Speaking at the meeting, Osibanjo said the ultimatum by a group of Arewa youths could not be ignored and would not be tolerated as the hate speeches if not stopped, could throw the nation into serious crisis. The acting president in his speech, said:
"As a government, we are determined to ensure the unity of the country along the lines of our Constitution and I want to say that hate and divisive speech or divisive behaviour where it is illegal will be met with the full force of the law. I want to ensure that there is no doubt at all that it is the resolve of the government that none will be allowed to get away with making speeches that can cause sedition or that can cause violence. This is especially because when we make these kinds of pronouncement and do things that can cause violence or destruction of lives and property, we are no longer in control. Those who make those speeches are no longer in control. So I want to emphasize that government will take very seriously any attempts to cause violence or disrupt the peace of this country. And that is very important because you cannot control violence once it begins. These days, wars do not end and I am sure that those who have seen or experienced war in any shape or form will not wish it on their worst enemies. This is not a time to retreat behind ethnic lines, moments like this are not for isolating ourselves. I want to urge all of us here and the entire Nigerian populace to come together and work together" he said.
Osinbajo will first meet the Northern and South East leaders separately on different days this week and then meet them together afterwards.
Present at his meeting with the Northern leaders today were Bukola Saraki; Speaker of the House of Representative, Yakubu Dogara; Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Gabriel Olonishakin; Chairman of Arewa Consultative Forum and former Inspector-General of Police, Ibrahim Comassie, spokesperson of the Northern Elders Forum Prof. Ango Abdullahi, former governor of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamako, former deputy governor of Plateau State, Pauline Tallen; Publisher of Leadership Newspapers, Sam Ndah-Isaiah and others.
27 comments:
Well.. I have nothing to say now.. Let's see how it goes .
Gbam!
U correct my vice. Say no to Violence ..we are 1...
That's explains it all cos if na Biafrans now? Massive arrests would have been carried out... Biafra is unstoppable
My Igbo brethren residing in the North, please do not listen to these lip service speeches by our so called govt. You all should start relocating now to avoid stories that touch the heart. Our lives is in our hands and not in the hands of the FG because they don't care at all. They will do nothing to stop those Nama who has no value for life called the Northern youths by the time they start carrying out their threats. A word is enough for the wise.
I hate closed door meetings.
The Northern youths seem to forget that there are also hausas living in d east n if nything shud go wrong those ones will become victims of retaliation. But no! Dey have not forgotteN. They are well aware, and why do dey continue to agitate? Because they are selfish individuals who care abt nothing but themselves and what one political demon has put in their pockets. As a notherner who grew up in Rivers State I say dis...please please please!My fellow Nigerian brothers and sisters, do not! I repeat, do not! Let urselves become pawns in the nonsense political games these demons are playing. It has nothing to do with us and it will only benefit dem. Dey do and say these things because they knw there are gullible ones within us, please do not let dem use u. War and violence is not a funny thing and it is much worse wen u experience it than wen u watch it on tv. May God punish anyone whosE aim is to destroy unity n coz havoc in our beloved country. I know we have our issues but does that mean we shud entertain more?? Anybody who doesnt want to see igbo in the north or hausa in d east shud close their eyes n leave nigerian citizens be.
And where were u wen dey arrested the youth leaders that made the statement. Please stop fanning hot coal to create more heat.
Says a man chilling in lagos preparing to go to either ladipo, alaba international or trade fare market..yeye de smell.
You said it all my brother. This is so sad
Enter your comment...Story Story, Story Nonsense northerners
I'm still watching to see the arrest .the speach made by arewa is more than what put nnamdi kalu 2yrs in kuje prison, up till today no arrest. Nigerian law is made for some groups. We are watching" one Nigeria .
I support u dearly...federal government only cares about theirs and always makes promises they can't fulfil
If We Can Ban Social Media Nigeria Will Be Better-Minister Of Foreign Affairs
For me I would advise any igbo man who values his life to leave the north and come to the south.Don't blame oshinbajo for any mayhem being perpetrated northerners because we know that all the security apparatus is in their hands.
