See Covenant University mobile phone outlaw undertaking...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 August 2014

See Covenant University mobile phone outlaw undertaking...:-)

A Covenant University student just tweeted this picture of their school's phone outlaw undertaking form that all students are required to sign as they prepare for the next semester. Now see their laptop agreement form after the cut...

125 comments:

SVC said...

Hıan! Serıously! IT İŞ WELL

Its a known fact that phones are not allowed in covenant university, so this is not new

QUEEN said...

Odiegwu!

dajiy said...

Absolute rubbish...re dey babies...dis naija private schools sef.

Mereze said...

What a joke of a university, no wonder many covenant students act immature after graduation.

I don't see why you posted this. So what? They have rules. If you don't like the rules, don't go there. Lobatan!

Ceeflo said...

There is no sense in this! How do they become men and women! You hide them off as "kids" and release them into the very harsh society! Most of the Lagos runs girls and rogues are products of this school!

These ppl are fools.

it is well*lips sealed*

Miss tiana said...

Very funny....

Great ideas. Mobile phones are quite distracting to students and are subject to abuse in the campus. Laptop and internet connectivity should be sufficient.

Krixxy said...

W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ a glorified secondary school!!

If it's affecting you. Open ur own school.

This just made my evening. LMAO. This school is really a glorified secondary school. Of all things. Mobile phones? In this era... mtchew

How will these cell phone rules and regulations make them better students? Visit my fitness blog iamifuennada.blogspot.com for great weightloss exercises, workout videos, booty exercises and more...

Dear Covenant University management...

What's your own with Covenant University? Everyone claim not to like the school, there rules are absurd etc yet every year people pour in there.
Go check 100 top universities in Nigeria, it is number 6 (after Landmark University which is also owned by Oyedepo).
There students are everywhere doing great
Stay there and carry their rules for your head.
It's not new, everyone knows these things.

Dear Covenant University management... I wonder how @slashaz survived...

And the point of this is........? Linda you probably don't have any better news for us.

In as much as i dont, agree with these kind of laws for University students, these students will willingly sign the form cos they need admission. Later, when they go against the school rules and are punished, they'll start saying all sorts. If you dont like it, DONT SIGN IT. There are other universities, i beg. No one is forced to go to Covenant jor

u gt an issue wt d sch?

I hate this school from the first day I heard of it,,convenat university is a glorified secondry school for kids,,irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

LOL..........
very funny....in this age and time.

I can't believe this, are these adults or babies biko nu....

queenreigneth@gmail.com

E said...

This one no work Oh. Chai the students there go suffer. and what is even the essence of this kain of a thing.

This makes sense.School Fees no bi here, so students nid maximum concentration. Nkmama

thou the law might seen odd, but to be fair, students nowadays have forgotten the purpose of being in school,spent more hours on their phones than they do with there books

Chop Chop said...

Personal property? Expect this to be challenged.

seun said...

Seriously lmaoo.. na waoo tomgirl4545@gmail.com

Hehehe, this is serious, thank God my sch is better, what's their business if I don't take care of my iPad or laptop, abeg Babcock is on point

So they don't use phone in covenant university? Can't read too tiny for my eyes.

What a great insult
Gracenot2001@yahoo.com

whitefalcon said...

Who's even the owner of this school? Some of these so called private universities are not even accredited.

NaNcY DreW said...

Lol private skul seem like a prison yard can't go a day witout my fone or lappy @ all

Despite all the rules they still have better results to show.
Good educational facilities and lecturers.
Webometric ranking 2nd best University in Nigeria.

madness...are they in secondary school? oshi... Olamide

Seriously?a university?issok

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

Samira said...

Dis na University for Afghanistan abi na prison....

