Zedi Feruzi - the leader of Burundi's opposition party shot dead today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 May 2015

Zedi Feruzi - the leader of Burundi's opposition party shot dead today

It's getting serious in Burundi. The leader of a Burundian opposition party was shot dead today Saturday May 23rd along with his bodyguard, following weeks of anti-government unrest.

Zedi Feruzi was the head of the Union for Peace and Development (UPD) and was walking home with a bodyguard in Bujumbura's Ngagara district when he was attacked by gun wielding men.

An AFP reporter at the scene saw the bloodied bodies of both Feruzi and a police bodyguard lying outside the house soon after the shooting.

Residents said a third person, believed to be another police officer tasked with protecting Feruzi, was seriously injured in the incident.
"We heard around 20 gunshots, everyone fell to the ground, people saw a Toyota car speeding away," said a neighbour, who did not witness the shooting himself.
Around an hour after the attack police had yet to arrive at the scene. Meanwhile, two barricades of tyres were set alight in the district, where local youths were sealing off streets and alleyways to outsiders.

The killings, a day after a grenade attack on a busy market in the capital killed three people, risk further fuelling tensions in Burundi after weeks of violent protests triggered by the president's controversial bid for a third term.

Source: AFP

36 comments:

Rip to the dead. God will see them through #onelovefromsnow#

Ooo

Chai! So much evil in dis world. Rest in peace

Na wa o,thr president wan turn d seat to him family tradition???wat a cruel world where human beings life is compare to rat own

KriZo 01 said...

Now the real uprising has began. The president must go! He will now understand the force of d collection will of the people.

Dis is serious, and of wht use is dis killing ur fellow human being bcos of politics. God save us.

May his soul RIP...

Rip sir.
L
I
N
A
Observe

RIP. The president should be ashamed of himself

This is exactly what GEJ averted!

Africa still have a very long way to go, such a shame !!

This man should learn from gej, and save his people from dying.
This is an act of greediness, because of third term, he is allowing his people to die like fowls.

This is what GEJ averted in Nigeria by conceding defeat even though the elections was rigged by the northerners. I hope Buhari will not come and start killing innocent people. Throughout GEJ's tenure there was not politically motivated killings by GEJ,Buhari should learn from that and be more peaceful. This is democracy,not the days of his military head of state tyranny and rascality.

May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

RIP to him, and may God bring to justice those behind dis act.

Its getting seriously serious

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Rest in peace.

Awwww...

Its getting really serious and I hope it ends soon.

Trouble everywhere! RIP to the dead. African leaders build their nations with blood and those blood do cry out against them. Until a leader understands what leadership is really about....power and greed will continue to reign

ANON 10:27 Kindly identify yourself, COWARD!

Thank God and thank GEJ for the peace in Nigeria.

eka said...

African leaders & their die-in power attitude
Thank God once again 4 GEJ!

Politics is a dirty game

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Eeeeyah

Ur stupidity is not ignorance but hereditary.
GEJ DID D RIGHT THING after ruining Nigeria you goat.

Yes idiot. After he had ruined Nigeria. Do u kno ow many ppl died celebrating his loss of election. He averted worse dan this cus this world wuld not b enuf for him to hide.

Am so angry wit GEJ. No light 4 3days.. no diesel. No fuel to leave d house. WTF

I want to linch GEJ. #LINCHGEJ#

habiba you be mumu

Gees oh my Africa, what is happening to thee.

dontJme said...

This is why the white man looks at us and shake their damn head.

dontJme said...

Rip to the dead

Where re ICC?

Rip

@ imbecile 7.43, jonathan ruined ur already useless life abi. U are d greatest fool. Imbecile. Poverty that is in ur family lineage is what is affecting ur brain. Compare wat is happening in nigeria to wat is happening in burundi. Big goat