Discomfort, ​a​nger as collapse​d Ikem ​bridge cuts off Enugu, Benue, Ebonyi communities | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 November 2015

Discomfort, ​a​nger as collapse​d Ikem ​bridge cuts off Enugu, Benue, Ebonyi communities

The collapse of the Ikem bridge, which is at Ebonyi River in Isi-Uzo local government area of Enugu state, has caused untold hardship for commuters in communities within Enugu, Benue and Ebonyi states, with some people having to actually swim in order to get to their destinations.
The hanging bridge, built by the Nigeria army shortly after the civil​ war, finally caved in when a Dangote truck carrying 900 bags of cement tried to pass through...

Many communities in Enugu, Ebonyi, Benue have been cut off & Commuters traveling from Ehamufu to Enugu now terminate their journeys at different ends of the river and swim across to continue their journey.

74 comments:

He has entered gbese

Buhari that bridge need CHANGE

My goodness, this is horrible and terrible! Where are the government officials, sleeping on duty as always abi??? Smh 9ja suppose don pass this level o,it is well in the well.

Buhari that bridge needs CHANGE

My goodness, this is horrible and terrible! Where are the government officials, sleeping on duty as usual abi??? Smh 9ja suppose don pass this level o,it is well in the well.

Oh! I pray d govt come to their rescue asap so dat dis wouldn't slow down economy activities.

Ehhhyyyaaa govermnt pls do something 4 d ppl abeg and as 4 u dangote nahh only to dey damage damage property u sabi 4 dis country,dis time around the damage touch u small..... #hiss

Did you say Dangote truck?

Oya Oga Dangote, do the needful and fix that bridge ASAP!

eyahhh! Govt should come to their rescue

And it has to be Dangote truck. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

I know that bridge

Wetin dis yeye heavy truck find cross that kain small bridge...mtchew!

This is so bad.. Government ain't doing anything. That's d more reason Biafra needs to go so that they can concentrate on their own and fix things. We ain't making any progress United.

Oya Dangote, do something ASAP! I know say na government duty, but na your truck finally spoil am. Besides, you sabi our politicians. Them fit to not send that bridge o.

This is so bad.. Government ain't doing anything. That's d more reason Biafra needs to go so that they can concentrate on their own and fix things. We ain't making any progress been United as one Nigeria .

Hehehe Oga Dangote oya fast fast go and repair what you've damaged

This is really a big mess...

So bad,the bridge they built wasn't good enough,something must be done to help people to get to their destination. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Not a big deal, dangote shld use his billions to fix the bridge. Gbam.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

This country self

Dangote shuld construct a new bridge for dem sinple...

Gbagan lobatan

Dis is serious

See gobe. Can Buhari help? I doubt.

They need not worry, since it was spoilt by a Dangote truck, they should channel their grievances to the Oga at the top.

Oya make Mr Aliko Dangote start repairs asap

It's only God that will punish that dangote driver! Why will he carry a house and pass on a wooden bridge for chris sake! Dangote drivers don't have reason! I think he gives them some kind of drugs or something there must be an explanation coz that's how they drive recklessly killing people everyday! And dangote won't give a care about this. Stupid people. I'm calm

But, must these heavy weighing trucks ply every route?
Orikwa egwu!

Lord!what's dangote company and the states affected governors doing bout this? Unnecessary hardship! Nigerians don't deserve this

Holus Baba said...

900 bags on that old bridge...na wa for the driver!

We really need help from federal government in that road because we are really suffering

My dear now I know that you are indeed doing a great work here. That Is my place the most, sometimes I do ask whether we still belong to Nigeria or we are from another country because there is no presence of government in that place. That road is a federal road but for ages now we have been suffering in that road

In nigeria my father's land, if something no spoil finish we kno go repair am. We have 3 problem in dis country. POLITICIAN, POLICE AND PHCN

mizsweerez said...

Something need to be done...
Hope nobody was hurt

mizsweerez said...

Something need to be done...
Hope nobody was hurt

Hope nobody died..d bridge bn there scince '60s n becoming a link connecting major parts in deplorable state without reconstruction or repairs then smth like will definitely happen 1 day..#worever....

Kels417 said...

Hmmm what a loss for the business person

Nna somebody should do something about this real gud...

Over to you Dangote

Hope no life was lost

Dangote is a killer disease, anywhere they enter people die, ndi ogwu ego.

Am only here to read B.W.B's comments. U get wat I mean...