We have a true leader in our VP Osibanjo. Even if he didn't mean his statement as to how our leaders do, for d fact he said it out, him do well... The northerners should be on check.
.....meanwhile what the fuck is Pauline Tallen doing there? Stupid,greedy woman
Come my friend if you do not have anything to say .. just keep shut. U are a serious agent of war and trouble. Instead of you helping the world by bring peace, your are there talking about igbos coming back. AGENTS OF CONFUSSION & WAR
You think it's easy to just pack and relocate Abi ,leave all their lives behide
Mr president you have spoken too well like a good president. But we should all stop pretending like all is well or we are one Nigeria. Yorubas and Igbos know that this Country is going to divide someday. Northerners always believe they are born to rule and the country belongs to them. The only way all regions Yuroba, igbo and Hausa can Grow too well is to divide in a peaceful way. Let Northerner be ruling and killing them self since they believe killing and ruling is they culture.
Shut up.mumu.
Why behind close doors. He should go on live tv to say it so jobless Hausa people will hear it.
1. Why was this 1914 marriage conducted?
2. Why the northern remains one why in the colonialists divided the south into south west and south east. Is it not to enthrone the north?
3. Why did M.k abiola imprisoned even after wining the freest and fairest election in Nigeria history. Would such happen if alhaji bashir tofa of NRC probably won or if ibb rigged election in his favour?
4. Why was Ken sari wiwa killed? Was it wrong for him to cry for the oil spirage in ogoni land? For defending his people?
5. Why was asari duko detained underground for two years and was tagged to be causing conflict while herdsmen gets thump up for slaughter.
6. Why would nnamdi KANU be unlawful detained for 2 years for speaking against injustice and marginalization on south east and south south while boko harram leader shekua will get billions from unconstitutional swapping of terrorist with chibok girls? We need to discuss this CCN.
7. Why did the Fg separated the oil rich south from south east and almost succeeded in making two brothers fight and hate each other? Just to protect their oil well there.
8. The north in the 24 July 1967 coup or so wanted the north be a single nation free from south. Why did they turned back and started shouting the delusion slogan ONE NIGERIA which the south earlier championed?
9 why did Gowon made a u turn on aburi accord.
We need to discuss on this issues if you are not partial
Be sincere if you are not created by northern oligarchy and hegemony to sought words from igbos
1. Why was this 1914 marriage conducted?
2. Why the northern remains one why in the colonialists divided the south into south west and south east. Is it not to enthrone the north?
3. Why did M.k abiola imprisoned even after wining the freest and fairest election in Nigeria history. Would such happen if alhaji bashir tofa of NRC probably won or if ibb rigged election in his favour?
4. Why was Ken sari wiwa killed? Was it wrong for him to cry for the oil spirage in ogoni land? For defending his people?
5. Why was asari duko detained underground for two years and was tagged to be causing conflict while herdsmen gets thump up for slaughter.
6. Why would nnamdi KANU be unlawful detained for 2 years for speaking against injustice and marginalization on south east and south south while boko harram leader shekua will get billions from unconstitutional swapping of terrorist with chibok girls? We need to discuss this CCN.
7. Why did the Fg separated the oil rich south from south east and almost succeeded in making two brothers fight and hate each other? Just to protect their oil well there.
8. The north in the 24 July 1967 coup or so wanted the north be a single nation free from south. Why did they turned back and started shouting the delusion slogan ONE NIGERIA which the south earlier championed?
9 why did Gowon made a u turn on aburi accord.
We need to discuss on this issues if you are not partial
Be sincere if you are not created by northern oligarchy and hegemony to sought words from igbos
She's one of the imbeciles giving relevance to the Hausa agenda in the Middle Belt. Whore of Babylon working against her own people.