Jury awards £1 million compensation to pupil who had to urinate in a bucket because teacher refused to allow her use the toilet | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 January 2017

Jury awards £1 million compensation to pupil who had to urinate in a bucket because teacher refused to allow her use the toilet

A 19-year-old girl has been awarded £1 million by a jury in compensation for being forced to urinate in a bucket while she was a student at Patrick Henry High School in San Diego, California.

The girl who was 14-years-old at the time of the incident had requested for permission from her teacher to use the bathroom, however, the teacher, Gonja Wolf, who thought the school had a strict 'no bathroom breaks during class' policy told her she could not go and suggested she use a bucket in the supply room.

The pupil reportedly took the option of urinating in the bucket and flushing it down a sink. This she claims led to her being humiliated and bullied in school to the point that she became depressed and attempted suicide. She sued the school after it rejected a claim for £20,000.

The school's district attorney, Katheryn Martin, told the court that the teacher had not intended to humiliate the pupil and referred to Ms Wolf's suggestion to the girl as a "lapse of judgment which she thought was a good idea".

The pupil was awarded £1 million in compensation plus £32,500 to cover medical expenses. The school was not satisfied with the decision reached by the jury and are considering appealing the judgement, as revealed by a spokesperson for the school district.

15 comments:

haha

i wish i was among the urinators...lol
Signed
LibBadBoy

Lesson to all those teachers out there especially in Nigeria who are fond of not letting students go to the bathroom because it's not at a convenient time. Just free the student.Its nothing in the scheme of schemes .

The student was awarded 1 million pounds sterling in the US????

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Wow!

Good for her.

www.ckjacob.com

ENE BIBI said...

Haaaaaaaa, I guess I could also sue Aunty Maggie's primary school, Makurdi for the time when I peed on myself in Primary 2 because the teacher wouldn't let me go out till it was break time.

Does the fact that this was about 19 years ago count? Lmao.. Oyibo get time o

Still On Still said...

OK... Congrats

Abeg wey bucket make I shit inside! Hahahahaha!

The most expensive urine ever

Stupid Vivian Reginalds, go get ur own blog

Kate said...

Wow.....am happy for her

Really observant. Just noticed after you mentioned

For the teachers and that girl and all the teased and the teasers and most importantly for those parents who want to avoid that their own children would tease or be teased, I propose the books of Arno Gruen ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arno_Gruen ) who sees the problem as of course sad, but also politically dangerous for all of us, and given in some cultures as they have become, but not in all ones, therefore avoidable, by respecting the heraditary human nature and its signals from the birth on. w.voll@t-online.de Berlin.