Jay Ghartey releases his brand new single titled “Buga” in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 July 2012

Jay Ghartey releases his brand new single titled “Buga” in Lagos

Jay Ghartey, a unique and soulful Ghanian singer, rapper and  songwriter, releases his brand new single, “Buga” in Lagos, Nigeria. The single is a high tempo, feel good song that appreciates the beauty and appeal of an African woman. Produced by Nigerian producer, DeeVee, “Buga” is an infusion of electro pop and Afro beat which will get anyone moving. 

With major hits in Ghana, ‘My Lady’ and ‘So Wild’, from his debut album “ Shining Gold”, released in 2010, this multitalented artist has carved a niche of  soulful sounds he exhibits in his work. He has had  major collaborations with the likes of Sarkodie, Okyeame Kwame and Samini and  his hit single ‘My Lady’ received a  Ghana Music Award for “video of the year” in 2011 and his last single, “Papa” released, January, 2012, was the 1st Ghanaian music video to air on BET.

Jay Ghartey has a unique and soulful African sound to offer the music industry and introduces a different style to the music world. He has been making waves in the Ghanaian music industry and the western world and is ready to show  case his talent to the rest of Africa. With a voice, seductive and sensual, this great looking young man brings a new flavor and face to the hearts and ears of Africa. 

For bookings and appearances, please contact Spice
telephone: +23408038510564
Fans of Jay Ghartey can also connect with him via Social Media:
Twitter: @jghartey

Jay Ghartey Biography
Singer, songwriter, Jay Ghartey, born Kweku Gyasi Ghartey in Boston, Massachusettes to a Ghanaian father and a Canadian mother. Jay’s passion and love for music began right from childhood with a great influence from his grandmother, Sabina Hope, a renowned Ghanaian singer who taught him the art of singing.

The very first time he went on stage at a variety show in school at age nine, and performed a freestyle rap which got the crowd excited, it was then Jay discovered his talent as an artist and performer. At age ten, Jay embarked on his first musical journey when he joined a group called “Chief  and the tribe”, one of the first rap groups in Ghana and at age eleven, he performed at the stadium alongside Ziggy Marley and the legendary rap group Public Enemy and also at the Ring way hotel in Accra, Ghana where the great Fela used to play in his early days.

Jay Ghartey attended Ghana International School where he got part of his secondary school education and went on to finish in Brookline High School, in Boston. He then went on to study History at Boston University  and graduated with a Bachelors degree in 2004.

Jay decided to continue the pursuit of his musical career upon graduating from college and began working as a songwriter and recording his music on the side. In 2005, Jay lost his Grandmother and went back to the Ghana. The loss of his grandmother had a major impact on his life, he then began to connect more with his friends and family back home and felt the need to continue his Grandmother’s legacy in the African music world.
In 2009, he moved back to Ghana and launched his first single titled “My lady” which was a major success in Ghana. The single was a major success as it appealed to almost every age group.

In September, 2010, Ghartey released his first album, “Shining Gold”,  with three major hit singles, “My Lady” , “ So Wild” and “ Me do wo” which featured renowned Ghanaian artist, Okyeame Kwame .
In 2010, Jay received an award for ‘Best male performance’  at the Ghana Music Video Awards.
In 2011, he won “Best video of the year”  at the Ghana Music Awards and “Best new artist in Africa”  at the Museke Afrotainment Online Music Awards.

With major musical influences such as Bob Marley, Tupac Shakur ,Fela Anikulakpo Kuti, Kojo Antwi, LL cool J and Sade, Jay Ghartey brings a melodic and soulful sound to the African Music industry.

He writes and sings about passionate matters he believes in and has a unique sound to offer the music industry. His ability to rap and sing makes him a versatile artist that appeals to almost any audience.

“I just want to make people feel good”……..Jay Ghartey.

14 comments:

loudmouthed said...

K

I wish him all the best

Check out this blog

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Congrats bro!

bulls_eye said...

Ghanians are busy making life difficult for Nigerian business men in their country and here we are promoting their artistes in our country. Not fair!

lola said...

watched one of his videos on channel o and also on soundCity. dude is really talented. Welcome to Nigeria.
you will make it here.

Handsome☺

Plenty story. Not interested.#yawning# sisieko

What a biography linda! E ku oro aje o.....he must have paid you well! U don born again for approving comments on time? Time will tell if u wnt backslide! I love u all the same.

Omo This Guy Done Drop Mad Single, If Him And Dr Sid Do That Song Go Mad OOOo

I love his songs "Me do wo" and I don't give a damn". Very talented guy

Linda this one you are eagerly advertising this guy.....he don give you ring.

DEEFLAMEZ said...

@Anon 9:53PM >>> ABEG DONT BRING DR. SID INTO THIS ONE OH, THAT GUY CANT COMPOSE A GOOD POEM. HEA WAS EVEN THE MAJOR FLOP IN THE MAVIN ALBUM WITH THAT HIS >YOLO< TRACK.

ANYWAYS I WISH THIS DUDE WELL...

***tunes to Cartoon Network***

@willadebo

Citizens should't be held responsible for the wrongs of their government. Ghanaian government are d ones responsible fr maltreating nigerians, not ths guy.Pls keep employing d service of niger producers,they know d job.

If a wide search is made on the internet, services can be utilized easily that are provided by them.
Women who are planning the wedding of their dreams can find plenty of
fantastic information in Bride’s magazine. She married
singer Mark Anthony in2005 and released her next album called Rebirth.

Also visit my blog post :: latest celeb news