A LIB reader tells another horrifying story of a robbery attack in Lagos traffic..
A friend was robbed this morning at about 5.45am or so, just by Muson Center as she made her way to turn under the bridge towards Victoria Island, 2 boys walked up to her and without asking any questions, they just smashed the 2 side windows (passenger's side) of her Toyota Corolla and made away with her handbag which contained her valuables. According to her, they robbed another lady beside her just about the same time she was attacked. She was shaken, and I could understand her fears.
My
worry about her (and other victims, particularly the ladies) is not the
loss of valuables or damage to their vehicles, but the damage to them
psychologically, where they now drive to work with so much fear and
trepidation whenever they have to slow down either at a traffic light or
to make way for another vehicle to pass. And you know what, they'll
leave with that fear for a long time because they need to be at work
early, and the Employer isn't going to understand that they had to wait
for daylight before setting out to work.
I imagine my young friend driving to work tomorrow
morning (on her way from the mainland), and having to pass by her
regular route; she'd probably freak out whenever she sees any male walk
by or towards her regardless of his intentions. This menace is causing
damage that will require time to heal, and I say its totally
unnecessary. If we know the dark spots and have been reporting on same,
then why cant the authorities ensure that such areas are properly manned
during peak traffic hours? I just don't get it!
Beyond
rhetoric, here's an appeal from a concerned Lagosian to the Government
to really act now and restore our confidence in their ability to secure
us, because from where I stand, it may make a lot of sense to get armed
(I mean with a Gun, not a knife please!) so that if ever you get robbed
in traffic and the guy is walking away, you probably take out your piece
from your glove compartment or under your seat and plant a few pellets
into his fleeing backside to serve as a deterrent to others with similar
tendencies. Selah!
By the way, my friend was thankfully unharmed.

59 comments:
Hmmmmm... Ambode, pls do something abt dis!!!!!! We don't need helicopters o
I miss fashola already
PARENTAL ADVISORY
Lagos na wa
ladies, pls stop putting hangbags on the seat, lock it up in the booth and hold a small fone.
In v.i too?is anywhere in Nigeria safe at all?
it's quite unfortunate, Ambode should be more proactive in dealing with this ugly trend, its becoming sickening.
My advice for ladies that are mobile is plz get urselfs pepperspray that ish is quite cheap and very effective once in contact with the face and leaves it's damage for Hours, just put it between ur thigh anytime you driving or don't trust the road you at.
I hope d govt wil do sth abt dis asap and bring those involved in dis act to book accordingly.
ROYAL PRIESTHOOD
Am having problem sending my comments via my ID. Asking me to prove if am not a robot via clicking on signs of traffic and all dat.
Wht d heck is dis all abt...? Am I d only experiencing dis on LIB?
I like the part of inserting one or two pellets into the back of the fleeing miscreant. Seriously. This is becoming too much.
Linda now thinks like oyinbo
May God have mercy on his ppl,everyday for d thief 1 day for the owner
I guess Mr. Gov is still waiting for helicopter before he can start tackling dis case....
This is very terrifying and downright unacceptable. The govt needs to wake up!
Happy she wasn't harmed. This is a call to every motorist during this ember period. Bags and valuables should be kept in the boot. These robbers don't have time to be searching boots. Let's all just pray the government act fast.
Nawa oooo....dis menace must be curtailed ooo, its getting out of hand.
this could lead to enforcement ban on hawking in traffic which could be a good thing.
And somebody will say Ambode is working..! Thunder fire that person..
If I lived in Lagos, I would have a hand gun under my seat whether legal or not...f***k d popo!
It is well o
Ladies lock your hand bags in the boot of your car while driving and keep your cell phones hidden in the pocket of your clothing or under your thigh while driving just in case you need your phones in an emergency.
This is the only measure you can take temporarily until this car smashing epidemic is curbed.
At times the ladies/women are to be blame in the sense that,why must u put all or some of ur belongings on ur car seat.Most time u will see a lady inside a car pressing an expensive phone on the tracfic at times displaying their iphone/ipad/laptop on the passenger seat.What i want us to understand is that if robbers peep inside ur car even if u wind up or down if they see no valuable they will not rob u,is what they see that attract their attention that make them to rob u.This is for us since our Government refuse to help us let us help ourselves by keeping our belongings under our seat or inside the car booth b4 leaving home or work.
Hmmm...God our Protector, please send Your Angels to guide us always.
Stun gun or pepper spray. I don't think you need police permit here.
Getting armed seems to be the right thing to do and I'm going to get two hand guns, cos these assholes are biting more than they can chew and these corrupt police men can't do anything you should see the way they are concerned with collecting Bribe from trailer drivers in apapa than securing the lives of citizens...I'm writing this with so much anger
$$$$ MISTA SUCCESS $$$$
Says the robbery will stop after Governor Ambode gets the helicopter to curb robbery in traffice... Omaseo!
$$$$ So much Money on ma mind $$$$
When will all this madness end for heaven's sake? Na wa o!!!
Thank God
Ambode reads these reports or at least has a staff who sees what a mess this sh*t is turning Lagos to!
Stop putting handbags in ur car put it in ur boot as well as laptops etc, have a decoy bag and dummy fone anyway thats what i do now
Amobode is the new baba-go-slow #lindaobserve
Pls folks always keep ur bags, loads in d boot n ur phones out of sight to prevent dis evil circumstance
2bad.
