Zambia Police officers have been banned from marrying foreigners | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Zambia Police officers have been banned from marrying foreigners

Police in Zambia have been banned from marrying foreigners. This is according to a memo released by the Inspector General of Police. The memo, dated 11 January, said those who were already married to foreigners should declare it within a week and failure to do so would attract disciplinary action.

Police spokeswoman Esther Katongo confirmed the memo, saying that a standing order had been issued, notifying police officers of the measure, but that the ban itself was not new. It was being reinforced because some police officers had started ignoring it.

"Issues of security are delicate. If not careful, spouses can be spies and can sell the security of the country. There are a few officers who have started marrying foreigners. They are ignoring the previous requirement and this is why another standing order has been passed to remind officers what they are supposed to do and not supposed to do," Katongo said.

Asked why such measures were necessary, Ms Katongo said: "When you get married, they say that you are one. You know what marriage is - you share secrets. And you can tell officers 'do not disclose' but you have no control. You won't be in their homes to always check on them. The security of the nation is what is paramount."

20 comments:

Na hin be say those ones wey dey plan to marry foreigner for paper no fit do am again. If they carry dis law go Nigeria alot of people will commit suicide after all d suffering Buhari don dash dem

"Issues of security are delicate. If not careful, spouses can be spies and can sell the security of the country"

To some extent I quite agree with the reason for such measure, desperate situations call for desperate measures.

HMMMMMMMMMMMM

Hrm Paul said...

Abeg were Zambia dey. Zambia na name of a dog or a name of a Monkey.useless people poverty stricken people who wan marry dem

Nonsense. The should also tell their citizens not to interact with foreigners. What of a military personnel marries their own and the wife has a foreign buddy?

Make them let them marri who they like na. na wa for the tafia IG o.

hmm

Their wahala,,naija wahala don do me

VEEKEE FRESH said...

Hmmmm.... Nor b small thing

Shelterlovely@gmail.com said...

Spies For what?who is interested in Uganda you guys don't have anything to do

Shelterlovely@gmail.com said...

Spies For what?who is interested in Uganda you guys don't have anything to do

Good for their country

DNig3r1@nCh1ld said...

Rubbish!

Which currency is Zambia using. I don't believe that there is any country that is thinking about Zambia because I don't think they have anything to offer. So they should better think of their economy period.

Me? a 100% blooded Nigerian woman will never marry a Zambian man.

Hmmmmmmm

sholetoga said...

Simply means they've got enough women to go round.......kwakwakwa......lol

Abeg they need it for security purpose... dee

Accordingly to the the police spokesperson "Ms" Katongo what does that tell u? If Zambian men are not marrying their women who would now marry them.I think we should adopt the same in Nigeria

the Mrs said...

Hrm Paul I am a Zambian married to a Nigerian and have children together. So I am and my children who are half Nigerian and half Zambian dogs? Watch your mouth you sound very stupid and uneducated.