I Left PDP To Save My Marriage - Dora Akunyili | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 April 2011

I Left PDP To Save My Marriage - Dora Akunyili

Former Minister of Information and Communications, Prof. Dora Akunyili, on Thursday said her husband, Dr. Chike Akunyili, forced her to quit the Peoples Democratic Party. Akunyili, who left the PDP last December to contest the Anambra Central Senatorial seat on the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), said her husband could no longer accept the violent nature of the PDP in Anambra State.

She recalled how she called a stakeholders’ meeting of the PDP in Awka in 2010 after the party lost the governorship election, saying developments at the meeting shocked her husband, who gave a choice between her marriage and the PDP. She said some PDP members organised hoodlums, who released teargas cannisters at the meeting venue and sent everyone scampering to safety.

“There and then, my husband asked me to choose between my marriage to him and attending PDP meetings,” she said. Akunyili said in contrast with the situation in the PDP in Anambra State, APGA was fostering peace and unity, fostered by the Anambra State Governor, Mr. Peter Obi" - Punch

21 comments:

what i find interesting are the numerous awards on her wall...

Even Obama doesn't have such...we have a false culture of gratification in Nigeria by presenting awards to important people or ppeople in powerful positions...this ends up making a nuisance of the awards as the pictures clearly reveal.

I think she could have a very tough fight on her hand- she is competing against an incumbent senator who has a very strong record in the senate

Myne said...

Is this a campaign gimmick for the sympathetic women's vote? Good luck to her, she has a great track record.

SiSi London said...

na so ... after chopping money and misyarning tire. abeg this woman should go and lie down somewhere. she came in with good intentions but got distracted so easily

story...

Ugh? Is this what she's saying? *sarcastic laughter here* lol!

Adiya
http://thecornershopng.blogspot.com

Chei money dey Naija o. Even President of the world bank want to be senator in Nigeria.

....abeg park well! If u really wanted to save your marriage you would have left politics. You and your husband knew the pdp was not that strong in anambra state and you wanted a firm platform to ensure victory for the senatorial position in the state all along. I admire your strategy though but I no go buy for fifty kobo! Matter-of-fact go lie down for gutter!

Sissy E said...

@annonymous 9:08,yes oo,money dey for Naija,thats why the likes of joy Emodi wants that position by fire by force..bunch of criminals!!!!!

Lovers guide said...

It's example of true love. True love is all about sacrifices

This lady is MAD!!! corrupt useless woman..yuck!!

VCBMMMMMMMM

Dats a phuckin big lie...,Madam re-branding left PDP cos there was no vacancy..,the PDP members already in NA were given automatic return ticket by d party datz y she had to decamp to APGA.so she shuld jus not play us cos we already kno...

Emeka said...

Prof. Dora Nkem Akunyili is the best candidate from the lot. She won my vote for this seat. Everybody is entitled to his/her vote as well as choice. At least I'm from Anambra Central Senatorial District. Nobody is a saint though.

Dora is lying. What marriage first of all? She and her husband have already found comfort in the arms of others. she left PDP because she wants to chop $1.5million every year for the next 4 years. Ndi Anambra, no let this greedy church rat in o.

Abeg make dis woman siddon..Bloody liar!!She left PDP to further her career as a senator afta failing woefully wiv her stupid rebranding project which cost truckloads of money and got us no where.Afta choopin money and non performance in d ministry of information which she shud av rejected based on her expertise,she learnt d game of politics.

Abeg I lost my interest for dis woman after she wus identified wiv d ill fated yar adua govt.
Liar!!!She knows she'll fare better in APGA for dis senatorial ish bac at the federal level she'll be back wiv PDP..Mmmcheww

Chilling said...

Anon April 9, 2011 10:52 AM; true re-her husband.

She's lying. PDP in Anambra is in tatters and to further her political career, she has to be in the ruling party in the State. Her main aim is to be the Governor. I was told by my mum that she's secured a deal with Peter Obi to succeed him. We'll see.

She can never stay away from the news. When she doesn't read about herself she comes up with drivel.

brown said...

@anon@10.52,1.49
What are you guys talking about ???????
I constantly see them in churh together,very happy for that matter
Are you saying they are keeping up appearances

I really like the woman and believe she had and still has good intentions
Shes a classic example of why good people should never dabble in Nigerian politics
You always come out with your hands soiled.

She is so full of herself,i wish Ngige wins

people, if u dont know, dont say...For your information, she is STILL VERY MUCH WITH her husband and they have not in the words of Anonymous 10:52 found comfort in the arms of others. Haba! We all know how Nigerian politics is so let her be! Lets not forget easily the good things she did at NAFDAC but whatever her intentions for running and under whatever party, leave it to her conscience and let it be between her and her God...

KELE GOLDMIND said...

Myne Whitman,my good friend, she has a great track record in NAFDAC for fighting the drug barons/cabals (agreed), but she soiled her name after that in a number of ways when she became the mouthpiece of an unhealthy government and put her integrity on the line, a good example is the Osun State rerun that she and her cohorts influence when she invited Ayoka Adebayo to Abuja b4 the Result was announced and she went ahead to defend what she didn't know, let her go and save her marriage abeg b4 one Otekwu will save it for her, ..period!