Dangote trucks be causing accident everywhere... December don reach. thank God no life was lost. Government should put d bridge in order

Fan Emmanuel said...

Swim ke! With which boat? Ngwanu buhari osetia...

*Linda's best friend*

SMH,i hope something is done about it soon.

Nawa o

lami said...

Dangote should fix it.

Smh...They don't have entrepreneurial spirit/brain at all,so nobody can make boats and be crossing pple at a token pending the time the bridge ll be fixed abi..Lmao!!they shld continue swimming

tinko design services said...

Truck with 900 bags of cement! That truck driver no try at all aba.

So what next fir the poor rural dwellers now cut off

Is that a river or flood smh

Just look at this bridge collapse like mush! After 6 yrs of Goodluck Jonathan's reign as president, he didn't do a single thing for the SE and its the same SE that are crying for him and wanting him to continue to set them back. Can someone say Stockholm syndrome? Its only in Nigeria that this kind of foolishness persist. Somebody that you all should be chasing away like disease. Instead you are calling him you "hero.". Very sad for Nigerians. smh

okwy said...

Chai! this is unfortunate.

What a loss..

Blame it on the fucking Truck.

Ewww this is very bad. Government should com to their aid oh.

Dangote again? All his trucks and tankers causing traffic in Oyigbo PH..#AnonymousIgbogal

Too bad.. Govt shud pls look into it

Devilish Boko Haram people they have come to destroy our properties in East

Martins said...

Perhaps the bridge would have been tired from un-relentless passage by heavy duty trucks. Now, caving in was the only answer to its pains and discomforts.

The bridge was like, ' You better not clamour for war again and build a bridge of unity'. Lol...

Wow
I can imagine what dey re goin tru
Government shld pls assist dem
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Dangote trucks everytime!!! Haba! When will this man's truck stop bringing hardship on people sef?

True talk...

customauctioncars said...

cheap cars for sale. see more here: www.customauctioncars.blogspot.com

Why are you blaming the drivers who are simply doing their work. They are following directions. Blame Dangote that upon all his money he is taking shortcut. Blame the federal government that cannot establish rail system in the east for heavy duty transportation N even for commute.
To tell you the truth there is a lot of problems in Nigeria N being outside of Nigeria has shown me that resolving issues start with the top.
Dangote buses N trailers have had so much accidents over the years. What has been done about it? Nobody is calling Dangote for a meeting or holding him accountable. There has been no talks, no suggestions, he himself doesn't even care about the problem or his staff.
Why can't the government do sthg about the roads? Can't rail or heavy duty roads be built? It may be capital intensive but Nigeria can afford it N besides it will save money in the long run
Don't blame the driver. He is only doing his job N if he refuses unsafe working condition in a good paying job how will he find another job?

Look on the bright side, free cement.

Just shut up dis moron! What have u done as an individual to help anybody? It is not only Biafra mcheeeeeew

Nnodumene said...

Linda, I read your blogspot for this type of story. That bridge is called BAILY BRIDGE and not hanging bridge. Since it was built by the Nigerian Army, t must have been erected around the year 1968 when the Biafran War was raging hot, for the army to ferry their equipments and and men to the war front. Such bridges are scrambled of metals only within hours and maybe two days, and meant for temporary use. To imagine that this one lasted for 47 years since 1968, is a credit to the ingenuity and expertise of the the Nigerian Army Engineers under Obasanjo. Now to imagine that the people of the are we're not vanquished but regarding the bridge as their own dividend of being vanquished for 47 years, what else is vanquished? It will expecting for too much hoping for Dangote to be reading Lindaikejiblogspot, but should his PR officers not read this news of the truck carrying their cement destroying people's life wires. This is an opportunity for Dangote to show patriotism, and I know he has much of it, by immortalizing his name in the hearts of the people of the area, in the form of a three lane dual carriage bridge across that river. Never mind that the existing road to the bridge is a village road just wide enough to accommodate two vehicles at a time, but he should use the bridge as clarion call to the government, whether State or Federal, to plant a better and modern road for the area, and in any case the bridge should prepare for future developments. Linda, I am instructing you to post this blog to Dangote. If he does not start the reconstruction work on this bridge six months from now, the deity of that river, and the cries of the people whose livelihood are adversely affected by the destruction of the bridge will rise up to affect in the negatives, the fortunes of his cement works worldwide.

Oluwadamilola said...

Dangote should fix it now..