The group said this in a statement released after its executive meeting in Enugu state yesterday.
In the statement which was signed by its Secretary General, Okwu Nnabuike, the group said
“it is Igbo president 2019 or Biafra 2020”. They alleged that the Igbos have been unjustly denied the seat of power for many years and that it is time they are allowed to become president or the calls for the Biafra nation will be actualized. The statement in part reads "It is sheer injustice and hatred, a situation where no Igbo has been allowed close to the seat of power for decades of years, whereas other geo-political zones have been taking turns either as military or civilian presidents. More annoying is the fact that the North, a major beneficiary in this direction has bluntly refused to heed the call for restructuring, which has been identified as the panacea to the many socio-political problems plaguing the nation. Besides, they have also not only continued to express disdain over the demand for Biafra by IPOB and MASSOB, but have also ordered Ndigbo out of the North based on these agitations. Remember that former President Obasanjo had urged Nigerians to beg Biafra agitators and only Nigeria president of Igbo extraction will appease Igbos or Biafra agitation will be inevitable. If there is any conspiracy against President of Igbo extraction, that will surely bring Biafra into existence. One now wonders why Ndigbo will continue to be treated in this manner. Two days ago, the acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo re-echoed the fact that Nigeria is in a marriage. He was quoted as saying that our nation has been in marriage for a while now. Sometimes, there are quarrels within that marriage. Sometimes there is disagreement. What is important is that you must remain together. You must remain united. It does appear from the above that Ndigbo have perpetually remained the sacrificial lamb to keep this forced marriage together. They have remained victims of an abusive marriage, often beaten, cheated by the husband. We have resolved today that this grave injustice cannot continue. It is Igbo presidency in 2019 with a Vice President from the North or nothing. We are not ready any longer to be treated with levity and disdain in this country and for that we are calling on all Igbo sons and daughters both at home and in the Diaspora to key into this project”.
42 comments:
It's totally completely unfair to deny the Igbo's the seat of power for so many years haba! I mean the Igbo's are one of the major language in Nigeria yet they are being treated like a non citizen. Enough of that discrimination,but then again the Igbo's are the problems to themselves,they are divided for selfish reasons but hey biafra can never be a reality,they had better wake up from that dream! #OneNigeria.
When elections comes and an Igbo is voted in fine but otherwise nothing the Igbos can do,presidency is not based on appointments.Moreover I don't think Nigerians trust Igbos enough as to vote them into power.
So, afterwards, what will happen? The positions you have now, what are you guys doing with it? So many questions, so many head scratching...... so agitation has no focus!!!!!!!!
Nominate an Igbo man democratically acceptable to Nigerians. That's all.
Good for them. The ibos must remain united for them to produce a President in this country.
I know that these Igbos are not serious. They are very opportunistic. That is all they want; Igbo presidency and they are ready to destroy Nigeria in order to achieve it. They should let them go and let us see if they can make it on their own. They are a bunch of thieves; claiming Lagos as their own and trying to claim south south as part of their territory. Maybe they did not know it; they are a landlocked nation.
Well said only ibo man can change these country for better.
Ur a fool , only an Igbo can save Nigeria, but as for me am done I want my Biafra so in five year we would achieve what you people can't achieve in 60years . All hail Biafra
Good point! But the selfish Northerners who believe they are born to rule wouldn't accept this. They are still angry and unhappy that asinbajo his becoming president of Nigeria pretty soon. The best is Yuroba, igbo to go they way, face they faith. And for those of u condemning igbo Pls stop you no anything about them. Every tribes have they own Good side and Bad side. It better to give them a try.
What's ever we would go in peace
I don't blame u. U are a product of a drunk dad & a harlot mom.
