is a very sensitive place with bacteria, and some women even get infection just from having sex! YES IT'S TRUE! Others react to certain soap or excessive washing. Every vagina is different. So she has to go see her gyn. Her comment really has nothing to do with washing Vagina with or without soap. When your vagina stinks, you probably have an infection, it's normal if you are a woman. In this day of so much information on the web, things like this are easy to diagnose even if you are not a doctor. Just Google your symptoms and you will see.

Please take this as a constructive criticism. You are representing Nigeria all around the world, so I suggest you brush up on your knowledge of certain things before writing it for the whole world to see.

ETHAN said...

Me i use only warm water to wash n mine vi doesn't smell.But dis re some steps i take!(1)After ur monthly period boil water pour it in a bucket and add salt to d water den seat on d hot water for at list 10mints. (2) u can use medicated soap or feminine wash to wash d surface of ur vi nt inside ur vi o.Bt if d smell persist pls see a Doc.

fikky said...

There's a reason why different big pharm companies created a solution called "Feminine wash". It has the right ph balance. It won't dry u out or irritate you. Pls save urself the wahala and debates just be enlightened abt the delicate way the keep ur vjayjay clean. As much as u wanna argue it, the vag is NOT self cleansing.

Whether you continue using soap or not , you still need to see a doctor because the soap was just concealing the real problem. When you use soap it covered the real issue, but when you stopped it showed it. So please still see a doctor.

I have been using water for the past 10 years, so your issue is not that you use water, but that the fact you stopped using soap allowed you to see what has really been going on down there. See a doctor

lol, I don't think only clean, warm water will help. Yes, do avoid using soap, which can cause your V to smell as most soaps alter the PH balance which affects the natural bacteria there and can cause itching or bad smells.What she wants is "FEMFRESH" or any other "SOAPLESS" wash.Some of these are lightly fragranced and will definitely do a good cleaning job round there.

MJ said...

I feel the lady o jare. Just water ko, just water ni! Except you wash with water every hour. Just don't use harsh soaps, lightening soaps and the like. Use a mild soap, like baby soap. If water works for you, then very well. If not, okunrin ma ma sa fun yin ni o!!!(Men go pick race)

D vagina has its normal flora,it cleans itself.if it smells den ders an infection.but u shuld wash nd scrub d outer part,d inner part u need jst water nd clean hands.wash ur pants well nd try as much as possible to dry under d sun.wipe urself after urinating to keep it dry.and pls shave!if u keep a gud hygiene den ders no reason ur V shuld smell,like I said earlier except ders an infection....Maureen

baby said...

The soap is not ur problem girl pls go for a vaginal swap test ask the doctor to help u collect the sample that is what u need right now pls

GlamNotchApparels said...

I wouldn't even encourage not washing without soap, i cant even imagine it. Definitely your vagina will smell if you don't wash it with soap. Use mild soap like dove instead of harsh common bathroom soaps like Irish spring and joy.

I'm a doctor and yes...you shouldn't be washing your vagina with soap...it disturbs the normal flora there and gets you prone to infections

It smells cos she had started using soap b4. Dats used to happen to me b4 wen I use vaginal wash n stop so I stopped completely n now I'm ok n ders no smell

I think she should see a gynecologist, she may have an infection. My mum taught me while growing up to use soap to wash but when I got pregnant for my first child during my visit to antenatal classes, our gynecologist advise that we should stop using soap. No matter if the product clearly stated "vigina wash". He adivice that just clean hands and warm water and even went further to say that we should try not to insert our finger too deep into the vigina that u cld even feel ur cervic. Its dangerous and bad.
It was strange for us all at first I argue and also did some findings myself and its all TRUE. For my health and safe delivery of my baby I had to stop and I never experience any smell. Its still normal please ladies just use CLEAN HANDS and WARM WATER shikina.
Jojo

Ndodeye said...

Its usually like that when you begin. But consistency will proof you wrong. Washing the vagina is wrong. I have tried it eleven years now after I got the information and I can attest Linda all correct.

Dere must b sumfin wrng wit u, u beta run 2 d hospital asap cos u av infection ni o.

uuum, if her vagina smells really bad...soap is not the problem! she might have an infection and really needs to see a doctor.

