Bribe-taking policemen allegedly shoot at couple, kill wife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 September 2015

Bribe-taking policemen allegedly shoot at couple, kill wife

Police officers attached to the Isheri Osun Police Division in Lagos state have been accused of shooting at a tricycle driver Godwin Ekpo and his family, killing his breastfeeding wife Idongesit. This incident allegedly happened as the family was returning from a church programme on Wednesday night.

According to Punch, Godwin who is currently in a critical condition at the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, was on his way home from church when he met a team of police officers allegedly extorting tricycle riders who passed through Obalagbe bus stop.

In a bid to avoid them, Godwin attempted to speed past them. This got the police officers angry and one of them, a police corporal identified as Aremu Musesiu, opened fire at his tricycle with the bullet shattering his car, killing his wife who was breastfeeding their 3 month old baby at the time of the incident. The bullet also pierced through Godwin's neck as he turned to look at his wife and his child.

Seeing that they have caused a problem, the police officers fled the scene of the incident.

Narrating what happened, a tricycle driver, Henry Chibuzor, said “I was going home around 10pm when I saw the eight-man team asking me to stop at a checkpoint. I was there with four other tricycle drivers. The man was coming from church with his family. As he got to the junction, he swerved and his tricycle mistakenly brushed their patrol van. A policeman hit the tricycle’s windscreen with a baton and damaged it. The second policeman fired a bullet which hit the woman in the neck, came out from the other side, and hit her husband too.”

He said the policemen collected N5,000 from him and also extorted money from other tricycle drivers. Another witness, Kabiru Olaoye, while narrating what happened, said the residents quickly formed a crowd at the scene and prevented the policemen from leaving. He added that the cops called for reinforcement, adding that officers of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad and policemen from surrounding divisions arrived at the scene and rescued the killer-cops.

Tricycle drivers in the community yesterday staged a protest over the attack on the couple. The protesters held placards, some of which read, ‘Isheri Police, your generation will suffer,’ ‘Stop killing us,’ among others. The protest train went to the Isheri Osun Police Station, where they met a team of armed policemen in more than six vans. An Armoured Personnel Carrier was also mounted on the road to the station. The Financial Secretary of the Committee for the Defence of Human Rights, Lagos State branch, Chinanzor Ifechiga, who led the protest, was brutalised and her telephone seized by the Divisional Police Officer as she was accused of filming the protest and taking pictures. She was manhandled by eight policemen, who struggled to take the phone from her on the order of the DPO.

"The DPO said I was one of them (the police) and I should not join the protesters. Because I refused, he said I should release my phone to him. He said he would disgrace me before everybody. He pointed a gun at me and the crowd dared him to shoot. He then ordered eight policemen to beat me up because I refused to give him my phone. He humiliated me before the protesters. But I am determined to get justice for the couple; and I want my phone back.”she said

Commenting on the incident, the Lagos state Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, said the police officer who fired the shot that killed Mrs Ekpo have been arrested while the DPO of Isheri Osun had also been issued a query for disobeying the Inspector General of Police’s instruction.

Meanwhile the corpse of Mrs Ekpo has been deposited at a mortuary while the children of the couple are with the police where they being catered for.

Source: Punch

89 comments:

Holly shit. ..

And yet someone will tell me that increasing the salary of policemen will help curb corruption? Until those rotten eggs are found & dealt with, the war on corruption may never be won.

Na wa o, pls let them shoot him too..rubbish.#singinavemaria

Justice should be well placed. Micah 2:1

EEEEEHH, CUZ OF 20NAIRA??POLICE WEN WIL U CHNGE IN DS ERA OF CHNGE??TOMJERRYSWIT

Don't know which has killed more innocent Nigerians, Nigerian police of boko haram
The police officers must be made to face the full wrath of the law

He was trigger happy ba?

Nigeria's police needs overhauling and serious orientation.

A time shall come when citizens will do jungle justice to the police because they are bastards.

Useless policeman.
Rip madam.

The policeman who fired the shot must be sentenced to death! How heartless and cruel can some people be? May her soul rest in peace....

Golda Awosika said...

Police officers re a curse to Nigeria.See wat dey ve done to ds family

Okewole Babatunde said...

This is disheartening,criminal,manslaughter and an absurd act from the men in black. The police men and not the one that pulled the trigger alone should face justice to serve as a deterrent to other heartless officers out there. May the soul of the woman rest in peace. And also wish the man a quick recovery.

