Desmond Elliot comments on the Kenyan Ambassador wife battery saga | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 1 June 2011

Desmond Elliot comments on the Kenyan Ambassador wife battery saga

Desmond in Kenya over the weekend
I put the comments by the actor here because when the guys from Kenya called me, they kept saying, speak with your Nollywoood stars, they've been here, they've seen what this woman is capable of...blah, blah blah. Desmond Elliot was with the High Commissioner in Kenya over the weekend with other Nollywood stars.

He's been tweeting all morning about the incident. In his tweets, he wrote that he believes the woman deliberated planned this to embarrass and disgrace her husband and the nation of Nigeria that the commissioner represents. Read it after the cut...

I felt bad for the high commissioner's wife but something just didn't add up,the pic looked very worked on, doctored' my sentiments I shared wit my colleagues

Also being an ardent viewer of crime n investigation it ws very obvious I wasn't the only one, I believe the high coms wife watches as well

Told the high com about the concerns of my peeps on tweet n facebook n he gave me his side of the story..not bcos I was the Nigerian govt but bcos I was in Kenya on the high com's bill n I represented the Nigerian people as well

Now the high coms side of the story obviously would favour him but wen the children of the victim come out to cry foul then u become concerned

I met wit the high com daughter (Ada) at a mall and I asked about the incident and she was just as shocked and surprisd that her mother wld do such a thing guess wat she was home on that fateful day may the 11th

The high com confirmed to me there was a heavy argument that fateful day but said he never inflicted injury on his wife..the daughter confirmed that to me, the son as well wrote a statement to the police
The victims daughter said she was shocked when she saw two cuts on her mums face (surprised how her mum got them) and she asked her son to get her her camera then used her hand to rub her the blood over her face and took the pic HERSELf (which is what we all have seen)

So questions that comes to my mind and to that of the victims daughter. 1, why would madam release the pics 2wks after the incident. 2, was it a mere coincidence that the pics came out when an important event organized by d high com just started. 3, why did the pic com out just 2wks b4 the high com retires after putting over 25 yrs of his life serving his country as a diplomat?

Now am not saying the high com is a saint,he wasn't when he was arguing wit his wife , he wasn't when he PROBABLY pushed her but was that a reason for madam to go all out to kill a man's career?
My peeps I implore this great govt of Nigeria as they listen to both sides of the story to pl careful judge this case with caution..I believe after listening to their daughter, that the wife exaggerated the injury (that is if she didn't cut herself), madam deliberately planned this to embarrass and disgrace her husband and the nation of Nigeria that the commissioner represents.
-Ends-

Ambassador Wiwge will be in Nigeria this week to make a formal presentation to the Federal Government on the issue that observers say has put a question mark on his integrity as a diplomat.

33 comments:

joicee said...

@Desmond, you say people should take sides, what the hell are you doing then?
There is proof that the woman was battered, those pics to do not look photoshopped. She is actually crying out for help and for her to take this issue out to the public shows the woman is probably fed up.

If indeed she was battered by her husband, disciplinary actions must follow.

This should serve as an example to other nigerian woman not to suffer in silence and to wife beaters out there that they can´t always go scot-free.

having issues with a woman is like being in war and you are free to use any weapon including nuck. most women will naturally use all means to fight you dirty and to the ground. to kill you sef in that heat is easy for them

l know of a couple whose wife claim the man want to kill her after finding out about his girlfriend. now they are divorced.

women can be evil....am sorry to say.

Desmond, you are very foolish! I have read the ambassador's statement, he's just a liar as well. mchewwww watching crime and investigation indeed. So many flaws in his own story. Abegi jare, no b today woman start to beat woman. Make e talk true!

the same way everyone was so convinced jim iyke beat up his ex-girlfriend because her story was so convincing. but at the end of the day, it comes out that she lied. I'm not saying he didn't beat her, but there is more to the story on her side, and I believe she holds part of the blame. anyway, Desmond, na by force to speak?! do you wanna lose all your "battered wife" fans that watch you every evening to cool off from a stressful day of cooking and cleaning? BE WISE OOO!