So how is this news?? What is your own with CU????

hello and good evening, am not generally fond of leaving comments but just saw this and had to voice out. i believe this is totally wrong, i believe the idea of a University is the ability for growing tenegers to be able to make their own 'choice'in life. Be it good or bad, the only thing outsiders can do to this said individual is advice and show the right path and not to force the right path on him. Even God Almighty never took the rights of choice from us, what stops him from forcing us to obey his will. This is LIFE, there is no teaching it, it just has to be experienced. Now this brings me to the question after locking these people and giving them outrageous rules to follow what happens??? don't they still enter the same SOCIETY?? or are they gonna create a total different World for them? It has gotten so bad that i heard that some students were expelled for not coming to church with their Bibles on a Sunday morning.God help us

Lol... Funny skul. Phones ar not allowed but computers are

affido said...

linda i believe they are better things to talk about...like dnt u get tired of CU...the school is currently 2nd best in naija and 25th in Africa nd dis is all u can get? the undertakedn has been there since before wizkid was known so it should not be news. affiaido@gmail.com

@chux.com....nice one,I like that if its too much for you the gate is open.bounce!!!!

Glorified secondary school

Just one word WTF

This CU is just getting more fucked up..smh

Lol 2nd best in Nigeria according to webometrics. Their ranking system is based on web presence and web access. #proudlyunilag.

Fool

K

Hhhh

this is not news so i dont know why its on lindas blog...we all know that covenant university students dont use phones ..but then again whats the big deal? why is it paining you?glorified secondary sch? is that what you call it? atleast the students of the school know that their 4 or 5 years is exactly what it is. no strike!and the school fees is more than half a million so all you ratchet commentators keep your comments to your self cos every year,thousands apply for admission.All of you saying rubbish about the school i am sure if your parents could afford the school fees you would sprint to the same covenant you guys are talking shit about.if you know so much about running universities,why not open your own.

I've always known that man to be the highest hypocrite ever. a man that his children went to schools abroad that has no restrictions to gadget cos he used the money he got from the poor to established school for the rich now introduced no phone or gadget policy in the school. Daris God! daris God oooo!! Daris God oooooo #crying

Karengarber42@yahoo.com Biko it is not by force to enter my school...if u want to come come, if you dont want to go..we can afford to buy any phone we want but now this is discipline...if u notice, in our society so many children of the rich end up in shambles...this is just one way to help maintain and caution and also discipline...a child doesnt learn f4om the house only but also from school. You are saying we r not prepared for the world, biko take a look at our dress sense,they are co-operate wears yet we still know how to fashionise it without looking like sluts or olier dan thous or razzites...we look soooo good, and mind you, being bad is by choice...so once again, we no beg una if u wan come come, if you no wan come abeg dey your lane

Imagine! In dis modern era. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

it is a private school please...why should its rules be for public scrutiny?i pity people writing against this school principles.if you cant abide why not go to another school..i laugh...these so called spoilt kids dont know the benefit of attending a private school..no strike..no cooking for yourself..you are just focused on your studies for just 4 YEARS! and made a good grade and have a good ..after graduation if you want to use 20 phones...you can use..if you want to walk naked you can please do..if you dont want to sleep at home you can...if you want to attend parties all your remaining days you can...what is in using a phone??????SMH...MISPLACED PRIORITIES

Why don't u help her

www.jeenager.com said...

I guess it's slow news day!
www.jeenager.com

Their school...their rules...u feel u can cope? You stay... you cant? Dnt sign it. Its not by force. Biko dnt come here crying wolf.
You go to rome ...you behave like the romans ...

I am in an environment where am doing a four year course but guess what?... this is the 6th year. Thanks to the Internal and external strikes. I am in an environment where d fear of school security is the beginnin of wisdom. U dare not talk or behave anyhow, dat might b d end of ur stay. They cld paint white as black, all u do is just nod andkeep moving... I know what I want, in a matter of time i ll b out of there.

In a matter of time, u ll b out of there... its either u face it....or u r welcome to my school . The choice is urs.

Chee!

U have sense

Thank gawd say I don graduate sef

Na dem sabi.....Unical all d way.

I agree with u.