The things that happen in this country is unspeakable. RIP to the poor woman.

evil police officer, he must face justice

Enough of this madness!
The Nigerian police must be made to pay for all their atrocities. We are tired of senseless killings, we want justice for Mr Ekpo.
#justiceForMrsEkpo

<< LIB Addict >>

Omg! What is happening to nigeria police?what do we call this by killing aa woman for no cause,oh God.those thief in black that nigeria call police or palice is a disgrace to humanity upon all the increasement in there salary.
Waiting for lagos docile imbecilic governo ambad to say some thing.

Buhari,biko shine your anti corruption searchlight on our police officers they have gotten out of hands.
This story is so saddening.
Rest ma'am. Rest if your soul finds peace

When will this change start? When?

This is just heart broken i swear... I just pray those police will be brought to justice though.....

Nawa oo. what is dis country turning into? y r naija police men animal? D ppl behind dis wil nva go free. RIP to d woman and quick recovery to d man..

Eastner said...

It's always best to avoid trouble.
By trying to speed past,what has he succeeded in doing other than putting his family in this trouble.
Only God knows how his children are faring.
We all know policemen is not our friend.They are trigger happy.
God help him and his children.
May his wife's soul rest in peace.
When the government is not taking proper measures to safe guard the lives of its citizens,then the onus is on us, to take precautionary measures.
What is money compared to life! When there is life, you can always make more money! eh! e for just drop the money na!

RIP!

God's wrath is coming

Lillygal said...

Na wah oo... I still ask this question, don't the police force collect salary for their duties on check point? I don't understand this extorting from tricycles they do every night, this doesn't make any sense, is Nigeria police force so shameless with no dignity for their uniforms that they stand on the road everyday fighting drivers and conductors for money in the road because they carry passengers... I don't get this rubbish happening in this country and most of them has Killed innocent souls because of this rubbish they are doing.. let the govt not sweep this case under the carpet cos its a serious issue. may God help this country..

Police na work? Tor!!! Until they allow us to start having our guns...

Whatever it is d they did, d law should make sure this policeman doesn't escape judgement! They shld never allow him go scot free. He shld be punished severally αи∂ accordingly

#iT wiLL oNly GeT beTTer
#it MuSt eNd in PrAise

Whatever it is d they did, d law should make sure this policeman doesn't escape judgement! They shld never allow him go scot free. He shld be punished severally αи∂ accordingly

#iT wiLL oNly GeT beTTer
#it MuSt eNd in PrAise

Oh dear, why are this people like this for Christ's sake. No wonder their lives after retirement is always a sorry state. That police that fired that gun should be shot too. Devil incarnate.

Na wa o, pls let them shoot him too..rubbish.#singinavemaria

The frequent misconduct and maltreatment by the police shouldn't be tolerated anymore. They should be sued for damages and killing of innocent lives.

Kai! A mother snatched away from her children and husband just within a twinkle of an eye. This is wickedness and I hope justice is served.

Police is the problem we have in this country

What madness is dis bikonu??? Mcheeeeeeew, I hope that Policeman is sentenced to death. May the soul of the departed rest in peace + a speedy recovery to the husband. Linda take note!

Linda good morning this must be seen to finish please enough is enough or they should allow us civilian carry guns around too this killing of innocent souls for no reasons is becoming unbearable ,i personally will like to know what will be done to the killer cop and the stupid DPO please post their pictures

The children with d police.haaa make police no go poision them ooo,these police men r worst than armed robbers

#IgpRemoveIsheriOshunDpoNow. Let this hash tag trend on our social media. Linda thanks u captured this.

Na wao.... Naija.... Police ok,, open fire on A family......

oje said...

wat is wrong wit all dese police men .if u call dem in distress, fear no go let dem carry gun buh once its a citizen involved u wil see dem pointin d gun at u cus na dere dier power reach .may God b d judge .dis is wickedness so sad.

Damn!

Mimi12 said...

Nigeria police. Ha! ba! Rest in peace Idongesit

Www.miimisdiary.com

""Commenting on the incident, the Lagos state Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, said the police officer who fired the shot that killed Mrs Ekpo have been arrested while the DPO of Isheri Osun had also been issued a query for disobeying the Inspector General of Police’s instruction.

Meanwhile the corpse of Mrs Ekpo has been deposited at a mortuary while the children of the couple are with the police where they being catered for.And it fucking ends there.

OMG!

Unprofessional police force or men dat protray and giv d force bad name. D police man responsible for dis act should b punished accordingly.

Gentletee said...

Ah ah! That officer should be summarily dismissed and made to face the full weight of Tue law. Rubbish!

what a shame!

PRESIDENT's DAUGTHER said...

O my Good God have mercy chei Jesus can tht useless idiotic police copper be brought to book? Can he be found so as to face the law? O my country nigeria pls IGP Solomon Arase look seriously into dis case nd bring justice to dis innocent family. RIP to the dead I hope police caters for the man's hospital bills nd his remaining children

Nigeria police force is a regardless worthless joke!!!! Those bastards all need to be hanged. That's how they keep harassing people and stealing from us!