I agree with the OBGYN, you DO NOT need to wash ur vagina with soap. you can wash the area between your vagina lips (labia majora) and your clitoris with just a little soap. that's fine. but anything more or invasive with soap, is not necessary.

The vagina cleans ITSELF. if the smell is oozing out of her vagina hole particularly then its not a soap issue, she needs to see a doc. but if its the surrounding of the vagina, then soap can take care of it

Sakara said...

Sincerely, I stopped for 5days too and noticed that d sweaty smell from d area was not palatable and for someone who likes my man to go down there before d real deal, no one taught me before I reversed to my vagisil!

Ifnu live abroad where d weather is always cold, fine but for someone n this part of Africa to only wash wt soap meeeen ts yucky I must say

Hmmmmmmmmm I can even smell ha V from here. Hahahahahahahahaha.

dey dere dey listen to docs that paid their way thru medical school! U berra wash ur veejay well with soap and sponge sef! but u could reduce it too unfragranced soap,which is usually recommended by docs where i live ooo!

hahahahahah..Doc Linda,see as dey are roping u..lolzzz

Ok...av never,I repeat av never used soap to wash my V b4 nd it does nt smell.I have a doctor as a brother nd he told me ryt frm wen I was lyt dt it nt healthy.I don't use soap nd it does not smell.u might nt see d effects nw until u get married.mayb d gal as an infection or sumtn.don't use soap...its harsh to d V especially ppl dt use dettol or toning soap!don't gve ursef cancer!be wise!be wise!be wise!

Dear babe,u can use toilet soap. Don't use medicated soap.
Sorry dear but I wonder what would have caused d smell cos it works anyway for some pple. Me I use toilet soap around there and very little. U will be fine ok
Pele dear.

Hian, stinking Vagina no be joke oo.

I'm sure what the gynecologist was trying to discourage is the use of medicated or perfumed soaps. The best way to maintain intimate hygiene is by using a mild toilet soap or intimate feminine wash which help to maintain the normal pH of the private , this protects from irritation that may cause itching, infections etc

Linda u sef no serious!
U publish sometin and u didn't try it!
U r so funny.
Well I wash with warm water thoroughly even before I read it on ur blog,I read dat in a health magazine some yrs back and it works for me really.
No foul smell and no itching.
Dear u will be fine. Just quietly go back to ur soap.

Kim said...

My mother always thought me how to use soap to wash my privates since I was a little girl! Your entire body is covered with bacteria and dead cells, which in turn brings a bad odour if not washed with soap! Water only can't remove the nasty bacteria!! I never had odour issues, and it is a very refreshing sensation when I clean down there with soap! Do you wash your hands with only water when you finish using the toilet??? The same applies with private care! I don't use any fancy soap, just a regular soap will do the job! I feel bad for the guys that have to perform an oral on a vagina "rinsed" with only water! Disgusting!

Maybe she has an infection or its her asshole that smells. I've used only water for years and no problem!

Buh,Linda,u were among those who advised us not to use soap at all,or am I wrong?Anyway,I only wash my bikini line and rinse my V very well with a lot of water and it doesn't 'smell'..

U can u a femilmie wash it doesn't have to be soap

What i don't understand is how a grown human being will take advice from a blog just like that...I'm a doc myself and i wash my VJJ with a lil bit of soap. How will you live in a country like naija with all the dirt /dust we encounter daily plus the sweating and not wash properly..mbaa! We all know douching and vigorous scrubbing is bad down below. Moderation is key!

tywo said...

LMAOOOOO!... I find this hilarious!..

kling said...

i never believed that anyways... its Detol all the way... *smiles*

LMAO! This is the funniest ever,please no one said u shudnt use soap, use a mild soap or even baby soap sef, cussons! johnsons...nawa ur blaming linda. she hold ur hand??

Soap is still not good. There's actually a soap free wash meant for that area. Its called intimate wash which you can get at any pharmacy or store.

GLAM ME PRO said...

I saw dz post on d wall of the student that was flogged to death but couldn't comment. My dear sister, water is all you need to b clean down there, if it smells bad then its not cz Ʊ dint use saop it mayb tht Ʊ av an infection but if Ʊ are clear in tht area then sorry to tell Ʊ that Ʊ may av more than one patner and av unprotected sex cz sperm cn bring odor to tht area. Water is all Ʊ need cz the Vjay is self cleansing. See a Gyno! *A Microbiologist has spoken* UDO!

i tink its men. Esp bcoz of women.