BE POSITIVE MIND
People like breaking news which is all about negative things,let's try and be positive in our mindset.
Can we forget advertising the non essential Ebola and advertise the victory over sickness God won for us through the stripes of Christ and upon his shoulder.?
.Can we for once advertise the unmerited FAVOUR God gave us when he said "With thy mouth shall you not say you are sick?"
Can we not realize the import of "my people perish for lack of knowledge?"
For we are stark ignorances when we keep living in fear of what God had given us dominion over. Fear Kills and when Job was hit by the arrows of Satan he lamented "what I have feared all my life happened to me" showing that fear positions the arrows of sickness and affliction on the fearful" thus we were made to know that we "have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear but the spirit of adoption by whom we cry Abba Father". We have this treasure but are ignorant of it. People still live in fear of mosquito, rat, owl, and even their neighbors.
Fear brings torment and torment eats deep in the bone and when the bone marrow dries up sickness find occasion to strike. Is either u
Live in d knowledge of ur authority in Christ Jesus or live within the bounds of ignorance. This period is the time to talk health over ur body and ur household. Talking fear only worsen things. That is why the salt and hot water story spread like wildfire because of fear. Divine nature can never be sick,and that is the nature I have
For me its VICTORY OVER SICKNESS 24/7.

And dats why u'r still in uni at ur matrimonial age wit all d strike and everytin.mofo

Shay na private school na lols bullshit. BBM 32F0BEFB

U both are fools! U say runs girls? Were they taught to act indecently or immorally? They chose to go dat way and am sure they will remember that they were led through this path to be some1 useful to glorify God and not to glorify the devil.. So mechonu dia abeg.. INDIGENOUS LIB! v_okunola@yahoo.com

Glorified prison! You can't deprive striving students of all these privileges! You can control it but denying them is just plain wrong!

affido said...

Web presence, impact, amongst others. Besides we r in a global village now. When unilag was 1st, we dnt sha hear word.

In ur dream. Which kain 6th b dat one? U must b a joke. Where did u get dat assessment from? Go and check d most recent rating of Nigerian universities, no private university is in d top ten. So, pls don't come here and be spewing trash

Shatttaaap there. Where did u get dat assessment from? In ur dreams. Check d latest rating of Nigerian universities and u'll find out dat there's no private university in d top ten

This is sparta

Glorified secondary school. However if one cannot stand the heat then get out of the kitchen. If u no like the rules go find another university to attend.

Whatever!

There are laws govering every society, if u don't like the law, pls gerrout. If you sign d undertaking, then u must be ready to abide by it or face the consequences of ur actions. Afterall these students still av their whole lives ahead of them to use whatever phone or device they want so what is the big deal?

ANYONE WHO CAN ABIDE BY D LAW SHUD GO GET THEIR FORM............ BT IT AINTRIGHT....... SO EVEN UR PARENTS CANT CALL U WENEVER DEY FEEL LIKE??????

ZB

Tolu said...

U both are capital STUPID

And that's why they sneak out to have all the fun including the improper.....there are other ways to teach them good morals not by this, sorry its a NO NO!

Amen, exactly what we all need at this time, let's spread Jesus so that ppl may catch Him and live

orela said...

The students can still use a modem attached to the laptop to make calls.. Anyway

Christina typearls said...

If not using mobile phones makes them better students or more grounded adults whose lives doesnt depend on chats, pings and net surfing. so be it.

Abeg e. Leave the school alone. Their school, their laws. Can't cope leave. After all they produce world class candidate. The school make sense. Leave them alone jor.

I see so many covenant university students on here dishing out invectives, diatribes and what have you. If ure concentrating so much, why are you pouncing around cyberspace like talk-hungry wolves. It's past your bedtime, scurry to bed, its lights out.

As for the alumni spitting out stories and justifying everything in any way they can. I'm sad for your hypocrisy. Look,children, at the time you were there, you probably were angry about these same things. Now you're talking in the usual Nigerian-defensive manner.

Pls, what positive impact does, not-using mobile phones make? It helps people concentrate more on their studies. Humour me. You're the worst psychologists out there. Listen: people of the age bracket are restive. They must find new distractions, company of opposite sex, raunchy novels wrapped in christian back covers, social media, gossip e.t.c.

