IDPs in New Kuchigworo camp, Abuja, accuses leaders of selling some of the items donated to them | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 2 November 2015

IDPs in New Kuchigworo camp, Abuja, accuses leaders of selling some of the items donated to them

The Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) made the accusation on Sunday, November 1, when members of Advertising Practitioners Association Abuja Chapter visited the camp to make donations.

Confirming the allegation that those in charge of the camp sell some of the items donated to them by Nigerians and corporate organizations, one of the IDPs, told Vanguard that the leaders, especially
from the Gwoza camp usually take the advantage of the far distance of IDPs in the Bauchi camp and other far away camps to hoard their share of the donations and sell them to food sellers and sometimes to the real owners when they are faced with food scarcity.
     "It is true that most of the donations made to us are not getting to us. They sell some of the gift items to people. What the leaders do is that they sell some to the food items to food sellers and those that care to buy. Some IDPs too, sell theirs after collecting their share when they need money." he said
Other IDPs who spoke to Vanguard also confirmed the allegation and called on government to address their plight without further delay.

25 comments:

I hope they fix this

If it is true...then dats insanity.....

Just imagine this

Phew! its quite unfortunate, some people can even steal from the devil.
The last time I visited the internally displaced people here in Abuja,I made sure I gave what I brought directly to the people affected, not the first people who presented themselves.

Stealing from de poor and needy?
Hmmmmmm
Nawa 4 some people ooo
God hv mercy on his people
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Corrupt officials every where dis is y Nigeria stil remain under developed.

Why would they do that. Its bad if it really happened.

Trendyify said...

it's possible

it is well

SMURF said...

Nigerians always look for any means to mak quick money!!

Nawa ooo I believe dis it must be true bcus I knw our people can do it,what kind of a thing is dis nahhh so unfair.....mstchhhheeewwww

There's enough blame to go around.Some hearless souls that are in charge of distributing it to the IDPs normally sell it to other people @ a subsidized rate.
The IDPs too sell theirs to others to earn quick cash.
The Donors haven't really put things in place to ensure accountability. I blame the state govt actually for the tupsey turvey way things are going in in those camps.Its a shame!

If these allegations are indeed genuine, Then I fear for the future of those heartless and inconsiderate people who are into this shameful acts because the laws of life won't joke around when they come back to hit reality into these perpetrators. Insha Allah.

I'm not surprised. Na heartless people go try such. Linda take note!

I HAVE SAID IT...BOKO HARAM MEANS...KILLING OF THE PEOPLE BY THEIR PEOPLE AND FOR THEIR PEOPLE....NORTHERN ELITES AND LEADERS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THESE....BUT NOT THE WHOLE COUNTRY IS PAYING THE ULTIMATE PRIZE...KC SAY SO.

Nigerian Sexual Health Blog said...

This same thing is happening in IDPs in the northeast. NEMA is becoming part of the problem instead of a solution.

This is height of Corruption.

How much they will get from selling them,if it Is true

I don't believe such allegation, but this is naija anything can happened

How much they will get from selling them,if it Is true

BELIEVABLE. ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE 4 NAIJA

Aboki will never seize to amuse me...

Mr. I fight corruption, hope you'll do something abt dis....

This is so unfair. Heartless people.

The way these refugees are treated will show you that man has lost some of his humanity!