PoshBabe said...

@Alicia, thank you o, i was just going to say that about Jim Iyke. Meanwhile, i see no reason why people should blame Desmond Elliot, he only just said his own bit of the story as related to him. He blamed the man too, if u read properly.

YOU GUYS ARE UNBELIEVABLE SHA, JHEEZZZ.. WHAT DYU WANT HIM TO SAY AGAIN? I STILL BLV THE MAN IS INNOCENT TO SOME EXTENT. DINT YOU HEAR WHAT THE SON AND DAUGHTER SAID NI? WOMEN GO THE EXTRA MILE, SOME OF YOU JUST DONT TINK SHA.. AND ITS PATHETIC. @JOICEE,YOU OBVIOUSLY DONT KNOW THE POWER OF PHOTOSHOPPING. EDUCATE URSELF PLEASE.

sometimes i thank God that a lot of commentators are anon! for goodness sakes! do u need ur heads broken to get the jerk of what dis man has been going thru?! haba! n pls stop being insultive of other people's comments.It's really un-civilised! mcheeew!

Angel said...

Na wa for Nigerian people, wife 'pushing' is okay abi? Slap her around a bit but don't leave any teel tale marks abi? It's a shame that in the minds of many of our country men and women, a woman is still considered fair game for violence, shame on you Desmond!

If the kids , grown kids for that matter can come out and say there's more to their mother's story than meets the eye, then there must be more to the story than meets the eye...

Donate Your car said...

I can never support the Beating of a lady or any human being for that matter.

I am not going to say that the Woman is lying but I know that Women LIE.

And when they do , they do it BiG! As in very BIG !

One thing is sure, this woman is not crying for HELP she is Dishing out a REVENGE !

Something is absolutely WRONG

Read btw the line guys ...There is an underground motive to this.

Even a blind Fool can see this clearly !

The truth is that women like mrs wigwe abounds everywhere, in wigs, in weaves,in scarf, in hijab, in cap, in the village, in town, in church, in mosque, at work, at play.......may god save men from evil women. i rest my case

Femiluv said...

Not saying the HC did or didn't do this, cos I obviously don't know. However, Desmond Elliot being a public figure should know better than commenting about this when investigations aren't over, gosh!

I blv there's is more to this family's squabble than meets the eye.
For African woman esp. a Nigeria of Southern extraction to have the liver to go to the press to report battering by her husband, means she has gone through a lot. It is possible that what happened on the 11th was not the issue but like the saying ' it was the climax' The last straw I dont believe this woman is crying hoax. She must have suffered alot and feels the best way to save her life is to cry out. The man may be denying because he has done it so often that it has become part of their marriage little did he know the woman has gotten wiser.
Let the law take its cause on him. Everyday for the wife batterer, one day for the woman to cry out for help.

R4BIZ said...

Desmond shouldn't publicly be involved in this husband and wife matter. No one knows the real truth except the man and his wife. If he did beat her up, then that's very wrong. If she lied or set him up, then, that's bad, very bad.

the woman is evil and very soon everyone will find out that the man was saying the truth.i'm a woman n i dont support wife battering but i know the man did not do it.she dint look traumatized in the pictures..her face wasnt swollen from being beaten.she just took advantage of the cut on her face...God knows how she got it..n her children have even testified to that.naija people will always believe the person with the first story.yeah men do batter but i dont believe the guy did in this case.this is just an example of a woman ruining a man just because she can.as for desmond, i dont think he gave a press statement.from what i read, it was just twitter....and he is entitled to state his opinion especially if it will save the innocent party.i hope the children speak up soon...i rest my case,shekina..

Angel said...

pls who is using ANGEL on dis blog to make dat statement abt Desmon? PLS STOP dat, dis is not the 1st and usuall Angel dat normally come on dis blog. kindly look for another name. thank you.

my own point is dat, since the truth cannot be reveal, they should live case for God's judgement, the secret shall one day come to open

Na wa o…..I am assuming Desmond met the guy just last week when he went to Kenya and all of a sudden he knows everything about the situation. Abeg people should know when to shut up and when to talk.

