New Masquerade creator James Iroha (Giringori) goes blind | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 21 August 2011

New Masquerade creator James Iroha (Giringori) goes blind

First was David Ofor (Clarus), who went completely blind some years ago and is still battling blindness, now it's James Iroha, popularly known as Giringori in the very popular now rested TV comedy drama, New Masquerade, which ruled TV in the 90's, which he created while working at NTA.

Giringori is said to have gone blind and can only now move around with the support of an aide. The legendary comedian is afflicted in both eyes by glaucoma and cataract, for which he had undergone several operations both home and abroad with no success. His family and friends have rallied round him to look for a permanent solution to his predicament.

16 comments:

dear Lord protect them o,Jegede is dead follwed by Christy Essien,clarus and gringory akaboku now blind,dis is h@ breaking.let govt. Come to their aid ASAP for these ones brought joy to homes via their comedy even wen it was not paying well bt jst for d love of it.Zeburudaya shld go and check his eyes too oh abeg.dear Lord protect them o,Jegede is dead follwed by Christy Essien,clarus and gringory akaboku now blind,dis is h@ breaking.let govt. Come to their aid ASAP for these ones brought joy to homes via their comedy even wen it was not paying well bt jst for d love of it.Zeburudaya shld go and check his eyes too oh abeg.

Hot news blog said...

Sweet God come to their aid. And do heal him.
Amen.

this is sad. unfortunately glaucoma is bad and no treatment can cure it. precautions should be taken to avoid it that's all. it's just too late aand it gets worse with age. i really loved new masquerade and i was hoping to shoot a movie with james iroha. this is sad.chei

"Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh: Is there anything too hard for me?" ( Jer 32:27). The doctors can say whatever they like, but Jesus can make him whole again!

realtalk said...

Dear lord may u continue to help n assist him, especially others who may have this

Awww. My mother has glaucoma. It sucks. However, with early detection a person can preserve their sight. Those with a family history of glaucoma, please be sure to get checked out yearly. It is hereditary and is something that should not be taken lightly!

Galore said...

GOD pls hear our humble prayersGOD pls hear our humble prayers

1976ad said...

Sad

Unfortunately, old age comes with a lot of other problems. our major problem in nigeria is we wait till its really bad before we take action. Glaucoma and all other hereditary / old age diseases are managed better if treated once symtoms begin to appear. High blood pressure causes blindness too. In as much as we pray, we should encourage anyone older than forty to see a doctor regularly to monitor basic body conditions not treat the after effects. Please all those religious fanatics, dont come here and call devil oh.

No offense Linda, but you may want to profread your writing before you post. Glaucoma is not "deadly," one cannot die from the disease. The loss which occurs is to the loss of vision, not death.

monty said...

In Nigeria,
People visits hospital only when they are sick. We should imbibe preventive medicine.

Cataract is a curable condition, but glaucoma is not. The best an ophthalmologist will do is to halt the progression of glaucoma. If glaucoma renders one blind, there is nothing more that can be done. The victim must learn to live with it. Glaucoma is the leading cause of irremediable blindness in the world. But the good thing about it is that it can be prevented.

Glaucoma is caused by hypertension of the eye(layman's explanation). The only remedy for it is to reduce the tension in the eyes before it damages important structures in the eye(such as retina). Just as we control blood pressure to avoid damage to the heart, kidney, brain etc. Once the damage is done there is no cure. It can only be managed.

For the benefit of viewers of LIB. Visit Ophthalmologist once every 2 years and request that he checks your intraocular pressure. Request that he/she interprets your risk of developing glaucoma based on the result finding.

Those who have relatives that did suffer from glaucoma should go for intraocular pressure check once every year; starting from 20 years of age. It is very cheap.

Let's join hand to prevent glaucoma!

let him come to Indian the operation will be successful BC they have the best doctor world wild

sleekreek said...

Glaucoma and cataract have cure but with very early detection ooo,,,,,and the only cure is thru operation.....but if it gets to a certain stage before it is detected,,,operation cannot salvage the situation,,,even doctors will advice at such stages that the patient should not bother going for an operation cos he/she can go blind right on the operation table......i think everyone needs general routine check up from time to time especially those who have one disease history or the other running in their family.....may God help this man at dis time....

@ Annon Aug 21,9:48pm......is blindness not deadly enough??wen one's movement is restricted and u can only move with the aid of someone,,if dere's disaster...u cant run on ur own to save ur dear life without someone holding u which at such times there may be no help coming from anyone,,,and u say that is not deadly,,,,u dont know if the person sitting next to u is smiling or frowning at u,,u dont know who comes into ur house and all u do is ask questions and rely much on ur sense of smell,,,,i pray u dont experience it so u dont know how deadly it is....lol

I hope we learn something from this post o!
Glaucoma is real o!
A few years ago while overseas, i looked at the sun and was almost blinded.I started seeing rainbow around every light spot.
I ran to an optician who tested my eyes and sent me off to the emergency ward of the eye clinic in the city center as my eye pressure were alarmingly high.
I have been on medication ever since to manage the pressure in my eyes.The Glaucoma specialist told me that if i had ignored the situation,in a few years i might have developed glaucoma and you know the likely end.
Meanwhile i am in my late 20s.
It is never too late to get your eyes tested and take eye issues important.

@ Monty

Thank you for that information.

God bless you.

I don't know what made me check the New Masquerade crew up but I remember I was in ESUTH with Zebrudaya when he came in the 90's for matured program. For any of them still alive God please grant them good health. They made us happy as kids. God bless them for the great memories still in the hearts of many great men today that were kids when they were the talk of town.