Man spends 23years in prison for allegedly failing to bribe policeman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 July 2014

Man spends 23years in prison for allegedly failing to bribe policeman

Found this heartbreaking story and decided to share. Find below... (above is Calistus Ike)
A shaft of pain knifed through his facial contours as he recounted the grisly experiences he had in prison for more than 23 years.
Prior to 1989, Calistus Ike had dreamt of becoming a very successful business man.
Little did he know that he was going to spend seven years as an awaiting trial inmate and another 16 years on the death row.
As the first son and bread winner of his family at that time, Ike, had all his dreams quashed after he was sentenced to death following his refusal to pay N200 bribe to the policeman that investigated an allegation against him.
Luck however shone on him when through the intervention of a France- based human right group, Avocats Sans Frontieres, ASFF, also known as ‘Lawyers Without Borders France’, the Edo state government, pardoned him and approved his release from prison in 2012.

Reliving the harrowing times he had in jail and circumstances that led to his conviction with Saturday Vanguard, this disconsolate erstwhile death row inmate, insisted that he was innocent of the allegation that left him at the mercy of the hang-man, even as he called for a total overhaul of the criminal justice system in Nigeria.

Describing himself as a “lucky-survivor”, Ike, who is now in his early fifties, stressed that so many innocent Nigerians are currently languishing in various prison facilities across the federation.
“The unfortunate thing is that some of the people I left in prison did not even have a case-file. Some of them had stayed as ‘awaiting-trial’ inmates for more than 10 years”, he lamented.

Narrating the story of his life, Ike said: “It happened to me in the year 1989. I was resident in Benin, the Edo state capital. There was a man that lived in the same compound with me. His wife had stomach problem and he asked me to lead him to somewhere to collect a root (herbal medicine) for his wife.

We went there about 5pm. After escorting him to the place where he collected the medicine, I returned to my house.

The next day, I went to do my business. I did not know that the same man had engaged police to look for me and the other man that gave him the root, a man I didn’t even know. When I heard that police came to look for me, I inquired about the station they came from and went there myself. ”I reported myself and asked why they came to look for me.

They told me that there was an allegation that I conspired with the man we collected medicine from his house and broke into my neighbour’s house- who was the same man I accompanied to get the roots for his wife- and stole his properties.

I never knew that they had equally arrested the man that gave us the root.
Thereafter, the policeman handling the case insisted that I must write a confessional statement otherwise he would deal with me. I refused to write anything. I told him that I would only narrate the exact thing that happened''.

”It was at that juncture that he started beating me with ‘Koboko’. He flogged me mercilessly that day. I was tortured until the D.P.O in charge of the station asked him to stop and just take my statement.

After I gave them my statement, the same policeman that flogged me, came back and said that he could not find any evidence to pin the alleged crime on me. He said that he had concluded all the investigations and found nothing against me.
”However, he said I should give him N200 so that he would drop the case and allow me to go home. Remember, we are talking about 1989. As at that time, that amount was big money to me.

So, I told him I had no such money to give out. I stood my ground that I was innocent of the charge and even asked them to take me to court if indeed they thought that I had a case to answer.
Within two days, the policeman took the matter to court. We went to court, at the Magistrate court, the policeman freed the other man I was accused with and pinned the whole charge on me.

”From the Magistrate court, he took me to the Military Tribunal where the case changed overnight.
From the original allegation of ‘burglary and theft’, I was charged with armed robbery.Whereas the Policeman and that my compound man whose properties were allegedly stolen, as well as his wife, testified before Tribunal, I had no one to testify for me. I was left with only God and no one else.

”After a long run of the trial, I was convicted and sentenced to death for a crime I never committed or even imagined. I never for once had such dream for my life, but I was condemned to death.Nonetheless, my faith in God never wavered, I kept asking him to vindicate me. I was in death sentence cell in Edo state for over 14 years. After then, I was transferred to Enugu prison.

