Omoni Oboli responds to critics who question her directorial ability | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 August 2014

Omoni Oboli responds to critics who question her directorial ability

Actress Omoni Oboli recently produced and directed her first movie 'Being Mrs Elliott' and some people took her up and questioned her credentials and ability to direct a movie. Omoni Oboli responded to the critics and below is her response...
"I have the needed education, experience and on the job training. I did not jump into the ocean without a life jacket. I had a life jacket, rescue team and a well-equipped first aid box, which stands for my training at New York Film Academy, my experience as an actress and my on the job training. I can proudly say that producing 'Being Mrs Elliott'  is a step in the right direction.” Continue...

Being Mrs Elliott', is Omoni Oboli’s first effort as a director in Nollywood.  The Movie which opened the Nollywood Week Film Festival in Paris two month ago and got 11 nominations at the Nollywood and African Film Critics’ Awards (NAFCA) in California, USA. It is story of a successfully married woman, who is torn between two worlds after a life changing incident. She found out that the best life has to offer are not things but moments.

36 comments:

Ceeflo said...

I think She's an amazing actress and director! Nigerians should learn to appreciate more nd encourage

They should leave her alone mehn #bright bravo#

This goes to everyone. Be confident and proud of your achievement(s)! Note: People must always talk and criticize don't let that weigh you down..with God with u..the sky is your starting point! Humble yourself and he will lift you up. James 4:10. BishopDammy#

Let Thousands say No but a Yes from God is enuf...

Thumps up. People will always talk. Forget about them and remain focused. It does not require any rocket science of produce a movie.

I haven't seen it so I won't know if she did a good job or not..
Since it had 11 nominees..
C'mon na...
She must have done a good job..

Everybody makes mistakes, nobody is perfect, she can always improve on her abilities, and if she is being criticised, its to make her a better director

Everyone should keep their tongue in their mouth abeg. Irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

Not bad will love to see d movie

NaNcY DreW said...

I like omoni oboli she's a well cultured woman she can do no wrong 2 me

It looks like it's going to be a good movie.

Abeg mrs Elliot, free haters. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Tobiloba said...

Amazing

yea..nice movie..she tried..well done..Omoni..

Vanessa. said...

Good of U Omoni....U r an inspiration:

If there are no critics,many people would probably never get better at what they do.

I hate pretentious women! Unfaithful women! Why marry if you know you will cheat! I have no respect for omoni oboli ,na she carry God pass for head, na she they form good wife and mother but na she dey cheat pass. How can you be sleeping with a married men and your governor .he sponsored all your projects and even your new house you moved into from VGC. I pity your house boy husband who you deceive all the time. God in heaven will expose you soon ,that scandal with Gilda Amata and your governor is small compared to what he will do to you soon. Shameless woman!

Terrible actress. I can't stand her movies .Always buying awards. 11 nominations and we have not even seen the movie. There is God o

The movie sounds interesting! But I hate the fact that everybody now wants to act, direct and produce; which isn't a bad thing but the thing I suspect is that they aren't doing it for the right reasons. Why are all the budding producers and directors in the industry female? I do suspect is them wanting to compete! Women you see are always in competition with one another! Wanting to outdo the other!

U ar nice gal but u jus dey collect award. Frnds add up. 4private chat. Bbm 25fc1101. Whatsp. +2348141791567

Hater, u don follow am reach here abi? Wonder wat u ave ever directed in ur miserable boring life.

Love this lady, the story line was awesome. Keep it up Ma.

Christina typearls said...

best luck

Exactly.

Hmmm! OK!!! chekwasmichael86gmail.com

Ijanyimitch said...

May Ebola Virus scatter all their mouths, she is an amazing actor, and pretty too.Nigerians are fond of criticising their fellow colleagues in the job

Ijanyimitch said...

I must really say that u are one hell of an anonymous fool smh

If the governor was the only person this cow has slept with while forming and prasing Omotola, it would be okay. God that will judge her. The fact that she calls God is the one that amazes me the most. I pity all those prayer warrior women forming friends with her.

praise said...

Oh my Bishop. *kiss.

kate said...

Excellent @Bishop D. Powerful n inspiring words there

All of you saying terrible things about others here, why don't u comment with your real identity and not as anonymous. People would always think they've got an opinion in other peoples lives and endeavours but they forget to pay attention to themselves and improve on their own paths. Thereis always room for imimprovements. Stop the hate!

Are u sure of what ur saying? Anyway if its true,it doesnt make us like her anyless,she wont be the first, many nollywood married mothers cheat on their husbands,and bedsides this isnt even confirmed,it may be just wickrd people peddling such hateful rumours!!! Team Omoni Oboli all the way

Hater who r u to judge and rubbish her? Show ur face coward,he who is without sin shld cast the first stone,idiot.did she sleep with u?

Evn me self fit direct films

I see hate everywhere! However, it won't stop God from blessing Omoni! Who made u a judge over her? The God I presumed you called, is a merciful one. If not, you sinful haters won't be alive to write trash about people. I'm not her fan, but I'm allergic to haters!

darealgem said...

I think she is amazing but it would have been nice if she wore something decent while visiting president Jonathan at ASo villa. these politicians are sometimes pervertuous. From the picture I saw, she appeared uncomfortable shaking Jonathan with that cleavage baring dress. Such a distraction