The comments explained that you wash around your vagina with soap, ie your clitoris etc.. But the opening of your vagina, the vulva.. Where the DICK enters should be washed with only water. I guess dis isn't for everyone sha because me when I use things like femfresh in my vulva it actually gives me thrush! So the water thing works for me. If you go online and research you will find out that its true. This dingbat probably didn't wash her whole vagina area with soap! Anyway I guess everyones vagina is different. You can use reduced soap like linda. Me I don't use soap in my vulva but I use soap around my clit etc...

Its true linda..I stopped using soap and after a few days what I noticed wasn't pleasant so I went bak to using soap..I tink wt ur gyna readere meant to say was use little soap and not no soap at all..Please ladies use soap oo especially if ur man goes down on you..seeing u might kiss him afta..Lol

Really,I think she should see a doctor. Most likely,she has an infection. I hope she wears cotton pants cos nylon pants are just not it. Sorry sis but the guy loves u to be able to tell u.

Lindy, I'm really surprise that u don't practise what u preach... I tried that "wash ur vagina wit clean hands and water" for about 3 week and I felt like LAWMA company was inside my vagina. I felt dirty and for someone who's crazy about oral sex, I had stay away from my boyfriend. Fyi, this is the worst advice ever... I'll continue scrubbing my V with soap. I still love u though

Goldelina

Loooooooooool. Are u sure u washed/scrubbed d corners with d warm water?!. Seriously I wud shrink I got dt statement from my guy

Women things jare

rella said...

Yea I hear dat a lot abt us ladies jus using water,bt to be honest wit u,I don't buy dat....I do use soap anytime I wash my V bt I don't use too much soap. And speaking of a smelly V, its sumtimes caused by infections,cos some discharge can really wipe out a city(wit d smell) Lol... so I'd advice ladies to always checkout wats happening down there once in a while....PS:dear lib reader how did d guy know ur V smells wat was he looking for down there?*LMAO*

KOFOSHY said...

Lmaoooo...

Buahahahahahahahahahah this really aint funny but i couldn't just hold it back. Sorry babe thank JAH i neva tried it.

Mine stinks even with soap and gbogboe

Never used soap. No stink. Boyfy loves giving me head. If there was a stink he 4 talk am

the gal shud go for swap test mayb she has contacted sumtin cos it cant be not using soap atal that made her vagina smell.I have never used soap for years bur still mine doesnt smell. infact wen i use soap or vagina wash i have thrush...

Truth be told, I hv don't use soap and mine doesn't smell... Secondly after my monthly period I use summmer eve "not the wash"d one u use once that's like water.... So my dear dia may be somethin else that caused the odour.... Love u all

COMMON SENSE,D VAGINA HAS A NATURAL OFFENSIVE ODOUR,ITS LIKE RINSING UR HAND WITH CLEAN WATER ONLY AFTER HANDLING FRESH FISH.LOL

Well, Linda, I used to use vaginal wash or mild soaps before and my vagina still used to smell as in I could even perceive it. When I read that post the other day, I started using just water to clean that area. I use water anytime I have access to water after using the toilet and then use tissue to dry it up so that it doesn't stay damp or I use wipes when I can't find water. At night I change my pants, either wearing no pant at all or wearing a cotton pant. We should also wear trousers less often, as much as we can we should get some fresh air in there. Water works just fine for me. I don't even get to perceive any odour from that region again.

Suzie said...

If ur V wan smell e go smell soap or no soap.ve neva used soap.all u need 2 do is concentrate more wen u wash.insert ur finger in2 it well nd wash out d discharge.morning & night
Just wash regularly,esp wen u pee use tissue or water

You don't use soap but warm water only won't cut it. Invest in feminine wash. Summer's eve and co don't contain soap and it'll make you smell fresher. Also, invest in baby wipes or feminine wipes when you pee.

LWKMD,pls keep dem legs closed till u do smthng abt d situation,don't subject any innocent man to such turture,I beg u.ignorance is sure a DISEASE

No pls don't go back to washing ur private part with soap,clean hands and clean water korrr.she shld have experimented fr sme hours ist

IT MIGHT WORK FOR PPLE WITH BETTER HYGINE.NO OFFENSE

Pele oya go show your ass

From experience my bf who happens to be a doctor was the one dat stopped me from using soap, placed me on drugs nd for close to 7months, I can confidently tell u dat I use only water nd hands nd it feels great(no itches, smell or otherwise).... In my opinion, u shud see a doctor.