”One day, I was there, inside the prison with other inmates when information got to me that there were some people from France that were helping inmates in Benin prison. I quickly called my brother and asked him to take my plight to those people, maybe they could help me to regain my freedom.
”By the special grace of God, within three months, I was let loose from the grip of the wicked of this world and I thank God for it. What I however want Nigerians to know is that there is great level of injustice in our judiciary and because of that, many innocent people have died for crimes they never committed.''

”Some of our lawyers are not helping matters. All they are interested in is money. Some cases they know they don’t have the capacity to handle they will just force themselves into them and their clients will be condemned and killed.
Before my very eyes, I witnessed executions that took the lives of over 48 young and energetic men and women . It is a painful thing to experience.
I was released in 2012. After I was arrested in 1989, I stayed as awaiting trial inmate for seven years, and stayed on death row for 16 years.
My case did not go up to the Supreme Court. It was tried by the military tribunal so I didn’t even have the opportunity to go on appeal.

”My experience in the prison was very traumatic. That place is hell on earth! Some of the prison warders are very wicked- even though there are some good ones too. The bad ones are tormentors. They torment inmates at will.
The food inside there is nothing to write home about. Roofs of some of the cells leak badly when it rains.

Getting good medication is rather a luxury too big to imagine, except in critical cases or upon an order of the court.
In the prison, every inmate is left to his own fate. Inmates are suffering badly even the awaiting trial inmates too.

”It hurts me when I see them on TV claiming that they are reforming the prisons. I am telling you today that they are doing nothing. Anyone that is so convinced that our prisons are better now should volunteer and spend a weekend inside any of our prisons. The hardship inside there is better imagined than experienced.I saw hell!

If the government gets up now and say they are reforming prisons, they are doing nothing! I am saying this because I experienced it for 16 years on the death row”.

117 comments:

Was lost for words the day I watched him narrate his painful experience on TV.
I'm sure there are many innocent people like him, languishing in our prisons. I pray help come the way of such people.

What the hell I'm I still doing in this stupid wretched country, full of wicked religious fools, I need to pack ma gucci bags biko #gay anonymous#

Ceeflo said...

Freedom and success in Nigeria is webbed in corruption!

Eh.. 23 is much 4an just citizen. I will be cool if people start calling me 'LIB Princess' pretex4luv@yahoo.com

sunny said...

Sad story

CHERRY said...

Na wa o police n bribe!

Continue with this good nature papa...youv got a crown in heaven.. Pro 13:22 Bishop dammy# imahiadammy@gmail.com

Tufia! 9ja police! If I curse dem now, dia children wey de dis blog will cum talking shit. It will neva be well with dem.

Emjay said...

Na wah ohhhh

#Em jay######

If the government gets up now and say they are
reforming prisons, they are doing nothing! I am
saying this because I experienced it for 16 years
on the death row”.
Unbelievable yet true what a country.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Wow!so much injustice!JEzzzzzz.I don't even knw wat to say!God help us in dis country o

julz said...

NIGERIA!!!

Kemikal said...

The government need to find the police men involved, and if retired or not, and jailed them for TEN YEARS and deprive them of their pension. It'll serve as deterrent to other scumbags and tyrants in the Nigerian Police Force. They ruined the mans life and brought the Nigerian Police Force into serious disrepute. The people who ruined his life must be held accountable. He should sue the Nigerian Police Force, the Prison Service and the Federal Government for N25Billion (TWENTY FIVE BILLION NAIRA). When their foolishness cost them dearly, next time they will act according to the law, and not arbitrarily or with impunity. Someone, please link up that already rich man with a good lawyer in Nigeria.

Opelicious Morgann said...

Ah this is so sad. Doesn't he have any family members ???? The injustice in this country is better left to the imagination.

Mikkybrizz said...

Moral lesson of this story is "stay out of trouble"

Hmmm...very painful. Sometimes the NPF is your enemy. I mean the bad ones there are your enemies

Pls visit my fitness blog for great weightloss exercises and more... iamifuennada.blogspot.com

Very painful experience...