Like I have been saying. It's the price we must pay for voting in an ineffective leader. Above is saying Lagos is underpoliced like that was not the same number fashola used. The criminals know he is a weak leader and they ll take more advantage of it. JD
Nawa ooo...just don't know why lagos state government are really slow in tackling dis issue, its really getting bad.
Something should be done about this traffic robbery.
Me I've already ordered my Taser. IF YOU TRY TO ROB ME I'LL TASE YOUR TILL YOUR HEART STOPS.
Sad encounter. If the government fails to protect it citizens, then we should learn to protect ourselves. Pepper sprays and Baseball bats are ready alternatives. Having Male companions in the vehicle is also an alternative to being a prey in traffic.
Putting your hand bag or valuables in the vehicle, front seat or where it is visible to passer-by's is totally not an option. I urge colleagues to put all valuables in the trunk before embarking on any Lagos routes, early morning or evening.
And to those who feel cool showing off their wristwatches and mobile devices while driving in Lagos, the true owners will come get them if you continue with this attitude.
I have had an encounter with them... really not a good experience.
They can always ask you to pop your trunk. It will only lead to you collecting a few slaps for making them do extra work to rob you. Leave your valuables like ATM card, ID cards, etc outta your bag/wallet
This menace is getting worse, haba
Abode is clueless.
Awala boys ain't smiling......If u leaving ur home very early or u leaving ur office very late pls ensure ur gadget n valuables r in ur trunk.Lagosians pls take note!
So sad.
Honda recalls the 2008/9 Accord aka 'Evil Spirit' to sort out some issues. Go to www.naijacarlovers.com to get more info on this.
Ambode should not wait till they rob is father or mother before doing is work
Have some weapon by your side. Rehearse how to act in case of an attack. Always put your stuff on the floor of your car. If you have two hand sets separate them. Get an earphone so you can answer calls while you hide away your phone. Do not dial or text while driving. In unsafe areas be careful. Pin your car safety locks as soon as you enter your car.
Lagos needs more policemen.
The police should raid suspicious sites.
Make Lagos too hot for criminals.
Create jobs and stop politicians looting the treasury.
THIS ISH IS GETTING OUT OF HAND
Since Ambo entered na so so bank robbery bank robbery water escape, car robbery car robbery stroll waka. these should curbed ejoor.
you guys should stop moaning and be security conscious. I got this even though i live in Europe.
This is from the police:
Reports from across Lagos State indicate an increase in the prevalence of road robbery during peak traffic periods. More recently, areas such as Mile 2, Ijora, Marina, CMS, Costain, Surulere, Ojota, Ogudu, Osborne and Oshodi have reported the highest cases of robbery incidences. From these reports, it is suggested that these incidences typically occur between 5.30am and 6.30am in the morning, and between 7.30pm and 10.00pm at night.
As we commute daily it is important to be conscious and alert. The following tips have been developed for the safety of staff while commuting within the State.
~Keep valuables away from sight while driving.
~The use of mobile devices including cell phones, iPads, laptops etc should be minimised while in traffic especially in high risk areas.
~Avoid driving alone if possible - lone drivers are more vulnerable to attack.
~Where possible, avoid buying items from street hawkers while in traffic.
~Items like handbags, laptop bags etc should be kept away from sight while driving in traffic.
~It is advisable to avoid carrying original documents in your vehicles unless necessary.
~Avoid driving in dimly lit ‘’short cut’’ areas; stick to main streets as much as possible.
~Keep windows up and car doors locked at all times while commuting.
~Do not pick up strangers looking to hitch a ride with you. For those who use drivers, kindly ensure they are well advised to desist from doing such when you are not in the vehicle.
~It is generally believed that driving in the middle lanes is much safer than staying on either edges of the road.
~Where possible, have a decoy bag with no essential items in it.
~Make effective use of your rear view mirrors and monitor activities of street hawkers around your vehicle.
If involved in an incident, kindly seek emergency assistance immediately. The Lagos State emergency numbers are 767 or 112
Please note this list is not exhaustive as personal safety and security is an individual as well as collective responsibility.
Gud evening Nigerians
stay safe n happy
Lagos again,
Lagosians need to get a gun and shoot these fools. when a few are killed they will learn. stop waiting for the government. they don't get robbed so they are not worried.
Ambode is what you get when you have a boy doing a man's job.
It's really a sad case. Ambode is brilliant but he lacks the intellectual capacity and experience to rule this state. Fashola was able to curtail this menace with the same number of Policemen. This governor must wake up instead of showing us his new wristwatches. The dark spots ( Iyana Oworo,Muson centre,3MB, Ikeja under the bridge,Festac,etc) have been identified. Let's the CP Fatai Owoseni deploy his men to these areas. His men must be in these areas at least 5 days a week.
Please any ideas where I can procure a small handgun?? I will pay handsomely..One needs personal protection
Shut up my friend! No be una carry APC for head!!! Bloody fool!
It's because it knows you're a brainless
Moron! Get a life dude!
It make sense. People should stop blaming Ambode alone but provide solution
Real mobile police men oooohhh, well trained mopol boys,those criminals know them and they flee when they know they are around the corner,not the hungry looking regular police men that are weak at heart and you and i can manage.