Liliy, U see, why Do U adviced us to be usin clean hand and water??? I Do use v wash at timesn I cant stay without washin my V without soap for a week

This can really be a putoff, and you should rather appreciate the fact that he has the courage to tell you. Many guys will keep quiet and work away.

I hope this hasn't been the case before you stopped using soap, establishing this may be very helpful in ascertaining what actually was responsible. May be it had played a part in even your previous relationships.

Well, there are people with different levels of intelligence who read posts on this blog and though I never commented on that particular post, it really got me infuriated reading so many wrong things here. The vagina is within your body. The outer part of your vagina is the vulva. When they say do not wash your vagina with soap, they mean people who are in the habit of douching or sticking their fingers deep within to wash their vaginas. PLEASE BY ALL MEANS, LADIES, ALWAYS WASH YOUR VULVA with SOAP and WATER. This includes both the vulva (the lips of your vagina) and your clitoris. Thanks!

je m'apelle Ujunwa. said...

If i'm home all day I don't shower till i'm ready to retire for the night the most I do is rinse out my Vee with water after using the loo and before Nwoke m will eat me right (wink) and he has never complianes which is a good thing bcos he is as direct as sniper's bullet. However, I always shower with blistering hot water especially days I shower just once needless to say my Vee gets the cleansing of its life with little Soap (of course) and I stick a finger up in there and wash it out with water (you wouldn't believe the things that can hide in there (and they tell me the Vee cleans itself). I'm a great supporter of cleaning the surface of the Vee with a little soap and sticking a finger in there and rinsing it out with just water no soap and of course, visits to the gyno or lab (I already advised her to do so previously as it maybe underlying issue and not blame it on not using soap). Una Weldon oh.

Then she has a problem...she should check herself or the guy has a problem cos vagina has a natural odour

Yea u shud av a vagina swap test, cos u may av an infection. For me its been wonderful coz ders no smell or itching of any kind. I use soap though say evry 2days n on my period.

Bee said...

This is hilarious......I also read d post bt I waznt brave enof 2 stop using soap.Tnk God I dint

Oh my Linda even you???
My dear Ladies, please do not use soap to wash your punani seriously. Maybe around your Labia Majora but never use soap inside your Vagina bikokwa nu o.

Dear writer, Seriously you shouldn't smell that bad. Please see a doctor okay? I doubt if everything is alright.

Ok,according to what I read,V smell is most times as a result of a fungal infection. I'd suggest you use garlic just peel a glove of garlic and insert at the tip of your V area don't worry it never gets missing inside. Put in the morning and evening

Nikita said...

So u listen to wat that crap that Dr wrote.....imagine Y wont u wash ur V after all the blah blah blah.....doesn't make sense,After reading that article abt not washing ur V, I had 2 confirm with my Dr, he was like where did I get such an information.....so b4 trying it y didn't u confirm with ur Dr at least u shld ve one .......Abt ur BF try explaining to him ow u got ur V smelling @ least he wld understand......Pray u dont have an infection

Observed said...

Ma'am pls take your personal hygiene serious and private. Why tell us? People should learn not to share every of their problems.

JST MOI said...

She's totally ryt! â„“ tried washin wit jst water and 4d 1st tym eva,â„“ startd havin dis very funny odour!hav neva had an infection! So was kinda scared of 1,until dis complain came up!washing wit soap is DOPE!!

I still feel without soap is the best. I hav been practising it for four yrs now since i read it in one medical book for women and my sweetheart has never complained!

i don't use soap to 'scrub' my vjayjay and it doesn't stink. sometimes, stds have stayed soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long and the lady doesn't know. she needs to do a swab test and get treated. the vjayjay is self cleansing. if i attempt to use soap i get so irritated! so....

Use clean water and wash very well,it will NEVER smell,maybe you are washing the surface.After your period you can put a little lactacyd in your water and wash.
Soap is bad for your vagina.

I think she should see a doctor. Ordinarily warm water and clean hands is ok 4 the vigina bcause the vigina cleanses itself ordinarily.