MayGod help him and help us 2 we wil nt see evil wit our eyes we shell only see the reward of the wicked once Amen. Marydanladi180@gmail.com

But this is really really sad! 23 years!!!.. spent 7yrs on awaiting trial list. He could hav finished med school or any other course if he went to the university!
23 years... almost a lifetime! his youth! The most precious and important time of one's life... sad... God have mercy.
That policeman myt have forgotten or may not know the gravity of what he did then... when he begins to "enjoy" the repercussion of his doings now... it wie be the devil or demon causing it... o ma shey o! see how someone wud singlehandedly because of money, steal a man's youth and bring curses upon his generations.

Awwwwww, this is disheartening.. so sorry Brov..

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

I swear this man is a living dead thats for sure but thank God for the outcome nw though.... seriously frm nw on police is my frnd......

It shows the extent of injustice in the country

PrinceofLIB said...

16 years is not 16 Days....I can only imagine wat he went through. I pray karma locates all d guilty parties n God s favour makes the rest of his life more pleasant than he could have ever imagined

Jesus Christ! Human being can b so wicked jux to satisfy their ungodly desire, but one thing I kn for sure is dat God neva fail! Destiny can be delay but it can neva b change.

chai!! I weep for Nigeria

Angie Cape said...

Nigeria my country!
If this report is true...He ought to be compensated by the govt for the years he lost.
N they; Nigeria cops, are still no better till date.
Reforming prisons are the least of the country's worry at the moment.

*My R1.50c comment*

CROWN said...

Hmm, Nigeria,my country... Thank God for your life o...#glo for life#

Peggy.ejiga.blogspot.com.ng said...

Good God 16 years ? thats just plain wicked.

chai thats Nigeria for u,the innocent ones suffer while d evil ones roam the street freely without restriction

This country is a mess! I mean if you wanted to do a house cleaning where do you start? There isn't any sector in this country you'd proudly point to and say this is doing well. They are all cuckoo!!! Damn!!! 23 years in jail for naught? Even Mandela is better because he was in jail for a reason. For a cause.

Tribal and ethnic wickedness in this country has reached the climax.and this is the reason why breaking up is inevitable

Bold Kid said...

Chai! Deris God ooo.

This is a sad and terrible experience considering the fact that he is innocent of the crime. To God be the glory that you are alive to tell your story.

Chai!! this broke my heart..

Olori Jojo said...

This is callous

just speechless! 23years in prison because of N200 God have mercy on us.

NiKi Posh said...

â„“☺â„“ @Anyone that is
so convinced that our prisons are
better now should volunteer and
spend a weekend inside any of our
prisons.
When will all these inhumane treatments we get from our police end? I thank God for your life sir, God will fight for you.

MICKY: this is bad,what a story,23 yrs gone/wasted. what a world for him

The Judiciary is even kinda corrupt than the executive just that the spotlight is on the executive. Congrats to you man! I hope u'll still get something profitable to do with yourself even @ 50yrs VIA 264D9FB0

Jessica law said...

Am speechless 23years wasted just for a crime he did not commit.police can never be my friend thank God his out of the prison.

I pray God does something spectacular in your life for you to know that he kept you there for a reason and as for our judicial system and police I pray they all get what is coming to them so they'll know what it is like to play with peoples lives for N200. I suggest you find a way to sue them with your lawyers and set an example for the FGN so they will wake up after they pay you millions. God bless you sir

Ohhh,if his story is true,its a pity but God have vindicated him. Touching story

Linda akuko a di too Long nau, anyway delay is not denial. He can still pick the broken pieces of his life after the whole saga. It's really a sad story, one hell of a country.

What a tragidic n painful experience! I so much hate Nigerian uniformed men,

Obietrezy said...

