Men rescued from Chilean mine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 October 2010

Men rescued from Chilean mine

The miners emerged like clockwork, jubilantly embracing wives, children and rescuers and looking remarkably composed Wednesday after languishing for 69 days in the depths of a mine that easily could have been their tomb.

The anxiety that had accompanied the final few days of preparation melted away at 12:11 a.m. when the stoutest of the 33 miners, Florencio Avalos, emerged from the missile-like rescue capsule smiling broadly after his half-mile journey to the surface.

Read more

4 comments:

Surprise said...

We thank God for keeping them alive till now. We God for giving the govt. and the rescuers the wisdom to go about the rescue operation. We thank God it did not happen in Nigeria because we would not have been able to know what to. We thank God for keeping the families of the victims. To God be the glory

Prism of an Immigrant said...

@Surprise, you are very right. I doubt naija can pull off something like this. First, the government would allocate a ridiculous amount of money, lets say 17 billion naira for the rescue operation. Then they share the money among their greedy butts n deposit it in their foreign accounts..shewwwwww

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com/

Ade_Cool said...

Really remarkable..the power of God and the resilience of mankind..to think a former international footballer is one of those in the mines..shows how life is full of ups and downs..and it's the ability to overcome one's downfall that makes you a complete person!!

skankmypeaceofmind said...

if these men were trapped in naija......they should just sleep and die because the government would help them conclude that they are dead.