U people should allow them go...let them go and create their biafra country with their undevelop land...if igbo man become president..they will sell this country to china..or muslim country as long as money is involve...listen to this...why do u want northern vice president..?becus u guys know hausa re not too intelligent..and u can easily manipulate tbem.to ur dubious scheme..apart fr importing fake goods and kidnapping..and carrying drugs..what really impart has the igbo do..the first coup in Nigeria was carry out by a igbo man...u guys dont even love ur self...the elite among the igbos..use the poor masses to achieve his aim and the moment he is up tnere he blend and mingle...igbo youth pls dont be use dont get killed for somebody else gain...there kids are all over europe..american..canada..what ve they really done..tell them to go develops the land they want u to come settle in..good roads....eletricity..infratrution..industrys..free education...houses..good hospitals...agriculture...and many more
.if all this is put in place..then we talk Biafra...or presidency...if not they should all shut up...ojukwu try and run away...his young wife is still enjoying ur foolishness...pls igbo youth be wise...
Then you will have to wait until Jesus comes that's one the other is ask the igbo's to present a candidate for 2019 there will be so much in fighting that by the time of election no candidate would have emerged they are not united so it's practically impossible for them to come together again you old the economic power of the nation what do you want the presidency for forget it it can't happen
This just confirms that the igbos are Politically naive. Please this is not like Eze Ndigbo titles that you dash people for money. Presidency is by election! Go form a political party first. Foolish, ignorant people.
You are one stupid faggot for these statements. Who the hell are you to judge an entire people because of your animalistic bias against them. People like you have a lot of hate running through your veins. Even Maggots aren't as disgusting as the products of your brain
Are these youths naive? Presidency is not a medal you award automatically, there has to be an election and all? Why are these people talking like illiterates?
I think you are all scared a highly educated man in the name of Osibajo who is loved by Yorubas, Hausas and even the Niger deltas may be voted as the next president of Nigeria and your hate for every other tribe is driving this. Present an Igbo man if you can ever agree amongst yourselves and contest as this is a democratic country. The northerners are times three the no of people in other parts of the country as they tend to have lots of children due to polygamy... Yorubas also have a large population as well as Niger deltas and Yorubas cooperate with each other and other tribes. You cannot demand to be handed the presidency on a platter of Gold. You have to be deplomatic.
Yet again they will come under the comment and start shouting SHARRAP THERE.
Okorocha who seems like a correct Igbo man is hated by you Igbo people instead you choose a fraud Kanu. I tire mennnn
Anon 11.39 tell them oh.. Thank you
So who will vote for an Igbo presidency apart from their minority lot? Or them think say na by appointment? Awon olofo!!!
Exactly.., due process needs to be followed.. However igbos don't trust each other and even the Igbo servant in his Igbo masters shop wants to be president
Why are Igbo people so insultive ahaaaa big sighhhh. How would you communicate with foreigners you don't agree with??? Insults???
So what sacrifices have you made to get presidency.
Exapmles of sacrifices ---- develop you place and stop going to north or west for business(helping to develop those place develop yours). The ibo people were the Chinese of those days(early 80's)
Have foresight, have a leader # a good leader one that can die for a just cause #Awolowo , MKO.
hash tag just saying...
I don't think the northerners are the ones denying the igbos of that position. It's a southern problem and until the south comes together to speak with one voice this marginalization will still continue.
Must you call us foolish,people like you are the reason this country is not moving forward because of so much hatred for another.Nigeria will never move forward till we learn to love and accept others.May God give us the heart to love our neighbour as ourselves.Amen
Present one none criminally minded Igbo candidate.
Your mother is ignorant. If you don't have anything to say, don't make a big fool out of yourself.
Hmm... An igbo man as president? He wouldn't mind to use this country for trade by barter
No matter the agitations worldwide, igbos are not ready for Presidency or even referedum for the following reasons:
1. The are not united in any way no matter the deceptive ways they unite. All man for himself is the way of the igbo man till date. They envy each other and will do everything possible to bring each other down.
2. They are conceited, self-centered and selfish by nature. The only reason an igbo man will give you water is because he hopes to drain your ocean tomorrow.
3. They deliberate pull each other down. If this is a lie, ask them to nominate a man for others to support and you will see for yourself that all of them clamoring for power are all individually interested in power for their selfish gains. Rochas Okorocha has not hidden his "ambition", Uzor Kalu dey there patiently like a vulture bidding his time, Capital Oil boss, even the so called Nnamdi Kanu who did not witness Biafra and is not aware that his people are still suffering from the aftermath of it is hungry for power,Uwazurike dey there too etc and none would want to bow for the other no matter what. But hausa will take the decision to choose a man and stand by it.