So touching but I'm glad you're out. It's unfortunate that the Nigerian system is totally useless and i mean very useless. There's nothing good this country can offer all they know is to be calling billions of naira yet nothing to show for it. God forbid..... **spits ***

Pathetic! A lot of Nigerians r languishin in prison cells and its all bcus of our justice system, corrupt policin and ignorance by a vast majority hu dnt even knw dia basic rights#26247c63

That's nigerian police for U̶̲̥̅̊ #bright bravo#

Cynthia Iyede said...

This world is just too wicked abeg

Nawa o

Disdain and scorn fills my heart for this ruthless system of government that prevails in this unruly country.The police has done more harm than good. The evil ones overwhelms the good. It would only take a divine intervention to undo injustice in this country.
Take heart Sir, may all you wish for yourself come to pass.

CHERRY said...

Na wa o police and bribe!

Bigtymerbitz said...

This man family members no try at all...

Tessa said...

Injustice ans wickedness of man. Thank God for vindicating you my brother. This life is so unpredictable, no one knows tomorrow.

Bad Experience Won't Mine Or Yours.... Goodmorning Happy Sunday Olawuyijeremiah@gmail.com #kingkay

Sad sad sad

Wat a pity.

Abiola Taiwo

Chai chai diaris God ooo

Dis is jux too bad...i feel lyk cryin...may GOD be wit dis man...D nigerian govt..i hv nly one tin 2 say..wich is..diaris Godoo!!:'(..our gud 4 nufin leaders..ambassadors of poverty..stupid system...we seriously need a violent reform in our country!!..after dey find hu 2 pin evrytin on:'(:'(

Dan Skila said...

Eya sorry man, you must have so many lives have been lost, bcos of crime they no nothing about, while some are suffering in jail for nothing, may GOD help us from the wicked and corrupt security men in 9ja

danskila1@gmail.com

Its so sad, do take heart and enjoy your freedom.

The more reason why we should be very careful, so we don't av to know hw it looks like in there.. #1st to comment#... badejoseun@airtelng.blackberry.com

Mr gist said...

May God just have mercy innocent poor man who has no one but Him alone

click here to read another recent happenings around

Very very sad. He should get some financial compensation for this from the govt. They just wasted his life

injustice rules this nation. And that policeman can sleep well @ night?

What a life just put ur self in this mans shoes his future turned apart . I reject dis to myself and anyone I knw IJN if u claim lemme hear amen

Breezy_p. Danabiaziem@gmail
MTN finest

jslimz said...

I fuck'n hate 9ja police.....Fuck d system!!!

He didn't do anything, you fool.

The Criminal justice system in Nigeria is terrible. It is one where a poor person is doomed if he/her has problems and no one to help. I remember in 2002,one of my relatives had a serious health problem one morning and I rushed them in my car to the hospital without taking my driving license. After admission, I rushed back home to get food, cloths and other things to deliver to the hospital but as I was driving out to the main road, I saw many Police men stopping cars. One of them stopped me and asked for my license, I tried to explain that I was on a medical emergency but they would have none of it. The Police man demanded a 500 Naira bribe and when I told him I didn't have it, he got into the car and asked me to drive to a Police station not far from where they stopped me. When I got there, I saw many cars they had taken from the owners. Again the Police man asked for money but I again told him I didn't have any. That's when he now became angry and told me he would 'deal' with me. I signed some papers and they asked me to return the next day. I really needed my car so I decided that if 500 Naira was the problem, I would give it to them the next day. When I got to the station, I told the same Police officer that I have his money but the tune had changed. The guy now told that "since I was proving stubborn" he had now charged me to court for traffic violations and that if I wanted the 'case' to end now, I would have to pay 5000 Naira, ten times the original amount! If I knew what I know now, I would have even paid the 5000 because I went to court (never having been to a court before) and before you know what was happening, the Police charged me with every traffic offence known to man. From driving dangerously to obstruction to driving above the speed limit. I was even kept on the dock with some dangerous looking criminals in handcuffs. Before you know it, the Magistrate granted me bail but asked that I be remanded in jail (awaiting trial) if I could not meet my bail conditions! I spent over 10,000 Naira just to meet my bail conditions that day. Even while in court, some Lawyers were asking me to give them money to help me out. I then spent the next 3 years going to court for this same case. While attending court, I saw many terrible things. I saw many people thrown into jail for nothing, I saw people faint when they were told they would be going to "awaiting trial". I saw people who looked healthy and well when they were attending court but when the were remanded in jail for a week, next time you see them it looked like they spent 10 years in Iraq. Eventually, after 3 long years of countless adjournments, they Magistrate threw out the case for lack of merit. In all that 3 years, the only time I ever said a word was when I said 'not guilty'. Sometimes I think justice is dead in Nigeria.