Isa ootu mmiri with soap,ga anu utoya! If u wash vagina with soap,it tastes better.

Linda u sure say no be ur story.

I meant to try it! But I am so used to washing with soap! I do it unconsciously. How embarrassing to be told it stinks down there.

No offence!!!Linda y do I have a feeln dat dis story is about ur V!!!! I stopd washn mine wif soap n ma bf hasn't complained at all!!! She should see a gynea!!

ada said...

The Doctor that said that was not a qualified ones, how can you not wash your Virgina with soap, we have different kind of soap to wash your V.
Am a plus size woman and i never had any guy tell me my V smell bad, abeg doctor go back to school and this time no expo....

linda, post this comment, i will take my time to with comment without using bad word and you won't post it, this is how u loose followers.

Aunty Linda why the delay in posting comments nah?

Actually,d issue is dat skin differs,I dnt use soap and mine dnt smell,tried using soap recently and had itches,had 2 stop...ur V wil determine d choic u mak

Gosh why won't you wash ur V

Nimma said...

I think u should actually see a doctor, u may have an infection.

Use toilet soap, do not use medicated soap bcoz dey cud kill d normal flora(bacterial) dat maintains d env. Of d vagina making ur vagina prone to infection and infection can lead to smelling of ur vagina. So Mrs. Anonymous poster go 4 check up and run lab tests coz u might hav an infection.

I always tell people to take time and understand their bodies. That it works for someone else does not mean it works for u. And ladies,pls shave weekly cos it helps to reduce the odor.

spirit said...

I use a v wash and I don't have any hair there. in fact I make sure its as bald as a babies. It doesn't smell even when am on my period.my new guy can give me head till thy kingdom come.I kiss him afterwards and I don't smell anything.

I tink we shudnt put d soap inside buh wash d entire entrace. Buh I dnt. Tink using clean water only wil mk ur V smell bad. I fink dat peerson has an infection biko.
Miss Jennifer is Amaina Republics blog Beauty Of The Week. Check her out and leave your comment http://t.co/2KZyvA0s

My dear, kindly meet a gyna cos I think u got an infection dat needs to be treated.

I can only imagine how it much and how long the guy has endure the smell (in order not to lose the free and new VJ) before he summoned courage to say that. Chai. Dirty punnani na badt thing. I have experienced it on some occassions- mmmh something fishy.

brightt said...

linda is a sharp girl... If you tried it, it would have been smelling like rotten fish by now. Lol!

if she doesn't constantly wash with water it would smell not necessarily with soap. if she has to use soap it musn't be ash pls

The smell would have still occurred with or without the use of soap. Women have changes in ph balance from period, douching, yeast infection etc. I advice no soap. Some soap still touches it while we are bathing anyway. Just rinse with that, don't add more

Seriously d no soap using method works 4 me

Laugh wan kill me, hahahaha. Abeg u all should go n see a doctor.

If there's too much overgrown hair it's difficult to keep that area clean especially under. Try shaving every 3 weeks and wash with plenty of water.

Girl just go 2 d doctors n see if u hv an infection,plus u said a new guy ur seeing...He probably infested u wit somtin,dirty sperms also cause vigina odur......Bottom line is soap is a NO NO 4 d V.get femfresh wash n vigina spray.

It's because she's been using soap for a long time that's why it smells now that she stopped. Please stop using soap, i don't use soap and my husband has never complained. I suggest she goes for a test to know if she has an infection

Have u people forgotten we have different body types. All this medical people just come up wiv rubbish and expect everybody to follow suit. One moment they say chocolates are unhealthy, another person will come out and say chocolate is good for the heart. Small time they will say something gives cancer, another one will say that same thing helps prevent stroke. People should realise we all cannot do d same thing, we can't all be big nor slim nor can d same thing work for everybody! What is healthy for u is serious sickness for others. If u were using soap to wash ur va-j-j and it didn't smell, and u stopped and started using only water, the thing kon dey smell, please do what ur body wants!

Toto Dicke said...

Linda!! I have been waiting for you to bring this topic back....