I hope the IGP is reading this piece and he will act on it asap.the DPO isheri police station popularly called 'Area H' is a son of a bitch!Every morning he sends out his men to ply the lagos-ibadan expressway berger-7up axis to harrass vehicle owners plying the road on stupid stop and search duties!Imagine driving to work as early as 7.30am and you get pulled over forcefully by strange men in unmarked cars flashing police guns.they start asking you stuoid questions and at the end of the questioning and identification process they request to go through your mobile phones.they go through your nessages,picture gallery,videos and all.their game is they want to find out if you are into internet scam and once you are found wanting or guilty or even have as much as yahoo messenger app on your phone they take you to the station area where they begin to negotiate with you for as high as 500k fee.these are men designated with the duty to protect lives and property but instead they have turned to yahoo police!the area commander of area C popularly known as Taju Orji is the most shamless high ranking police officer and should be sacked immediately.Taju is the chief yahoo police and he keeps terrorising the whole of surulere with his boys arresting innocent boys and forcing them to part with huge sums of money everytime.what has the police force turned into?cant the IGP do something to stop this crazy trend amongst his boys.it is baffling and alarming the rate things are going with the cops.why would a police officer go through your mobile phone which is suppose to be your personal effect?Shame on you all Police motherfuckers!d thief isheri DPO should be cautioned and Taju of area C sacked!

Haaaa God of mercy! This is soo unfair

PLEASE THEY SHOULD RELEASE THE KIDS TO THEIR RELATIVES JOOR!! POLICE KILLED THEIR MOTHER AND THEN IS ALLEDGEDLY CATERING FOR THE CHILDERN??? HOW NOW!

dudette said...

Ooooooooh police eh!! There's sooo much injustice in this country, I'm fed up! If the family was wealthy it would be a whole different ball game ooo...smh

God have mercy on us!

Nigerian Police--Bunch of Idiots

My Year Of Linda's 100k

Pro said...

See trouble O imagine, because how much. Shame on the Naija police especially to those who estort money from poor drivers thereby pinning themselves to poverty. May her soul rest in peace.

That vuvuzela P guy

Pro said...

See trouble O imagine, because how much. Shame on the Naija police especially to those who estort money from poor drivers thereby pinning themselves to poverty. May her soul rest in peace.

That vuvuzela P guy

Rip to the dead, all i will say is POLICE is Your FRIEND

The question is for how long will thoses kids be taken care off by the police? Imagine how calous the nigerian police is that they kill innocent citizens at will. Why is it so? God will punish them for all the innocent blood they have shed. This is exactly what happened in PH a few months back. Smhhh

flaky said...

OMG! May the soul of the departed rest in peace and I hope these group of policemen are served justice accordingly. The human right group should not relent on their justice seeking mission for this family.

ella said...

I'm so perplexed I can't breath, reading this and playing the event in my head makes my heart bleed,just thinking about the woman breastfeeding when she was shot...o my lord! ..i just can't bear it,the evil police man just took a mother off a suckling baby oo

Ogegod said...

Wicked people! I don't understand y this police people see themselves as gods,something has to be done asap to stop this their brutality. RIP to the dead and may God give the family the strength to bear this tragic loss.

seyi crown said...

It can never be good for Nigeria polices....jst look @ this even d DPO I pray d matter won't be swept under d carpet. RIP to d dead

Seyilicious

Mot said...

This is not a good country at all! This man is still in Idi Araba begging to be treated, the gun shot wound removed the flesh completely from his chin and he is losing blood seriously. When he talks, blood comes out of his mouth. Idi Araba is still waiting for N320,000 before this man can undergo surgery. Even the commissioner for police has sent his assistant to the hospital and they still have not done the surgery. The policeman that shot the gun is in the cell but i'm sure he will be released soon. When are we going to start suing the Nigerian Police? Why cant they be sued like it is done in America! Why cant they get the punishment they deserve even when they kill the criminals unjustly. WHY!!!!!! Hmmmnnn... I am really praying for these four children that witnessed their mother's death that God should give them forgiving souls and He should heal them completely of this trauma. One of them told the policeman; "You killed my mother". I know a family member who gave me this information about the incidence. This is dis-heartening that we are never safe in the hands of the Nigerian police. A burglar was caught in my area yesterday morning, thank God there was no jungle justice but nobody was ready to follow the police to bear witness to the guy's robbery. They said they would rather be safe than sorry. Nobody trusts the police enough to follow them! Oh what a nation where human life is not important to the police!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bummyla said...

wicked officer! God punish him! http://www.bummyla.com

Nigeria is worst more than a ZOO

This is very bad the story make the heart sick why all this come to think of it. A police officer whose responsibility is to secure life and property is now the one taking it to starts with you people were there to steal and rob people of their money because the purpose is illegal and still have the heart to to fire a shot at the passers by motorist killing his wife attempt murder on the. Man life this is illegality taking too far. Please this police need training and retraining every two months or three months as the case may be by expatriate. We can not afford waste of life like this alot of innocent people are in jails all over Nigeria without any reasonable offence please God help us all from this authority that see us as nothing but animals.

dansignature said...