Cynic*Igbo*guy

@kginvestmentltd@gmail.com.... LIFE OH LIFE...SAD STORY THANK GOD FOR UR FREEDOM EVEN MANDELA WAS JAILED FOR A CAUSE...THANK GOD U HAVE A STORY TO TELL CUZ SUM NEVER LIVE TO TELL THE STORY.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

You are very right . The man should sue The Nigeria Police Force and the police man involved should be sent to jail and leave him there to rot.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

A big Amen to that

Linda Ikeji...please and please this story is soo pathetic, and i share tears reading what this fellow are going tru in the prison. Linda plz help us reach our to the Nigeria government becos the innconet are suffering, and this is not helping the image of the country @ all...don't jst blog or share people stories...please make sure its get to the leader of this kuntry biko

Feel like crying thank God for your life sir, that is why I don't forget to pray for the Prisoners , because I know innocent people are there. Pls people always remember them in your prayers. CHI.

God will punish all diz Nigerian police.............meetsheno2020@yahoo.com

Chop Chop said...

Policemen are never your friend even your broda policeman.

i'll read it later..;patoswife@gmail.com

Hell on earth

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Please open this link and Vote RCCG Mass Choir as the African-Gospel Mass Choir of the year 2014 http://agmac.org/african-gospel-mass-choir-2014/ Thank you
Pls post my comment

Good god!!!!! This man at least deserves some restitution from the government and the police officer needs to be tried! In the US, you are paid $100,000 for each yr u served a wrongly convicted jail term. The government needs to settle this man handsomely.

That's so bad.

Happy 4 ƴǒǘ That Ƴǒǘ Were Not Killed 4 Nothing ƴǒǘ Know Of. (Linda's Man)

You are right. I will be cool if people start calling me 'LIB King' ketex4hate@yahoo.com EWU!

Pls sm1 get this man a good lawyer, Sue the NPF, the Judiciary if dats possible, state government and d Federal Government

miss Sparxz said...

Oh God! I'm seriously tearing up. This is too sad. I thank God for his faithfulness!

God! What a painful experience n there are so many of them in various prisons today..Help from above will locate them...Amen.

In 2010, i lost 2 friends who wr brothers for alleged armed robbery... D eldest wz accused wrngly, while d younger came to his brothers defence protesting his innocence buh no one cared, a police officer just showed up frm nowhere n shot both dead without even investigation, dats d brutality of d police... Nothing was n hz bn done bout it... To me, d police force is d most corrupt organisation in Nigeria, d judiciary is not left out too.. God help us

I just hope the minister of interiors get to see this.

God will always help him and others like him in that prison... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

speechless... What a painful experience..

Plz Check this post..
... "You call me bomb detonator, and I love that. I am ready to kill again. In fact, I enjoy killing people " - Nyanya Bomber, Sadiq Ogwuche ..Click to Read

The Police is never your friend!!!!! They are all evil...

NaNcY DreW said...

He spent 23yrs in Jail 4 not bribing a police man. D Nigeria police is d most stupid force we av in dis country as a mata of fact dey re next 2 thieves. Which I cud see dis man and just ask him ow he sees d country 2day,everytin ll look strange 2 him, d computer, handsets I min d tech world we re in 2day, cash lite, Atm, online banking. Our roads and system of things. He shud write a book

When you have a police force that nobody monitors, things like this are bound to happen.

dudette said...