4. Those Igbo boys involved in drug trafficking, scam and kidnapping, are some of their relations not billionaires? Are there no wealthy men who can give unemployed iigbo youth cash to start business without indirectly taking x10 of what they gave?
Look at how under developed igboland is and tell yourselves the truth e.g take a good look at Rochas Okoracha's administration. He is an Imo indigene who flies private jet yet if you go to his village, you will still see one of his close relatives living in a hut; same goes for "billionaire" Iwayanwu etc. Most of them are philanthropists but go to their kindred and see things for yourself, mtcheeeews. This is where the hausa and yoruba man differs. Have you noticed the power the leaders of other tribes wield without lifting a finger?
Just 10 (even 10 is too much) igbo men can effortlessly develop the igbo nation but will they do it? No!!!, so what are we talking about? Go to Nnewi and see how a wealthy man tars the road to only his compound while leaving even his own blood brother out. Was it not Ngige who tarred the road to that stupid rich OBJ's boy from Uga? Ask OBJ, he knows the igbos very well.
I am igbo but detest igbos like HELL.
If I were these "igbo spokesmen" and agitators both home and abroad, I will focus on developing the igbos and the region to start with rather than waste my time and life for nothing.
Ojukwu actually fought a good course but that shoe is too big for any of them to step into it, I tell you. if na lie, just flash cash and watch the so called leaders prove they are igbos.
You want Presidency yet your own blood brothers wallow in poverty and penury; you give "scholarships" all over the place to perpetrate your names but yet you have more illiterate in your lineage; you support people openly with money then turn round to drink their blood in your cults without any trace of it to you.
The day an igbo becomes Nigeria's President, I will personally sell myself to another country poorer than Nigeria.
Go and learn from the HAUSA AND YORUBA FIRST. Then go and develop the igbo nation so that your youths will remain at home, then you can talk of Presidency or "REFERENDUM"
Igbos are their own problem and until they solve it, they will remain where they are.
Anon15:46and 14:59. You people are really ignorant now, or how else do you want Nigerians to describe the Igbos with all these your nonsense agitations.
That's exactly what this country needs now,they should sell her off!!people are really suffering....don't know why some people are so scared of igbos.
What a brainless talk.
Another bunch of hungry faceless mofos masquerading as igbo youth. Who presidency epp? Look @ the situation of the north that had the presidency all this while... All we need is total restructuring of Nigeria
He would first of all legalise hard drugs (like cocaine, heroine, etc. then kidnap the country for ransome, and finally use the country for money rituals.
Don't give pigs presidency oo. They are cursed oo, let them go to their cursed biafraud land oo
But wait..to all those who keep making our seat of presidency a thing of tribe. What does being a good leader and turning things for better have to do with the tribe of a person. Why does the seat of authority hav to be rotated amongst tribes instead of visionaries that can actually do d job. Dis is why we keep goin wrong thinkin we can practice democracy properly. So now lets say der is a better ebira man, but bcz igbo or igala or tiv has not tasted the sit we should forget him and giv one of the less competent ones?? This is sadly our way of thinkin...dis is how u pull urself backwards. Everytime pple talk abt the seat of presidency like this all i hear is the sqauck of greedy vultures who just want to eat their own and go. Until we change the way we think n stop treating dat seat of authority as if it is an amusement park ride we will never b in a better place.
Senseless talk from a brainless drinker of raw cow milk
What is south- South and South east... yuroba and hausa are the one making two brothers to fight in the name oil. Na God go punish that person that bring up south south and south east.
TRUE
What is south- South and South east... yuroba and hausa are the one making two brothers to fight in the name of oil specially Northerners. Na God go punish that person that separate Southerners in to TWO PART as south south and south east.
You're simply a fool if you think South south and South East are the same, typical Igbo brain, greedy and cunning.