See what I meant by our Nigerian police been useless? Imagine how they killed a breastfeeding woman cos they wanted 2 collect money from d husband...#maythespiritofthedeadhuntnkilldpolicensocalleddpo

dansignature said...

See what I meant by our Nigerian police been useless? Imagine how they killed a breastfeeding woman cos they wanted 2 collect money from d husband...#maythespiritofthedeadhuntnkilldpolicensocalleddpo

dansignature said...

Nigerian people are not mentally stable.

Do caught are dey actually punnished or r dey released...wen one is caught...He or she shld be Hanged in front of other police...

This wld serve as a lesson 4 odas...

Its me....La Sapiente

Cossy said...

The police man should be sentence to death by hanging or better thrown to the sea for fishes to manipulate on him since is heartless.

There is no way the police officer will not be punished. At least his mind is punishing him for now. Even if the Nigeria police force will release him, he will remain throughout his lifetime being reminded by his mind that he had killed somebody for no reason. That is eternal punishment!!!!!

Sm policemen re just useless, they cn go t any lenght bcs of #20.
Brainless policemen!!!

Taju has been around from ojodu days Ole nla ni and sorry to disappoint you but the IGP can not do jack about it because he is a weakling!catch me if you can

Taju's boys not only disturb the whole of surulere but they will not let unilag boy breathe freely.they are always in danfos and sometimes even keke marwa along university road,pako,chemist,abule and its environs.na unilag boys be there targets awon mofo jatijati.they have to work everyday because they have targets from there area commander taju just like banks give its staffs target it is as bad as that

Some of d Nigrian police are disgrace to d POLICE force. every morning and evening ,at every junction , expecially isheri Junction, there is a police station close to d water co-operation, there is a police station , d police men are taking undue advantage of d okada riders , at every junction e.g KOSOBAMEJI STR that leads to bale ,d police always stang there to collect money from them, it is so anoiying that in a country where police are expected to enforce law, they are worsening d situation.

ISHERI -OSHUN POLICE ARE THIEVES, EVERY DAY ,THEY COLLECT MONEY FROM D OKADA -RIDERS, EXPECIALLY AT KOSOBAMEJI STR,A JUNCTION DAT LEADS TO BALE, D ANOYING THING IS DAT , THEY DONT DO IT SECRETLY.

Police no dey die better that because of the evil they keep causing. I wish this story gets to d IG, nothing good can ever come out of police. Useless wicked evil beasts.

Nero as much as I agree maybe he shouldn't have tried to speed past...do you know how much that money means to him??!! A sense of desperation might have come over him causing him to panic! This is because of the disgusting scum of the earth that our NYPF is! I've had experiences with them. They are even worse than the thieves they are called to protect you against. So I can understand what might have been going through his head. Anyway, I hope he recovers so his kids have at least one parent. Solomon Arase, please do the needful!

I'm actually weeping as I read your update. I wish we citizens had enough balls to fight for our rights. I was hoping and praying that with the arrival of pmb, the npf will start reforming. I have just been through a minor incident with them myself and I have vowed never to call them even if I am dying! Disgusting shameless pigs! There is no regard for human life in this country. Until that part of the Constitution is ingrained no amount of CHANG will do!

Maybe it's when we start taking things into our own hands that they will get the message. It's crazy how a few thousand people have several million of us, held to ransom just because they have some outdated guns. When the real work comes, going after real criminals, the punks are nowhere to be found. Pigs!

To honest, dis policemen at isheri are the most corrupted ones. It's where I live so I knw dem. dey should arrest the DPO of dat division bcos he is also aware of there bribe in take .

He just wasted the woman's life cos of #100

I live in Isheri and I am very familiar with the way things are happening, First I must tell you that the DPO(Kenneth) is a useless drunkard and a man of no Integrity , you will always find him among fraudsters at a Bar callled GT BAR In Isheri and at Bebo junction smoking Indian Hemp. you expect no Good outcome from his Men as he is leader with no GolasI heard he has been replaced, he should be sacked too