A man in d US was innocent and convicted of a crime he Dnt commit in the 70s,his case was looked at in 2000 and was found innocent and was released and given 20m$......nigeria is totaly finished!! I'm done speaking positive words about dis nation.....

olaoluwayimika said...

This is a wicked world o, what could he have done to the man and his wife? What could have made them testify against him in court? They just wasted a good part of his life, m surethe lIves of the evil couple and the wicked policeman will be miserable by now or they would have died horrible deaths.

he should be made president just like mandela :)

This is a true life story. The man in question is my uncle. Hails from Ibiasoegbe oru west LGA in Imo state. Welcome back Uncle Cali! God bless Governor Oshiomole 4 d pardon

I wish I had the capacity to help this man achieve his dreams in life. It's so painful only listening to this story full of injustice.

I pray God to strengthen you and replenish you with all you were supposed to acquire through out the lost years. May he use your situation to vindicate others.

What happened to thou shalt not bear false witness. Corruption is crazy in Nigeria. It took foreign group to help our fellow citizen. I always wonder how to help and where to start.

Bullshit! What happen to aminu in the house that was caught on camear collecting million of dollars uh. Pifff when I say we are fucked up yes we are. Jopeyemi@gmail.com BBM 32F0BEFB

The police man and the man that accused him has already placed a curse on themselves and their families forever. I bet u rite now dey are runing around looking for solutions to their problem, bt dey can never find it.

men who no go no know... finish. na one thing now open him mouth say the moral of the story is to stay out of trouble. hw does one do that in life? either way u no look for trouble, e go sha look for you. men and this shit wey we dey do for dis land sha...awaiting trial wey person go dey for years and some no get case file. na wa ooo

The bible teaches us to behave like the romans when we in rome and always remember to give to ceasar what actually belongs to ceasar, we living in a wicked world and a lawless country, this brother shoulda remembered this b4 asking a hungry police man to charge him to court. Nigeria has been corrupt even before our grand fathers were born so bribe is nothing new, no come form saint for here and go jail for 23yrs, anyways sorry fi that papa

NaNcY DreW said...

All bcuz of #200, how I wish am a well known San wud av taken up dis case and sue d Nigeria police force and d Federal govt. Everything ll look strange 2 him is like been Reborn in2 adulthood d world presently,9igeria 2day, d tech world, Internet/ online banking, our roads. He shud write a book.

Oga Police eeeehh. Tank God †Ñ’ƹ Man Is Out. (Linda's Man)

dhobiz said...

Such a pity

AMIJEZ said...

Wickedness in the lower and high places. The government needs to find that policeman and the judge and give them ten years each while rewarding this man with their entitlement. It will serve as a deterent to others. I believe that many innocent souls are languishing in our prisons. God will deliver them, Amen.

Is like you are not nigerian..that one no they work for here..

Son of Solomon

I was thinking the same thing too.. He probably had no wife nor kids before he was arrested. That is the height of cruelty nd I wonder how his then neighbour lived with it. He must probably be dead nd in hell now.

NGO's and churches should take it upon themselves to help those who need help in the prison like this man. They should visit prisons and see if they can be useful by saving lives. No just in the church alone . I don't how that police man will be at peace with what he has done to that man. God fight for all who can't fight for themselves. Nigerian Police Change o! You are putting curses on your own family .

Amen

Stupid comment from a banal mind!

Odunola said...

Oh my God I'm so happy for this man...I heard about his case and various others while I was serving in Benin Prisons...the Nigerian Judiciary system is really messed up...there are soooo many innocent inmates in the prisons...its awful...

No need of cursing dem. Their kids are already cursed though not all of them. It shows in their lifesfyle. Everythibg is wrong in their families. Its just a sad case.

This is so sad. This guy needs restitution. A country where nothing works. We can't keep complaining. We need to force change.