2) the aim of Oyedepo is so so defeated. Failed Infact because by the time he built this school and made the rules, cell phones were not so common, internet access was at its lowest ebb. Now, you allow students bring in internet connected tablets(because we also browse good sites and surely will be helpful educationally). But how do you sift and sieve(lol) the places they visit. They are on instagram and all over the place. We all know that the internet is now a very major distraction to humans. How many sites do you wanna ban? Some sites are not xrated and could be educative e.g LIB but when visited too much can be an obsession. The aim is defeated pls and the man won't waver because of ego. There's no use making grown ass people wait over pay phones when they can simply be on social media n alert their loved ones.

Then what's with the utterly simplistic and totally appalling manner they stated out the rules. Lmao. Are they dealing with simpletons there. Looks like the entrance form to a Sunday school. Smh.

Your school is not accreditated to study law or medicine. How 'great' and 'superior' can this school be?

Enjoy your stay freshman
Good news is, you know when you will graduate. Next 3-4yrs. Not so long. *tongue out* hahahhaha

Bonaparte. N. N

Unilag ko unilag ni.all guvt university are rubbish. Go to CU u want to go back to sch again

Ohhhh pls God bless u ... @mereze only immature know immature ... if u're affected go to lobatan

Like seriously people should grow up, is a matter of choice if u can't abide by their rules why do u choose the school in d first place wen u already knw dere Rules. Abeg free d school ooo

Oh God bless you ..... @mereze only immature know immature ...if u're pained go to lobatan!

So?? ... u'll r funny tho coz if u were opportunied to school in CU diz trash wont be said ... n its jsx an agreement form so ur laptop or ipad would be found of stolen... generally fones r not allowed yh! Buh calls can still made,pple still tweet n stuff wats ur P?

Ohhh pls God bless u tell dem

Take a chill pill ..

Karen preach it sister!!! Debby blaze

Posting dis doesnt mk anysense at first. Den expecting comments is jsx rubbish ... ok is did u jsx hear bout de no fone thingy??
Den hv u ever been to CU mshewww
smh... "Who No Go No Know"

How?...
Its not a new thing u know

Anonymus said...

It's there school, and there rules.I'll rather do my 4 years in a secondary school n know I'll be out in 4 years than waist away claiming I went to a university. My only problem is the students need better exposure on the real world. Education is way past the 4 walls of a building.

Anonymus said...

I'll rather go to a glorified secondary school and know my four years is my four years than claim I went to a university and waist away. My only problem is that most of the students are not exposed to the real world. Education is way past the Four walls of a building.

Kind of backward, in the era of quick info and share. I think they maybe be trying to curtail students exposing ills of the university.

pipifierce said...

Dis is a modern world... Dey r nt babies. Haba!!!

If you know how to run a university well, tell your father to go and establish one, they are not forcing or begging anybody to come, and you lINDA or whatever they call you,post relevant info on your BLOG, this is not a news, if you like post my comment, if you like remove it, na you sabi.

You applied to them and not the other way round remember?

Who cares whether u drop comments or not, u think u are important.

Abeg close ur mouth, must u talk?

Covenant university is the 2nd best university in nigeria, why are most of you guys burnt over this covenant issue...if you dont like the school, keep your comment to yourself and spend 7-10 years in a federal university. Nonsense

Every girl I know in convenant has a cellphone and trust me,I know a lot of girls(in fact they call me lecturer)
Who's fooling who?

Endure na.is it nt afta some months in skul u go home 4holidays or break n hv ur phones etc all to ur self?no hury in life.one yr afta graduating is enof 4 u to learn oda tins u misd while in skul.

Best school ever, dere school dere rule why are u people drinking panadol for another person headache

Was he forced to attend CU? Fill d forms & shut up or get outta there. CU is still one of d best

This is so wired and scary, is this really a university? this is the strangest thing I ever heard with regards to a tertiary institution.MY uncle is thinking of sending his two sons over to the country and he had this university in mind.He should be alerted right away, this should be known as a danger zone, am in shock with things that goes on in that country.

