Genevieve NOT hosting African Music Awards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 October 2010

Genevieve NOT hosting African Music Awards

After all the publicity, Genevieve Nnaji won't be hosting the Africa Music Awards taking place today in London.

I got the below from her twitter page this morning.

...Gorning my beloved tweEVEs!!! TGIF!! :D. I'm sure some of u in the UK r wondering if I'm around for d AMA tonight. I'm sorry but I'm not.

...I agreed to host the show, signed a contract and even publicly announced my participation on a tv program in the uk last time I was there.. 

...mostly because I wanted an opportunity to meet some of u 1on1 at the show. Unfortunately the organizers wr unable to fulfill any of.. 

...their obligations even to the last minute which is this morning. (Eg; no ticket arrangements). At this point I feel partially used..

...to publicize the show and I owe it to u guys to explain my absence. I try to be professional in everything that I do, but sometimes...

...u come across those who do not share the same principles. I'm really sorry guys :) But on a brighter note, ZAFAA is coming up on the 22nd

12 comments:

BB said...

At least she's cleared it up. Wow, AMA - disappointing!!!

helen said...

U see how some business pple run their businesses down....after now, they will come nd tell us that Genevieve Nnaji is proud nd cannot even honour an agreement.....hiss!!!

jobsfornaija said...

eya, sorry !

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

genevieve is very principled and smart, and it's stupid that the organizers (obviously impoverished benefits claiming ppl) living in the uk thought they cud mess her up...but she outdid them...good girl! they always do this, advertise, then when it's time to pay up...they end up talking shit bout u. i think genevieve had seen other examples and that's why she required they fulfill their obligations before time...and they didn't.

Dlapikin said...

I'm sure this is some divaesque bullshit she tried to pull...

Demi said...

such a shame!

Surprise said...

The genny has a seductive look biko

@Dplapkin

It is "divaesque" to ask that the other party meet their obligations?

Obviously the whole thing was disorganized or how do you explain a change of venue a day before the event?

tplusf said...

i still love her.... :D

The event has been so hyped when in fact it was just a bunch of idiots running around. Genevieve has her own issues but this show should never have been hyped by blogs

JUST BEING ME said...

Good thing she cleared the air before rumours begin to fly out o!

She is looking beautiful.

The 'organisers' of this event did not even pay the VENUE which is why it was moved from Wembley. Good on her for figuring it out before hand .... and avoiding attending a big mess!