On the contrary!! I stopped using soap and feminine washes and its been heaven!! I mean just wonderful...this girl has carried krokro that's why she's smelling jare....

please and please ladies DONOT use soap.i have never use soap all my life and i am 32,every guy i dated before i got married told me i smell really fresh and guess what i have always done, atleast before i go to bed at night even if i am not going to have a full bath ,i wash my down below with water,say for example you had to go to the office and have used tissue all day,,pls when u get home use warm water to wash.i tell u even me i smell my pant when i take dem off becuse they smell fresh.my hubby does suck my down below wen we make love and has never complained i smell.it is the dependant on this vagina soaps that cause more bacteria breakout and the smell.words is enough for the wise oo.biko vagina cancer dey oo not to talk of Niger wey screening no dey for free for women

‎​Why should you handheld be a liability when you can earn a little jst at your finger tips,its stress free from the comfort of eny where u find youselves.....check it out yourselves at http://iearn123.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=10420

Linda abeg tru tru this water only thing no easy abeg...I tried it for about a week but omor d result wey I get no be good thing,I bin dey smell like roasted fish so me I no even go follow dis advice agai,I no cun fit dey smell like fish up n dwn e no make sense

I use soap to wash the vulva not the vagina cos I started getting serious irritations there and femfresh,vagisil et al gives me bad thrush(like serious one) I guess its personal hygiene..when u wash ur vjayjay,you can tell if its squeaky clean or still needs more cleaning..I use half a bucket of wat dedicated to wash my vj n also bare in mind dat d vj has a natural odour...but when its a serious stench then you need to see a doctor n start taking note of ur Vj n u discharge..and invest in some panty liners as well

fikki said...

In other news:

1. vagina is the female sex organ.
2. Virginia is state is america or a name
3. Vigina is not a word
4. Virgina is not a word either.

I hope this can serve a pointer in knowing the real words. It's getting annoying. Thank u!

Oh dear, the vagina and soap debate AGAIN!

Lmao...U need tips on how to tell a babe her vjay smells abi? Lol

Ladies, your vagina is like mounth or armpit, they are not self-cleaning. You must wash/clean them with something. Your mounth with a good tootpaste, your armpit with a good soap and your vagina, with a mild soap that has no perfumes of dyes. Washing your vagina with just water is a very bad idea and you run the risk of loosing guys like me. I run a sniffing test before I go downtown or even stick it. So for you ladies, especially the ones that say "if you ain't licking, you ain't sticking" please make sure to use soap and water down there!!!

Firstly, it's menstration.

There is nothing wrong with u, u just need to step up ur hygiene. Menstration blood always smells, wash well and don't take too long in changing ur pads. To reduce smelly blood issues, try tampons.

Once again, step up the hygiene.

Nawa for all this wonderful spellings of VAGINA, pls google it first before typing virgina, virginal virginial etc ...lmbo

All I can. Type is just lol

I think 'vagina' should be clearly defined cos i'm getting really confused right about now!

Is the vagina not inside? can't one use soap to clean the surrounding, i.e. clean down there with soap without sticking one's hand inside the main ish?

Benefit of being a muslim,we clean up with water everytime we use the toilet,and the vagina never smells. Go and see a dr,madam anonymous. Linda post this o!
Radiant

Must u comment. If u dnt v anything to say,y not jst keep quiet?*SMH4U#

DONT WASSH UR VAGINA ATALL,IT HELPS

Bonario , I think say you be correct gjy; why you dey spit nah? I minus 20 from ur cumulative........vajay na correct recreation centre, mek you talk tru shame d devil...

You sound like fun guy. Men should give more constructive criticism and act more this way instead of just running down d ladies.

Ola baby said...

Lol. I think it's more abt d person. Apart from using ordinary water, when u wee wee, do u wash with water or u just stand up?aw many times in a day do u change ur pants? U should at least change ur panties 2 times a day especially if u are in naija cos of the heat. Try doing dis and Pls don't use harsh or medicated soap down there. It will kill all d good bacteria and then start to smell. Except you av thrush,that's why it smells.

@ ethan... If u lyk continue t cook ur V... When d tin done abeg tell us!
Meanwile, I wash wif soap buh baby soap(johnsons) 'n' I feel good evrydai. B4 femmewash 'n' all came our grannys used soap 'n' dia Veez r old dou buh still clean.
V- wash is aiit 2...dhz if u don't react t it. Jus don't use water alone. #Jade Said#

some guys does not even know if a girl is smelling down there or not..