I forbid that my children attend such school. Students would graduate from such school appearing stupid, when kids here are developing apps and stuff.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Covenant University is a phenomenon!!!
In just a few years of existence, it now gives much older universities in the country a run for their money!!!
All things being equal, it is set to upstage them...
But of course the no-phones rule does not form a yardstick for measuring the quality of universities in the world...
I guess the idea is to ensure that students are not distracted as to also ensure that they focused on their studies...
Fine...
But please, what is the difference between today's smartphones and IPads/computers as multimedia gadgets???
You banned phones but not IPads and computers...
That's a no-brainer....
In fact, IPads and Computers form greater objects of distraction than phones...
However, without taking anything from CU, I must state that the rule is very silly, a misnomer, especially considering that the institution in question is a university!!!!

CU needs a new secretary cus this one failed english.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Webometric Ranking of universities is a limited ranking of universities, i.e. limited to ranking web (or Internet) presence of research outputs of universities...
Thus the ranking is so mercurial, as it wildly fluctuates like the Indian ocean...
The ranking bodies around the world are a legion, however, hardly, or in fact never, do serious universities the globe over reference it when calling attention to their standing among the best...
Check out any of the institutions within the Russel Group of Universities in the UK or among the Ivy League in US and see whether any of them referenced Webometrics for validation...
NEVER!!!!
They would rather reference THE QS World University Rankings, Times Higher Education Ranking, Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU), etc...
So why the penchant of some to reference Webometrics when those others exist...
Of course it is for cheap publicity...
It is very misleading to reference Webometric and then say on that score that 'our university is the best or 2nd best or 3rd best, etc in Nigeria!!!!!'
Ife and Ilorin authorities are in that silly habit of making so much about Webometrics, although Ibadan and indeed Unilag had severally held the leading spot in Webometrics and yet found no reason to issue press statements to that effect because, perhaps the authorities there know better that Webometrics ranking tells nothing practically!!!!
It must be reiterated that Webometrics tells nothing, so stop saying CU (or any other university in Nigeria, for that matter) is the 2nd best by reference to it....
Indeed for the fact that CU's authorities do not see the no-phones rule (in an institution of higher learning, which is expected to be perpetually pushing the frontiers of knowledge even in the ICT sector to which the entire world is converging) as a hideous aberration, speaks volumes about the frozen and parochial mentality of the promoters of CU...
Regardless of the above critique however, nothing can be taken away from CU that relative to other institutions in Nigeria, the infrastructure for teaching, research and learning available in that school may perhaps be second to none....

is this law for university students or nursery pupils? these people are a crazy lot, if you feel they use phones in the manner you don't like then ban hi tech phones approve a basic phone I mean featureless phone so de can at least commune what is wrong with people? so will these students communicate with their family? besides have they weighed the pros and cons of mobile phones? what of the security aspect? can the school guaranty 100% security to and for the students? that's what I call a banana republic and I know the money bag parents will gullibly accept.

Is no new news.

thisguitarola said...

They are just retarded. U can do all the functions of a fone on an iPad. Daftness

You seem intimidated with your kinda response

Abeg may we hear word,2nd bst sch ko.glorified secondary school,dey chase u ard wen u dnt go 2 church,u c pple hiding under deir bed,I did dt wen I ws in jss2 boarding house,wen I bcm a senior I stopd being scared.rubbish butter children dey cnt evn face real life challenges.dey go 2 nysc camp ad stat bhaving like pple dt wud die d nxt minute.crap

Your comment makes no sense, so because they dont suffer, they are not prepared for life? If you believe so much in suffering leave your house and go and be staying in the local police station and lets see if you'll be better prepared for life.To the supposedly educated but still obviously mentally challenged commentators, if you dont like the school dont go there, simple. Im sure your father hasnt built a nursery school do something or dont criticze what others are doing.

The time most students/people use on their cell phones can be used for their success,though the ban sounds harsh,some will find a good reason to comply

Olodo, ode... everyone wanna hv something to say, even poor u?. Is it not what we out have that NUC will accredit??? Oh you did not go to a university atal?

omob said...

i personally think linda's obsession with covenant university is out of spite and jealousy. she probably applied and didn't get admitted. Say what you wanna it wont stop us from taking over lil by lil just watch we have started and we would take it to the top. Linda watch out

Nobody needs the opportuniny when there are far better schools like UI and UNILAG