Apparently these are two dysfunctional people that should not be representing the nation anywhere. They should just carry their asses back home…enough of the embarrassing drama.

evadburns said...

Now I know the man is lying. In his account, the woman rushed to get her camera. In his daughter's account, the son Nelson Ikenna, rushed to get the camera. I do not think the children like their mother and it is obvious they are siding with the dad.

Desmond claims he met Ada at the mall, but according to her father, Ada was supposed to be with her mother nursing her at the hospital.

Which is it? They are both lying.

For people saying women are evil. What about men? The things men do, can make a woman kill. You do unto others what you expect others to do onto you. If you kill a woman softly emotionally and mentally, why are men surprised when the woman suddenly kill them in their sleep? Please comot for road.

Anijawife said...

shhhhhhhhhhhh,tell me more stories.God bless our kids but the thuth is kids follow where they know their bread will be buthered even when they know it will be at a great pain to their mother but inner them they know the thruth.

Iam not saying they are right or wrong but there is more to this whole drama.Dont even use children's side of story to conclude on any wife/husband issue,they will only play with whoever they think will pay them!

Both of them should respect themselves and clear their mess without doing further damage.

Desmond or whatever you call yourself you BETTER MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS since when did you become an adjudicator in husband and wife matter? were you there when it happened? your lawyer or publicist should have told you to keep your nose out of this matter as invesitagtions are currently under way. Just mind your own business next time okay and leave it until we hear some more news about this GOT IT nonsense!!!!

The pair of them deserve each other as they are both not telling the truth of what happened. Only the children can come and tell us what happeneded on that faithfull day as the womans injury were really bad!!! To note that both have faced domestic violence from themselves is not an understatement

Arnold Swarz who cheated, he put his office on the line and he ahd been married for yearrrrss
The IMF GUY nko? wasnt he married for years too did it stop him from doing wat he did?
Marriage and social status doesnt stop people from doing foolish things in the heat of the moment or heat of passion!
BAD THINGS HAPPEN RANDOMLY....

shame on d couple,d woman xpecially 4 havin turned their family problem into a public forum....wat happend 2 working things out lyk a family????a good wife is vry necessary ooo

orange said...

Abeg people. I am a woman. But will not support this woman for a million dollar. When she found out that her marriage to the ambassador wasnt working, abeg she should just have taken a walk. she should have left without hassles. I believe its her greed that brought her to this shameful level. She does not want the man but want his money. I do not support wife battering, I also will not support telling lies to look saintly. She does not have to go that far. Information has it that she had separated from the man years ago, but would always walk into the man's house to demand for money and take his cars at will, forcing the man to use taxis sometimes to do go to work. I believe in a a woman keeping her integrity and respect. This woman does not look to me like one with integrity. She is conceited and greedy. Her children attested to that. What other evidence do you need. You can do nothing to keep a pig from getting dirty. I will uphold the cause of womanhood anywhere but not for a greedy and lying woman. I am a proud African woman.

jane said...

its a free world Desmond can air his views and support whoever he likes. a lot of people who have commented have taken sides for or against. i have read all the stories and all the comments my views are this. a lot of these things can be verified so no need for emotions.
1. Was Mrs.Wigwe ever deported from Tokoyo by the Nigerian High commission.
2.does the lady have any proof of previous domestic violence and did she repot it.
3. were the papers her only way to air her story.(why didnt she write to the foriegn affairs in Nigeria.
4. dont they have family members and relatives she could have reported to.
5. why is the public disgrace her only way to seek justice.
6. why did they guy take her back to kenya after her past behaviours.
7. why are their adult children not talking.
there is no need to trade insults on this blog read and think objectively.remember Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

ChichiLuv said...

Desmond Eliot isn't there enough going on in your own home and career to keep you occupied? As a public figure why are you speaking out so openly on other people's domestic dispute? And seemingly taking sides as it is even though you've said other shouldn't do it? MIND YOUR OWN MARRIAGE!