Actually since d post I've stoPped using soap...wen I av my bath in d morn I use soap d scrub d thigh around bt nt d V...however wat I've done is dt I wash up morn...even wen I pee I try to use water to clean up...also I clean up with water at nyt b4 I go to bed...I fnk its jst important to clean up as much as possible n make sure dt u dnt pee or get moisture on ur panties cs dt cud also cause irritation n if u do jst take it off...my opinion

jennyrichy said...

Do not use soap! Read link below for every detail a woman should know abt washing her vi-jay jay and understand it,.

http://www.faqs.org/health/Healthy-Living-V1/Personal-Care-and-Hygiene-Genital-care-for-females.html

the fact dt u were told not to use soap doesn't mean u shldnt take ur time and wash the place well. Use what ever but do not dip ur finger in to wash out the entire juice, cos u need d juice there for protection, and dt one doesn't smell, the only thing that smells is if u don't wash d exterior well or if u ve got an infection, just make sure u try and wash morning and night or any chance u get, I personally was each time I use d toilet be it no1 or 2, cos tissue doesn't really do a good job. Like I said, read d link ladies. Until I started using this method, I never knew what a natural healthy juice smells like, it's not aweful it's pleasant. Read this link after u finish d 1st one:

http://girlfriendmd.quickanddirtytips.com/20-things-every-woman-should-know-about-her-vagina.aspx

Don't wash your virgina with soap plssssss it is nt good. If your virgina smells then u jst might be infected and need to see the doctor. Wen I use to wash mine with soap d infection persisted until I stopped.

Olorikokooo

Smh, #shameOnYou

@bonario.......can't u shut up 4 once...ewu hausa

The E said...

AH AH....if lindas blog told u to jump over a bridge because you will learn to fly u will do that too abi???

smh....imagine a man has to tell u ur pum is smelling...

how embarrassing...

Secretman said...

Oops ђã†̥?
"Experience"
@24 over 20 BFs *shocking*
Orlandoh owoh said.some mothers are far better than most bachelorettes!

Secretman said...

Yes he is a fun guy!
Keep searching for yours!
Thank you!

***Lush said...

Linda, perhaps you and some other readers misread or misinterpreted the gynecologist's message.

You should wash your feminine area with soap EXCEPT the INSIDE of your vagina. So wash your 'lips' with soap, front to back and in-between.

If washing your EXTERNAL feminine area doesn't help with odors, then it's either (1) a yeast infection (see a doctor) or (2) types of food you eat. Some foods like milk and yogurt can increase bacteria in your vagina, giving it a strong, funky odor.

Personally, I'm almost 30 and I've never washed my vagina with soap! I have always loved the way I smell and taste :-)

Girls, how can u sleep with a man within one month of knowing each other? @eeeao

Omas992 said...

@Anonymous 9.15PM. 'dirty sperm'. Whatever that means!

John J said...

Pealie u're a big liar, sperm doesnot smell even 4rm d dirtistiest guy on earth. Go & have a life instead of prostituting. I pity d man dat will marry u finally

'lu'omo said...

@spirit,there's nothing better than a clean shaven pussy.My 'groove' uses d biddy whenever she pees n takes a dump 2 rinse her pussy & asshole with water.I love to spend quality time tongue-caressing her clit n sucking till she squirts in my mouth.She always and i mean always smells so fresh that i tongue fuck her ass too.Interestingly i'm unusually well endowed(11"+) and she loves to suck it without prompting,as a result i always rinse when i pee or poo and she shaves off all the hair around my entire nether region cos her tongue likes to probe my ass too.Sometimes i'd eat her out on her period cos we're freaks like that.

'lu'omo said...

Oh btw she's eritrean n she loves her some brazilian wax,pls post both my contribution as it may also help my fellow men.

I think most people here dont know what their vagina is. Your private part does not constitute your vagina alone. Dipping soap into ur vagina is where d problem is. Washing the skin of your private part with only water will stink just the same way your body will stink if U bath with only.

KayPaul said...

24- more than 20= hmn! Akwuna of d highest order. So the 20 released inside u. Dear,dt place must be smelling like gutter. And u r bragging? Shediot

The most annoying thing is that, girls with smelling pussy, they are the ones that that do shakara pass.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 284   Newer› Newest»