What is Desmond's business in the whole matter sef? Geez.
And not surprisingly, people are so quick to point fingers at the woman as a liar. I can't understand why society always wants to put the blame on the woman. Did she beat herself up??? It is obvious that the man beat her to a bloody pulp, it does not matter who provoked who first or who rushed to take pictures. Domestic violence is never acceptable. As someone who saw a lot of domestic violence as a child, I have a high level of sympathy for all victims. I hope she finds peace.

oscar said...

Desmond I knew you be proper amebo Man. You better respect yourself. If they call you to come and testify against this Woman in court , would you go. How close are you to them, have you been living with them..... this na Husband and wife matter they have children and they are bound to make up anyday. According to the Man the love has evaporated since but they are not officially divorced, they know what they are doing.Both of them need deliverance not only the woman.

When couples wed , Parents and well-wishers usually advice them not to listen to third party when there is fracas.. 'if you want your marriage to last dont listen to third party'.
,. Desmond is a third party he should reserve his defence and advice.Their in-laws are there to interfere or better still the court is there.

Didn't I say this before?. NIGERIANS LOVE TO USE THEIR EMOTIONS TO PASS JUDGMENT INSTEAD OF THEIR INTUITION AND BRAIN. THERE ARE SO MANY LOOSE ENDS ON THE STORY AND THE PICTURES WERE DEFINITELY DOCTORED.
I REFUSE TO JOIN OTHER FOOLISH NIGERIANS TO BELIEVE THIS CRAPPY STORY. THE WOMAN WANTED TO RETALIATE ON THE MAN AND SHE GOT HIM FIRED FROM HIS JOB. GOD DEY

-GBENGA

"No one knows the real truth except the man and his wife." I like that someone said this, but the son gave his own version and people still refused to believe. Many are just ready to hang the man. I read the initial story and wondered, but in reading the Ambassador;s story days later and then the sons, it was all beginning to sound all too familiar. I refuse to believe this woman! Period.

Damisola said...

@Anon 4:17, So a woman that is being battered should not talk again because she would not be a good wife? What kind of horrid mentality is that. When would we stop seeing marriage as a mutual relationship and not a master-slave thing. With the wife being the same of course.
@evadburns GBAM, it seems like in hurrying to take sides no one bothered to compare facts. I was going to oint iut that the man said his daughter was injured. Now Desmond saw her in the mall and she was 'shocked'. Please when did Desmond go to Kenya? Can that be verified?
@Anijawife, you made a strong point as well. Humans are like that. We would pick that side which benefits us the most.

@Jane

4. dont they have family members and relatives she could have reported to.

Many Nigerian women have died waiting for family members to rescue them from their husbands. All they end up saying is be patient or "you too stop doing things that upset him."

Please if your only option is public humiliation so be it. If you are in a society where the cops and the law really care about battery and assault take full advantage. I am yet to see where reporting to family members has helped anyone. Na so so be patient be patient till the man finally kills you.

Obi Eze said...

Chai..I feel so sorry for Desmond now...he has unwittingly opened pandora's box...
In the end, people will eventually forget about Mr. and Mrs. Wigwe, but will forever remember Desmond and will transfer their anger and frustration to him.
And if he ever acts a part where he has to slap someone (as we all know they like slapping themselves in nollywood movies), people will say. "ehen, we knew he was a batterer"...
I no fit laugh, abeg..!!

Either some people here do not understand what is being said by Desmond or Ikenna (the son). Please read very well before you comment. @joicee, you seem to alike of this evil woman. Why would the children lie against their mother? This is the kind of thing you would. @evadburns, you need to read the article to understand what is being said a take note of incidents. Desmond met Ada at the mall days after the incident and not the day of the occurrence. Mrs.Wigwe asked the son to look for her camera while he was trying to clean her with a towel, she refused to have have faced cleaned and instead found camera and took herself pics. How is the lying?